Monastero Entertainment
3820 Kirk Street
Skokie, IL 60076  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (39)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A big thank you to Roberto for all his help with the music (planning and execution) for our wedding reception. It was so great working with him and the music turned out awesome! We loved the way he mixed all of the music sets; he was able to combine Indian (Hindi, Bhangra, etc) with some of the old-skool hip hop selections with such ease. It sounded fantastic.

Futhermore, we received so many compliments on how great the music was. (a couple of our guests were planning to leave earlier stayed a bit later because they couldn't stop dancing.) It was a night to remember... :)
Wedding: 08/17/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Monastero Entertainment to provide DJ services and the Photo Booth for our wedding in August 2014. We were very happy with everything that was provided! Roberto and Joe were a pleasure to work with. They gave us a competitive quote and provided our guests with great service. The music selections were just what we wanted. Our guests said the music was really good and despite the older crowd (ages 35+ ) at our small wedding -- lots of people ended up dancing! Joe really could read the room. A fun time was had by all! We highly recommend Monastero Entertainment.
Wedding: 08/15/2014
Services Used: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Robert was a wonderful contact, though he was not our DJ. Our DJ was Joe Delfin and he worked tirelessly with us to ensure our day went smoothly. He helped us pick our songs and made great selections with the music as we asked for only top hits. He also incorporated some older hits for the parents, which they loved!! The night went perfectly and I would definitely recommend them. They provided a photo booth and uplighting for me at a great price and were extremely flexible and friendly!!!!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Roberto knocked this one out of the park. Our caterer (the wonderful Maria Collins at Sweet Baby Ray's) recommended him as they work together frequently. After the first phone call with him, we knew he was the right choice.

Roberto is incredibly friendly, funny, and understands crowds. At our wedding, he had the whole dance floor packed from the first song to the last number of the night. He was incredibly flexible, too - my dad contacted him about making a "megamix" for our father-daughter dance, and he happily obliged. Then a few days later when my husband contacted him about adding on a surprise flash mob for me after our first dance, he got right into the spirit about how he was going to trick me - and it all went off without a hitch!

His music selections were great, he was budget-friendly, and his online system for picking and choosing songs was super easy to use. You can also arrange to meet him in person at his family's restaurant, Monastero's, which has incredible food and makes for a fun night!

I would highly recommend, and more importantly, so would our guests - throughout the night they kept asking my husband and I if they could use him for future events!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I would recommend Roberto for any function. Our party was ROCKIN. He kept everyone engaged the entire night, couldn't have been nicer and, believe or not, sings really well! We had people at our wedding offering to fly him to other parts of the country to be the DJ at their events - he was that good!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had first experienced the awesomeness that was Roberto at a friend's wedding. Normally I am not on the dance floors at weddings, but this particular one I couldn't seem to stop moving. I didn't know that I would be getting married a few years later, but when I got engaged, I knew that Monastero Entertainment would be one of my first calls.

We were fortunate enough to get the master himself, Roberto, to be our DJ/MC at our reception recently. In three short words - He Is Amazing. This is a sentiment that has been shared by each and every person we've spoken to about our wedding. The first statement is inevitably - "Your DJ was awesome!"

In the hectic whirl of (often times painful) wedding planning, he made everything super easy. It only took a couple quick phone calls and emails to secure him for the day and get contracts signed. We met with him a couple weeks before the wedding and discussed specifics. After letting him know our music styles/types, we basically gave him full reign and let the expert do what he does best. He had a bunch of great ideas for our entrance, first dance, etc. and he truly delivered.

From the moment you meet him, you definitely feel the passion he has for his work. You feel that he truly wants to make your day special and is eager to make sure everything goes perfectly.

As much as I hated wedding planning, I want to have another wedding just so he can be our DJ again! There is nothing bad I can say about this guy and neither can 33 other previous reviews. BOOK HIM IMMEDIATELY!!! :)
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
This review is for Roberto and Joe. Roberto did my sister's wedding he was AMAZING. So, when the time came for my wedding, I requested for him. Because he wasn't available, we went with Joe (who apparently DJ'd for Roberto's wedding) and we couldn't be happier! Our dance floor was full all night long and people came to us to compliment the DJ, specifically! Joe played all the requested songs as well as good mix of songs that everyone could dance to. He really felt the audience well and kept the dance floor full! And, I know for the fact that Roberto is amazing!! They're really great team. They also work with your budget!! Best. Ever.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Meredith 3 Reviews
Roberto provided an amazing experience for our wedding. He read the crowd and adapted to their moods. People I did not expect to see dancing were out on the dance floor, having a great time!

