Sutherland Entertainment
DJ, Latin Guitar, Photo Booth, Lighting
2703 7th St
Berkeley, CA 94710  | map
Rentals: Lights, Photo Booth
Services: Breakdown, Delivery, Setup
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lydia 3 Reviews
Spencer Sutherland is a top notch professional DJ. He is very in tune to what gets the crowd moving and makes sure he plays the songs you want played. Our dance party could have gone all night! It was wonderful and I would definitely recommend Spencer to anyone looking to have a great party!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Spencer is a wonderful classic guitar player, setting the appropriate tone for our son's outdoor wedding. He is also an astute and extremely engaging DJ who reads a diverse wedding reception house (140 people of all musical tastes), and both cradled and rocked the place. Everyone danced (8 months to 80 years old).
Spencer is a professional in every aspect of his business, preparation, support for the day, and execution.

Five stars are not enough.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have found a better DJ. We met with him in person and he explained what he does and offers in plain english. Once we signed him up, he was willing to meet with the father of the groom, the bride, and groom a month beforehand to go over details. A week leading up to the wedding he brought things to the attention of the bride and groom that other vendors neglected to mention. For example he had great input on the flow of the evening to make sure the guests would be entertained all evening.

We had him do live guitar for the ceremony and DJ for the cocktails and reception. The guitar was great. It was said to be "incredible" coming from a musical family member. I had guests come to me and say how great the DJ was without being asked. There were people on the dance floor from the minute dancing started all the way to when the DJ was required to stop by the venue.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

sydney 1 Reviews
I highly recommend Spencer for services as DJ and Musician for any wedding event. He played the classical guitar during our ceremony, which people raved about afterwords. Most importantly, he had the whole crowd dancing until the party was over. Not only in the moment of the wedding was he reliable but also in the planning process. I found him very easy to work with. He responded to all my email quickly and professionally. He was also very organized in making sure all details are communicated before hand, which on your wedding day is a dream come true. To put it lightly... Spencer Rocks!!! 5 Stars all the way!
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Spencer to DJ at our wedding and he did a fantastic job! He was very responsive and helpful throughout the whole planning process. He showed up at our venue early to setup and made sure everything was smooth from start to finish. His song choices were great and his mixes were flawless. He got people on the dance floor who we never saw dance before! We highly recommend Spencer because he’s good at what he does. We had a blast at our wedding thanks to him!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If searching for a DJ, search NO MORE. Spencer is not only the best DJ I've ever heard at a wedding, his planning skills are easy to use and he is SO organized, which in the midst of wedding planning, is a must! A DJ can make or break a crowd, Spencer did everything I paid him for and SO much more. He was attentive to our wants and needs and made everything run so smoothly! His music had the dance floor jammin the WHOLE night, and we didn't want him to leave!! This is hard to do with wedding guests of ALL ages! His flow of music couldn't have been better and we felt like he was a part of the party!! I only hope I have a reason to hire him again in the future!! THANKS SO MUCH, SPENCER!!

Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spencer was recommended to us by our venue and after just one meeting, we knew why: he's incredibly talented, genuinely passionate about what he does, and a pleasure to work with. He talked to us about our likes and dislikes, listened to us about the kind of wedding we wanted, and gave us amazing guidance about how to make it happen. My fiance and I both care about music and wanted what was played at the wedding to reflect our taste; Spencer totally understood where we were coming from and made some great suggestions about how to incorporate what we wanted while still keeping the party going (he's great at feeling out the crowd and playing just the right song to get people on the dance floor). In addition to handling the reception, he played pre-ceremony guitar and people are still raving about how beautiful it was -- it really set the tone for everything that followed. He's a total pro. 5 stars!
Wedding: 11/19/2011
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Spencer is the coolest! The greatest thing is that he is not your typical DJ... he isn't shouting over the mic or playing cliches. He sticks to what you request and is able to read a room and deliver the right song to keep the party going. Spencer had his work cut out for him with our diverse, yet small, wedding party- lots of different age groups, lots of different requests, and lots of personalities. But, somehow he was able to keep us ALL dancing, and he stuck to respecting us as a couple and playing what we wanted to hear.

