sintalentos
dj dan nishimoto
Brooklyn, NY 11217  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Based on a recommendation from the venue where we held our Firm's Holiday Party we hired Dan to DJ the event and were happy we did. He had a challenge - our group varied widely by age and music likes. By evening's end the dance floor was packed & we had a hard time telling everyone the party had come to an end.

Dan was easy to work with, responsible and responsive to guest's dance desires. His approach to getting people to dance was subtle. He wasn't loud or flashy which is another reason we were happy with Dan.
Wedding: 12/19/2013
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have found a better DJ for our wedding. We first saw Dan in action at a friend's wedding where he kept the dance floor packed all night. So we knew to call him up when it was our turn. Dan impressed us from the start with his meticulous attention to our music tastes - asking all the right questions, doing all the research on our attendees. I've been to plenty of weddings where DJs play songs that no one wants to dance to, but not Dan. He listens, watches and adapts the music based on the pulse of the party.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We can't say enough good things about the amazing Dan! Working with him was such a pleasure. We were coordinating our wedding from 3000 miles away, so we were constantly communicating with our vendors through phone and email. Dan's responses were always prompt, thorough, and extremely helpful. We had an idea of the vibe we were going for and he gave us some great suggestions for the first dance, aisle walk, etc. On the day of - he not only picked out the perfect music, but totally understood the kind of mood we were going for. Our wedding was an extra challenge because it was a half Persian-half Dominican wedding (and we wanted classic oldies!) - but he managed to makr everyone happy. Some of the songs we requested were hard to find and he made it a mission to track them down. His positive attitude, organization and comprehensive music knowledge made him a lifesaver. He went very above and beyond our expectations. My sister-in-law also used him for her much larger wedding - and he was equally wonderful. We really can't recommend him enough!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan was the perfect wedding DJ. We met with a number of DJs and could tell off the bat that Dan had the best taste in music--something surprisingly lacking from many of the other well-recommended and seasoned NYC DJs we met with! Aside from his excellent taste and deep knowledge of music (which was was most important to us) Dan is awesomely responsive to the crowd and was extremely perceptive in figuring out exactly what we wanted. For us, during the dancing, it was 60s/70s soul and 90s hip-hop, directives Dan used to put together the best dance party ever--artful transitions, well-chosen surprises, lots of crowd-pleasers. He was also really proactive with the venue and prompt to every single meeting, making sure he had everything he needed without involving us at all. And on the flip side, incredibly patient and understanding with us when we were late with providing him with info. Also just the nicest guy. Thank you so much Dan!!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiance and I were determined to find a non-cheesey DJ for our wedding. The thought of someone passing out inflatables and plastic sunglasses made us sweat. We did not want someone constantly talking and telling people to sit down, stand up, etc. White Label DJs and Dan (pronounced Don) fit the bill! They were so, so, so easy to work with. Very quick to respond to all emails and last minute requests. A lengthy, detailed questionnaire allows the couple to really customize their music selection. Anybody living in the areas serviced by Dan and White Label DJs should definitely check them out if you want a polished, hip, non-cheesey DJ for your wedding or other big event! THANK YOU!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
DJ Sintalentos rules!

He got a sense of our tastes in advance (incl 'favorite bands' and the 'do not play' list) and played great music all evening once the day came. Dance floor was never empty.

Also super friendly and helpful in the time leading up to the wedding. Extremely tolerant of my slow emailing, and always organized and there with the reminder nudges I needed, but never pushy or impatient in the slightest.

10/10!

Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can't recommend Dan more. We were looking for a certain vibe but we weren't sure how the night would go. Dan patiently reviewed our vague instructions and took the pulse of the room and gave us the night we were hoping for. Once we checked out some of his mixes, we were sure we could trust his taste and we were right. He kept it mellow when it needed to be and got everyone up dancing at the right time. My only regret is I didn't get enough to eat because the music was too good to stop dancing. One of the best values for our money in the whole event.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan was the absolute best - he totally went out of his way to accommodate not only our varied musical tastes, but gave great advice on the flow of the event and was more than professional all the way through. He went the extra mile to make us feel great throughout the process and met with us several times before our wedding. Importantly, he is a very calm presence and it was so important with us to have a relaxed DJ personality for our wedding. It gave us confidence that he was as much about customer service as he was about getting our audience on the dance floor - which he did with a terrific mix.

I would absolutely recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ without the frills - he's a person that really takes a lot of elements into consideration to help make not only the music as perfect as possible but the overall wedding experience an amazing one.

People always talk about going the extra mile, but he actually did and we could not be more appreciative or happy with how the night turned out. As an ardent music fan I felt really confident in his choices and he managed to squeeze in just about every directional feedback we provided.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
First off, I will NEVER forget my mom getting down to Kanye's "Mercy," and how many of us completely missed dessert, because we couldn't get off the dance floor.

