The Franklin Institute
222 North 20th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 450
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (14)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cindy 2 Reviews
Food was excellent and beautifully displayed.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As an excessively nerdy couple, my then-fiance-now-husband and I couldn't have asked for a better spot for our wedding and reception than The Franklin Institute. Gina DeGiovanni and her event management team were a pleasure to work with -- responsive, creative and helpful, in coordination with our magical wedding planner (Katie/DFW Planning), they orchestrated our traditional Indian wedding (starting with a Baraat up the Pendulum Staircase with a drummer providing the soundtrack) with grace and ease. With a cocktail hour in the Changing Earth, Electricity and Human Body exhibits and a gorgeously elegant reception at the foot of Ben Franklin himself, every single one of our guests enjoyed the day!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just had our wedding at The Franklin Institute and wanted to post about how wonderful it was! The museum is a gorgeous and unique place to get married - the architecture is amazing and you're able to mix the classic columns of Franklin Hall and the steps outside with the unique and cool aspects of the planetarium and exhibits. The lighting package is also fantastic. Gina DeGiovanni, who we worked with, was one of our favorite vendors of the whole process - kind and calm and so nice and flexible! If you want a memorable and unique venue, TFI it is!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.0 out of 5.0
2.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Private User 3 Reviews
This is such an amazing, beautiful, elegant and nerdy venue. A nerd's paradise. I want to give them 5 stars so badly. Unfortuantely, the people running the show need to get it together. The venue itself rocked. Our guests are still talking about it and how it was the best, most entertaining wedding they have ever been to. It really pains me to not give FI 5 stars, but I just can't. It's a logistical nightmare. They have interns (who are full time college students) run the show. We reserved the FI a year in advanced and in that year, our point of contact changed 4 times. If you're ok with going with the flow and don't really need to know every single detail, or plan every single detail, go for it. But if you're one of those people that likes to plan and know things in advance...stay far far away.
It's a one of a kind type of venue. You will surely impress your guests, but the months leading up to the wedding...you may suffer from panic attacks from lack of communication from the FI.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 9 Reviews
We had our reception at The Franklin Institute (the ceremony was actually held in a nearby catholic church) and it was absolutely beautiful! When we first were deciding on where to have our reception, we stopped by the Franklin unannounced during one of our trips back east. The coordinator at that time happily came down and showed us around the rooms where the cocktail hour and reception would be held. He had all of the information at his fingertips (an iPad) so we had pictures and information available during the tour even though it was an unannounced visit! As time progressed, the coordinator ended up changing but she was just as helpful and responsive as the first!

For us, the cocktail hour was held in three side rooms where our guests played with the activities while enjoying a cocktail. The actual reception was held in the main foyer with the statue of Ben Franklin watching over us. We opted for the lighting package so we could change the lighting on the dome, windows, columns and walls throughout the event and we even had a powerpoint with pictures of our loved ones playing! My (now) husband and I, as well as all of our guests, loved the venue :) Oh and another benefit was that this venue came with the caterer so (for those planning a wedding from across the country like we did) we didn't have to go through the process of finding a caterer.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used the Franklin and Frog Commissary for our annual Holiday party. It was both an elegant and fun evening. I was overwhelmed with the positive feedback we received about the service, the venue, the staff and the food. The Titanic exhibit is a must see! My personal experience arranging the event was that catering and guest services was responsive, helpful and a joy to work with. I can't wait to have our next event there!
Wedding: 12/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
unique venue location, recommend the rooftop...this is a must have!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The venue was just spectacular and breathtaking. Everyone on staff was awesome especially Gina. We will never forget our evening there.
Wedding: 09/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 10 Reviews
Amazing venue, especially with the lighting package! Very responsive and professional staff. It really doesn't get any better than this for a reception site.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeffrey 2 Reviews
The rooms were all set up extremely well & everyone was very kind/helpful. So many guests came up to us raving about how great our venue was that night!
Wedding: 06/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Interacting with the exhibits during the cocktail hour absolutely thrilled our guests! Franklin Hall & the amazing lighting package was absolutely breathtaking. We could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding.
Wedding: 03/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Our venue was lovely and original, at the Fels Planetarium at the Franklin Institute. We loved the space... if we had more time to plan I think we would have gotten a date without another event. The team at TFI are very nice; if we had one complaint it would be that it sometimes took awhile to hear back from folks but with all the venues they run, it isn't surprising. Parking was easy, and we loved our coordinator, Arlene.
Wedding: 02/02/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Who knew the Franklin Institute did weddings?? These people saved us - 3 months from our wedding dateour Venue fell through and they stepped right up and made the wedding of our dreams a reality! It was just beautiful! Becasue it is a public museum, there is not much room for flexability of time but it is worth working with them on!
Wedding: 10/06/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding in the planetarium and the reception in the room with the big statue of Ben Franklin
Wedding: 11/21/2003
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 215-448-1165
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0