The Cake Guru Tamara's
Piping Haute Cakes!
1529 Oregon Street
Oshkosh, WI 54902  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (50)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tamara's Cake Guru does such amazing work! The cupcakes are fantastic and I just wish I could eat more of them. They are moist cakes and of huge proportions! We had the dirt cake cupcake and that was such a big hit! She is perhaps not the easiest to get a hold of but she is thorough when you do get a hold of her! This was a vendor I didn't have to worry about, tell her what you want and when you want it and it will be there and fantastically tasty!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Jenny 3 Reviews
The Cake Guru did cupcakes and a small cake for us for our wedding. The cupcakes were awesome and got rave reviews all night. The bride and groom cake was so good also, I only waited a couple of days to break into the rest of it! We had six different flavors but the list was so long it was hard to choose just six. You may think $2.50 is a lot for a cupcake, but the taste makes up for the cost. Tamara is hard to get a hold of and won't always answer emails in a timely fashion, but once you get your order in and the details ironed out, the staff will take care of the rest.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Simon 4 Reviews
Tamara and the Cake Guru Staff where very friendly and easy to work with. They accommodated all our needs and followed thru with all our questions and concerns. Our cup cakes and there design was amazing, delicious, and we received raving reviews from our guests. If you are planning an event We HIGHLY suggest Giving them an opportunity to make your day and your dessert special!

Simon & Lacey
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tamara was incredible! I had a low budget wedding and was stoked to find that I could have an award winning cake artist make my cake for the same cost as a piggly wiggly! We went for our tasting and were allowed to pick a different flavor for each layer with no extra charge. We live an hour away, and that was the last time I saw tamara, she was super flexible and easy to contact either via phone or email. I was extremely pleased with her follow through on the design of our cake. I was exactly how I wanted it! I would DEFINANTLY recommend Tamara
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I went w/ Tamara b/c she created my sister's wedding cake a few years prior and her cake was delicious. My experience w/ Tamara was disappointing.
First, she's v. hard to contact. I sent her an email to set up a tasting appt. and didn't receive a response for over a week. When it was responded to, it was signed "Tamara" and gave vague info that didn't address my questions. So I called her shop and found out it wasn't Tamara who had actually responded but one of her assistants. Why would they sign off as her?! She wasn't friendly on the phone.
On the day of our wedding, the cake arrived late to our venue which was an issue as the cake was to be displayed in a main entrance that guests would pass on their way into our ceremony. It was to be a focal point. The cake arrived a full half hour late from the 2 hour timeframe our coordinator gave Tamara, which as it was was cutting it pretty close to our ceremony and subsequent cocktail hour start time. Our coordinator even had to call (I believe more than once) to find out where they were. Guests were arriving and there was an empty stand and table. Not pretty and definitely not professional. Another note that left us dismayed: our cake topper fell off the top tier of our cake! My husband and I had already cut the cake and were standing near the cake table with some of our guests when we heard a thud! My husband thinks it was unbalanced on only 1 dowel and was just waiting to tumble. We quickly put it back on. (Fyi, no one bumped the table!)
Finally, what was most disappointing overall was that a few of our tiers just didn't taste fresh and were dry. The raspberry swirl tier was definitely dry and not fresh; you could tell from the grain texture. The banana layer tasted artificial. The design was also less than we expected but pretty. Overall, Tamara just seems to be unorganized and cares less about her cake business these days. Also: don't be fooled by all the flavors & designing. Any good cake baker should offer that.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
I did their famous cupcakes for dessert and as our center pieces and everyone talked about them all night long!!! Absolutely amazing!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Zachary 5 Reviews
Tamara was very fun to be around and talk to because she was passionate about her bakery! We absolutely loved her!
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was more than we expected
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Soooo beautiful!! The cake was perfect and we were allowed tons of different flavors and frosting for the different layers! They also decorate the cake table.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When Tamara calls herself a "cake artist" she truly means just that. She comes up with a concept for a cake with you. She charges by the number of slices since she doesn't exactly know what the cake will look like.

My husband and I attended one of her cake tasting/booking parties and we were blown away by the taste. We had a hard time deciding. We ended up going with a three-tiered cake. Each layer was a different flavor and filling. One layer we didn't even try because it was seasonal (pumpkin) but based on the others we had tried, we knew it would be delicious.

At her cake tastings, she lets you "draw" for something. Could be a percentage off the overall cost, certain amount off or free delivery. We ended up with free delivery which was amazing since our venue was almost an hour from her shop. The thing that sold me the most was she said she would make us a small cake of the flavor of our cake for our first anniversary so we wouldn't have to freeze the topper. I was sold!

The cake arrived and was more beautiful that we could imaged. She worked with the venue to make sure the cake could be delivered on time. I would recommend her to anyone!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amy 5 Reviews
Our cake was absolutely gorgeous and tasted just as good. The cake looked so good some people thought it was fake!!!!!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We found Tamara by chance. We are from the Madison area and were getting married in Madison and had looked at several places, but didn't find someone that did a lot with fondant. By luck my grandma saw Tamara on a local news channel up in Fond du Lac and told us to check her out. I am soooo glad we did. She offers tons of unqiue cake flavors and fillings and does tons of work with fondant. We booked her and couldn't have been happier! She delievered down to our venue at a fair cost, the cake was amazing, not just the look, but the taste. We have even made day trips up there since our wedding to buy her cupcakes.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We went with Tamara after she did my cousin's wedding. Her cakes are beautiful and she is a very creative cake designer. She is a very busy lady so both times we went to see her she had a cake tasting event. We were able to finalize everything with her through those. She is a very hard person to get in contact with and doesn't always respond to e-mails in a timely manner. The wedding cake was amazing and I was able to add cupcakes for our gift opening, the cake was gone in one night. Her cakes are a little pricey but you get what you pay for. There was a bit of a mix up with the time our cake had to be delivered. Not sure what exactly happened but they were a little late with delivery. Our wedding hall coordinator had to call them and remind them what time the cake had to be delivered. They immediately showed up right away after the mix up.
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cyndi K 5 Reviews
After seeing the cake I wish I would have picked a different design but that was my own fault. The cake tasted amazing and we recieved a lot of compliments on it.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I was very happy with the way our cake turned out! The flavors and intricacy of the cake was astounding! It was a little difficult to get in touch with her, as the bakery is very busy, but they are very understanding. The pricing is a little high, but you get what you pay for, which is amazing cake! There are no hidden fees, and you get the cake of your dreams!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So Happy with everything, went above and beyond
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 920-236-9144
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0