magpies
all butter, all the time.
    28 Reviews
846 N. Central Street
Knoxville, TN 37917  | map
Desserts: Cupcakes, Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, Tastings
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (28)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The best cakes in town!!! Magpies was extremely professional and easy to work with. They designed both our wedding and grooms cakes exactly as we had requested!! I can not stress enough how delicious their cakes are and well priced!!
magpies responded with the following comments:
Thank you for your sweet review, and we are so happy you liked your cakes. We really enjoyed making the sketchbook :)) Congratulations to you both, and thanks again. It was a pleasure.
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessie 2 Reviews
Magpies made my cake exactly how I described I wanted it. As I was talking she was drawing and by the time I was done explaining she had designed the most beautiful cake. Not only was it beautiful it was delicious and so moist!
magpies responded with the following comments:
Thank your for your review! So happy you were pleased. Best of everything to you!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

LG 8 Reviews
Magpies was fabulous. They were very professional and flexible. The cupcake tower and topper were delicious and everyone was raving about it. Their flavors rock! You have to give pumpkin a try.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magpies actually made the groom's cake for my son's recent wedding. Delicious and cleverly crafted!
magpies responded with the following comments:
Thanks for the nice review!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow! We knew we didn't want a traditional wedding cake: we wanted a variety of cupcakes instead. Great choice, because everyone loved the magpies wedding cupcakes. Magpies made little signs describing the different flavors, which was helpful for our guests too. I was glad I had ordered extra, since the cupcakes went quickly!
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Worth EVERY PENNY!

Best wedding cake I've ever eaten!!! Great price! We had delicious custom flavors!

We had a great tasting where we really felt like they were listening to exactly everything we wanted!!!

Best part of the wedding! :)
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Barbara 5 Reviews
All I have to say is that EVERYONE at my wedding absolutely loved my cake!! I wasn't able to afford a custome design cake, but I went to Magpies with a couple of photos showing what I liked. After working with Ryan, I chose a three layer specialty cake with swirls. And Ryan added a "Z" mongram in the center layer. And I did vanilla cake with vanilla butter-cream icing. I don't think I have ever had a cake taste that amazing! YUMMY!! Also, Ryan was very friendly and even though my budget didn't allow me to order a custome design wedding cake, she took the time to work with me and she didn't make me feel like Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman!! LOL LOL Thanks Ryan!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am a confessed Magpie-a-holic so choosing a cake was simple for me....except I had to have several cakes because I couldn't decide. We met with Peg & went over our preferences. We decided on having 5 separate cakes. They were specific & made sure we knew exactly how the cakes would be presented. The cakes looked beautiful at the wedding & the flavors were amazing (we even custom created a few of the cakes). All buttercream, all the time....how could you go wrong with Magpies?
Wedding: 05/29/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
absolutely the best cake i have ever had! they did a wonderful job and the selection of flavors is phenomenal. we had five flavors of cake and our guests had a hard time not eating each one! they also have wonderful cupcakes and even gave us a sample box after meeting with them and tasting the flavors! understood exactly what we wanted and were very willing to work with our budget. they even delivered for a small fee at the last minute because we were unable to pick them up ourselves like we had planned! love them!
Wedding: 04/30/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magpies made both the wedding cake and the groom's cake, and both were absolutely amazing. The wedding cake was the most beautiful cake I had ever seen (I know I'm a little biased). Peggy was so easy to work with and she had wonderful ideas for the style and icing decor! It was BEAUTIFUL. The groom's cake was construction themed and she even made a road going up the side and placed bulldozers and other equipment on it! It was perfect. They both tasted absolutely out of this world! I'm looking forward to our 1st anniversary so we can eat more:) Peg and MagPies is amazing and will do a wonderful job for anyone:)
Wedding: 04/16/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely phenomenal cake!!! We will never forget how beautiful the wedding cake and groom's cake looked and how wonderful they tasted. Highly recommended. We were blessed to have them make our wedding cake and groom's cake.
Wedding: 11/20/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
YUM! We did mini cupcakes and got about twice as many as we had guests, so that our guests could try several flavors if they wanted. We also did a cutting cake. Everything was ready on time and really tasty!
magpies responded with the following comments:
thanks for your review Carly. So glad you and your guests liked them. it's a fun way to do wedding cake, isn't it??
Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used magpies for our cupcakes. No surprise here, they were wonderful. We rented a cupcake stand - they looked beautiful for presentation. No cake cutting fees, easy to serve. It also gave us flexibility in offering some variety. Going with mini cupcakes also allowed us to serve great quality cake at a very reasonable cost! Highly recommend! Definitely visit the location & try one - you'll be sold on taste online.
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magpies cakes are the best! The cake was beautiful, we had tons leftover, they matched the flowers to my bridesmaids dresses. The flavors are excellent and they were very flexible working with me. We picked up the cake and set it up ourselves at the reception. Thanks!
Wedding: 03/20/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm convinced that there is no better cake than Magpies. We decided to get mini cupcakes and our guests went crazy for them! It was fun because we got to have many different flavors and colors.
Wedding: 05/23/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
would never use anyone but Magpies! It is amazing what they can do with cake. They are wonderful to work with and have tasty little cup cakes too!
Wedding: 09/20/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 865-673-0471
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0