A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn
THE BEST TASTING CAKES!
    166 Reviews
3153 5th Avenue North
Saint Petersburg, FL 33713  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (166)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A Special Touch was more than willing to accommodate me for my wedding cake just one day before they closed up shop for vacation. Bonnie made my process completely painless, even with the added anxiety of being from NY and never being able to do a tasting. The cake looked identical to what I asked for and we could have been happier!
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joy 4 Reviews
The cake was beyond our expectations, they did an amazing job and made all transactions do smoothly. Would highly recommend!
Wedding: 07/13/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The best tasting! Amazing design! Get you cake here!!!! I will be going back! Nothing left to say...
Wedding: 07/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I planned our wedding out of state from Ohio and did not taste our wedding cake prior to ordering. Cakes by Carolynn made us not regret our decision. Their cake tasted so delicious and our guests were very pleased! Planning on the phone was smooth and stress free and they really worked with me and my ideas. I also ordered a groom's cake that ended up better than I envisioned! They delivered our cake to our small reception at an outdoor restaurant and set up our cake topper and everything. Their raspberry amaretto swirl cake with Bavarian cream filling was melt in your mouth delightful! Our groom's cake was simple chocolate and just as good! You can't go wrong with Cakes by Carolynn.
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Thank you Meghan for letting others know about our cakes and your experience with Cakes by Carolynn. It is always our goal to make all brides and grooms happy. We are thankful for you! Blessings to you and your groom!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Exactly what we wanted - excellent value - can't wait until our first anniversary to enjoy the top layer of our wedding cake (again)! Our cake was beautiful, and communication was great to get the shop our colors and also to incorporate our cake topper (we hand delivered).
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Dear Brooke, Thank you so much for your kind words. It is our goal to delight every bride and groom with their wedding cake. We are thankful that we delivered exactly what you wanted. Wishing you a lifetime of happiness!
Wedding: 06/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We went with cakes by carolynn because it was recommended to us by our florist. It was the best decision. We went with an amaretto raspberry that was out of this world. Our cake topper is coconut which we couldn't wait for our anniversary. Very delicious. I will be back to get a cake for our anniversary. They worked great with our florist who delivered our cake decor. Just stop in and try a cupcake you will be hooked.
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Thanks Debbie! We look forward to "hooking" many more cupcake lovers after your kind words. Not only are they moist and yummy, they are inexpensive. Congratulations, we wish you love!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cake was delicious!!! We are so happy we made the decision to go with Cakes By Carolynn. We picked two flavors: Chocolate with fudge filling and then Raspberry amaretto swirl with a raspberry bavarian cream filling. YUMMY! Thanks again :)
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Hi Melissa,

You are even making me hungry. So glad you enjoyed your cake!!! Thank you for posting your satisfaction. Have you checked out our new Google 360? It is cool! Congratulations and blessings to you and your new hubby.
Wedding: 05/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married at the Grand Plaza on May 1st and Cakes by Carolynn was highly recommended. Since we are from NY and had a destination wedding...we couldn't come by for a tasting and went by reviews and recommendations. Well we were so happy we chose Cakes by Carolynn because the cake was delicious and so beautiful!! Our guests couldn't believe how good the cake was and talked about it all night...even the next day! If you are getting married in St. Pete...you must get the cake from Cakes by Carolynn!! Highly recommended!!!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Stephanie,
Thank you so very much for your wonderful words! We are thankful for you and wish you a lifetime of love. Bless you!
Wedding: 05/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We contacted Carolynn's because it is well known in our area. We found that other companies charge for a tasting, they did not. The deposit was low and payment terms flexible. I created my own design for the cake and had my florist collaborrate with flowers. I emailed photos of a design and they did a great job recreating it! It was delivered on time, the cake was gorgeous and some of my guests said it was the best wedding cake they've ever had. Strongly recommend!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Amy, thank you so much for posting your happiness with Cakes by Carolynn. We have been in business for over 24 years. We worked hard to get a good reputation and we work hard to keep it. We are blessed that you chose us for your wedding cake needs. Congrats to you and your husband!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Samantha 7 Reviews
Our cake and cupcakes looked beautiful and tasted great! The icing was the best part! We had red velvet, marble and amaretto raspberry swirl (which was my favorite) but all 3 flavors were delicious. They were very easy to work with and were always very nice on the phone and in store.
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Dear Samantha,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of Cakes by Carolynn and our cakes. We are blessed with wonderful brides and grooms. We love working with you and appreciate you!
Wedding: 04/11/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They provided samples for everyone who came in, which was not expected! Amazing cake!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Christina,
Glad you were happy with your Cakes by Carolynn experience! Lesson I learned from my Mom: It is rude not to serve everyone. We will never be rude! Blessings,
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lori & Brian 2 Reviews
Cake was beautiful and yummy! We chose to have fresh flowers on the cake and it turned out just as we expected. The bakery and florist coordinated everything which was very convenient!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Dear Lori and Brian,
Thank you for posting your review. Beautiful and Yummy - always our goal! Congratulations and be blessed!
Wedding: 03/26/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
An absolutely fantastic experience from beginning to end. They walked us through every step of the way while we designed our cake and provided several samples to try in the store. The cake itself is like eating angel food cake! It was delivered on time and set up perfectly!

The biggest issue we had was not buying a big enough cake. Sure, it fed all of our guests and we had the top layer left over, but people came back for seconds before others had gotten a piece because it was so good!

Can't wait until a birthday comes up so we can order another cake!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Hmmmm, if you are going to have a problem at your wedding, this is the best kind to have - the cake tastes too good. We just love to hear that! We are blessed to have great recipes that are moist and delicious. People certainly enjoy our cakes. We make dessert cakes, cupcakes, and brownies too - no need to wait for a birthday. We look forward to seeing you again! Bless you.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was my husbands favorite part of the planning process. We went with a simple 3 tier butter cake with fudge and peanut butter filling. All of my guests loved it!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
Thank you for posting your review. Butter cake is one of my favorites. It is made with real butter and has a buttery taste. Yummy! We appreciate you and pray God blesses your marriage always!
Wedding: 01/24/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We did a destination wedding as were unable to try our cake beforehand so we were not sure how it was going to turn out. They were very responsive and helpful during the whole process. The cake was perfect and was very delicious. Would highly recommend.
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
We often work with brides and grooms on destination weddings. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and pleasure with Cakes by Carolynn. I am sure other destination brides and grooms will find your review helpful. Congrats!
Wedding: 11/22/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Krystine... 3 Reviews
We were doing a destination wedding and Bonny helped us with everything! We didn't opt for the cake tasting since we were out of town in Atlanta! We choose the chocolate amaretto with raspberry filling. The cake was beautifully done and tasted AMAZING! The cake was most and so flavorful! Thank you so much for the amazing cake and working with us in everything!!
A Special Touch - Cakes By Carolynn responded with the following comments:
You are so very welcome, Krystine! It was a pleasure working with you. It is my favorite part of the business, working with wonderful brides and grooms. Congratulations and we wish you a lifetime of love!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 727-327-5725
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0