Mike Topham Photography
Award winning Documentary style photography.
    37 Reviews
9400 Charter Crossing
Mechanicsville, VA 23116  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (37)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nancy was my photographer for my OBX beach wedding. The package I purchased included engagement session and was the best pricing I had seen for the beautiful photos the are known to deliver. You can tell Nancy truly loves what she does because she captures everything. She even made sure to get photos of all the kids at the wedding (especially my nephew and goddaughter) which will be great keepsakes for their parents. They are super easy to work with, and they give you the rights to your photos. I absolutely love their work and would HIGHLY recommend them!!!
Wedding: 06/13/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike and Nancy were fabulous!!! Would recommend them to anyone looking for awesome, fun wedding photos!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Just want to take a minute to say THANK YOU from my husband and myself for the AMAZING job you did at our wedding this past Friday evening!! We LOVED our time with Nancy and Mike and Ginger too :) I can not believe how hard you all worked and how professional you are! From the time you arrived and started clicking away, it never stopped until we got in our getaway car! I am so beyond thrilled with the wedding and can not wait to see how you captured it!!! Way to go Mike Topham Photography, you truly are amazing!!!!! Thank you so very much from the bottom of our hearts!!!
Wedding: 11/01/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Mike Topham for our engagement shoot, and his partner Terry Brown and her daughter for our wedding. Both Mike and Terry are AMAZING! They made us feel so comfortable (and we're awkward picture takers!) and helped us to look our best. At the wedding, all my maids commented on how wonderful Terry was, and they were right. I would absolutely recommend Mike Topham/Terry to anyone - and the price can't be beat. We paid $2200 for 8 hours of photography - way cheaper than a lot of other photographers out there!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike and his daughter Nancy were a pleasure to work with. They made us feel very comfortable and their work is beautiful!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My only disapointment is I don't have another wedding to plan. Mike and his staff were wonderful to work with. The photos turned out great. Too many choices.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we got engaged, I knew right away that I wanted to see if Mike was available for our date as he had done a friend's wedding a few years ago and their photos were just gorgeous. Luckily he was and we couldn't be happier with our experience with him. He has a lot of flexibility within his packages, and we were able to trade out the bridal portrait for more coverage on the day of. He also did our engagement photos which was great because it helped my husband and I get used being "natural" in front of the camera, and since they were such stunning photos we used them for a photo guestbook!

On the day of, he and his daughter Nancy were wonderful to work with. They kept us all on schedule and even helped out with a not so happy flower girl. And although we had discussed our "must have" photos beforehand, they came prepared with additional great ideas for fun poses and action shots and seemed to not miss a single special detail. Needless to say we just got our photo gallery back and even though I knew the photos were going to be spectacular, Mike and Nancy managed to blow my expectations away!! I cannot wait to share our photos with our family and friends:)
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Throughout our wedding planning and all the little details, I was so torn, BUT I knew that I had to have Mike Topham shoot our wedding. Not only were the reviews on various sites very positive, we fell in love with his style and was very impressed by his range of photography. We contacted him immediately when we decided on a date. Mike’s packages and rates were very reasonable and he was easy to talk to. We decided on an engagement session as we did not have any nice pictures of us as a couple. The results from that alone made us realize how right our decision was to choose him as our photographer. Mike and Ellen arrived right on time. Ellen stayed with me while Mike started with my husband’s family pre-ceremony photos. Both of them were always on point, had great ideas, and were not invasive. Ellen was amazing and her calm demeanor helped me prior to the ceremony. She was always aware of how my dress was situated since it had a long chain and was helpful in calling out directives while Mike got the shots he needed. My husband had never had a formal photography session but even he agreed that both Mike and Ellen were easy to work with and didn’t make him feel uncomfortable. Many guests commented on how great Mike & Ellen were and amazed by their professionalism and how detail oriented. One of the most important photos that I wanted was of my four year old niece, who was the flower girl, throwing a lot of rose petals in the sky. Ellen picked up all the petals at the ceremony site and both her and Mike made sure my niece had fun doing it. They also called me over to take a look at some of those photos to ensure that was along the lines I wanted – they were perfect. Bottom line, the cake, flowers, venue, and attire all fades with time but your wedding photography will last a lifetime. I can’t wait to see the moments that Mike and Ellen were able to capture and I know you’ll make the right decision with choosing them!

Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Mike was AMAZING to work with. His sweet daughter was one of his assistants for the day and she was an absolute doll! I would definitely recommend Mike to anyone looking for a great photographer!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married on 9-21-12 and from the minute we got engaged back in December of 2012, I knew we were going to have Mike Topham as our photographer. My friends had used him a few years ago for their wedding, and I remember being so impressed with everything he and his team did. Her pictures were beautiful - engagement and wedding. We did the same thing - engagement and wedding shots. The engagement shoot was so much fun in downtown Richmond - near Havanna 59 and then over in Church Hill...early evening so we hit some sunset, and they were beautiful!! The wedding pictures came out amazing. Mike and his daughter were the team that evening, and they both captured so many amazing memories for us...things we never would have thought of. All the shots with my dress, shoes, our rings, etc. were adorable. They literally got pictures of almost ALL of our guests - the couples, husbands/wivies, etc. Which will all make great gifts! His daughter hung out with the ladies while we were getting ready, and Mike hung out with the fellas while they were getting ready. They were so easy to work with and organized. They both remembered everything I mentioned prior to the wedding- the questionaire I filled out with family member and attendent names - who to shoot with who, etc. It was PERFECT! I also recommended Mike to a friend of mine, who's daughter was getting married a week after I was and she went with him as well...she had all wonderful things to say too. Everything he includes in his packages is another bonus - the best bang for your buck around!! I definitely plan on calling on Mike in the future, for other special events in our lives! :)
Wedding: 09/21/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike Topham did a great job on our engagement photos. He was very reasonably priced and easy to work with. Terry Brown, his partner, photographed our wedding. She was very nice, humorous, and patient. I haven't received the photos yet, as my wedding was this past Saturday, however I cannot wait to see them and have no doubt they came out beautiful (fingers crossed!)
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mike & Terry were great. Mike did the engagement photos and it was alot of fun and the pictures were great. Terry did the wedding and she was wonderful to work with.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was recently married on October 8th and used Mike Topham for my engagement, bridal, and wedding photographs. The quality of his work is amazing and I would recommend his services to anyone! My family and I have so many photographs to choose from!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are delighted to give our highest recommendation for Mike Topham & his daughter Nancy as the dynamic duo photographers for our wedding on April 2011 in the DC Suburb of Leesburg, VA at River Creek Country Club.

Our extensive research for a photographer took us up & down the Mid Atlantic coast.
Everyone had to meet our need for photojournalism first & foremost as we didn't want the posed unnatural look. We started in May 2010 & didn't finalize a decision until February 2011!
Almost one full year later we had carefully spoken to a half dozen serious candidates & narrowed it down to Mike & one other.

In the end, what won us over was:
1) Natural Colors that popped in his prior works
2) Pricing - very inclusive of everything & reasonable when compared to talent of this caliber
3) Experience with chaotic situations - White House press corp & Darfur!!
4) Most important - the feel we got when we spoke to Mike. Comfort. Easy going. Everything is all right.

#4 above was very important to us in that being a Viet born but modern couple raised in America - We wanted modern touches in our pictures without forgetting the more traditional themes of our culture.
With traditional elders mixed with westernized guests - we didn't want a clichéd, stuffy feel in our pictures (like some of other's) but relaxed more natural captures.
The photographers needed to be the calm in the eye of a mixed cultural brew without being intrusive. They were very attentive in trying to get shots of everyone that we interacted with.
Almost a 5th window surrounding everything around us.
Who else better than a former White House photog??!!

Mike provided the experience eyes in recording the big pictorial themes such as the bride's entrance, ceremonial components & the celebratory speeches, etc.
While Nancy complimented him as the second shooter & highlighted every event like the girls getting prepped & showcased minute wedding details that illustrated the essence of our wedding and what vibe we were trying to convey (relaxed spring wedding).
Together, we got full coverage from big down to small - all in living color.
Truthfully we barely knew they were there!

& Did we mention their colors popped? This was a big deal for us as they really do little to NO touch-ups or enhancements to the RAW pictures they take.
We were worry that it would show too much imperfections but upon reviewing their prior work - it was clear - there is no teflon falseness in their subject matters - just capturing life in all its colorful HiDef glory.

A sidebar was the unfortunate disappearance of Mike' camera that cost us all dearly in terms of property & lost pictures (Sad people have to ruin a beautiful time doing this). But getting 1400+ shots on CD with 99% of the prime shots alleviated most of our possible fears.

One final toast to the Topham's. We have never enjoyed a more wonderful & satisfying business relationship than with Mike & Nancy.
Natural. Comfortable. Easy. Exceeding our expectation in every way.

All of our vendors except. 1 were wonderful (see our reviews).
While we thought of all of them as partners & truly - they guided us professionally & exceptionally through the madness of weddings; Mike & Nancy truly were considered friends by the end of all of this.

We truly recommend Mike Topham Photography & we can't wait to work with them again in the future!
Wedding: 04/23/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Excellent Photography! I relive my son's wedding like it was yesterday thru the pictures by Mike Topham, and daughter's Nancy and Ginger. They captured each moment as I remember seeing it, and then those beyond my vision. Each picture is beautiful! I wanted to album them all, but chose 400 of my absolute favorites!!! So hard to narrow down. Mike took the bridal party outside and placed them in the most amazing and artsy places that just thrill the eye and the memories. Thanks Mike, Nancy and Ginger!!! Paul and Deborah can live happily everafter, with such a storybook wedding album. Thanks again!!
Peggy Bourque
Aylett, Va 23009
Wedding: 04/15/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have been doing VIDEO TRANSFERS & EDITING for the past eight years
and Mike's wedding photos have been a delight to work with! I can only hope
to get more of his high quality photos to work with. Bill Pat's Video Transfer Service.
Wedding: 04/15/2011
Services Used: Photography
 804-285-1979
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0