Many people complimented us on the DJ choice and those go straight to Roberto!

In addition, he timed the ceremony music perfect and adapted to some last minute changes with ease.

He was extremely responsive with emails as well. I heard from him within hours of sending emails and that was great considering I was planning a wedding 1,000 miles away.

Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Roberto is the best there is in Chicago! We booked him for our wedding after we had an amazing time at two prior weddings where he was booked. Almost every single wedding guest raved about our ceremony music and how packed the dance floor was all night long. I would also say that his passion for his craft is totally obvious and made me felt completely at ease before and during the wedding. What a professional and nice guy! I can't say enough great things about Monastero Entertainment.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

SF85 2 Reviews
I cannot say anything bad about my experience with Roberto Monastero - he was a FANTASTIC DJ. Ditto to all positive reviews left previously - do not hesitate at all to hire him for your wedding - you will NOT be dissapointed!
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Roberto Monastero from Monastero Entertainment is an AMAZING DJ!!!! He came HIGHLY recommended from our wedding planner. He guaranteed that our guests would leave complaining about sore feet, and they were still complaining about their burning feet and legs on Monday morning. We provided a song list but requested that he play the music that our guests seem to love the most. Our dance floor was packed all night long! He is great at reading the crowd!!! He also made a beautiful slideshow for our wedding per our request and has great song recommendations. He is very professional and prompt with his responses by email or phone. Many of our guests have asked about our DJ and I highly recommend them!!! THANK YOU ROBERTO!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Roberto Monastero just DJ'ed and MC'ed for us at our September 1, 2013 wedding. We saw him DJ'ing at a friend's wedding a couple years ago, and knew we had to book him right away when we got engaged. He was the first vendor we booked - he is that good! He is BY FAR the best DJ I have ever encountered, and I have been to MANY weddings. He was very thorough and covered all the basics before the wedding. Then at the wedding, dinner music was spot on, and then he kept everyone dancing on the dance floor through the night...there not a single moment when the dance floor was empty. Song transitions were seamless while keeping in mind the audience on the dance floor. He played songs for the older crowd, younger crowd, and everyone in between. People were complimenting us all night on how fabulous he was, and how much fun they were having. As a surprise to us, he even sang a couple songs himself! That was amazing! He was so good, we thought it was part of a track! We would recommend Roberto to anyone looking for a DJ. He's awesome!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Roberto Monastero is the best DJ we have ever experienced. He did both my son's wedding in 2009 and he just did my daughter's wedding on August 10, 2013. He had the crowd on their feet the entire time. He masterfully blends one song into the next and selects them with an expert eye on the crowd and what works for them. In addition to being so good at his craft, he is extremely easy to work with and always willing to go the extra mile. I never write reviews about anyone, but felt compelled to do it this time. He is that good. I don't live in Chicago, but would seriously consider flying him to the location of my next event if it isn't in his area. Sincerely, Mother of the Bride
Monastero Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for the kind words, Patty! It is a pleasure to be a part of your family's receptions; anytime, any place - just lemme know!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough great things about Monastero Entertainment! This company came highly recommended and was EVERYTHING we could have hoped for when planning our wedding. Roberto was always so prompt and friendly when returning e-mails or phone calls, and made sure our needs were taken care of. Vince was our DJ for the day-of and we were blown away with how great he was! Above all, we wanted our guests to be on the dance floor all night -- and he made sure that happened! THANK YOU!!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We were so happy with Monastero Entertainment for our wedding 2 weeks ago at Union Station. Both Roberto and Joe were so easy and fun to work with! Their website was super user friendly and my husband and I were able to make a play list for our wedding prior to the event. Joe was our DJ and he did a great job of integrating our playlist with a few other hit songs and Motown songs to create an amazing party. Our dance floor was full the entire time! They both worked with us to make the sound great in such a huge space with a budget friendly speaker system. Roberto even helped make a special daddy/daughter surprise dance for me which included a medley of songs with a Georgia theme. The dance started off slow and the record scratched to a rap song and then a line dance- a total surprise and a hit at our wedding! All in all, we had an amazing experience and would recommend the company over and over again. Thanks guys!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Roberto created such a great music mix for our wedding last month! It was so perfect for us and all our varied music tastes. Our friends danced all night and he definitely kept the party going. We got so many comments on how great he was and questions about how we got connected with him. Some of the most memorable moments were definitely set to his soundtrack! :)

Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: DJ
 847-340-3955
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0