His skills on the guitar are unbelievable, as well. It was the perfect accompaniment to our Napa nuptials. He set the atmosphere with his Spanish guitar and provided something different for us and our quests than the typical songs you hear at most events. We highly recommend using Spencer for your event- ceremony music or as a DJ!!
Wedding: 05/27/2011
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We chose Spencer based on a recommendation from another vendor that told us that if we wanted a Dance Party...to hire Spencer.
Wow...was that the truth!!!
Spencer was completely professional, responsive and helpful during the planning process. He was accommodating and patient with any budget constraints and gave me a lot of great advice.
As for the day of...he played the guitar for the ceremony beautifully and then was nimble enough to switch over and make sure to play the songs we needed from his sound system for our recessional. He came and scouted our location the day before (because we hired him to play down in L.A.) and was totally fired up and prepared to make sure everything went smoothly.
He did a fantastic job of MC'ing the wedding...not talking too much but just making sure the guests knew what was going on.
He helped us pull off a fun choreographed first dance on an entirely different dance floor and even helped my husband surprise me with a serenade by having a sound system/mic ready for that... and he kept the secret!!! :D
He kept our dance floor absolutely PACKED all night!!! We thought that was going to be difficult because our dance floor was on a slant and we thought guests would not dance...forget about it! Spencer had them dancing so much that we actually pooled money together and paid him to stay an extra 3 hours (and he even threw in an extra half hour for us because he is so cool!)

You can't worry about every little song that is played...if you do, then you should have an IPOD list and hire a friend to man it. Spencer has the gift of music and the ability to read a crowd. Let him do his thing and you won't be disappointed!!!
Wedding: 12/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I hired Spencer on the recommendation of a friend. I thought that the overall VALUE of his services was great. I read the other reviews, and I will say that there were some songs from my "must play" list that I do not remember hearing. Spencer is professional, and accomodating, I think that he did a GREAT job, both in his guitar playing and as a DJ, he was also REALLY REALLY excellent on the announcing/MC part of my wedding. Would I hire him for another event? - ABSOLUTELY! Would I recommend him? ABSOLUTELY! Again, I think that his whole package is a great value and worth the price.
Wedding: 11/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
My husband and I hired Spencer Sutherland to play the acoustic guitar for our ceremony. We also requested two songs we wanted him to play specifically for our wedding, which were not on his standard play list so he charged us extra for those two specific songs. What he charged us was more than what we expected, but in the end, the songs worked out beautifully in our ceremony. Spencer is a very talented musician.
Wedding: 11/06/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Choose Spencer! Spencer was simply fantastic from the planning to the execution! He was extremely professional, punctual and makes the daunting task of planning wedding and reception music really, really easy, and even fun.

He played guitar for the wedding and cocktail hour, and then DJ'd for the reception. The guitar playing was absolutely perfect. My only request for the reception was our guests have a good time. Boy did Spencer deliver! He played songs from our request list, but definitely played music appropriate to the age group. He really pays attention and plays music to the crowd on the dance floor, which was awesome. He is respectful of your desires for your wedding and does everything he can to make sure his part of your day is nothing less than perfect.

Related to this review is that I planned my wedding and worked with all the vendors. Spencer was consistently the most responsive, and required the least amount of "checking-in". It was an absolute relief to have him as a part of my wedding day. Without any reservations, I highly recommend Spencer Sutherland.
Wedding: 10/16/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spencer is the best! From the time we met him, we knew he was the one we wanted to DJ at our wedding. Spencer is a multifaceted entertainer. He DJs and plays guitar. He played guitar prior to our ceremony and for the cocktail hour. He also helped me playing a song during the ceremony. He is not the average DJ. He played to the crowd and made our reception a true success.
Wedding: 08/22/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Spencer had a lot of challenges on our wedding day! Our venue had many noise constraints because of its proximity to homes. Spencer was extremely professional when working with the venue staff and staying within the limits. We also got a very late start with the dancing, so some of the songs we requested got cut out. I was disappointed, but I understand that he had to work with the time he was given. He apologized the next morning for not getting to all our songs. We were very pleased with his professionalism and would definitely hire Spencer again!
Wedding: 05/29/2010
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I could give Spencer more stars I would! We hired Spencer to pay Latin guitar at our ceremony/cocktail hour and then DJ the rest of the reception. Not only was the guitar amazing, Spencer kept the dance floor packed (packed!!!) all night! He was courteous, helpful, and professional. I had a million questions leading up to the wedding and he was patient with me. He has planning software on his website which is so helpful because you can take your time filling out the timeline and developing your song lists and save as you go. I would highly recommend Spencer for anyone who wants to have a great reception!

At MOTB - the wedding day isn't about playing what the parents want to hear, it's about what the bride and groom want. One way to kill a dance party is to play a waltz!

Hire Spencer ladies and gentlemen! You will NOT be disappointed! :)
Wedding: 05/22/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spencer plaid for our ceremony and cocktail hour and was fantastic. I requested a few specific songs, which he learned and played beautifully! I highly recommend Spencer if you are looking for a great guitarist.
Wedding: 03/13/2010
Services Used: Ceremony Music
 415-309-4126
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0