Longfellow's Wayside Inn
72 Wayside Inn Road
Sudbury, MA 01776  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (33)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather... 4 Reviews
My husband and I recently got married at the Wayside Inn. We would HIGHLY recommend this venue to anyone! The staff was AMAZING. They truly made everything so easy for us. We never had to worry or stress about any details going into the wedding. Our wedding was absolutely perfect... we wouldn't change a thing about it. We can truly say that this is GREATLY in part to the staff at the Wayside Inn. They are very professional, attentive, and trustworthy. They went above and beyond all of our expectations. We can't thank them enough for making our wedding so perfect and stress free!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the wedding planning to the day of the wedding, the staff of the Wayside Inn was great! Michelle is amazing and so helpful, communication is key and she is so good at it.
Linda, the host for the wedding took care of every little detail and was so attentive with us (bride & groom) thought the night.
got compliments on the food all night and the service was great also, and staying at the Inn for the night was a great choice.

Thank you so much!
Terry & Lili
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Bill 2 Reviews
We had a very small wedding at the Wayside Inn and loved the place. The staff was perfect through the entire process and the food was very good and reasonably priced. We were very satisfied with everything.
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brian 3 Reviews
The charm, the people, the food and customer experience better than none are all the items in one deliverable from the Longfellow Wayside Inn. Melissa Striharsky was better than the best in delivering exceptional customer service and in a short time-frame, made the impossible happen without a flaw! Hands down, best of breed at the Longfellow Wayside Inn!!!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Hayley 2 Reviews
I loved my wedding. Every bit of it.

We married in the chapel and had a cocktail hour in the garden before dinner. The event was 56 people and was relaxed, comfortable, beautiful and very enjoyable - for all! Just like everyone told me: it will be over so quickly, and it was, but people are still talking about how it was one of the nicest weddings they had ever been to.

My fiance and I paid for the entire event ourselves so I was very budget conscious. I looked into every possible option, I mean... every. After searching for months for the perfect place that didn't give me a finance related heart attack, it turns out that absolute best option was the one place I didn't think to look because I figured it would be out of my reach. I grew up going to the Wayside Inn: birthdays, weddings, thanksgivings, celebratory dinners and dinners to celebrate the life of passed relatives. It would be the perfect spot.

The wedding coordinator was excellent. She assured me that my ideas weren't nuts, that they were completely doable and gave me examples of things that people have done in the past. It helped. A lot.

We did opt for the garden cocktail hours add on which was a bit of a gamble as it is weather permitting. I just crossed my fingers. Luckily, it was a beautiful day and I fully recommend taking this gamble.

We stayed right at our budget of $5,500 and had a beautiful and elegant wedding!


Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.4 out of 5.0
0.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Every since I was a little girl I knew I wanted to get married at the Wayside Inn. I was engaged for 2 hours when I called to reserve my date. The whole year leading up to my wedding I was so excited and wanted everything to be perfect! When talking to Melissa the event cordinator I got an extremely cold feeling about her. When my parents and I went to go meet her the feeling because stronger. She seemed like she was listening to my wishs, ideas and throughts but when it came down to it none of my wishes came true. The tent itself was BEAUTIFUL! the Food was amazing!!! and the wait staff is amazing!!! But the events office team is GOD AWEFUL!!!!!!!!! All I recieved from the events staff was attitude especially when I called them out after my wedding. They HOSE you here and don't respect brides wishes Their time management is NOT acceptable for the big name facility that it is. They also threw out some of my centimental belongings without even asking myself or my parents. Again the resteraunt is amazing, the waiters and waitress' are amazing but the cordinators stink!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
we had our ceremony at the Martha Mary Chapel, and our rehearsal dinner at the Wayside Inn. I would highly recommend them! They are so professional, and really know everything about weddings! They were so good about responding to phone calls and emails, and everything was so beautiful. guests were so impressed with the venue and loved the food. Melissa was a pleasure to work with. Our wedding pictures are beautiful in front of the chapel and the grist mill. The rehearsal dinner was really speical too. You cannot go wrong with the Wayside Inn!
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa was very helpful and responsive to all my questions leading up to the wedding. The day was perfect.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christopher 2 Reviews
My wife and I had our wedding at the Wayside Inn, because she had fond memories of the area from when she was a child. They handled everything except for the flowers and the DJ, and everything was great. The food was excellent, and everyone was friendly and good at what they did. We had a great wedding, and all of our guests enjoyed it as well.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The staff at the Wayside Inn were professional, attentive to detail, and flexible. We picked the Wayside Inn as our venue more than a year before our wedding, and throughout that time, everyone in the Functions office was responsive to our questions and always willing to help. We met with the Functions staff four days before the wedding to go over all the last minute details, and their hostess made sure on the day-of that everything was exactly the way we had intended it to be. The food was delicious and the wait staff was very receptive to guest needs. It rained during our reception at the tent and you wouldn't have even known it! Everyone had a fantastic time dancing the night away!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The Wayside Inn was a perfect venue for us - ceremony in the chapel, cocktail hour in the garden, and the reception in the dining room... a one-stop shop for a fabulous wedding! The staff were helpful and the service was incredible. The cost was reasonable and Melissa and her team made us feel like family!
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
The Wayside Inn has been where I always wanted to get married. It perfectly fulfilled my expectations. I was out of town so I had to plan my wedding remotely, and the Inn always responded quickly to my many e-mails. The team they have is great and my day went very smoothly (thanks to Linda). All of guests loved the venue and the food. The only compliant I had from guests was that plates were cleared a little too quickly. I researched a lot of venues, and this was the best value and the nicest setting!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Wayside Inn is the PERFECT venue for a wedding! I got married in the chapel and had the reception in the main dining room. The Inn had the exact casual relaxed atmosphere that my husband and I were looking for but still had the professional experience staff. My hostess, Linda was fantastic! She was right where I needed her all day and she followed my directions perfectly when setting up the room! I just wish I could have met her before the wedding day so I would have known who she was and was able to discuss the wedding plans. We stayed over at the Carriage House Inn to get ready and for our wedding night. They provided a free shuttle for us and our guests once the wedding was over. It's a beautiful hotel but had the updated amenities (and a suite) that I was looking for that the historic inn didn't have.

