National Museum of Women in the Arts
1250 New York Avenue
Washington, DC 20005  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 800
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (15)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I absolutely loved this venue. The location, the ambience and the staff were absolutely awesome. We worked with Christina during the planning stages and she was so sweet and helpful throughtout. We were notified last minute that Christina was no longer available to be the staff on duty on our wedding day. However, her colleague Alison was just as nice and extremely helpful as her replacement on the day of. I highly recommend this gorgeous museum for any couple looking for an unconventional but beautiful venue for their wedding. Definitely the best decision we made!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Absolutely gorgeous space. Event staff at the museum was extremely helpful and stayed through the event. Museum was very flexible in permitting our decor choices. The space is so majestic but not stuffy in feel. Our guests loved it. Being there just makes you feel special.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Stunning venue and was so happy to use them!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at NMWA this past weekend and it was an absolute dream!! I worked exclusively with Alison and could not have been more please with her and everything she did.

My husband and I knew that we wanted to have the ceremony and reception in the same venue. We looked at hotels and decided not to go that route, because we wanted more than just 4 walls. That cut down our choices drastically. We then began the search through DC for the perfect venue and once I walked into NMWA I said to myself "This is it!". Alison gave me the initial tour and answered all of my questions before I could even ask them. She was extremely attentive and responsive to any of my questions and needs. She let us come and walk around the museum whenever we wanted to which was such a huge help!

I cannot recommend NMWA enough. Not only is it an absolutely beautiful building and venue, the staff were all wonderful all the time and worked with us for whatever we needed. I am sad that I won't get to see and talk to Alison as much, but plan on going back from time to time.
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
We got married at this venue -- did the ceremony on the first floor, cocktail hour on the third floor gallery, dinner on the mezzanine, and dancing on the first floor. It was BEAUTIFUL and elegant and really a perfect setting. It was winter and it felt warm and candle lite and all the guests loved the paintings and beautiful details of the rooms. It's an expensive place, but it really is beautiful. The staff was helpful but not super responsive. I was planning from out of town and had some difficulties with them being flexible to my schedule of limited travel opportunities. So I'd say its not the easiest venue to work with professionally, but it really is beautiful so was worth it for us.
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When planning our wedding, we were looking for a place that was not a hotel where we could host 200+ for a seated dinner in downtown DC. I had done corporate events at NMWA before and it was a great fit - super walkable to the metro and hotels (for out of towners) and the most beautiful and elegant space. I recommend working with Lori - she is so kind and the most flexible of the special events staff.
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The National Museum of Women in the Arts is, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful spots to get married in DC. The space is so truly amazing that you really don't need to do much in the way of decor. I had the opportunity to work with Elise, who unfortunately is no longer there. She was absolutely amazing every step of the way. She answered all of my many questions, provided me with vendor recommendations, and was even willing to work with me when it came to storing favors, table markers, programs, etc. in her office. My husband and I were even able to have pictures taken in the gallery, which ended up being my favorite pictures of that night.
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This museum was the absolute perfect spot for our wedding!! The space is beautiful and exquisite and with all the lighting and decor set up on the day of the wedding, it was stunning. My husband I had originally planned to be married at a resort on the beach in October 2012, however, due to his military obligations we had to move our wedding up to January 2012 and move it to DC, where I live. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed but once I saw this venue, I knew I would love it just as much! It was a little pricey but we did get a slight discount since our wedding was in January (not an especially popular month). Elise was our contact at the museum and she was super sweet and answered all my questions. She helped recommend vendors (all whom were fantastic choices) and was very accommodating whenever I wanted to come into the museum and meet with a vendor. I would absolutely recommend this venue for a wedding or really any large special event!
Wedding: 01/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

M. 9 Reviews
The National Museum of Women in the Arts was absolutely the perfect venue for our event. The Museum is the most beautiful in Washington DC and is really set up to be the perfect venue. The main floor is gorgeous and has a marble floor, beautiful columns, art work, and wood trim. The second story balcony overlooks the main floor and is so grand with beautiful columns, chandeliers and art work. We were so thrilled with our choice and couldn't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else!!
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is breathtaking and makes for a fabulous wedding spot! We had our ceremony in the round on the first floor followed by cocktails in the 3rd floor gallery, seated dinner on the mezzanine and dancing, dessert and a lounge area back on the first floor. The space is so dynamic, lends itself beautifully to dramatic lighting and decor and allows for a totally unique set up! So many guests commented on how beautiful and special the venue was.

I knew I wanted a change from the usual Hotel ballroom set up and NMWA was exactly this!

The people at NMWA are also very easy to work with. There are a few museums in the DC area that rent the space out for weddings but NMWA is by far the most accommodating- allowing our vendors to start setting up prior to the museum close.

While the space is a bit pricey, in the end I really felt like it was worth every penny.
Wedding: 08/22/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding here in August 2010 and it was the perfect venue. I had 190 guests and they fit perfectly in this venue without feeling too large or too cramped, and still had a large enough dance floor. We had both our ceremony and reception here, as well as cocktail hour on the 3rd floor gallery. My wedding day was perfect, thanks to this venue, and I am still getting compliments on how breathtaking the museum was as a wedding venue. While it is a little pricey, it is worth every penny, and the museum coordinators were very helpful in suggesting other vendors (caterers, florists, photographers, etc) to make the entire wedding more affordable!
Wedding: 08/14/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was the absolute ideal location for our wedding of 225 guests. Highly, highly recommend!
Wedding: 01/23/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding was like a dream - if you have a big wedding - 200 plus, I would highly recommend it. Plenty of room for dancing, and it's just gorgeous!
Wedding: 08/23/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
My husband and I had our wedding at the Museum in August 2008. We had only 8 months to plan for 200+ guests, so our options were somewhat limited. We were thrilled when we found out about having our event at the Museum. We had to book a Friday because it was so popular that Saturdays were reserved many months past our date, but this ended up working out better for us on several levels. We had a cocktail hour in the "ballroom" area on the entrance level, moved upstairs to the balcony for a seated dinner, and had dancing with an 8-piece live band in the "ballroom" afterward. The space is truly stunning and our guests raved about the ambiance and experience. We were even able to arrange a dramatic entrance down the marble staircases when we were announced as husband and wife - this is one of the most memorable moments of the day and was hugely impacted by the setting. The staff at the Museum were professional, helpful, and friendly. Their help before and during the event was excellent. They coordinated deliveries and set-up throughout the day, which helped me relax, knowing it was all being taken care of. They provided recommendations for sound and stage set-up as well as catering. The only drawbacks are some of the limitations made necessary by the setting (a Museum) and the cost, but they are well worth the experience it provides. I would highly recommend this Museum for any event!
Wedding: 08/01/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
This venue was increbile and stunning. Truly unique which was why we knew it was the right place for us as soon as we walked in. We held the wedding on 3 different floors - ceremony in the main hall, cocktails in the upstairs museum and dinner was on the second level. I cannot rave enough about how much we loved this venue. The only tough part is adhering to the museum rules - limited time there, vendors can only set up once the museum closes, must follow the rules designed to protect the art. Well worth it though...
Wedding: 06/03/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 202-783-5000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0