Matthew Sowa Photography
    41 Reviews
146 W. 29th Street
New York, , NY 10001  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Matthew was beyond amazing for both my engagement pictures and my wedding pictures. Not only were they both edited and send back to me in a very timely matter, but they came out amazing! He was wonderful to work with and a true artistic genius behind the lens. Highly recommend!
Wedding: 01/24/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Based on all of the previous reviews here on The knot it should not be a surprise that Matt really is one of The BEST NYC photographer!

We didn't have a location in mind to shoot on our wedding day . We really relied on Matt and his ideas to come up with unique, beautiful locations and he came up with some amazing locations for us and our large bridal party to shoot at.He made the entire process enjoyable and comfortable both for us and our entire party. Both him and his assistant Ralph were amazing to work with and helped us out. We are so thankful that we chose to work Matthew Sowa Photography and we would recommend them to all our friends in need of a photographer. Best choice ever!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Matthew Sowa is an fantastic photographer with amazing eye. He and his assistant photographed our big day last July. His work shows the quality and diversity. The photographs are remarkable with of fashion look and photojournalism impact....

Wedding: 07/07/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm writing a review for Matthew Sowa Photography because I feel by sharing my experiences.If you are looking for a photo-journalistic approach to your wedding with vogue image elements.He will be the right choice.I just adore Matt's creative eye and his easy approach. Matthew Sowa captured all special moments and emotions. When reminiscing over our photos, it feels like I’m re-living our wedding day. I love,love love...
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Matt & his team did such a great job on my wedding and the engagement session. They were always very professional and responsive.. Ralf the second photographer did an amazing job, shooting the guys durring the preperation. I have gotten over 1000 pictures to choose from for my album and am definitely having a hard time with it, because they are all so great. I would highly recommend Matthew Sowa Photography...
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I love Matt and his photography.He photographed our wedding last May and we had amazing time him and his assistant full of ideas.His images speak for himself they are fresh and imaginative. After meetings with many other photographers we realized, that Matthew Sowa is only one!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great person to work with! Professional, great attention to detail and fun!!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
I got married on November 17th 2012. When my husband and I were in the process of looking for a photographer, we came across Mathew Sowa. From the moment we looked through his photos, we knew we had to have him be apart of our wedding day.
A few words that could describe Mathew are amazing, an artist and a true gentlemen. He did everything on our wedding day to make us feel comfortable while at the same time capturing our special moments with his camera. Mathew made me feel so comfortable in front of the camera when otherwise I am quite shy. Time went so fast on our wedding day, but I am so comforted to know I will always have these beautiful moments captured in these amazing pictures. I can honestly say it was a true privilege to work with someone so graceful and talented. I look forward to working with Mathew again and would recommend him to any bride that is getting married.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
May sound strange coming from a bride but  - I never wanted a wedding. The day I decided that I cannot live if I don't have one was the day that I first saw Matthew Sowa's work. My now husband and I planned our wedding day around Matthew's availability. We would do so a million more times if we had to. In fact, we consider ourselves incredibly privileged and lucky to even be able to book Matthew for a day. He is busy for a reason!  His talent is unreal. I don't even have to mention it, it's enough to look at just one of his photos. When they say that a picture is worth a thousand words......., you should know that Matthew Sowa's picture will make you speechless. 
Wedding: 10/14/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Matthew Sowa is an artist. He sees the world through the lens of his camera and boy, is that world sexy! We were so enamored by Matthew's work that we broke the contract with the original photographer that we had picked just to work with him. His passionate yet calm demeanor is so comforting. He does not force you into awkward poses or push his style on you. He simply follows you with the camera and lightly nudges certain actions: "Show me how you embrace each other", "Kiss each other and show her how much you love her." Our engagement and wedding photos were so emotional and natural and showed our true selves. We have received so many compliments on our photos - they are unparalleled.

The day of the wedding - Matthew had a fire in his eyes! His ideas, enthusiasm and passion for his work were everywhere! He was jumping on tables, rolling in the grass and stopping traffic to get his desired shots! What amazing memories he has captured for us!

I can't wait for our pregnancy shoot!
Wedding: 09/30/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Matthew was a pleasure to work with. He has such an eye for photography and takes stunning pictures! You can see his thought process and how he's constantly thinking about the next great shot. I highly recommend him if you are looking for someone to capture your special day and give you pictures that will help you reminisce in the future! He's the best of the best!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Magdalena 3 Reviews
If you are looking for wedding photos that can be featured in Vogue, this is your guy. When it comes to photography, I don't think it can get better than this. He is a true artist, you can see it in his eyes, he has a vision and he gets really excited and has to get that perfect shot every time. His photos are so real and every one of them feels like a million dollar shot. Very glad he captured our wedding. These memories can now last forever, in style. :)
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
My husband and I just got married about a month ago. We are so very grateful to find Matthew Sowa.He and his team are very professional and super duper nice to work ! He responded to our correspondences very promptly. Some photographers took days to get back to me. And accountability is so important of being a pro photographer. In addition, Matt is extremely good at journalistic photography. My husband is very camera shy. So I need Matt to capture my hubby's emotions naturally instead of having him posing in front of the camera. And he did it beautifully!!! The wedding pix turned out to be gorgeous! I am having a very difficult time to pick my favorites to go into the album! I also highly recommend to have Matthew Sowa to design the album. The sample he showed me is top notch!!! Matt thank you so much for being part of our wedding! You are always highly recommmended !Best Iwon & Rob
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 11 Reviews
It was an absolute pleasure to work with Matthew on our wedding day. My wedding party said it was the first time they actually had fun while taking pictures. He didn't make us stand in ridiculous poses, he shot mostly candids - and when he did direct us to do something, it was enjoyable. He is a true artist and his passion for photography is evident through his amazing pictures. We cannot wait to get our album!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am speechless when it comes to Matthew Sowa. Matthew Sowa’s creativity and passion for his craft shines through his work. My husband and I were engaged for about a year before we got married (June 2, 2012) and we began to shop around for a photographer. We went to various wedding studios – and spoke to a lot of sales personnel instead of the actual photographer – until we met Matthew Sowa. Our first meeting with Matt was very personal, he was very honest and open about his work.
Matt and his assistant Agatha did an amazing job shooting our engagement session as well as our wedding day. Our pictures are absolutely beautiful! Every moment that he captured turned out to be much more than a static representation of an event--- each image was alive with energy and emotions. To top it all off, his enthusiastic and accommodating personality, made him an absolute pleasure to work with!!
He is awesome, highly highly recommended.
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Unique,creative photos that jump off the page. He makes everyone look fabulous. Easy to work with and extremely talented. He is a great find and I am left with the most incredible photos that captured the day beautifully!
Loved working with Mat and the product is outstanding....Coud not be happier!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Photography
 917-488-1989
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0