Kurtz's Beach
2070 Kurtz Avenue
Pasadena, MD 21122  | map
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (31)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
The bridal cottage was absolutely gorgeous and the staff was unbelievable :) My wedding was gorgeous and EVERYONE had a good time!! Thank you Kurtz's
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We LOVED our venue. They were incredible. John, the owner, was very professional and made sure every detail was covered. Donna was basically our wedding coordinator and ROCKED. She comes off as intense, but she is truly great for a bride because she makes sure everything goes smoothly. Her daughter got married the day after us and she still came to work our wedding - she is so caring and phenomenal. The staff is amazing at making sure the bride and groom don't have to lift a finger or worry about a thing on your wedding day. Courtney stayed with us at the Bridal Cottage which was the best. She was so helpful and nice. They don't always accommodate all your Pinterest-type wishes, for example; we wanted signature drinks, & they wouldn't do that, but it was honestly a detail that wasn't missed. Everything else decoration-wise was a breeze and they allowed. We didn't eat much of the food because we were so busy socializing but it all looked great. Overall we would pick Kurtz's for our venue over and over again. The staff was fantastic, the venue is gorgeous, and all of our guests loved it :). Major thanks to Kurtz's for being a truly wonderful venue!
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Loved having my wedding at Kurtz beach. The food was awesome and the people were so nice and helpful. The price was great. it was beautiful inside and out! I am such a happy bride and so happy I choose them!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's was the perfect waterfront venue for our May ceremony and reception. The patio overlooking the bay provided the perfect backdrop for our vows under the corner gazebo. There's a lot to cram in to that reception: dinner, toasts, cake cutting, dancing, bouquet toss- and the staff at Kurtz's made sure that everything went smoothly and on schedule so I did not have to micromanage my big day. They made sure all of my centerpieces were set up and that I got my seashells back after, and made sure that my family and bridal party received their flowers and took their places on time. They ensured my gifts, flowers, cards, etc. made it to the car at the end of the night. Although it is important to maintain the schedule, my bridal party and I agree that Courtney, who manages the bridal cottage, was rude to us when we first arrived. We arrived 20 min early along with the photographer and wanted to find out if we could go ahead to the cottage to get ready, and her attitude was rude. I didn't ask her to drop everything and open the cottage, I was just letting her know we were there a little early and her response was less than professional. When we got to the cottage, one of my bridesmaids had brought a bottle of champagne to share amongst the 6 of us. Courtney got pretty defensive and talked down to my bridesmaid, asking if she could see inside the bag as if she suspected something illegal would be in there. I understand licensing issues, but those issues need to be handled in a more professional manner. The food was awesome, and they accommodate food allergies. I am gluten free and the rice with chickpeas that came with my roast beef was delicious. They made sure my food stayed separate during preparation. We also went with a package that included beer and wine with the meals, and everyone seemed satisfied with those drink choices. They wrapped extra cupcakes for our guests, and boxed up our top tier to take home. We had a wonderful wedding on the bay!

Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
I recently was married at Kurtz's Beach. The venue is so pretty, the staff was very well organized and the food was great! I was a little nervous because they do not do tastings and I read some of the reviews in which some people felt the staff was a little pushy/rude, however the food was very tasty and on my wedding day the staff was very professinal and helpful and I did not have to worry about a thing! No day of wedding planner is required- they handled EVERYTHING- even busseling my big dress so my bridesmaids didnt have to figure it out!

I do agree with some posts, if you are a huge do-it-yourself person and like to have control of every little detail this venue may not be for you, as they are pretty set in their ways as to the flow of the day. However, this being said you can still make it your own (we did some DIY projects such as a photo collage, card box and program basket to name a few which their staff placed nicely) and the organization and experience of the venue makes your day relateively easy and stress-free to plan!

I only heard wonderful things about the venue from my guests and everyone kept commenting on how beautiful the venue was! I am very pleased we picked Kurtz's Beach for our wedding!

