The Cake Guru Tamara's
Piping Haute Cakes!
1529 Oregon Street
Oshkosh, WI 54902  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (55)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We were disappointed. We went for a cake tasting and the cupcakes were amazing so we had some high hopes, especially after reading so many reviews. Our cake was dry and didn't look all that amazing either. For the price we paid we were not happy, we feel Walmart could have done just as good for 1/8 of the cost.
I also felt they were hard to get ahold of. Then a few days before the wedding I got an email saying they had no idea what we wanted for our cake when we had sent pictures and described what we wanted. If they were so confused they should have just passed on the cake instead of getting our hopes up. We wanted half traditional and half super hero.
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
We showed Tamara pictures of what we wanted, she sketched up a drawing of what we wanted. They have soo many different flavors and fillings to choose from, the cake was delicious!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
The cake was beautiful and DELICIOUS! Tamara was great to work with and made my vision reality!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had the most amazing cupcakes at our wedding that our guests just raved about. Thank you Tamara for helping to make our wedding memorable!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Heard nothing but good things during our wedding about our cake/cupcakes! They were delicious! Tamara is very easy to work with and her wedding tasting events makes it super easy to come in and sample flavor and book your event.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tamara's Cake Guru does such amazing work! The cupcakes are fantastic and I just wish I could eat more of them. They are moist cakes and of huge proportions! We had the dirt cake cupcake and that was such a big hit! She is perhaps not the easiest to get a hold of but she is thorough when you do get a hold of her! This was a vendor I didn't have to worry about, tell her what you want and when you want it and it will be there and fantastically tasty!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Jenny 3 Reviews
The Cake Guru did cupcakes and a small cake for us for our wedding. The cupcakes were awesome and got rave reviews all night. The bride and groom cake was so good also, I only waited a couple of days to break into the rest of it! We had six different flavors but the list was so long it was hard to choose just six. You may think $2.50 is a lot for a cupcake, but the taste makes up for the cost. Tamara is hard to get a hold of and won't always answer emails in a timely fashion, but once you get your order in and the details ironed out, the staff will take care of the rest.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Simon 4 Reviews
Tamara and the Cake Guru Staff where very friendly and easy to work with. They accommodated all our needs and followed thru with all our questions and concerns. Our cup cakes and there design was amazing, delicious, and we received raving reviews from our guests. If you are planning an event We HIGHLY suggest Giving them an opportunity to make your day and your dessert special!

Simon & Lacey
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tamara was incredible! I had a low budget wedding and was stoked to find that I could have an award winning cake artist make my cake for the same cost as a piggly wiggly! We went for our tasting and were allowed to pick a different flavor for each layer with no extra charge. We live an hour away, and that was the last time I saw tamara, she was super flexible and easy to contact either via phone or email. I was extremely pleased with her follow through on the design of our cake. I was exactly how I wanted it! I would DEFINANTLY recommend Tamara
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I went w/ Tamara b/c she created my sister's wedding cake a few years prior and her cake was delicious. My experience w/ Tamara was disappointing.
First, she's v. hard to contact. I sent her an email to set up a tasting appt. and didn't receive a response for over a week. When it was responded to, it was signed "Tamara" and gave vague info that didn't address my questions. So I called her shop and found out it wasn't Tamara who had actually responded but one of her assistants. Why would they sign off as her?! She wasn't friendly on the phone.
On the day of our wedding, the cake arrived late to our venue which was an issue as the cake was to be displayed in a main entrance that guests would pass on their way into our ceremony. It was to be a focal point. The cake arrived a full half hour late from the 2 hour timeframe our coordinator gave Tamara, which as it was was cutting it pretty close to our ceremony and subsequent cocktail hour start time. Our coordinator even had to call (I believe more than once) to find out where they were. Guests were arriving and there was an empty stand and table. Not pretty and definitely not professional. Another note that left us dismayed: our cake topper fell off the top tier of our cake! My husband and I had already cut the cake and were standing near the cake table with some of our guests when we heard a thud! My husband thinks it was unbalanced on only 1 dowel and was just waiting to tumble. We quickly put it back on. (Fyi, no one bumped the table!)
Finally, what was most disappointing overall was that a few of our tiers just didn't taste fresh and were dry. The raspberry swirl tier was definitely dry and not fresh; you could tell from the grain texture. The banana layer tasted artificial. The design was also less than we expected but pretty. Overall, Tamara just seems to be unorganized and cares less about her cake business these days. Also: don't be fooled by all the flavors & designing. Any good cake baker should offer that.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I did their famous cupcakes for dessert and as our center pieces and everyone talked about them all night long!!! Absolutely amazing!
Wedding: 06/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Zachary 5 Reviews
Tamara was very fun to be around and talk to because she was passionate about her bakery! We absolutely loved her!
Wedding: 05/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was more than we expected
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Soooo beautiful!! The cake was perfect and we were allowed tons of different flavors and frosting for the different layers! They also decorate the cake table.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When Tamara calls herself a "cake artist" she truly means just that. She comes up with a concept for a cake with you. She charges by the number of slices since she doesn't exactly know what the cake will look like.

My husband and I attended one of her cake tasting/booking parties and we were blown away by the taste. We had a hard time deciding. We ended up going with a three-tiered cake. Each layer was a different flavor and filling. One layer we didn't even try because it was seasonal (pumpkin) but based on the others we had tried, we knew it would be delicious.

At her cake tastings, she lets you "draw" for something. Could be a percentage off the overall cost, certain amount off or free delivery. We ended up with free delivery which was amazing since our venue was almost an hour from her shop. The thing that sold me the most was she said she would make us a small cake of the flavor of our cake for our first anniversary so we wouldn't have to freeze the topper. I was sold!

The cake arrived and was more beautiful that we could imaged. She worked with the venue to make sure the cake could be delivered on time. I would recommend her to anyone!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amy 5 Reviews
Our cake was absolutely gorgeous and tasted just as good. The cake looked so good some people thought it was fake!!!!!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 920-236-9144
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0