Mayernik Center - Avonworth Community Park
498 Camp Horne Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15237  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (79)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 14 Reviews
When I originally booked, I booked with Suzi by referral. A few months later when I called she no longer worked at the Mayernik, this was a bit confusing since I was re-directed to a new person named Chaundel and had to go through some of the same processes. Long story short, in the end it all worked out, I had the most amazing reception, everyone was very accommodating from the Mayernik and worked so well with myself and my husband! All guests were promptly greeted and directed as they should have been. The beverage system seems a bit over priced, and the seating chart could have been sent before the week of the wedding, but other than those two minor things the venue and staff is incredible.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Even with a change in staff our event went very well. I took it upon myself to visit a week before so I could see the room and better explain how I would like it set up. The venue was gorgeous! Spotless inside and out even after all the mud and rain the week of the wedding. It was a beautiful wedding and we received so many compliments on the space and the service. I will recommend this venue and expectedly for a Christmas wedding!
Wedding: 12/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had our wedding at the Mayernik on December 21, 2013, and the staff, headed up by Laurie Berry, was exceptional. She made sure that the day of went smoothly, and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy.

The venue itself was beautiful, with Christmas trees that added to the feel that I wanted to capture for our winter wedding. It was the perfect place for a winter wedding (or any time for that matter).

The list of vendors that were permitted for use for catering, DJing, etc were some of the best that we could find. We were lucky to have the guidance from the Mayernik in our search.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Jaime 2 Reviews
Let me start out by saying that I love this venue. My wedding was truly a page out of a christmas fairytale. However, the only reason this happened was because of my family and their knowledge of events (my mom is a florist). I had a wonderful experience when I booked in 2012 with Suzi. Suzi always communicated effectively with me and helped me with ideas for the wedding, etc. I lost communication with Mayernik/Suzi 3 weeks before my wedding. Of course I was panicked and I called them (more than a few times) and when I finally got ahold of someone they informed me that "Suzi no longer worked there." I was upset that I had to call them to find that out...nobody ever bothered to get in contact with me. Then, a WEEK before my event I had to chase Lori down and try to get her information because she had never called me back to follow up after our conversation. After numerous phone calls and emails 72 HOURS before my wedding I finally got a response from a "confused" Lori who didn't understand why I would be stressed that I didn't even receive a seating/table chart or any communication from them and my wedding was in 2 days. My in laws, who had previously been told they would be guided in the alcohol buying process, never received timely communication either. My father in law was emailed a googled link for how much liquor to buy...it became very clear then that the current management had no idea what they were doing. I dont think I need to elaborate anymore on my frustration there. This was not the service I signed up for or paid for when I signed my contract. I was never made to feel like everything was taken care of. Thank God my family was there and made sure that everything ran smoothly. I would recommend this venue based on aesthetics only. I would not recommend this venue to anyone that needs any sort of guidance in their reception because the current staff has no idea what they're doing.
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Jocelyn 7 Reviews
My Husband and I chose our venue after having to postpone our original wedding. We had this facility referred to us and it is BEAUTIFUL.

The Coordinator I worked with was Suzi Hawkins. She was very nice and professional. She helped make sure our wedding was set-up the way I wanted it to work and was very flexible with our payments. Anytime I was nervous or upset, I could call her and she would straighten the whole thing out.

The reason I didn't give the venue 5 stars is because I was told there was a professional sound system in house and my father-in-law, who has DJ'ed all of our families weddings and is very professional had nothing but issues with this system. Then about an hour 1/2 into our 5 hour reception the microphones stopped working and they could not get them to work. The venue did try but was not successful at all. Had I know how terrible the sound system was, I would have taken out the renters insurance and had my father in law bring his own equipment (from new York, 7 hour drive away).

The other negative is sometimes it can be difficult to reach Suzi or any of the staff because they are only able to work limited hours. I did ALWAYS receive an email or call back, just sometimes it took up to a week or two.

Bartenders were very nice. Layout was great and they do have "strict" policies but all of these are VERY clear in your contract.
Wedding: 10/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We were very pleased with the Mayernik Center as a venue for both our ceremony and reception. I would recommend the Mayernik Center as a venue.

Positives:
Beautiful setting, ample parking, large dance floor, separate bridal room and bath, great place for photos (this was the best thing: we did our ceremony, photos, and reception all at the same location and it worked out perfectly), we could bring our own alcohol, amazing team who were incredibly patient, responsive and professional, tables and chairs provided with the rental fee, maintenance staff and event staff on-hand the day of the ceremony. Suzi and Chandel were amazing.

