Silver Creek Valley Country Club
Perfecting the Art of Fun for the Silicon Valley Lifestyle
5460 Country Club Parkway
San Jose, CA 95138  | map
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (10)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (3.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I was married here on August 23, 2013 and it was a smashing success!! Our guests had the time of their lives, the scenery was picture perfect, and the food was divine.

We had to rush this wedding in 6 weeks, so the planning phase was a little difficult. Our director of catering, Susanna G. is a very busy woman (she does EVERYTHING!!) so sometimes it was tricky getting a hold of her, but she was always sending email responses at midnight, so I know she put her effort in.

The cost is expensive, but you get a lot for your money. It is a gorgeous venue, and the food really is wonderful, so if you can get past the price, it's worth it. Just be mindful of the 20% service charge (which most places charge anyway, but it still caught us off guard).

Regardless, it was a night to remember, and the staff did a great job making sure everything went smoothly. Very happy bride here!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lindsay 2 Reviews
Excellent venue with stunning views. I wanted an outdoors venue feel but my parents want the comfort of indoors so this is a perfect combination! The coordinator Susanna was very friendly and helpful and even helped to work with our budget. The bakery they come with is excellent.. cake design turn out to be exactly what I want and it is yummy. Many guests complimented on the food too although I think the Salmon is excellent but not the steak. Overall, highly recommend this palce.
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5

Private User 2 Reviews
This place is certainly beautiful and expensive. That being said nothing else was flexible and everything else was an additional charge. I rated the responsiveness 1.5 because the first 9 months of communicating with my coordinator, susanna, as lovely as she was in person, she was very unresponsive and unhelpful once she did respond. It was very frustrating. However, towards 1-2 months before my wedding her responses were much more adequate.

I had my heart set on the waterfall backdrop and beautiful landscape so i was willing to suck up all the other nuances.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Risa is amazing! She helped coordinate our whole day and when it got down to the wire- she kept us on track so we wouldn't lose our schedule. When I had questions after business hours ( and I had a lot) she was right there.. Emailing me back with no hesitation. . The venue was absolutely stunning!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Once we saw this venue, we fell in love and no other place could compare. This place is gorgeous! We had so many compliments! Our coordinator, Risa, was awesome and she went above and beyond for us. The only drawback was the price...this place is pretty costly, but it's so beautiful that what can you expect? Regardless, we loved it and would get married here again all over if we could!
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Private User 9 Reviews
Overall Experience
We had a ceremony and reception at SCVCC. After over 90 venues this was our first choice. We loved the venue but they initially didn't accomodate anything culturally different than the traditional American wedding. Several months later when we returned they changed their policies to allow outside catering, later end time, and less alcohol restrictions.

Relationship
We worked with Denise Fattal and she was spectacular. She went out of her way for us and really worked hard to make it a positive and smooth experience on our wedding day. Nancy (late night manager) really brought down the hype of the wedding. My guests complained that she had a negative energy and was too slow to respond to requests. Laura was an incredible addition to the staff on our wedding day (definately request her on the day of). Many of the other staff members found it hard to meet the cultural demands of bussing tables at a Russian wedding.

Positives
Stunning site and we received big compliments for getting married at this venue. They worked well (for the most part) with our outside vendors. The timeline sketch was helpful and we know in the end we picked the right venue for us.

Negatives
Their mandatory vendor list is EXTREMELY outdated. Some numbers and companies are disconnected, there is minimal cultural diversity in their selection, and they don't have many professionals that have a unique and modern style (very old-fashion and aged styles). SCVCC is set in their ways of how a wedding "should flow" and the placement of items. They had many assumptions of how we set up and do things and we needed to stop constantly during tours or reviews to correct a lot of aspects that we wanted to be unique or done differently then the average.

Price
They are undoubtable a for-profit club. It was very expensive, specifically because we did very high end outside catering (we had to pay $12k for food/bev. even though they didn't do any food, and we could have ordered alcohol for 270% cheaper, yes the mark up on alcohol was 270%). It got to the point were we had money left over and started picking random things to reach our food/beverage minimum. Nevertheless the venue was a hit and we loved getting married in this location.

We are happy but it would have been better if we had Denise the entire night, and if we if we had more flexibility with their mandatory list and out-dated policies during the months of planning leading up to the wedding.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Silver Creek was the first venue that we looked at. Nothing else could compare after that. Not only was it the MOST elegant and classy place, but the wedding coordinator, Denise, made it so much more worth it's while. Everyone at our wedding was beyond impressed with every nuance. We felt so blessed and proud. We would recommend Silver Creek Valley Country Club to anyone looking for a high class, well organized, easy and elegant wedding venue.
Wedding: 10/03/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Silver Creek Valley Country Club was a great place to have the wedding. Everyone was great to work with and helped make the day as smooth as possible. Any problems that came up they handled without me or my family being bothered. The ceremony was beautiful by the waterfalls and all the new landscaping. I would recommend this to anyone.
Wedding: 10/06/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0
I loved this site, because the views are stunning and it is relatively new (12 years old) and the outdoors wedding site was renovated just months before our wedding. The site itself is well maintained and very impressive. And the food was delicious. However, the wedding coordinater we had, Denise, was very anal and totally struck me as someone who thinks you should be honored she's working with you, even though you are the bride! She made it clear we had to abide by all the country club's rules and use their vendors and most importantly pay on time and was not flexible AT ALL. During our rehearsal she was totally unorganized and did a horrible job and on the wedding day she made our guests drive around because they came slightly early. The site only allows guests to arrive 30 min. before the wedding which is ridiculous. Honestly, I think my experience would have been so much better if I didn't have her as my coordinator. In this industry and for the price you pay to get married here, you should receive great service and a helpful attitude. The space delivers but thumbs down on the coordinator. They also have another coordinator, if you are contemplating getting married here, consider using the other one.
Wedding: 08/05/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Silver Creek Valley Country Club is the most beautiful wedding venue in the South Bay in my opinion and I would have my wedding there again in a heart beat. The only problem I had was with the wedding coordinator. Denise is very professional but she's also very by the book. Everything has to be done with the club rules and timeline and there's no room for change. I didn't get the feeling that she went out of her way to help us and that's something I expect from such a high scale place. For example, I was supposed to drop off our wedding favors the night of the rehearsal but forgot. I sent them instead the day of the wedding but she couldn't find them so she just didn't put them out. She didn't bother calling me and asking where they are, even though I had sent her a note telling her they are there. Her response later to me was too bad, you should have brought them earlier.
I have to add in that when I contacted Denise a year later to tell her our original photographer was a scam artist and ran off with our photos and we would like to do a re-shoot at Silver Creek, she was very kind and allowed us to come in on a day the club was closed. Overall she was nice to work with, just don't expect her to jump over hoops for you.
Wedding: 09/18/2004
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 408-239-5888
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1
out of 5.0