Nellie's Catering
Serving Sarasota, Bradenton, Venice and Surrounding areas
    69 Reviews
15 South Beneva Road
Sarasota, FL 34232  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor
Maximum capacity: 90
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (69)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Being an event planner myself, I had to choose a caterer that provided a complete package. Fredda Pohl & the Nellie's Catering Staff handled my daughter's wedding with professionalism and creativity. Nellie's planned every detail, and documented every change that occurs in the process of planning your event. At the end of our meetings, we were given a printed detailed agenda, that the Nellie’s Wedding Coordinator brought to the rehearsal, and reviewed it with the wedding party so that that everyone was on the same page. EVERYONE knew what to expect the day of the wedding. The agenda assured us that the events of the ceremony and reception fit together seamlessly. Having a wedding coordinator is PRICELESS! I LOVE Nellie's prop room! Nellie's props are offered complimentary, AND Nellie’s will work with your florist to create the centerpieces or let you DIY. The catering managers are dedicated to making sure that every item that is needed for the reception, is collected, inventoried and delivered without a hitch. (Thanks MK) Nellie's coordinates with the rental companies, making sure that the proper number is given for each item rented...from chairs to chargers, teaspoons and tablecloths, they calculate each item and make changes as your guest count increases or wanes. Every member of the team works hard to make sure you feel like the special guest, at the reception you are throwing for YOUR GUESTS. (Thanks to Cheryl, Judy, Ali, Jared, Olga and….)
Nellie's created a customized menu to meet our exact needs. Because Nellie's took such good care of us, we were able to enjoy our guests and not carry the burden of making sure everything was accomplished. Nellie's made our wedding day dreams become a reality...on OUR BUDGET!!!
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
For someone who unfortunately didn't have her mother to help her plan her wedding, Nellie's provided the love, security and service that all brides want. I can start off by saying that they are the most flexible company I have ever worked with. For our first meeting, we met with Fredda Pohl. She was kind enough to meet with us after hours since we were only in town that weekend. My husband and I live in Tallahassee but we are both from Sarasota. We were 30 minutes late for our appointment due to horrible traffic and she still was so kind enough to meet us. We talked and talked about everything that she could make happen and even gave me ideas for ways to incorporate both my mom and grandma who passed away last year. I was so indecisive about everything but she reassured me that would take care of everything. From there we decided that they would be the company to cater our wedding. . My husband and I are huge procrastinators so a lot of things were done last minute but they were there for us the whole way. They helped me figure out how to decorate everywhere with a few DIY projects and a lot of props that they have in stock. They understood my vision when I didn't. We also had a ceremony coordinator. I only met her the day before the wedding but she we were sure that everything would run smoothly and that we didnt have to worry about having every little detail in mind. Our wedding day was so carefree and wonderful. Everything was decorated beautifully and exactly the way I had planned it. The food was incredible and everyone was talking about it afterwards. Nellie's was able to make a special sauce that was a staple of my mom's cooking and they replicated it to a T. My whole family was reminded of my mom that night. I would recommend Nellie's deli above any other catering service in the Sarasota area. We met with a few vendors that didn't even give us as many options and choices as Nellie's Catering did. And for that I thank them with all of my heart and soul!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Frieda and Brie were wonderful, so much more than just a caterer. They helped us plan the whole day, and enabled us to see holes in our schedule. Their suggestions were wonderful and helpful.
It was a beautiful day for our family and they were an integral part of its success.
Wedding: 04/13/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was amazed at how wonderful and accommodating the Nellie's Deli Catering crew was with me and my husband while planning our wedding. From the first day we stepped foot into their office, they were not only super warm and friendly to get to know us, but also very organized and professional while reassuring us that they would not only cater the wedding, but also help us plan every detail, leading into the wedding day.
I couldn't believe how well they kept their word. It clearly wasn't their first rodeo and they made sure to guide us with monthly meetings, where we would communicate the progress of our wedding planning, along with collecting new ideas that would come along the way. After only a few meetings with Fredda (the owner of Nellie's), she had matched me up with one of her team members named Brie, who would be working directly with me for any further planning.
Brie was a delight to work with. During our meetings we were able to knock out some of the important decisions as far as the dinner menu and music arrangements, and also managed to resolve some of the smaller ones too, such as the decorations.
The decorations actually became a huge bonus once working with Nellie's, because of their large variety of vases, marbles, fake flowers, and candle holders, that were all complimentary and stored in the prop room. This alone helped us budget the cost in certain areas, while still giving our wedding the glamorous look it deserved.
When the wedding day came, Fredda, Brie and the whole Nellie's crew were there hours early to set up, an hours after to close it all down. They were so kind to my husband and I, along with all our guests. Not only were they happy to be there but truly focused on executing the night just as we planned in the upcoming months before then. I truly felt as if our wedding couldn't have gone more right. Nellie's Deli is an AMAZING team and I would highly recommend them to everyone!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Nellies to cater our Sunday brunch for traveling guests. They were professional and delivered a nice brunch. We would recommend the omlette station which was a hit with our guests. They are highly recommended for delivering a simple and chic brunch.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nellie’s was all that we ever could have asked for and MORE in a catering company! We had some bumps along the way, but Nellie’s was always ready to amend any issues that came to light. Let me just say that I am not the most easy-going or easily pleased girl around, so for them for surpass my expectations says a lot about the quality of service they offer.

