Longfellow's Wayside Inn
72 Wayside Inn Road
Sudbury, MA 01776  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (31)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at Wayside Inn were extremely helpful and easy to work with. They made my day ext6remely special!
Wedding: 03/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I love the Martha-Mary Chapel. Our Jp was unable to make it to the rehearsal, the Sexton stepped in and helped us with everything.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We are so, so glad we went with the Wayside Inn for our wedding this September. As another reviewer mentioned, there was some recent turnover in the functions office, and we did encounter some bumps related to that handoff, but the new coordinator and the rest of the staff were fantastic to us the rest of the way. We had our ceremony in the chapel, followed by a buffet reception in the inn's main dining room, and our guests raved about not only the New England charm, but the food (especially the prime rib - I think I heard more about the prime rib than anything else about our entire wedding!) and service. I was a tiny bit wary at first about booking a venue that had a "wedding package" because I was worried it would be too generic and not as good quality as if we had chosen things ourselves (like going and finding our own bakery for a cake with fancy flavors), but decided it was well worth it not to have to coordinate with a bunch of separate vendors. As it turned out, I was right that it was worth streamlining, but wrong that it would be blah -- everything still felt very warm and personal, and the cake from the in-house baker (to provide one example) was fantastic - I don't think I've ever had cake with such delicious frosting at a wedding. The functions staff were very good about letting me know where upgrades were available but never pushing or trying to upsell, and were reasonably prompt in sending a refund check when our guests turned out not to drink as much as we had prepaid the bar tab for.

As far as the ceremony in the chapel, the sexton was *enormously* helpful and basically ran our whole rehearsal -- twice, really, since the groom & two groomsmen were stuck in traffic and very late -- since we didn't have our officiant for the rehearsal. I think more than any single person, she set my mind at ease and made me feel comfortable going in to the wedding day.
Wedding: 09/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We LOVED having our ceremony at the beautiful Martha-Mary chapel. It was perfect and just what we wanted.
Yes the Wayside did bring in new wedding consultants over the course of our planning, but THANK GOD! We had first worked with Amy who was unorganized, unwelcoming and unprofessional (those are the reasons for the 1/2 stars).
But then we got connected with their new wedding staff Kathy, Melissa and Sandy. These women are amazing and will stop at nothing to make sure you are comfortable, organized and informed.
We also had our reception in the great room and it was wonderful!
Everyone there is super friendly and helpful, I wish I could relive my wedding over because it was perfect!
Wedding: 09/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5
We used The Wayside Inn for their chapel. The chapel was fantastic, however their funtion staff was not. We had our rehearsal dinner with the Inn as well. During our engagement, the Inn changed personnel, in the fuction office. I had never been more disappointed in service. The new staff was awful to deal with. Totally unprofessional, and not thorough at all. I got little to no response when contacting the functions office. I was treated rudely, and never felt comfortable. If they did not have such a nice chapel, I would have walked away months ago. The dinner did go off without a hitch, but I will not recommend this venue to anyone, nor will I be doing business with them in the future.
Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kathy and team provided outstanding service. The tent and grounds made for a beautiful evening for our family and friends. The bride and groom had a carriage ride from the Grist Mill to the Wayside Inn - complete with the children in their bridal party. Our guests said the food was outstanding - Filet Mignon and vegetarian. We had 200 guests and everyone danced all night in the test - uplit by Rafi and outstanding DJ. They do a lot to make it easy for the couple to enjoy themselves. Location is everything.
Wedding: 08/20/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A great Vendor, my wife and I are very satisfied with this company. We had the greatest time with top notch customer service. Great pricing and a great staff
Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This location is wonderful. every aspect was beautiful
Wedding: 05/01/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely wonderful. I couldn't have asked for more. A very helpful and professional staff, beautiful grounds, amazing food, and a reasonable price. I would recommend the Wayside to anyone.
Wedding: 08/15/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding day was perfect at the Wayside Inn. The chapel is absolutely beautiful and the tent we had our reception in was gorgeous. Sandy, the functions coordinator, was very easy to work with and always responded promptly to my questions. Everyone raved about the food! The cost was very affordable!
Wedding: 08/08/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Martha Mary Chapel at Wayside Inn is an amazing place for a wedding ceremony. The chapel is very quaint and the pictures both inside and out came out amazing. There is also a Grist Mill and beautiful area across the street where you can take great pictures, but it is open to the public so there could be other brides or just couples taking pictures there. There was another couple there when we went, but my photographer was able to photshop them out of the pictures. Also, unless your wedding is the last ceremony of the day (mine was 5:30pm), you only have 45 minutes from beginning to end so you can't have a receiving line outside of the chapel. My ceremony did happen to be the last of the day, so they let me have an extra 30 mins which worked out perfectly. When booking, you may want to ask for the last ceremony slot if that works for you.
Wedding: 06/20/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I feel like I'm giving all my vendors 5 stars, but it was a perfect day! Having our wedding at the Wayside Inn made it so special. We really felt like the whole day was so personal and intimate. The Wayside Inn was so New England and was perfect for our families who are from Connecticut and Indiana. We loved having the ceremony and reception at the same place. The chapel is gorgeous and our guests loved the sound of the horse and surrey coming up the brick path way for the ceremony. As we were preparing for the big day we had a million questions, which Sandy had no problem answering. Our guests loved the feel of the inn and the food was delicious! The price also seemed really great compared to other places. If we had to do it all over again, we wouldn't change a thing. We LOVED having our wedding at Longfellow's Wayside Inn!
Wedding: 05/17/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Wayside Inn is a beautiful historic landmark. The atmosphere was romantic and elegant.
For years my Mom told me about how great it would be to be married there! The horse
and buggy made our wedding a fairy tale...and the Martha Mary Chapel was adorable.
Wedding: 09/14/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldnt have had a better place. the food and service was just fabulous!
Wedding: 05/17/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have nothing but love for Sandy Brown and the entire Wayside Inn staff. Sandy bent over backwards to address all of our needs for the reception, from finding us a hostess to making sure the sauce for the beef didn't include mushrooms. (My husband joked that if the leaves fell off the trees before our autumn wedding, Sandy would be out there with a stapler and a ladder reattaching them.) The food was fantastic, our hostess was attentive and organized, and the waitstaff was incredibly friendly and courteous. It was all budget-friendly, as well.

The half star I docked under professionalism is for the chapel sexton, who was not particularly friendly. She did her job, though, and the ceremony went well, but I wasn't thrilled with her.
Wedding: 10/21/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-440-9982
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0