The food was absolutely delicious! It's classic New England home cooked meals so everyone was well fed! We are still getting compliments on the cake too! It was decorated beautifully! I had a different design from what they normally do and the baker created it perfectly! It was exactly what I was looking for and it was honestly the best tasting wedding cake I've ever had!

My wedding day was more than I've ever dreamed! I wouldn't have had it anywhere else! We also had family stay there the week of the wedding and they all say it's one of the nicest hotels with the friendliest staff that they've ever stayed in!
My husband and I will be returning there for years to come to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
Longfellow's Wayside Inn responded with the following comments:
We are so glad to hear that the newlyweds and their guests had a fabulous time. It sounds like many wonderful memories were made to last a lifetime!
It seems to us that there were many good intentions and due diligence made by the functions team, especially Melissa. This wedding was discounted, yet the same service and details were provided as though it was a full priced wedding. We peaked at the event order that she created, and we saw that nothing was missed. She is always happy to assist with the planning pertaining to the Wayside Inn as it thrills her to make someone's dream come true. This is her passion!
It is not known why ALL the rooms were not shown during the site tour. It could have been that they were occupied and therefore we didn't wish to intrude in on someone else's special event. Let's face it, we always love to show off and boast about the unique and quaint rooms at the Inn; that is, if they are available to show!
The office is open for appointments 6 days a week. We strive to remain flexible with meeting times. Of course, Saturdays are the most sought after day, and therefore the busiest. It is sometimes booked up weeks in advance which makes it difficult for scheduling a last minute request.
To close, we are thrilled that Jenns wedding day was flawless. I must say that this wouldn't be possible without the very detailed scope of planning that Melissa has done. This includes the specialty cake that she was very happy to accommodate as well as all the rest of the planning from "Soup to Nuts".
The Wayside Inn wishes the happy couple all the best, and we do hope to see you on your anniversary!
Wedding: 04/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had a fantastic wedding reception at the Wayside Inn. The planning process went fairly smoothly, but I felt like the main functions coordinator could have been a bit better at responding to my questions - it seems as though some of my communications got lost in her inbox and my questions/issues went unaddressed for longer than expected. Linda, the on-site day-of coordinator, is wonderful to work with, very professional and knows what she's doing. We only had about 70 guests in the main dining room and it was very comfortable, I would say anyone planning on having more than 90 guests would not do as well here just because it can get rather tight. The venue was exactly what we wanted, and our reception was a huge hit. Highly recommend this reception venue for weddings on the smaller side.
Wedding: 11/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a private wedding last summer, did not have a big reception. Although we had only 8 guests, they were able to find me a decent private room and Caroline from their reception team contacted me to confirm every detail before the event.
My only complaint was since our room is at the corner and there were other 2 weddings on that day. A few waiters used our room as shortcut through to other rooms. I could understand it would be helpful to have a shortcut when you carrying a heavy tray, and it was not like we were having a formal reception.... So over all, I recommend this historical place if you are the person who wants a cozy and vintage style wedding.
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

moorekos 5 Reviews
The place was beautiful, the service and help was awesome. I asked if they could save a room for me and the said yes, but then they booked it and i had to change at another place. small mix up but over all i had my fariy tale wedding.
Wedding: 06/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-440-9982
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0