Drawbacks:
Kegs had to be bought through the Center and we could not take them home after the wedding, a high charge of soda per person, fee for both the ceremony time AND ceremony chairs.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angela 4 Reviews
I would highly recommend the Mayernik Center. We had a positive experience from our first visit.The venue is incredibly beautiful & offered a lot of flexibility which is great for a DIY wedding or someone on budget.The venue has established positive relationships with a variety of vendors & this helped put our minds at ease. Suzi worked with us up until the wedding & was extremely responsive & attentive. She helped with every detail from the beginning so we felt comfortable that our big day would go off without a hitch. No question was too big or small. Every question we had she answered quickly & even offered suggestions where appropriate. Suzi was direct & thorough. Because of Suzi we were able to be organized & felt confident that there would be no unexpected surprises. The day of the event we worked with Chaundel. I admit I was a little nervous working with someone other than Suzi since she was our primary contact up to that point & I hadn't established a relationship with Chaundel. The instant we met Chaundel all concerns were alleviated. It was obvious that Chaundel was up to speed & briefed on our event which made for a seamless transition. When we met for the rehearsal it was as if we had worked with her from the beginning. This just speaks volumes about how wonderful & experienced the staff are at the venue. Chaundel was very calm, personable, & professional. She was instrumental in ensuring our day was a memorable one. Chaundel kept everything moving along & instantly established a relationship with our main points of contact for that day. If any issue came up she handled it effortlessly. Even our guests commented on how wonderful Chaundel was & were impressed with how the day just moved along perfectly. I can't say enough great things about the venue, Suzi, & Chaundel. Our day was a very memorable experience that I would do all over again in a heartbeat & this is because of the venue's amazing team of professionals.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 6 Reviews
The Mayernik Center was the perfect place for our wedding! We loved the atmosphere and the staff was great to work with. Everything was beautiful and exactly as we planned. The kids LOVED having the covered porch to run around and play on, especially with the off and on rain throughout the night. Suzi and her assistant were fantastic and went out of their way to make sure that everything was how we wanted it to be. We would definitely recommend this venue to anyone else looking for a great place to have their wedding reception!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I couldn't have asked for better staff to plan my special day. I'm entirely grateful to have chosen such a wonderful place to have my wedding. A special thank you to Suzi Hawkins for all of her help with planning my event. I'm 100% satisfied with everything. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Suzi is great to work with and very helpful! THe place is also beautiful.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Kristina 4 Reviews
The venue was absolutely gorgeous and my pictures were perfect!! country, rustic is what i loved about it. However the venue does book up quickly, we had to book a friday wedding because there were no saturdays left. we booked a year and 3 months prior.
Wedding: 09/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Private User 7 Reviews
Throughout the process of planning our reception at the Mayernik Center, we found Suzi to be unprofessional, hard to get a hold of, and she told us conflicting information on more than one occasion. She did not return any of our phone calls the weekend of our wedding. We met with her months in advance to discuss how we could use our iPod to provide the music for our reception, she told us which cables we needed to buy, and assured us that this would be no problem. When we arrived with the iPod on the day of our wedding, we discovered that the soundboard was NOT wired to play music from an iPod. Their sound system was wired so that the vocal tracks of each song were sent outside to the speakers on the porch, and the music and background singer tracks were sent to the inside speakers. Needless to say, this does not sound good. I was told by an employee of The Mayernik Center that they were aware of the settings of the sound system and we should have never been told that they were compatible with an iPod. While dealing with this extremely difficult and stressful situation (which was only remedied by family members leaving the reception to purchase portable speakers and bring back for us to use) Suzi was not even there. We ended up working with another woman in her place, who unfairly walked into this stressful situation. She was extremely helpful and wonderful and was a saving grace for me that night. The lack of honesty from the Mayernik Center and Suzi in particular is extremely upsetting, caused a major problem at our reception, and for this reason I would not recommend this facility to anyone. It would be in their best interest to come under new management.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 5 Reviews
The venue was amazing and the staff were great to work with. Our only complaint is that they seemed to nickel and dime us. It would have been a much better experience if all costs would have been explained up front.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The venue was great! I had my ceremony and reception here and I couldn't have asked for more. The reception color was orange and it looked amazing with the wood. If your looking for something different and with character, I recommend the Mayernik center. The only issue we had was with flexibility. We had the wedding on a Friday to save money but we ended up spending way more because any accommodation that had to be made, it cost a lot of money to make it happen. Other than that it's a great place and the ladies there know what they are doing.
Wedding: 07/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Kristin 2 Reviews
Beautiful place. Not too much ''fluff'' needed....but believe them when they say they provide nothing but tables and chairs. I wasn't too happy when two potential couples were touring the venue while we were setting up for my reception the day of the wedding; or when one of those couples came in the bridal room when i was in a robe putting on my wedding day make-up. A couple items also disappeared from our reception, including a butane lighter and the cake plate for our baker. Neither of which could be accounted for (considering these are items which I personally couldn't have lost or handled on the day of my wedding). Don't rely on Suzi for help. She was very good at responding to e-mails and reminding you for payments, but she soon doesnt forget to ask you for the bar bill (which I was told was due the day of event) while youre getting ready and getting pictures taken in the bridal room with your.mom and bridesmaids. I am by no means a.high maintenance person, but there are just some things you don't do. By the way, my fiancé had the check. Suzi also bailed halfway through my reception...the other coordinator was very sweet. She actually came up and introduced herself to be..and was the one that asked me if we had a 'money bag' for our money dance-something I totally forgot about. She had a very pretty bag and got it right away.
Overall, the place.is beautiful, my guests really liked it, but there are some things they need to change with management and professionalism. Behind the scenes, if someone says 'if you need my help, I'll be in the basement' doesnt fly on a wedding day for a coordinator.
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 4 Reviews
The Mayernik was AMAZING for our ceremony and reception!!!!! Everyone at our wedding said it was the best they had ever been to. Gorgeous location and air condition! We even decided to have our ceremony in the pavilion last minute and everything went better than expected :)
The ONLY thing I can say that we did not enjoy was having bad dealings with the main coordinator. Suzie. She is not very pleasant to work with. She yelled at our dj about things that he had nothing to do with and was very unprofessional. If you decide to go with this beautiful venue than make sure you have Michaelyn "Micki" Snyder as your coordinator.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 412-766-1700
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0