Mayernik Center - Avonworth Community Park
498 Camp Horne Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15237  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (87)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Overall a fantastic place for a wedding! Shawndell (wedding coordinator) was beyond helpful on our wedding day. She made sure we ate dinner, kept our drinks coming and even saved my ring bearer from having a meltdown before he walked down the aisle! She was amazing. The only downfall is that you can't have rehearsals on Fridays because they have weddings that day. You also can't attach decorations to any part of the woodwork, but the natural beauty saves money on d├ęcor! Great service, easy to work with, and also affordable.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This Venue was perfect for our June Wedding! We worked with Laurie & Chaundel and both wonderful! Laurie basically books the place and tells you all the details. The venue only holds 200 people which is reasonable. Also they charge you $2.95 per person for soda. (which is a little much) Chaundel is you coordinator for your rehearsal and for the day of. She was absolutely wonderful! She made the day go so smoothly. Any time I was low on a drink she had one ready for me! She was awesome. I would highly recommend this venue. Just book in advance because they book up fast because it is so beautiful!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Beautiful venue with hardworking, caring and responsive event planners who make sure your day is perfect! Really loved the atmosphere and how helpful Laurie and the other event planner was (sorry I cannot remember her name! But they are all amazing!)
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 2 Reviews
The Mayernik Center is beautiful! The surrounding park has a lot of cute locations to take pictures as well, so you don't have to go anywhere else. Chandel was extremely helpful throughout the process, and even came through with umbrellas for us when it started to rain in the middle of our outdoor pictures! My advice- book early! We started looking in July 2012 and all of 2013 was already booked by then.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 5 Reviews
We were married at the center (we rented the pavilion) on 5/2/14 and it was the most memorable day of my life. The Mayernik Center staff (Laurie B and Chaundel) were amazing to work with. My family is still raving about Chaundel. She ran her butt off for us that night (she insisted!). They were quick getting back with our questions prior to the wedding and helped to make sure that every detail was ready for the big day. Day of, Chaundel was there bright and early to assist with everything (Decorations, deliveries, etc.). I cant express how she helped make the day so perfect. She really has a grasp on what it takes to put together a wedding. The scenery around the center makes for awesome pictures. I am so happy we chose this for our venue.
Wedding: 05/02/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Absolutely amazing venue. Staff is fantastic and loved the whole rustic theme. My wedding was absolutely stunning so my positive comments on the hall. Absolutely loved The Mayernik Center. Laurie was totally awesome, made the reception run smooth.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely amazing venue. Staff is fantastic and loved the whole rustic theme. My wedding was absolutely stunning so my positive comments on the hall. Absolutely loved The Mayernik Center. Laurie was totally awesome, made the reception run smooth.
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 14 Reviews
When I originally booked, I booked with Suzi by referral. A few months later when I called she no longer worked at the Mayernik, this was a bit confusing since I was re-directed to a new person named Chaundel and had to go through some of the same processes. Long story short, in the end it all worked out, I had the most amazing reception, everyone was very accommodating from the Mayernik and worked so well with myself and my husband! All guests were promptly greeted and directed as they should have been. The beverage system seems a bit over priced, and the seating chart could have been sent before the week of the wedding, but other than those two minor things the venue and staff is incredible.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.8 out of 5.0
1.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  0.5
The Mayernik was beautiful, staff on the other hand was very hard to get in touch with, difficult to work with in setting up table, beer and soda very expensive, kept security deposit for taking an extra 45 minutes to take everything out after reception. Muddy parking lot as well.
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Even with a change in staff our event went very well. I took it upon myself to visit a week before so I could see the room and better explain how I would like it set up. The venue was gorgeous! Spotless inside and out even after all the mud and rain the week of the wedding. It was a beautiful wedding and we received so many compliments on the space and the service. I will recommend this venue and expectedly for a Christmas wedding!
Wedding: 12/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had our wedding at the Mayernik on December 21, 2013, and the staff, headed up by Laurie Berry, was exceptional. She made sure that the day of went smoothly, and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

The venue itself was beautiful, with Christmas trees that added to the feel that I wanted to capture for our winter wedding. It was the perfect place for a winter wedding (or any time for that matter).

