Phipps Conservatory
Pittsburgh, PA 15213  | map
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (33)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Amanda 2 Reviews
Phipps is a beautiful venue for a wedding ceremony. We had our wedding in the Broderie room, which is small and intimate, just as we wanted. Gorgeous venue; however, a tad pricey. Well worth the costs, though.
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Overall, Phipps was an AMAZING reception venue. The entire facility looked beautiful, including the special events hall where our reception was held, and our guests were definitely thrilled. The food from their in house catering was delicious, and in general we were happy with our experience. However, the level of responsiveness from the events and catering team could have been better leading up to our event. The wedding went off without a hitch, but it did require a bit of persistence on my part.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had a small wedding ceremony here in the Broderie Room of the Conservatory. The setting was beautiful and the staff was very attentive. They provided a person to overlook our entire time in the room and get anything further we needed. Beautiful place.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We had the most beautiful an amazing wedding ceremony in the outdoor garden. A special thanks to Dom and Maria on helping us out for the rehearsal and the day of our ceremony. We could not have asked for a more perfect day and the staff were all so professional and helpful in every way.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Helen 4 Reviews
We had our reception at Phipps. We thought our reception turned out beautifully. It was like a fairytale! From the beginning when we booked with Phipps up until the night of our wedding, we were able to access the vendor and coordinators working with us constantly. I think this is a MAJOR pro about a vendor as I have heard other brides comment that they could not even contact their vendors easily. Additionally, we thought the food was FANTASTIC which was a major priority for us. The service and set up of the rainforest room and special events hall went smoothly and we have guests comment about the staff and venue constantly. We enjoyed the spaces we were able to have. We had a wonderful experience with Phipps! And other vendors, e.g., DJ, have commented that they enjoy working with and at this venue as well.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ruchi 2 Reviews
Our wedding at Phipps was beautiful! The weather largely cooperated and everyone was very helpful. The food and the facilities were great. It sometimes took a while in the back-and-forth between email and phone calls, but once we did connect with someone at Phipps, they were wonderful and understanding about our special needs in our Indian and Hindu traditional wedding ceremony.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Overall, having our wedding at Phipps was magical. Other than the humidity in the garden from the plants (expected), it was truly a dream. We worked with numerous event coordinators throughout the entire process, which got confusing and frustrating at times, but in the end we were satisfied with our coordinator for our wedding. Our coordinator was Erika and she was really attentive to our needs and responsive. The only complaints I would have would be that when I asked for extra chairs on the left side, they were placed on the right. So, three of my family members were left standing. Also, unless you rent the entire facility, you cannot really take pictures in any other room than the one rented. We had our ceremony in the Broderie Room, and it was just amazing. Our guests were given as much water as they could possibly need and they did have industrial sized fans going so they didn't get too hot. Overall, everyone we worked with for the rehearsal and the actual wedding, were great. Thank you, Phipps, for giving us a memorable day!!!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything about Phipps is wonderful. Even though it rained and we were in the Outside Garden, it couldn't have been more perfect!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding reception was simply amazing. Utterly fantastic. It was even more beautiful than we could have dreamed.

The event staff was beyond incredible. They are a first-rate, first-class team, and took care of every single detail imaginable.

Our food was delicious... so many rave reviews.

I wouldn't change a thing about our reception. There are few places more beautiful than Phipps Conservatory and Botanical Gardens, and I am very lucky to have had our reception at such an amazing venue.

The catering department is separate in a way from Phipps, but everything went pretty smoothly as far as planning goes. I definitely suggest sending all mail, for any vendor certified so there's a record of it.

If you are lucky enough to book Phipps as your wedding venue, I highly doubt you will be disappointed in any way, shape or form.

The coordinating staff at Phipps is amazing, and will help you though just about anything wedding-related!

