Nellie's Catering
Serving Sarasota, Bradenton, Venice and Surrounding areas
    60 Reviews
15 South Beneva Road
Sarasota, FL 34232  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor
Maximum capacity: 90
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Frieda and Brie were wonderful, so much more than just a caterer. They helped us plan the whole day, and enabled us to see holes in our schedule. Their suggestions were wonderful and helpful.
It was a beautiful day for our family and they were an integral part of its success.
Wedding: 04/13/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nellie’s was all that we ever could have asked for and MORE in a catering company! We had some bumps along the way, but Nellie’s was always ready to amend any issues that came to light. Let me just say that I am not the most easy-going or easily pleased girl around, so for them for surpass my expectations says a lot about the quality of service they offer.

Constant emails, phone calls and meetings prior to our big day ensured that everyone involved was on the same page at all times. Our Catering Manager, Cheryl, did a fabulous job of staying in touch and keeping in contact with me to make sure things were on the right track. Fredda, the owner, also played a tremendously helpful role in guaranteeing our day was a success. Everyone we worked with was wonderful and always there to lend a helping hand if we needed anything. We had a wedding planner and Nellie’s was also great about working with our other vendors to ensure things functioned properly. If you are looking for a prepared, experienced and detail-oriented catering company…Nellie’s is your answer without a doubt.

Aside from service, the food was absolutely magnificent! All our guests were raving about how delicious the food was at our wedding, and this was all thanks to Nellie’s and their extraordinary team. They offer a wide variety of options so that you can make the day all your own, right down to the appetizers. We did stations with a variety of tacos, hamburger sliders, a hummus display and many other tasty options. I can assure you….everything was utterly mouthwatering…even the crab cakes…and I don’t even like crab! Their team made sure my husband, and I both ate, and we were greeted with cocktails right after the ceremony! Seriously, what more could you ask for?!?!?

I genuinely can’t say enough…Nellie’s is absolutely the way to go…we are so over joyed that we chose them to cater our wedding….and you will be too.

Brian & Andrea Wilcome xoxoxoxo
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Nellies to cater our Sunday brunch for traveling guests. They were professional and delivered a nice brunch. We would recommend the omlette station which was a hit with our guests. They are highly recommended for delivering a simple and chic brunch.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joe and Jill 2 Reviews
Very well organized and professional, we had to make some last minute changes because of bad weather for our wedding ceremony and reception, Brie and her crew took control made everything that could have been a disaster into a wonderful day. I cannot rave enough on how great the food was everyone complimented how wonderful it was. I would highly recommend Nellie's to everyone, we will be regulars at their deli as well for sure we felt like we just added to our friendship list. Thank you so much for making our wedding a success.
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Nellies was the best decision that I made for my wedding by far! I would have been so disorganized without them. I was looking for a "day of" wedding planner and I realized that they were all very expensive so during my search I came across Nellies as a catering option and realized that they do free wedding planning with catering! I went to meet them and I was really impressed with their catering center, how nice and accommodating they were, and I also loved how they have a prop room where you can borrow things for your wedding decorations ( they have glass beads, sand, votives, so many glass vases in various shapes and sizes, lanterns, drink tubs, everything you can imagine- to borrow!). I knew they were the right fit for me. My catering manager was Cheryl and she was amazing! She had a photographic memory and remembered all the little things even i forgot. I was really anxious on how the wedding would turn out because we were having it at my husband's Grandad's house and it wasn't going to be the "typical" wedding and Cheryl put me at ease. She came to do a site inspection and drew out a map from memory of where everything was going to go and be and was so positive and helpful the entire time. During the process I came for several meetings and they go over every detail ( many of them you would have NEVER thought of otherwise)- so the day runs very smoothly. My wedding day was the day of my dreams, there were no issues, everyone raved about the food and service, all of the staff members were amazing- including Cheryl. I had many family skeptics before the wedding and afterwards we got multiple comments of "that was the best wedding I have ever been to" and "that ran so smoothly". The next day the house looked untouched and back to normal- Nellies was very respectful with the house and made sure to leave it like it was when they got there. I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience. Thank you Nellies for helping me have the wedding of my dreams!!!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alisa 3 Reviews
Nellie's Catering was the perfect choice for my daughter's wedding. Venue was the bride's Grandmother's home which made for a few unusual challenges but our Catering Manager Brie Barstow handled everything with the utmost professionalism and caring. The food, service, setup and follow through were all extremely executed. I would definitely use Fredda Pohl and Nellie's Catering again and will definitely recommend them to anyone.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
A huge THANK YOU! to Nellie's Catering for making our wedding day so magical and worry-free!

We had called about two weeks before our wedding day, freak out because all food plans had slowly fallen apart on us. We had vegetarians, carb-free dieters, and lactose intolerant people attending our wedding. Lucky for us, Nellie's came to our rescue! Everyone left full, satisfied and saying how the loved the food and decorations were.

