Kurtz's Beach
2070 Kurtz Avenue
Pasadena, MD 21122  | map
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
I recently was married at Kurtz's Beach. The venue is so pretty, the staff was very well organized and the food was great! I was a little nervous because they do not do tastings and I read some of the reviews in which some people felt the staff was a little pushy/rude, however the food was very tasty and on my wedding day the staff was very professinal and helpful and I did not have to worry about a thing! No day of wedding planner is required- they handled EVERYTHING- even busseling my big dress so my bridesmaids didnt have to figure it out!

I do agree with some posts, if you are a huge do-it-yourself person and like to have control of every little detail this venue may not be for you, as they are pretty set in their ways as to the flow of the day. However, this being said you can still make it your own (we did some DIY projects such as a photo collage, card box and program basket to name a few which their staff placed nicely) and the organization and experience of the venue makes your day relateively easy and stress-free to plan!

I only heard wonderful things about the venue from my guests and everyone kept commenting on how beautiful the venue was! I am very pleased we picked Kurtz's Beach for our wedding!

Also, shout-out to Donna- she did a lot of the day-of organizing and was great! Thank you!!!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is a hidden gem! Such a beautiful place for a wedding or any other event. The staff and owner are amazing and so helpful. They definitely know what they are doing because they made my wedding happen without anything going wrong. Smooth and efficient.
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stacie 5 Reviews
Kurtz Beach was the perfect spot to have our wedding reception! The facility is beautiful, located right on the water with a lovely patio and ballroom inside. The staff was very accomidating escorting guests to their tables, although some of my groomsmen weren't shown their tables, and didn't know where to sit. Other than that, event was perfect!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can not say enough about how wonderful my experience was at Kurtz's! It was absolutely the best decision I made when planning my wedding. They are consummate professionals who want to make your wedding a success. We had both our ceremony and reception there, as well as used the Bridal Dressing Cottage for photos beforehand. They provided a staff member to help us at the cottage, and they even had refreshments. It was amazing. At the ceremony and reception, our guests were taken care of wholeheartedly. The night went off without a hitch. Kurtz's made my wedding dreams come true!!!
Wedding: 07/27/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ana 4 Reviews
Planning a wedding was super stressful, but once the day arrived, I was so happy and stress free, thanks to John & Donna & the staff of Kurtz's beach! They made my vision a reality, and even added the small touches I didn't think of myself to make the day that much more special. The wedding was beautiful with the perfect weather, the reception was perfect and my guests couldn't stop raving about the food, bartender, DJ, and wedding over all. I can't thank John & Donna enough, they made sure my day was reflective of my husband and I's tastes. The venue was so much more than I expected! Multiple people told me it was the best wedding they have ever attended. I'm so glad I chose Kurtz's Beach and would HIGHLY recommend them for your special day!
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot say enough about Kurtz's Beach!! We had such a beautiful and wonderful wedding and reception! They were not only professional and responded to our needs, they were attentive to detail. They made sure that what we wanted for our wedding and reception is EXACTLY what occurred. We knew from the moment we visited Kurtz's Beach that we wanted our wedding and reception there. We made the perfect choice! Everyone who attended our event has told us that this was the first wedding they attended that went so smoothly and efficiently. We could not have done without John and everyone at KUrtz's Beach!! The food was incredible!! It was served hot and very tasty!! We tried every dish and we loved EVERY Bite!! They even prepared a special dish for my sister who has severe allergies. They were so accommodating making sure that her needs were met!! We could not have picked a better vendor for our wedding ,reception or catering!! 5 stars does not do justice to showing their level of professionalism, service, flexibility or value and 5 stars falls way short of explaining their quality of service and care!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's Beach is the hidden gem of waterfront weddings on the Chesapeake. While I found most venues through sites such as TheKnot.com, a friend recommended Kurtz's to me. A family run business, they seem to get their business by word of mouth, and that has worked out great for them! My husband and I wanted a waterfront wedding but found the cost prohibitive - and then we discovered Kurtz's: a beautiful facility with truly a wonderful, helpful staff. We also got the cottage prior to the wedding to get ready at and it was so gorgeous. They had a staff member on hand to help us with anything we needed. I was able to enjoy my entire wedding and didn't have to worry about timing or scheduling because Kurtz's had it covered! I can't say enough good things about the quality of this venue and their service. I'd get married there over and over again!
Wedding: 06/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We had a lovely, perfect wedding here. They were hard to get a hold of for scheduling, and they are VERY set in their ways. Luckily for me, I wasn't that picky, so I was ok with going with the flow. For example, they like to keep a very strict schedule and were very forceful in suggesting we cut the cake or leave the venue at our certain times (which was fine since we wanted to stay on schedule, of course). I didn't have to worry about a thing because they take care of EVERYTHING, from setting up the favors and working with your vendors. It was like having a wedding planner. It was great for our purposes but if you're picky about details you might not like them.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The best place!!! They took care of everything!!!!! We had our wedding on 10-8-11 and couldn't picture a better place!!!! Book it ASAP!!!!!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 5 Reviews
The people at Kurtz were absolutely wonderful. They worried about all the details for me so that I could be calm on my wedding day. They took care of everything, even things that I did not originally ask them to do. Everyone at my wedding said how beautiful the venue was and I would definitely recommend them to a friend.
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This venue was awesome!!! They took care of everything and it was exactly the way I wanted it! My planner for the day was excellent! I came up prior to the wedding and got to fully explain everything I had, where I wanted it and how I wanted things to go. She was so helpful and even added touches that made it more beautiful! John is awesome to work with as well! They have many years experience and it truly shows! We had an amazing wedding... thanks Kurtz!
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's Beach was a beautiful location for our ceremony and reception. The value was great since we were looking for a location with an open bar. Everyone loved the food as well! The optional alcohol fountain and opportunity to change the beers at an additional cost were also nice touches. I loved having the ceremony on the bay at an affordable price.

