The Chanler at Cliff Walk
117 Memorial Boulevard
Newport, RI 02840  | map
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (11)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Haley at the Chanler was great! We had our rehearsal dinner here. The food was absolutely amazing. People told us that it was some of the best food that they have ever had. We had a lot of people with special dietary restrictions and Haley accommodated them all and seamlessly. There were no issues during the rehearsal dinner. You also cannot beat the location. The view was breath taking. They went above and beyond. When our slide show was not working, Haley pulled out her own laptop to make it happen. It was great!
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had an amazing wedding experience at The Chanler. Everyone from the wedding coordinator Haley to the waitstaff, valets, etc. were wonderful to us. The views were gorgeous and food was delicious.
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a small, intimate wedding and both the ceremony and reception were at The Chanler. Christine helped us plan a beautiful ceremony along with a delicious cocktail party/reception in the hotel's award winning restaurant, The Spiced Pear. Everything was fantastic. All of our guests raved at how luxurious yet comfortable all of the accommodations were. The most popular comment from our guests was "Wow! You planned the perfect little wedding!" The Chanler far exceeded all of our dreams and we could not have chosen a better place. The picturesque scenery of the Chanler leaves you with unlimited options for gorgeous pictures.
Wedding: 10/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Chanler is an amazing place to get married and Kate and her team are top notch. We were married there this summer and it was all we could have asked for. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect and they really do a great job catering to the wedding guests. We are so happy that we chose the Chanler for our wedding.
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely love the Chanler. The food and staff were wonderful. We are planning on returning every year for our anniversary:) If you are looking for something small and intimate "The Chanler comes highly recommended.
Wedding: 06/17/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Elisabeth 2 Reviews
We decided to acclerate our wedding plans and get married within a few weeks. After calling a few places to try and accomodate our crazy request, I spoke to Kate at The Chanler at the Cliff Walk and everything fell into place. Within 10 days Kate helped us create our perfect wedding. She recommended everything we needed, photographers, flowers and helped us create the most amazing custom wedding menu. While our wedding was small and intimate it was nothing shy of perfect. The Chanler Cliff Walk has so many so many sites both inside and out for great pictures there are just too many locations to choose from. The staff was extremly attentive making sure our every request was taken care off. Many sites can be challenging for my father who is in a wheelchair but the Chanler made sure he was always accomadated for even during the outdoor cermony and pictures around the grounds. The food was fantastic as Kate helped us create a balanced menu with local specialities and perfect wine pairings. Over a year later our guests are still raving about the experience.

If there was one thing I could change it would be the room rates, which are worth it, but pricey making it difficult to sneak away to this fabulous location for romantic weekends.

All and all I would highly recommend this venue and of course Kate and her team who made our wedding wonderful.
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Elena 5 Reviews
The Chandler has the most beautiful location for a wedding venue in all of Newport (for smaller weddings). The only thing that I was upset about was we had a different chef at our tasting and our actual reception. They had different preparations and the food was cooked and tasted a little different (only reason my quality of service is rated low). This is a small issue considering every place we looked at (and we looked at all of them) had the same problem. It is a little hard getting an appoitment if you are not from the area and have to off from work and travel (this is the only reason responsiveness is low).

This is the ONLY venue that will refund the difference if you overpay for the event at the final estimate a week before the event. They refund the difference two weeks later after everything is accounted for. Who ever heard of that?! I also recommend staying in the hotel, even if you don't have additional room services ordered, you will still feel pampered with all of the "hidden" details like the radiant heated floors in the bathroom :)
Wedding: 10/21/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This is a very delayed review, because since getting married we've been busy moving and having babies, but we have the absolute fondest memories of our beautiful wedding day at The Chanler. We had a smaller wedding, about 70 people and The Chanler was a perfect venue for us.

First off, it's truly just a gorgeous location. I found the view of the ocean to be the prettiest of any venue in Newport. Our ceremony was outside on the lawn overlooking the ocean, and we have such beautiful photos of it.

Our reception was held on the covered outdoor patio which allowed our guests to overlook the ocean as they dined and celebrated. The food couldn't be beat. It doesn't taste like "banquet food" at all. Everything was top notch and gourmet. We got so many comments from our guests on how delicious the food was.

The only small glitch is the noise ordinance at the venue that prevents you from having amplified music after sunset, but we had a great band who worked around that quite nicely and you really couldn't notice it at all.

Perhaps one of the best parts of our wedding was the ease of the planning process. Kate Wood was incredibly professional and responsive. If I emailed her with a question, I would always hear back within 24 hours. As a busy bride planning her wedding, I cannot stress how important this was. In addition to that, my husband and I were treated like royalty on our wedding day by the entire Chanler staff. Everything was entirely seamless thanks to Kate and our banquet captain that day.

In terms of value, it's not an inexpensive venue but we found the prices to be reasonable considering the quality of the venue, staff and the delicious food.

All of our guests have remarked that it was one of the most fun and memorable weddings they've ever attended. I would re-live our wedding day a million times over if I could.
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
First of all, the property is beautiful. Also the event coordinator (Kate) was incredibly helpful and responsive to what my husband and I wanted for our wedding day. The service was impeccable. The food was amazing (the was one of the reasons why we choose the place). Every guest commented on how delicious and extravagant the food was.
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing service for amazing price!
Wedding: 03/01/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a beautiful place to have a wedding! The staffwas wonderful, and the food was just fantastic!
Wedding: 11/29/2008
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Transportation, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 401-619-3964
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0