I would recommend Phipps to any bride, any day. We had a dream wedding, and as one of the event coordinators said, "it will set the tone for a beautiful life together."
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
What an amazing location! The planning team was well organized and thought of every detail. We were so happy with how everything turned out! In fact, our several of our guests keep telling us it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever attended. While it wasn't cheap, it looked as though it should have cost at least double.

-Tara & Todd
Wedding: 10/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
We had our ceremony in the outdoor garden at phipps. the staff was wonderful and helped the ceremony run smoothly. it was beautiful and i got so many comments on the unique idea of holding the ceremony there. the only downfall is you can't have balloons, bubbles, rice etc. but how beautiful and nice it was--worth the sacrifice of bubbles. :)
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Phipps is an amazing venue, and we were so excited to book the Broderie Room. We had actually gotten engaged there because my husband knew that's where I wanted to get married. The staff was fantastic at answering any questions we had and responded promptly. The great thing about Phipps is that it's so beautiful, you don't need to decorate!
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so incredibly happy with our decision to get married at Phipps. The staff is so professional and helpful. They are always a phone call or email away. The day of, they were all we needed (no wedding planner necessary!). Professional and friendly staff! Very happy with Phipps - and the venue was beautiful as always!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We had our wedding in the outdoor garden at Phipps, and it could not have been more beautiful. It was a bit pricey, but I am still glad we had it here (especially since it is where my husband and I went on our first date!) It was an incredible venue and the people helping us were very friendly.
Wedding: 07/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.8 out of 5.0
0.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  0.5
Don't get me wrong, Phipps is a beautiful place to have your wedding ceremony and we had a wonderful day. During the planning process I was emailing with one of the event coordinators, Emily. She was very kind, helpful and always answered all of my questions. We wished that she could have been the coordinator at our event. However, the event staff who we worked with on the day of (Colleen) was pushy and rude to me, my father, my photographer and officiant, among others. It really all started when we went to Phipps for the rehearsal the night before. Colleen, the event coordinator who was assigned to our event was pushy from the get go... our rehearsal was slated to start at 5pm. All of our wedding party/family started to arrive early and gather together. We were still waiting for a few more people to arrive (among those was our officiant), it was 4:50pm and she was pushing us to start. I told her we couldn't start yet because our officiant wasn't there and one of our bridesmaids had just arrived and was tending to her baby in the car before the came up to the garden. Colleen was very unhappy with this and gave me a attitude, told me there were things we could do without them and that we needed to get started. I refused, which made her more unhappy and she walked away to make a phone call until they arrived. We went over and rehearsed the ceremony once and when asked by my father-in-law if we could go over it once more she said "No, I'll be here tomorrow." On the day of the wedding as soon as I arrived she run over to me with a box full of boutonnieres and said "Can i pass these out now? We need to pass these out now!" After I told her that the bridesmaids (who had just arrived with me) needed to pick their bouquets first so that we could match them up with the boutonnieres she gave me an attitude and said "What do you mean then? These really need passed out!" Then when we finally got that all situated she went out to pin the boutonnieres on the groomsmen and fathers. When she started my Dad went over and said, "I heard the girls talking in the limo and they wanted to make sure they had the same flowers as their groomsmen, I just wanted to make sure they told you." Colleen snapped back at my Dad " I know what I'm doing!!" Then during the ceremony the microphone didn't work. Our officiant asked them to fix it, someone walked over to it, looked at it and then walked away. It was never fixed. None of our guests could hear our readers and some of them couldn't even hear our officiant. After the ceremony Colleen was yelling at our photographer and our Maid of Honor that they needed to get everyone organized for pictures. She was terrible. We paid too much money to get to Phipps and receive an attitude from the staff and have a broken microphone. Go somewhere else for your ceremony.
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After some intense research on where I wanted to have my wedding I found that Phipps Conservatory was the place! It was very gorgeous and I thought they were reasonably priced! Any question I had was answered very promptly and with all the information I needed.
Wedding: 01/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0