Constant emails, phone calls and meetings prior to our big day ensured that everyone involved was on the same page at all times. Our Catering Manager, Cheryl, did a fabulous job of staying in touch and keeping in contact with me to make sure things were on the right track. Fredda, the owner, also played a tremendously helpful role in guaranteeing our day was a success. Everyone we worked with was wonderful and always there to lend a helping hand if we needed anything. We had a wedding planner and Nellie’s was also great about working with our other vendors to ensure things functioned properly. If you are looking for a prepared, experienced and detail-oriented catering company…Nellie’s is your answer without a doubt.

Aside from service, the food was absolutely magnificent! All our guests were raving about how delicious the food was at our wedding, and this was all thanks to Nellie’s and their extraordinary team. They offer a wide variety of options so that you can make the day all your own, right down to the appetizers. We did stations with a variety of tacos, hamburger sliders, a hummus display and many other tasty options. I can assure you….everything was utterly mouthwatering…even the crab cakes…and I don’t even like crab! Their team made sure my husband, and I both ate, and we were greeted with cocktails right after the ceremony! Seriously, what more could you ask for?!?!?

I genuinely can’t say enough…Nellie’s is absolutely the way to go…we are so over joyed that we chose them to cater our wedding….and you will be too.

Brian & Andrea Wilcome xoxoxoxo
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Joe and Jill 2 Reviews
Very well organized and professional, we had to make some last minute changes because of bad weather for our wedding ceremony and reception, Brie and her crew took control made everything that could have been a disaster into a wonderful day. I cannot rave enough on how great the food was everyone complimented how wonderful it was. I would highly recommend Nellie's to everyone, we will be regulars at their deli as well for sure we felt like we just added to our friendship list. Thank you so much for making our wedding a success.
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Nellies was the best decision that I made for my wedding by far! I would have been so disorganized without them. I was looking for a "day of" wedding planner and I realized that they were all very expensive so during my search I came across Nellies as a catering option and realized that they do free wedding planning with catering! I went to meet them and I was really impressed with their catering center, how nice and accommodating they were, and I also loved how they have a prop room where you can borrow things for your wedding decorations ( they have glass beads, sand, votives, so many glass vases in various shapes and sizes, lanterns, drink tubs, everything you can imagine- to borrow!). I knew they were the right fit for me. My catering manager was Cheryl and she was amazing! She had a photographic memory and remembered all the little things even i forgot. I was really anxious on how the wedding would turn out because we were having it at my husband's Grandad's house and it wasn't going to be the "typical" wedding and Cheryl put me at ease. She came to do a site inspection and drew out a map from memory of where everything was going to go and be and was so positive and helpful the entire time. During the process I came for several meetings and they go over every detail ( many of them you would have NEVER thought of otherwise)- so the day runs very smoothly. My wedding day was the day of my dreams, there were no issues, everyone raved about the food and service, all of the staff members were amazing- including Cheryl. I had many family skeptics before the wedding and afterwards we got multiple comments of "that was the best wedding I have ever been to" and "that ran so smoothly". The next day the house looked untouched and back to normal- Nellies was very respectful with the house and made sure to leave it like it was when they got there. I can't say enough wonderful things about my experience. Thank you Nellies for helping me have the wedding of my dreams!!!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Nellie's did an amazing job with our wedding! I have gotten endless complements on the food.. one person actually almost licked the plate clean! Cheryl is an amazing catering manager. She could almost read my mind (or maybe my body language) with a lot of things which was great because I'm not very vocal about what I want most of the time. The catering staff kept all of my guests happy. The set up of the reception was absolutely beautiful. They went along with all my crazy ideas and let my family be control freaks with it all! We also hired Susan as our ceremony director. She saved the day twice- once when the petals for the ceremony aisle didn't quite make it out in time and again when the flower girl did not want to cooperate! She is my hero! Thank you Susan, Cheryl, Fredda, Brie and everyone else who helped make our wedding perfect!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alisa 3 Reviews
Nellie's Catering was the perfect choice for my daughter's wedding. Venue was the bride's Grandmother's home which made for a few unusual challenges but our Catering Manager Brie Barstow handled everything with the utmost professionalism and caring. The food, service, setup and follow through were all extremely executed. I would definitely use Fredda Pohl and Nellie's Catering again and will definitely recommend them to anyone.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
A huge THANK YOU! to Nellie's Catering for making our wedding day so magical and worry-free!