The only thing I had a problem with was on the actual wedding day a bit disorganization. I had sepcifically typed out everything for them and somehow they still managed to send out my bridal party in the incorrect order. Granted this didn't ruin the night, but it was a detail that is going to be on my video forever. I also received a few complaints from people that a few members of the staff were a bit rude to them and pushy, which I wasn't too happy about. My husband said they even tried to push the line up and ceremony when his parents hadn't arrived yet!

The owner Tim was very accomodating to our changes and concerns prior to the wedding. He was a great guy overall! Turn around time for e-mails or call backs was usually 24-72 hours. Overall good location, I received compliments, just wish the attitude & issues didn't happen!
Wedding: 09/16/2011
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This company has been around for a very long time and couldnt have been nicer people. They are very accomodating and set everything up perfectly. The staff are all so nice and pleasant. The price is a great deal, especially being on the water. Makes a great backdrop for pictures! Their food was delish!
Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kurtz's Beach has an amazing location! The day was wonderful and the people there were very helpful and responsive to our needs. Before the wedding, it was hard to get a hold of someone to ask my questions. Since they have been doing weddings for so long, they have a very good system. But since they have a good system, there isn't as much flexibility in doing things differently.
Wedding: 05/27/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I was very happy with Kurtz's Beach on my wedding day. It was a beautiful day and ceremony and they took care of everything. And though it is buffet, they still serve the bride and groom and are constantly out keeping things clean and tidy. It would have been nice to be able to use bubbles when walking back down the aisle but everything still worked out beautifully. A great venue especially for the money. Nothing I looked at compared to the price and being so close to the water hearing waves next to you is hard to find.
Wedding: 04/30/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
We had the ceremony outside and it was absolutely gorgeous! I got so many compliments on the view and the weather was so nice.

We usually heard back from the owner within a day or two of our calls.

Before the ceremony, I ended up feeling much more stressed than was necessary because the staff was upset that my guests were arriving early. I had to hear about it for about ten minutes from the staff, which really did not help me to stay calm. Once the ceremony started, everything kind of smoothed itself out.

I would recommend this venue as far as the view goes. However, the day was much more stressful than it needed to be because of the attitudes of some of the staff.
Wedding: 09/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-255-1280
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0