Saxman Slim
The DJ with Skills
    97 Reviews
Buffalo, NY 14222  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Country, Dance...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (97)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Saxman Slim, (Matt) was a great choice for our wedding reception music!! Our guests were raving about the sax being played during the cocktail hour and dinner. They were all really impressed because it's so much more unique than the standard DJ. It's almost like we had the best of both worlds in a band and DJ.
As a DJ, he was also great and really kept the party going all night. I really liked that he even got on the dance floor himself a few times!! The guests loved that as well. He was very easy to work with and very flexible and accommodating. Also a great value. Would highly, highly recommend!!
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve and I were very pleased with Stephen's performance at our wedding! He was beyond great to work with, he really kept things going and everyone one had a blast. Stephen is extremely professional and really paid attention to reading the crowd and playing music that kept people dancing. We couldn't have been happier with our choice to go with saxman slim!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Steven Rosenthal play the saxophone during our cocktail hour as well as dinner, and then DJ the rest of the evening.
He met with us prior to the wedding so we could talk about what we wanted on our special day. He provided us with a list of top requested songs at weddings for us to look through beforehand.
Steven was extremely friendly and professional, making sure to fulfill any of our desires for our wedding. I would highly recommend him to any of my friends or family getting married in the area.
He checked in with us throughout the reception to keep us on schedule and to see if there was anything in particular that we wanted him to do/play.
It was even his birthday on our wedding day!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
awesome. awesome. awesome. Saw him at a friend's wedding and had to use his services. The ceremony was awesome too with the sax. Matthew was awesome to work with.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were lucky enough to have Steve (Saxman Slim) as our DJ for our wedding in June. Steve met with us a few months prior to the wedding to chat about our music tastes/likes and dislikes. As my fiancé was working out of the country, Steve was really accommodating to when we could all meet together.

As soon as we met Steve, our worries about the day ceased. Not only was he professional when it came to his music, he was also incredibly kind. I remember he said to us to reach out at any time if things were feeling too hectic or even if we needed advice with non-music related wedding planning. I thought this showed wonderful character.

On the day of the wedding, we didn't have time to see much of Steve before cocktail hour and the reception. But he absolutely killed it during our cocktail hour playing the sax. People are still raving about it. And he announced us into our reception like a pro (obviously, because he is a professional) and led us through the course of events (cutting cake, first dance) with his announcing. Which was great, as we'd practically forgotten what we were supposed to do!

The rest of the night, the dance floor was packed. He knew exactly the right songs to play at the right time. And he definitely knew when to tell anyone at the wedding...nope, that's not on the song list (we weren't big group dance fans). We were very lucky to have Steve DJ at our wedding. Our friends and family are still talking about how it's the most fun they've had at a wedding in years. And how they've never seen such a crowded dance floor. So clearly, I'd definitely recommend Steve to anyone looking to have a DJ who knows exactly what they're doing, but who also truly cares about you as a customer/couple.

Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am so happy that I found Saxman Slim to take care of the music at my wedding!!! He was very flexible with arranging a meeting on Skype since I live in Rochester. He was extremely professional and flexible even when I emailed him last minute changes!!! His organization was outstanding, and everything went smoothly.

Saxman Slim is a talented saxophone player and really started the cocktail hour/dinner off to a good start. Afterwards, he kept the dance floor packed the ENTIRE night! I received so many compliments about him from all of my guests, some of which might use him for their weddings. He is definitely worth every penny and I am so thrilled that I used him for my wedding!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve was absolutely wonderful, fun, respectful, and accommodating. He had a huge part in making our wedding a success!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had such a phenomenal experience with Saxman slim. We were lucky enough to have Matt take care of our wedding reception. My dad wanted me to have live music and Saxman slim was the best of both worlds. We live in Texas and Matt was very flexible and skyped with my husband and myself. It is very apparent that Matt and Saxman Slim knows what he is doing. He addressed all concerns and was incredibly thorough and attentive. The dance floor was not empty the entire night and people danced all the way until the last song. The only time the floor started to clear he quickly switched songs and got everyone back moving. Our guests continue to rave about Saxman slim.
Wedding: 05/16/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AMAZING! Steven did our ceremony and reception for our wedding. He did an amazing job! From the first meeting at his home we knew we made the right choice! He was so helpful walking us thru everything. We loved the saxophone and the songs he chose sounded so lovely played on the saxophone. He kept checking on us making sure we were satisfied with what he was playing and is there anything else we wanted to hear or didn't want to hear. Overall I would highly recommend choosing Saxmal Slim for any party! We will definitely be seeing him again in the future!!! Thank you so much for making our night so memorable.