The list of vendors that were permitted for use for catering, DJing, etc were some of the best that we could find. We were lucky to have the guidance from the Mayernik in our search.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Jaime 2 Reviews
Let me start out by saying that I love this venue. My wedding was truly a page out of a christmas fairytale. However, the only reason this happened was because of my family and their knowledge of events (my mom is a florist). I had a wonderful experience when I booked in 2012 with Suzi. Suzi always communicated effectively with me and helped me with ideas for the wedding, etc. I lost communication with Mayernik/Suzi 3 weeks before my wedding. Of course I was panicked and I called them (more than a few times) and when I finally got ahold of someone they informed me that "Suzi no longer worked there." I was upset that I had to call them to find that out...nobody ever bothered to get in contact with me. Then, a WEEK before my event I had to chase Lori down and try to get her information because she had never called me back to follow up after our conversation. After numerous phone calls and emails 72 HOURS before my wedding I finally got a response from a "confused" Lori who didn't understand why I would be stressed that I didn't even receive a seating/table chart or any communication from them and my wedding was in 2 days. My in laws, who had previously been told they would be guided in the alcohol buying process, never received timely communication either. My father in law was emailed a googled link for how much liquor to buy...it became very clear then that the current management had no idea what they were doing. I dont think I need to elaborate anymore on my frustration there. This was not the service I signed up for or paid for when I signed my contract. I was never made to feel like everything was taken care of. Thank God my family was there and made sure that everything ran smoothly. I would recommend this venue based on aesthetics only. I would not recommend this venue to anyone that needs any sort of guidance in their reception because the current staff has no idea what they're doing.
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Jocelyn 7 Reviews
My Husband and I chose our venue after having to postpone our original wedding. We had this facility referred to us and it is BEAUTIFUL.

The Coordinator I worked with was Suzi Hawkins. She was very nice and professional. She helped make sure our wedding was set-up the way I wanted it to work and was very flexible with our payments. Anytime I was nervous or upset, I could call her and she would straighten the whole thing out.

The reason I didn't give the venue 5 stars is because I was told there was a professional sound system in house and my father-in-law, who has DJ'ed all of our families weddings and is very professional had nothing but issues with this system. Then about an hour 1/2 into our 5 hour reception the microphones stopped working and they could not get them to work. The venue did try but was not successful at all. Had I know how terrible the sound system was, I would have taken out the renters insurance and had my father in law bring his own equipment (from new York, 7 hour drive away).

The other negative is sometimes it can be difficult to reach Suzi or any of the staff because they are only able to work limited hours. I did ALWAYS receive an email or call back, just sometimes it took up to a week or two.

Bartenders were very nice. Layout was great and they do have "strict" policies but all of these are VERY clear in your contract.
Wedding: 10/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We were very pleased with the Mayernik Center as a venue for both our ceremony and reception. I would recommend the Mayernik Center as a venue.

Positives:
Beautiful setting, ample parking, large dance floor, separate bridal room and bath, great place for photos (this was the best thing: we did our ceremony, photos, and reception all at the same location and it worked out perfectly), we could bring our own alcohol, amazing team who were incredibly patient, responsive and professional, tables and chairs provided with the rental fee, maintenance staff and event staff on-hand the day of the ceremony. Suzi and Chandel were amazing.

Drawbacks:
Kegs had to be bought through the Center and we could not take them home after the wedding, a high charge of soda per person, fee for both the ceremony time AND ceremony chairs.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angela 4 Reviews
I would highly recommend the Mayernik Center. We had a positive experience from our first visit.The venue is incredibly beautiful & offered a lot of flexibility which is great for a DIY wedding or someone on budget.The venue has established positive relationships with a variety of vendors & this helped put our minds at ease. Suzi worked with us up until the wedding & was extremely responsive & attentive. She helped with every detail from the beginning so we felt comfortable that our big day would go off without a hitch. No question was too big or small. Every question we had she answered quickly & even offered suggestions where appropriate. Suzi was direct & thorough. Because of Suzi we were able to be organized & felt confident that there would be no unexpected surprises. The day of the event we worked with Chaundel. I admit I was a little nervous working with someone other than Suzi since she was our primary contact up to that point & I hadn't established a relationship with Chaundel. The instant we met Chaundel all concerns were alleviated. It was obvious that Chaundel was up to speed & briefed on our event which made for a seamless transition. When we met for the rehearsal it was as if we had worked with her from the beginning. This just speaks volumes about how wonderful & experienced the staff are at the venue. Chaundel was very calm, personable, & professional. She was instrumental in ensuring our day was a memorable one. Chaundel kept everything moving along & instantly established a relationship with our main points of contact for that day. If any issue came up she handled it effortlessly. Even our guests commented on how wonderful Chaundel was & were impressed with how the day just moved along perfectly. I can't say enough great things about the venue, Suzi, & Chaundel. Our day was a very memorable experience that I would do all over again in a heartbeat & this is because of the venue's amazing team of professionals.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 6 Reviews
The Mayernik Center was the perfect place for our wedding! We loved the atmosphere and the staff was great to work with. Everything was beautiful and exactly as we planned. The kids LOVED having the covered porch to run around and play on, especially with the off and on rain throughout the night. Suzi and her assistant were fantastic and went out of their way to make sure that everything was how we wanted it to be. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone else looking for a great place to have their wedding reception!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 412-766-1700
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0