Peabody Essex Museum
distinctive| elegant | unforgettable
    36 Reviews
East India Square
Salem, MA 01970  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 600
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently had our wedding this past September at the Peabody Essex Museum. Our ceremony was held in the East India Marine Hall followed by cocktail hour in the atrium spine and the reception in the atrium. Everything was absolutely perfect and exceeded our expectations. Natalia, the special events coordinator is an absolute dream to work with. From the first email I ever sent her to the minute I walked down the aisle she was available to answer all of my questions. Working with her made our wedding planning absolutely stress-free.

The PEM is a spectacular wedding venue. If you are looking for some place unique, look no further. It will certainly be a wedding to remember!
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the day my husband and I first looked at PEM to our wedding day our expectations were always surpassed. Natalia Laskaris is the event coordinator- she is helpful, efficient and exudes competence. We liked her as much as the venue! We knew we could trust them for our wedding day. The rooms and staff were perfect on our wedding day. If I was planning my wedding again I would 100% still pick PEM. (note we had our ceremony at the Immaculate Conception Church and our cocktail hour and reception at PEM).
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
We had our rehearsal dinner here, and it was stunning! This is an incredible venue, and the food was excellent. There is only one caterer to choose from, which is not ideal; however they did an outstanding job customizing a menu to our vision and serving delicious food!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at the PEM in June, and from the moment I booked the venue (a whole year before) to the day of the wedding, my experience was absolutely wonderful.

Let me count the ways. First, the wedding planner at PEM, Natalia Laskaris, is THE. BEST. She is so friendly, knowledgeable, reassuring, helpful, and competent. After meeting her, my then-fiance (who was rather anxious about the wedding) told me he felt a million times better, because he could tell that she knew what he was doing.

Second, communication with the venue was so fast and easy. Any doubts and questions I had were answered immediately.

Third, the venue is AMAZING. I had my ceremony in the East India Marine Hall and my reception in the Atrium. We got dozens of compliments after the wedding about how beautiful the museum was, and about how professional the staff were.

By the way, I highly recommend booking the catering from Hawthorne Hotel if you choose this venue, as PEM and HH work together like a well oiled machine!! Oh, and book Ned Jackson photography too. :)