Simply put: Dan created the perfect soundtrack to an incredible night. We'll never forget the magical, dreamy state everyone was in by the end of the night.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We would give Dan 10 stars if we could! He was a pleasure to work with, and our guests loved him. Our reception was at a Tribeca restaurant that caters to a lot of weddings, and the initial DJ that the restaurant recommended reminded me of the DJs at my high school dances—not the kind of person we wanted to set the tone of our wedding. Dan was professional, and fun. He was attentive, in constant communication with us, and functioned as much more than just our DJ. We depended on him to advise us on the best music for our father-daughter/mother-son dance, and he truly impressed us with his self initiative to speak with the restaurant coordinator to ensure that everything went perfectly behind the scenes. Our guests were partying on the dance floor all night long, and everyone had a blast. During our honeymoon, we considered getting Dan a present because we liked him so much—the only reason we didn’t is because we didn’t want to be weird. Dan if you read this, thanks again for making our wedding magical!
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan was a pleasure to deal with and a real pro. He kept us on track for our wedding, met with us personally to discuss pretty much anything we wanted and was accommodating of our requests and preferences. He flawlessly mixed the songs we requested with many that were similar to it. You can tell he truly has an appreciation for all things music... Think of him as the human Pandora. Dan kept the crowd moving all night and we got a lot of compliments on the music. Also doesn't hurt that he's a really nice guy. Highest recommendations!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband Ken and I agree that it was a great decision to hire Dan Nishimoto (aka sintalentos) to DJ our wedding, and we wholeheartedly recommend him for any event.

In terms of pre-planning, Dan met us at our venue to see what type of space we were working with and made recommendations on what he thought would work best. He was also proactive about getting in touch directly with the venue when he had questions rather than come to us expecting answers. This was helpful since we were planning most of our wedding ourselves and had a lot of things to juggle. It was good to know we didn't have to worry about him at all.

Dan also met with us on separate occasions to get to know us and what our musical styles were like. He asked us questions that really made us think about how we wanted our day to progress and then did a skillful job putting a soundtrack to it. Since it was an afternoon wedding and on multiple floors, Dan patiently helped us draw up a well thought out plan so that each part of the wedding would have the appropriate music, from quirky entrance music for the bridal party, to mellow oldies for our older guests and during the main course.

It also spoke volumes that Dan and his assistant Tony were the first to arrive to set up on Wedding Day, before either us or our coordinator. They also worked well with our Wedding Coordinator and other vendors as well. From our friend who was playing live acoustic guitar before the ceremony, to the slide show at the reception, Dan and Tony make sure everyone had exactly what then needed in order to pull off everything like clockwork.

Even as an MC, Dan was spot-on - pronouncing everyone's names correctly, rolling with the punches when we had to make changes in the order of events and getting people to dance with his choice of music and without having to be too loud or pushy.

Overall, he helped us make our day a memorable one for us and our guests.
Wedding: 09/04/2011
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan Nishimoto is the absolute best DJ to have at your wedding and ceremony. From the moment we sat down with him, we felt like we had known him for years. He was incredibly easy to talk to, had a passion and knowledge of music from all different genres, and supported us throughout the whole process. He was in constant communication with us, helped us with our playists, made wonderful suggestions and even did extensive research for me when I was unsure or needed advice on music for the ceremony. The dance floor was packed during the reception! We couldn't be happier and felt extremely lucky to have found Dan. Thank you for all that you did in making our wedding day so memorable. Look no further, future brides-to-be, Dan is the best!
Wedding: 08/21/2011
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan Nishimoto (a.k.a. "sintalentos") was the perfect DJ for our wedding.

When we met with Dan to talk things over before our big day, it was completely clear that the music was in good hands. We gave him a list of songs that were special to us and he crafted thoughtful playlists for the time before the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and dance party. Dan knows his music, and complemented our selections with so many more great songs. He created exactly the right moods at the right times.

Working with Dan, we were able to collaborate on the fun stuff (picking songs) and not worry for a minute about the details, because he had them completely under control. He was there and set up early. He was easy to work with, and coordinated smoothly with the ceremony musicians, singing family members, officiant, and caterers. He was flexible and generous with his time during the planning phase. He is very professional, and knows how to make a memorable event happen. When it’s all over, he’ll definitely be one of the people whom you’ll think about and say, "wow, that guy was really on the ball."

Last but not least, the dance party was awesome! People were on the floor from the first song on. Everyone was dancing, young and old and in between. A guest overheard one caterer saying to another that Dan’s music was the best wedding music he’d ever heard – and they hear a lot of wedding music!

Musicphiles or musicphobes, if you are looking for a fun, collaborative, and super organized wedding DJ, there really isn’t a guy more talented than Dan Nishimoto!
Wedding: 02/27/2011
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan Nishimoto went out of his way to make sure our wedding celebration worked well and rolled smoothly. We had specific songs we wanted, and he provided them. He spun them throughout the night with care and consideration. We had specific announcements we wanted, and Dan fit them nicely into the evening. All was well done. Despite a difficult commute he was prompt, professional, and proficient. If you’re not into music, tell him what you want and he’ll provide. If you know your music, tell him exactly what you expect. Chances are he’ll know exactly your goal. It seems like he has a great background in music (including the cheesy or trendy stuff if you want it). He can really open ears to all kinds of rhythm & rhyme… stuff that would otherwise be overlooked. Dan, if you read this- thanks again! -Ivy & Rich
Wedding: 05/30/2009
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dan is the best!

Friendly and flexible.

So thoughtful and creative in his song selections. They'll be just right for you!

I'd work with him again in a second.
Wedding: 05/09/2009
Services Used: DJ
 646-470-0630
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0