Also, shout-out to Donna- she did a lot of the day-of organizing and was great! Thank you!!!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is a hidden gem! Such a beautiful place for a wedding or any other event. The staff and owner are amazing and so helpful. They definitely know what they are doing because they made my wedding happen without anything going wrong. Smooth and efficient.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stacie 5 Reviews
Kurtz Beach was the perfect spot to have our wedding reception! The facility is beautiful, located right on the water with a lovely patio and ballroom inside. The staff was very accomidating escorting guests to their tables, although some of my groomsmen weren't shown their tables, and didn't know where to sit. Other than that, event was perfect!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not say enough about how wonderful my experience was at Kurtz's! It was absolutely the best decision I made when planning my wedding. They are consummate professionals who want to make your wedding a success. We had both our ceremony and reception there, as well as used the Bridal Dressing Cottage for photos beforehand. They provided a staff member to help us at the cottage, and they even had refreshments. It was amazing. At the ceremony and reception, our guests were taken care of wholeheartedly. The night went off without a hitch. Kurtz's made my wedding dreams come true!!!
Wedding: 07/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ana 4 Reviews
Planning a wedding was super stressful, but once the day arrived, I was so happy and stress free, thanks to John & Donna & the staff of Kurtz's beach! They made my vision a reality, and even added the small touches I didn't think of myself to make the day that much more special. The wedding was beautiful with the perfect weather, the reception was perfect and my guests couldn't stop raving about the food, bartender, DJ, and wedding over all. I can't thank John & Donna enough, they made sure my day was reflective of my husband and I's tastes. The venue was so much more than I expected! Multiple people told me it was the best wedding they have ever attended. I'm so glad I chose Kurtz's Beach and would HIGHLY recommend them for your special day!
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot say enough about Kurtz's Beach!! We had such a beautiful and wonderful wedding and reception! They were not only professional and responded to our needs, they were attentive to detail. They made sure that what we wanted for our wedding and reception is EXACTLY what occurred. We knew from the moment we visited Kurtz's Beach that we wanted our wedding and reception there. We made the perfect choice! Everyone who attended our event has told us that this was the first wedding they attended that went so smoothly and efficiently. We could not have done without John and everyone at KUrtz's Beach!! The food was incredible!! It was served hot and very tasty!! We tried every dish and we loved EVERY Bite!! They even prepared a special dish for my sister who has severe allergies. They were so accommodating making sure that her needs were met!! We could not have picked a better vendor for our wedding ,reception or catering!! 5 stars does not do justice to showing their level of professionalism, service, flexibility or value and 5 stars falls way short of explaining their quality of service and care!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's Beach is the hidden gem of waterfront weddings on the Chesapeake. While I found most venues through sites such as TheKnot.com, a friend recommended Kurtz's to me. A family run business, they seem to get their business by word of mouth, and that has worked out great for them! My husband and I wanted a waterfront wedding but found the cost prohibitive - and then we discovered Kurtz's: a beautiful facility with truly a wonderful, helpful staff. We also got the cottage prior to the wedding to get ready at and it was so gorgeous. They had a staff member on hand to help us with anything we needed. I was able to enjoy my entire wedding and didn't have to worry about timing or scheduling because Kurtz's had it covered! I can't say enough good things about the quality of this venue and their service. I'd get married there over and over again!
Wedding: 06/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We had a lovely, perfect wedding here. They were hard to get a hold of for scheduling, and they are VERY set in their ways. Luckily for me, I wasn't that picky, so I was ok with going with the flow. For example, they like to keep a very strict schedule and were very forceful in suggesting we cut the cake or leave the venue at our certain times (which was fine since we wanted to stay on schedule, of course). I didn't have to worry about a thing because they take care of EVERYTHING, from setting up the favors and working with your vendors. It was like having a wedding planner. It was great for our purposes but if you're picky about details you might not like them.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The best place!!! They took care of everything!!!!! We had our wedding on 10-8-11 and couldn't picture a better place!!!! Book it ASAP!!!!!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 5 Reviews
The people at Kurtz were absolutely wonderful. They worried about all the details for me so that I could be calm on my wedding day. They took care of everything, even things that I did not originally ask them to do. Everyone at my wedding said how beautiful the venue was and I would definitely recommend them to a friend.
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This venue was awesome!!! They took care of everything and it was exactly the way I wanted it! My planner for the day was excellent! I came up prior to the wedding and got to fully explain everything I had, where I wanted it and how I wanted things to go. She was so helpful and even added touches that made it more beautiful! John is awesome to work with as well! They have many years experience and it truly shows! We had an amazing wedding... thanks Kurtz!
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's Beach was a beautiful location for our ceremony and reception. The value was great since we were looking for a location with an open bar. Everyone loved the food as well! The optional alcohol fountain and opportunity to change the beers at an additional cost were also nice touches. I loved having the ceremony on the bay at an affordable price.

The only thing I had a problem with was on the actual wedding day a bit disorganization. I had sepcifically typed out everything for them and somehow they still managed to send out my bridal party in the incorrect order. Granted this didn't ruin the night, but it was a detail that is going to be on my video forever. I also received a few complaints from people that a few members of the staff were a bit rude to them and pushy, which I wasn't too happy about. My husband said they even tried to push the line up and ceremony when his parents hadn't arrived yet!

The owner Tim was very accomodating to our changes and concerns prior to the wedding. He was a great guy overall! Turn around time for e-mails or call backs was usually 24-72 hours. Overall good location, I received compliments, just wish the attitude & issues didn't happen!
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-255-1280
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0