We had called about two weeks before our wedding day, freak out because all food plans had slowly fallen apart on us. We had vegetarians, carb-free dieters, and lactose intolerant people attending our wedding. Lucky for us, Nellie's came to our rescue! Everyone left full, satisfied and saying how the loved the food and decorations were.

All the staff is wonderful and makes you feel like a family member. They go above and beyond what other caterers do. They are willing to work with you and guide you in the right direction to make your special a dream come true.

I plan to use them again anytime I have a party that is in need of catering.

Love
Mr. and Mrs. Sehy
Wedding: 02/20/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Fredda and her staff at Nellie's made my wedding so easy to get through. They walk you through every step of the way. They have meetings for you to plan every detail of the wedding. They have a prop room that you have access to, so you can decorate. The food is DELICIOUS! If you can work with Mary Kay, do it!! She is so knowledgeable and was a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend them.
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nellies made our wedding day absoulutely amazing. The staff was so nice and helpful making sure that everyone was properly taken care of. The food was delicious and delivered in a timely manner. Fredda and Cheryl are both wonderful people and so glad we were able to work with them. I highly recommend that every bride in Sarasota use Nellie`s Catering.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christina 1 Reviews
Swanky Soiree Event Planning recently helped with day of coordination for a wedding on 10/19 at Phillippi Mansion and Nellies did a great job. The team is very professional and organized. The food and service was great. Everyone really enjoyed the wedding. Great job Nellies. I hope Swanky Soiree Events has the opportunity to work with such a great team again. I will most certainly have you on my preferred vendor list.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Terrific is the only way to describe Nellie's Catering from beginning to end! From our first interviews and tastings trying to determine who we would contract with for our daughter's destination beach wedding for 100 guests, Nellie's stood out! Trying to plan a wedding from a distance was made so much easier for my daughter and myself because of the catering staff at Nellie's. They are truly experts and any issue that came up seemed to be handled effortlessly and when we were faced with "what do we do about this" times, we relied on our Nellie's catering manager, Brian Delutz, for his reccommendations and he was always right! Brian is a professional that saw us through the pressure that mounts as the wedding draws near and his calm response was always "it will be fine, this is what we do". Brian was calm and reassuring through it all including through the pressure of "showtime", the reception. Brian and the Nellie's staff were fabulous and it all went by far too quickly! Probably the question that now raises though is "how was the food'? The food was amazing and even days after our wedding, we had people commenting about how truly wonderful all of the food was. The presentation was wonderful but it also was incredible tasting! So, the food was wonderful but even beyond the food, they do so much more! Our tablescapes were lovely as well as their ability to fill in all the little things that we hadn't thought of or knew how to handle. Nellie's was sooo right for us - Fredda is clearly an expert running this business and we are grateful to Brian in particular and the Nellie's staff that supported us! People's comments ranged from "amazing" to "the best food I have ever had at a wedding" . Most importantly, we would use Nellie's again if we had the opportunity!!!! Bravo! Job well done!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think the one thing I will always remember was the "can do attitude" at
my daughters reception.Food,preparation,and attention to detail were all first class......the bottomline to my review was I would do it all over again.
Thanks Nellie's for making the evening a memorable one!
Greg & Mindy McKinnis
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
 941-924-2705
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0