Dwight & Brittany
Wedding: 04/13/2014
Services Used: Band, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Put a different spin on wedding ceremony and cocktail hour music absolutely amazing everyone loved saxman slim!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married on NYE and our Saxman Steve was absolutely great! He was very helpful throughout the entire planning process...he is truly a wonderful man and DJ...It was a pleasure getting to know him... His performance was excellent...he is so talented! We were honored to have him! Everyone had a blast dancing, he kept the party going strong!

Thank You so much Saxman Steve!

Kayley & Will Kolek
Wedding: 12/31/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were very impressed with the overall service from Saxman Slim. He was able to play a little bit of everything for all generations. The dance floor was never empty. Saxman Slim played his saxaphone during the ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner - I am still getting compliments on the wedding music. He DJ'ed the rest of the evening and a great time was had by all! Thanks again Saxman Slim! :) Also it was very easy to work with him. I live in California but we had our wedding in Buffalo New York - he was very accomodating and even allowed a few last minute changes. :)

Sincerely,

The Noworyta's
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We had Justin from Saxman Slim DJ our wedding. In my opinion, the music and the food are the two most important aspects of a reception. Justin had our guests on the dance floor all night. On top of that, the saxophone during cocktail hour and dinner is such a treat for your guests. Our guests had such a great time at our wedding and I know the music was a big part of that. I would recommend Justin and Saxman Slim to anyone.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Saxman slim, is a great choice. For our wedding (we had saxman Matt) performed some magic and got almost my entire mostly introverted wedding guest list up dancing for the whole night. It was truly amazing. Other important things to note:

The Sax:
The saxophone music during the cocktail hour and dinner was 100% what I was looking for. The music was classy but really fun which set up a relaxed atmosphere. It also was loud enough to have comfortable background noise but not loud enough to make conversation difficult.

The announcements:
He was careful to know all the wedding parties names and there were no errors or mispronunciations. We had a somewhat complicated speech set up which he handled effortlessly, even when there were a few confusions he gracefully moved the process forward. We then played the shoe game, and he added great comic timing to the game and everyone really enjoyed it.

the value:
I can't say enough about what a great value this was. His DJ skills were amazing, he was very perceptive about what to play and when to keep a varied group of individuals happy comfortable and entertained. The sax playing was just so special, relaxing, inviting and perfectly executed. The cost was very very reasonable. He even offered to do the ceremony for a very minor extra charge. This was the best value of my wedding.

Flexibility: THIS IS THE BEST PART

He made our first dance song special. My husband and I were having trouble choosing a song and he was able to mix them together in a way I couldn't beleive. It was perfect and meaningful for us. He was happy to help us every way we asked and we are so grateful to him.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Sax man was wonderful in helping us plan our special day! He was very flexible and took the time to sit down and plan out exactly how our day would go. It was better than I imagined. Everyone commented on how awesome the DJ was and what a wonderful job he did. He really got involved with the guests and got everyone going. He provided not only DJ service but music for the ceremony and cocktail hour. Our ceremony was supposed to be set up outside, but rained and had to be moved inside. He set up the sound without a hitch and I didn’t even have to worry about a thing. I would highly recommend the Sax Man to any bride and groom!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steve was fantastic! We used him for my sister's wedding the year before so we knew we could count on him to do a wonderful job! We had absolutely no problems or concerns. The guests loved the sax playing during the cocktail hour.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
 716-885-1827
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0