The Franklin Institute

The Franklin Institute

222 North 20th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103 | map
Maximum capacity: 450
Wedding services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.6 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.6 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.6 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.5 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Everything was EXCEPTIONAL!!! I would do it all over again in a heartbeat. They were very accommodating to where we wanted pictures and the cocktail hour. It was beautiful and everyone keeps talking about it.

  • Wedding: 01/04/2015
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I had my sights set on the Franklin Institute before we even got engaged and it did not disappoint. It was the perfect setting for a unique downtown wedding. Our guests loved it. Perfection

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Lighting & Decor
Profile Picture
Private User
9 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We are so glad that we chose the Franklin Institute as our wedding venue. It provided such a unique and magical experience for us and our guests! We got married in the planetarium, had cocktail hour through the exhibits, and had dinner and dancing in Franklin Hall. All of the staff is absolutely wonderful and the venue is so beautiful!

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
6 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

As an excessively nerdy couple, my then-fiance-now-husband and I couldn't have asked for a better spot for our wedding and reception than The Franklin Institute. Gina DeGiovanni and her event management team were a pleasure to work with -- responsive, creative and helpful, in coordination with our magical wedding planner (Katie/DFW Planning), they orchestrated our traditional Indian wedding (starting with a Baraat up the Pendulum Staircase with a drummer providing the soundtrack) with grace and ease. With a cocktail hour in the Changing Earth, Electricity and Human Body exhibits and a gorgeously elegant reception at the foot of Ben Franklin himself, every single one of our guests enjoyed the day!

  • Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We just had our wedding at The Franklin Institute and wanted to post about how wonderful it was! The museum is a gorgeous and unique place to get married - the architecture is amazing and you're able to mix the classic columns of Franklin Hall and the steps outside with the unique and cool aspects of the planetarium and exhibits. The lighting package is also fantastic. Gina DeGiovanni, who we worked with, was one of our favorite vendors of the whole process - kind and calm and so nice and flexible! If you want a memorable and unique venue, TFI it is!

  • Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had our reception at The Franklin Institute (the ceremony was actually held in a nearby catholic church) and it was absolutely beautiful! When we first were deciding on where to have our reception, we stopped by the Franklin unannounced during one of our trips back east. The coordinator at that time happily came down and showed us around the rooms where the cocktail hour and reception would be held. He had all of the information at his fingertips (an iPad) so we had pictures and information available during the tour even though it was an unannounced visit! As time progressed, the coordinator ended up changing but she was just as helpful and responsive as the first!

For us, the cocktail hour was held in three side rooms where our guests played with the activities while enjoying a cocktail. The actual reception was held in the main foyer with the statue of Ben Franklin watching over us. We opted for the lighting package so we could change the lighting on the dome, windows, columns and walls throughout the event and we even had a powerpoint with pictures of our loved ones playing! My (now) husband and I, as well as all of our guests, loved the venue :) Oh and another benefit was that this venue came with the caterer so (for those planning a wedding from across the country like we did) we didn't have to go through the process of finding a caterer.

  • Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
9 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We used the Franklin and Frog Commissary for our annual Holiday party. It was both an elegant and fun evening. I was overwhelmed with the positive feedback we received about the service, the venue, the staff and the food. The Titanic exhibit is a must see! My personal experience arranging the event was that catering and guest services was responsive, helpful and a joy to work with. I can't wait to have our next event there!

  • Wedding: 12/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

unique venue location, recommend the rooftop...this is a must have!

  • Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The venue was just spectacular and breathtaking. Everyone on staff was awesome especially Gina. We will never forget our evening there.

  • Wedding: 09/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The rooms were all set up extremely well & everyone was very kind/helpful. So many guests came up to us raving about how great our venue was that night!

  • Wedding: 06/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Jeffrey
2 Reviews
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 4.5
  • Flexibility: 4.5

The Franklin Institute was absolutely beautiful and was extremely fun - everyone keeps commenting on how it was the most fun wedding they had ever been to. The staff was extremely helpful and it was the perfect evening. The main issue is with time - you can't have the wedding until the museum closes and while they do allow you to enter earlier in the day to get ready, you're still limited in how far beforehand you're allowed to get there so we were rushing to get ready and get photos done beforehand. It was definitely a beautiful, fun, memorable wedding though and would do it again in a heart beat.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
2 Reviews
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Food was excellent and beautifully displayed.

  • Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Cindy
2 Reviews
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 3.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Amazing venue, especially with the lighting package! Very responsive and professional staff. It really doesn't get any better than this for a reception site.

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Anonymous
10 Reviews
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 3.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I had my wedding in the planetarium and the reception in the room with the big statue of Ben Franklin

  • Wedding: 11/21/2003
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 4.0
  • Value: 4.0
  • Flexibility: 4.0

Interacting with the exhibits during the cocktail hour absolutely thrilled our guests! Franklin Hall & the amazing lighting package was absolutely breathtaking. We could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding.

  • Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 4.5
  • Responsiveness: 4.5
  • Professionalism: 4.5
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 3.0

Who knew the Franklin Institute did weddings?? These people saved us - 3 months from our wedding dateour Venue fell through and they stepped right up and made the wedding of our dreams a reality! It was just beautiful! Becasue it is a public museum, there is not much room for flexability of time but it is worth working with them on!

  • Wedding: 10/06/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Prev
215-448-1165
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.6
out of 5.0
18 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2015 logo small
2015 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2013 logo small
2013 Bride's Choice Award®