I LOVE YOU PEM! Thank you for making my day perfect.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
I highly recommend the lovely Peabody Essex Museum wedding reception venue based upon my recent positive experience with Natalia Laskaris, the Manager of Private Functions & Rentals and her team. Natalia is friendly, experienced and professional and coordinated a wedding reception which was beyond our expectations. She was very responsive to our planning questions and worked seamlessly with our vendors, including the Hawthorne Catering team (under Lindsay Otis and Liz) which provided fabulous service and delicious quality food and beverages. The Museum venue has that WOW factor which impressed our guests and provided unique photo opportunities and wonderful memories. Our cocktail reception was held in the dramatic Atrium room with dinner and dancing in the historic East India Marine Hall. The Museum is in close walking distance to the Hawthorne Hotel and Salem Waterfront Hotel which made for a wonderful wedding weekend experience with our guests. A constructive point of attention for future brides is that the Museum shuts down sharply at the end of the night. As such, if there is an interest in having an after-hour gathering with your guests, I would suggest meeting with local area bar/restaurant management in advance to confirm their ability to accommodate such a gathering. The Salem hotels have strict quiet policies and the local/hotel bars which we had understood would be open late were closed the night of our wedding. Overall, we were very happy with our wedding reception and our friends and family are still raving about the event several months later. We wish we could do it again!
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough good things about the PEM. Nor can I say enough about the help and value of Natalia Laskaris. From the moment I said Yes to the moment I said I do, I felt that there was nothing left out. Our needs were attended to with a very subtle and easygoing manner that made it feel as though all of the details that were in our wedding occurred organically, and naturally. From the table setting to the food, every detail was top notch. There were occasions where we felt as though we may have been in over our heads planning things. However, the staff, and more importantly Natalia offered plenty of solutions that worked for our special event. When you make a decision to have your wedding at the PEM, you have made a decision to put your trust in a beautiful venue that really produced the most perfect day! What is more exciting than the ease of planning, and all of the support was the event, and the reaction of the event to our family and friends. We have had so many compliments regarding the venue, the food, the ceremony, and all of that was made possible by Natalia and the illustrious staff of the PEM! Well done indeed!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Our July wedding at the PEM was absolutely AMAZING. I can’t put into words how gorgeous and unique the space is. Natalia and Lindsay (Hawthorne Catering) were so helpful. From the day that we showed up and wanted to see the space, until the very end of the reception. The PEM and Hawthorne went above and beyond in accommodating us. After our final meeting on the day before the wedding, I felt relaxed knowing that everything was going to be awesome. We were able to enjoy the whole wedding day without a single worry. I knew that I could trust their expertise and I am an event planner! Everything went off without a hitch, the evening was perfect. The only glitch in the wedding day was the fact that I had the most uncomfortable shoes. They were killing me, to the point where I could not walk. Natalia saw that I was uncomfortable, ran up to her desk and got me 2 pairs of her own sandals that she let me borrow for the evening. She truly saved my day… I am not joking! Natalia is the best- I know that most people would not have done what she did, and it is something that I will always remember. There are also so many great picture oppurtunities all around (inside and outside) of the PEM. The East India Marine Hall is so beautiful in itself that you don’t need to go crazy with a ton of your own decorations (which takes away a lot of unnecessary stress!) The PEM is THE most perfect spot to have a wedding reception; I have received so much great feedback from everyone who attended. It makes us both happy and confident that we chose the museum to celebrate our wedding with our 200 guests. It is a really neat place that people of all ages appreciate. I would highly recommend the museum, and I am still so thankful to have had such a great support team at the PEM and Hawthorne Catering. Also, they were so kind to our other vendors, which is always helpful! No other wedding will ever compare to our own celebration at the PEM. I wish I could do it all over. Thank you!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We cannot say enough about how great our wedding was at the Peabody Essex Museum. The support and cooperation leading up to the wedding was exceptional. The best part was working with Natalia, she exceeded all expectations. Natalia gave up her Friday night to help with our ceremony rehearsal even though we were not having the ceremony at the PEM. Highly recommend with no reservations!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Getting married at the PEM is the single best decision we made in our wedding planning process! First of all, the space is so striking and unique--we got married in the East India Marine Hall, had cocktails in the Bartlett/Copeland galleries and patio, and our reception was in the atrium. The spaces are just beautiful and make for striking photos. But most of all, working with Natalia made the process so easy. She was responsive, flexible (for example, it was 95 degrees the day of our wedding and she let us wait until 2pm on the day of the wedding to decide whether cocktails would be outside or inside), and beyond professional. Her staff is also amazing.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I can't say enough great things about PEM, Natalia and her entire team. We had our coctail hour in the Atrium and our reception in East India Marine Hall. Not only is the venue stunning and unique, everyone at PEM was extremely flexible and went out of their way to make sure that everything would be exactly as we wanted it. Compared to other venues we saw, we thought it was a great value as well. We just received our professional photos and the whole museum photographs beautifully. We were absolutely thrilled with everything about the museum and we can't wait to go back and visit.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful location and amazing event coordination. Our wedding at the PEM couldn't have been more perfect from start to finish thanks to Natalia Laskaris, the Museum's event coordinator, who handled everything expertly and graciously from start to finish.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
My wedding at the Peabody Essex Museum was a dream come true. It is an absolutely gorgeous venue (we had the ceremony in the East India Marine Hall) and the reception in the Atrium, with an amazing amount of character. There are beautiful locations for pictures, an ideal space for the bridal party to wait - and Natalia is a joy to work with. She is helpful, responsive, flexible and so kind. She helped us out with extra flexibility to set up, handled our rehearsal beautifully and was the ideal liasion throughout the process. I wouldn't have had my wedding anywhere else. Choose the PEM, you will not regret it!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
HIGHLY recommend this place for a reception - it's amazing in every way!! Thank you so much!
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter's wedding was this fall. We had 8 months to plan and after looking at several locations on the North Shore we decided on the PEM. Natalia couldn't have been nicer or easier to work with. The wedding was perfect from the beginning to the end. I didn't have to think of one thing other then having a great time. The PEM is a beautiful large space with awesome artifacts that are so true to our northshore history. Our guests were more then complimentary to the whole affair. Coctails in the Bartlett Gallery and reception in the East India Marine Hall. Both rooms are so unique and beautiful. Can't thank everyone enough for a truly beautiful night.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My Husband and I had our wedding reception in the East India Marine Hall with the cocktail reception in the Atrium. Words can not explain how picture pefect it was. As soon as we saw the hall and atrium on our tour we knew no other place we looked at could ever mesure up and boy were we right! We went home that night and talked about the dates and booked it immediately. Working with Natalia made it all seem too easy. She was so phenomenal to work with, she was so accommodating with everything and took the stress away! When the big day came, walking into both the atrium and East India Marine Hall took my breath away. I had to keep pinching myself that this was real, it just seemed like it was straight from a movie, we got so many comments on how it was the absolute nicest wedding our guests have been to.

We used the Hawthorne Hotel for catering, Lindsay Otis, just like Natalia, took the stress away! She made everything so easy, and was there for all of our questions and requests without any hesitations. When we had our tasting, she was sitting at our table and told us all of our options and all the information we needed to know. The hardest part was deciding on what dishes to offer our guests! You seriously cannot go wrong with ANYTHING they offer! We go so many comments on how incredible the food was, from the hor dourves to the salad to the appetizers and so on, everyone wanted more of everything! The service was beyond impeccable, the staff was so attentive to everyone and knew where each person was who had a food allergy and went over how their meal is going to be cooked and served.

Natalia and Lindsay were there from start to finish, they made our wedding day better than we have imagined it could be. We were shown what a dream wedding was like. I could go on for days about how great everything was, so just know your dream wedding will be in great hands when you choose the Peabody Essex Museum!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The PEM is a great venue. All of our guests were amazed by the space (we had guests from NYC, DC, France, London, etc. and many said they have never seen such an amazing and unique). We had the cocktail hour upstairs in the East India Marine Hall and the reception downstairs in the atrium. We had amber uplighting which made the space amazing. Natalia was a pleasure to work with and the museum was very accommodating. We had the ceremony in a private residence and PEM easily accommodated our plan to have the PEM as our rain back up (luckily we did not need it!).
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-745-9500
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0