All the staff is wonderful and makes you feel like a family member. They go above and beyond what other caterers do. They are willing to work with you and guide you in the right direction to make your special a dream come true.

I plan to use them again anytime I have a party that is in need of catering.

Love
Mr. and Mrs. Sehy
Wedding: 02/20/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fredda and her staff at Nellie's made my wedding so easy to get through. They walk you through every step of the way. They have meetings for you to plan every detail of the wedding. They have a prop room that you have access to, so you can decorate. The food is DELICIOUS! If you can work with Mary Kay, do it!! She is so knowledgeable and was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend them.
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nellies made our wedding day absoulutely amazing. The staff was so nice and helpful making sure that everyone was properly taken care of. The food was delicious and delivered in a timely manner. Fredda and Cheryl are both wonderful people and so glad we were able to work with them. I highly recommend that every bride in Sarasota use Nellie`s Catering.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christina 1 Reviews
Swanky Soiree Event Planning recently helped with day of coordination for a wedding on 10/19 at Phillippi Mansion and Nellies did a great job. The team is very professional and organized. The food and service was great. Everyone really enjoyed the wedding. Great job Nellies. I hope Swanky Soiree Events has the opportunity to work with such a great team again. I will most certainly have you on my preferred vendor list.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Terrific is the only way to describe Nellie's Catering from beginning to end! From our first interviews and tastings trying to determine who we would contract with for our daughter's destination beach wedding for 100 guests, Nellie's stood out! Trying to plan a wedding from a distance was made so much easier for my daughter and myself because of the catering staff at Nellie's. They are truly experts and any issue that came up seemed to be handled effortlessly and when we were faced with "what do we do about this" times, we relied on our Nellie's catering manager, Brian Delutz, for his reccommendations and he was always right! Brian is a professional that saw us through the pressure that mounts as the wedding draws near and his calm response was always "it will be fine, this is what we do". Brian was calm and reassuring through it all including through the pressure of "showtime", the reception. Brian and the Nellie's staff were fabulous and it all went by far too quickly! Probably the question that now raises though is "how was the food'? The food was amazing and even days after our wedding, we had people commenting about how truly wonderful all of the food was. The presentation was wonderful but it also was incredible tasting! So, the food was wonderful but even beyond the food, they do so much more! Our tablescapes were lovely as well as their ability to fill in all the little things that we hadn't thought of or knew how to handle. Nellie's was sooo right for us - Fredda is clearly an expert running this business and we are grateful to Brian in particular and the Nellie's staff that supported us! People's comments ranged from "amazing" to "the best food I have ever had at a wedding" . Most importantly, we would use Nellie's again if we had the opportunity!!!! Bravo! Job well done!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think the one thing I will always remember was the "can do attitude" at
my daughters reception.Food,preparation,and attention to detail were all first class......the bottomline to my review was I would do it all over again.
Thanks Nellie's for making the evening a memorable one!
Greg & Mindy McKinnis
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 5 Reviews
Cannot say enough great things about the personal attention and detailed planning that Nellie's Catering provides! Fredda knows the wedding business better than anyone I've ever seeming and MaryKay the catering manager incredible! I would recommend them to anyone having a wedding, party or event!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 8 Reviews
There is not enough space in this little box to say enough nice things about Fredda, the owner of Nellie's catering. She will make sure that EVERYTHING with all of your vendors and deliveries goes well. She is calm, patient, pleasant, and you and your entire wedding party will LOVE her! Oh, and the food was great, and they are reasonably priced, especially considering all the free decorations they let you borrow and set it all up for you too! I want to have another wedding just so I can work with them again!
Nellie's Catering responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy we were able to make your special day the best it could be! Congratulations!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I contacted just about every caterer in sarasota and NOT ONE had an all inclusive catering/wedding planning service except Nellie's! Not to mention the wedding planning is a Complimentary service. The prices were the most reasonable and the customer service....Im not sure where to begin. EVERY SINGLE EMPLOYEE that works at Nellie's is Amazing! You do not have to want for ANYTHING!

Fredda is the main person that gets the ball rolling. Then she passes everything over to a coordinator ( for my wedding -Cheryl P) Then the day of the wedding your coordinator and a wedding director ( for my wedding -Christie)

Cheryl recommened vendors, welcomed my ideas and made them 100% better with her suggestions.
Wedding: 07/10/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not say enough good things about Nellie's catering. They are much more than just a caterer. They plan your whole day and make sure that nothing is looked over or left out. The presentation and the food was excellent! Loren Massie, our catering manager was awesome! She made sure everything we requested was taken care of. We truely had a very relaxing wedding day and were able to enjoy every moment of it.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Catering
 941-924-2705
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0