The Pennsylvania Bakery
1713 Market Street
Camp Hill, PA 17011  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (29)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.3/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.2/5.0)
Value:
 (4.3/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Suzana 5 Reviews
The Pennsylvania bakery did a great job with my cake! They were very easy to work with and listened to what I wanted. They gave me a beautiful and delicious cake! Everyone at my wedding wanted more!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Looked great and tasted great!! They were on time delivering to our venue as well. we found a pic online of what we wanted our wedding cake to look like and they did it exactly like it!! Very pleased!!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I grew up going to this bakery, and all of my birthday cakes came from here. I was very excited to wok with them on my wedding cake, but I realized very quickly that this vendor would not work for us. I scheduled our tasting a month in advance and paid the $20 fee over the phone when I booked the tasting. Imagine our surprise when we showed up for the tasting and they had no record of our appointment. However, my credit card was charged the $20 fee weeks earlier. The manager never apologized to us. The staff went around the bakery pulling slices of various flavors we requested, and just plopped them down in front of us. Many were still partially frozen. We were left alone to look at sample books, and when the girl returned after we tasted the flavored that we're available, she immediately said "so what cake do you want to order?" We were shocked to learn about all the extra fees charged for every little thing. By the time she priced out everything we wanted, it ended up being hundreds of dollars over the boutique wedding cake place that we also tried. I think the icing on the cake (pun intended) was that they were changing out their window displays that day. As a result, the tasting area was covered in garbage cans, decorations, and older dusty displays. They pushed everything off of one table so we could sit down, but one of their staff members kept asking my mom to hand him stuff behind her chair. We were surprised by how we were treated as long-time customers, so unfortunately we had to go with another vendor. It's a shame. I think we'll be back for day-to-day bakery needs, but I won't trust them with something as important as a wedding cake.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Pennsylvania Bakery was great at fulfilling my vision of our wedding cake. Having wanted cheesecake bites, with a smaller cake for us to cut, I wasn’t sure how it would all come together. The Pennsylvania Bakery is affordable, good with communication, and open minded in accommodating their customers. They thought of every detail, down to the trays the bites would be presented on. The end product was GORGEOUS and tasted delicious. Overall, it’s hard to stop in there and not find something delicious, glad to see their wedding cake is no exception! :) Special thanks to Julia and the manager for working with us. Well done, PA Bakery!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had wedding pie, instead of a wedding cake. Guests loved the uniqueness of it, plus I was able to offer a variety of pies instead of just one or two different layers cake, so everyone had something they liked. The pies were delicious and in comparison to a cake quite affordable. PA Bakery made the process so easy. I went in for a tasting, selected different pies, and order them and the delivery of them all on my lunch break. It was probably the easiest element to plan for the whole wedding-- which as a busy bride I really appreciated. I can't say enough good things about PA Bakery-- and neither could my guests!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5

Private User 2 Reviews
I went to PA Bakery for my wedding cake. I knew exactly what I wanted on the cake and how I wanted it to look. I took pictures in to show them (some were even off their webiste). The day of my wedding came and the cake showed up without flowers!! I was suppose to have a ton of pink flowers all over the cake and there wasnt even one. The center tier was not in the diamond shape like I had asked for and showed a picture of.

We had to called them to fix it. The only thing they did was put a few little flowers on the cake and they werent even the right color!! Their only saving grace is that the cake tasted great, however I do NOT recommend using them.

I called in to talk to Pam (the so called manager) who was very rude with me and told me it was my fault. Yeah you are right, its my fault I thought my cake would look the way I asked and its my fault for picking a bakery that I thought was good. Never again!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Beautiful but pricey. Cake tasted great. Very pleasent wedding coordinator and staff
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My favorite part of the wedding planning: the cake tasting at the Pennsylvania Bakery. It was nearly impossible to select a flavor because EVERYTHING was amazing. I ended up choosing a peanut butter based cake, and even guests at the wedding that did not like peanut butter loved this cake.
Wedding: 12/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rayna 9 Reviews
We had carmel apples made for my wedding favors. They were not CHEAP. They were more expensive then my wedding cake, but they were the biggest apples I have ever seen. And we did get 80 of them indiviual wrapped. I will have to say these were worth every penny. I am still have my guest talk about them apples, "I was going to eat one or two pieces and then I ate the whole apple" lol
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We ordered a small, two tier, wedding cake. It was a very simply cake. We had a smooth fondant over the icing, a ribbon wrapped around the bottom of both tiers, and simple piping in front of both ribbons. The rest of the decoration was fresh flowers.

My husband told them he would be there at 6am the day of to pick up the cake. When he arrived, the cake was ready, but none of the piping was done. When we ordered the cake, we had given them a picture that they could recreate from. He said they had the picture there, and it was written in the contract to have the piping. We're not sure what happened, but it was somehow overlooked. Luckily, we were there so early that there was time to add it.

The bakery didn't have any of there really good decorators there, so they offered to correct the problem and deliver the cake to the church. They arrived on time, and the cake was how we ordered it.

I have ordered from PA Bakery a lot of times, and this was the first time we had any issues. They remedied the mistake, and it tasted great!
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The cake was delicious! I can't wait for our 1st anniversary just so that I can eat more cake! :) The design was simple and elegant. There were a few details that weren't quite right, like the foil color under the cake (gold - eeck!) and the finish of the icing (it had sparkles in it and that isn't what I asked for). I would just recommend that when you have your consult, that you make sure to cover all of your bases.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The professionalism at this vendor was not great. We had a very difficult time choosing an icing as each time we went in they told us a different story. We did not talk with the lady that handles most weddings until our third visit by which we were already frustrated. The cake was beautiful and delicious, but the process leading up to it was not.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The PA Bakery was one of the best parts of the wedding. They were able to take our vision of having whoopie pies, rather than a cake, and developed a beautiful arrangement for us. They were also able to make a fun groom's cake as well. My husband and I always wanted whoopie pies but found that other vendors were pricey when it came to this delicacy. We thought we weren't going to be able to have them until we went to the PA Bakery, who was very accommodating and wrapped the whoopie pies in saran wrap and then put them individually into bags tied with ribbons. We were worried about it looking tacky, but it was the exact opposite. Our guests loved them because they were absolutely delicious--one cousin ate four of them! We would highly recommend PA Bakery for its reasonable prices and excellent service.
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
PA Bakery made us the most delicious cake I've had in my whole life! We had a three tier cake: butter cream frosting with vanilla cake and cannoli filing. Our guests definitely loved the cake! We ordered enough cake for 225 and only had 150 at our wedding, and all the cake was gone by the end! They did a beautiful job decorating the cake, and I was thrilled with how it looked. They are expensive but it's definitely worth the money.
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Absolutely delicious but I wish they would work on being less "short" with clients.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0
My husband and I had a very clear idea of what we were wanting for our wedding cake when we walked into the Pennsylvania Bakery but were disappointed with the end result. The cake flavors and icing were absolutely delicious, however the service was less than desireable and I was heartbroken when I saw the cake on our wedding day. We were going with a "sports themes" cake and I specifically said I did not want the logos done in rice paper but that's exactly what they did. I would recommend the to anyone looking for a good cup of coffee and a cookie but not for something as important as a wedding cake.
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 717-763-7755
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0