Katherine O'Brien Photography
Serving Austin, San Antonio, Dallas and Houston
    22 Reviews
206 North San Marcos Street
Buda, TX 78610  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
Packages: Albums, High Resolution Images, Prints
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (22)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Just got married on 11/2/13. Katherine and Jeff are amazing. From start to finish. I am blown away by their professionalism, charm, knowledge, flexibility, and amazing talent. I have only see about 100 of our photos and I love sooo many of them already... and there are approx. 1,000... not sure how we're going to pick for an album! I strongly recommend Katherine O'Brien Photography. If it helps to know... I am a professional event planner and have extremely (sometimes annoyingly high standards) and I still could not be happier!!! If I had to do it all over again, I would hire them again in a heartbeat.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

M 1 Reviews
Katherine and her husband made an amazing team. Both very focused and professional, they got on with the job on their own, only checking in every once in awhile to see if there were any requests or letting us know where they would be for the next phase of our event. They needed very little guidance, which for us was a major relief and worth every penny.

The photos themselves were exactly what we were looking for - a combination of traditional shots and candid. They have a very journalistic style and use a variety of lenses. Friends and family have said that they completely captured the whole scene - giving even those who were not able to make it a real feel for what the day was like.

Their services and the final product are truely professional as well as creative. The deliverables - in our case a thumb drive and an album - are of high quality. And Katherine is very responsive to requests, as much after the wedding as before.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Johnny 3 Reviews
Katherine is the best! My wife and I were a little worried about the price, as there were other options for less. In the end, we realized that none of the other photographers had the same quality that she has. We were very happy to have gone with her, as our photos came out incredibly beautiful. Katherine is extremely calm and made us feel comfortable while shooting us and our guests. She has an eye for a good shot, as well as for producing good work. Our custom photo albums are much better than anything we could have dreamed up. She has several options for wedding packages, and even when picking one, you can substitute other items in, or add to packages if you wanted something in between two packages. Trust me, you won't be disappointed by going with her for your wedding or event!!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine was my wedding photographer and her photos are an unbelievably valuable gift that we will value for a lifetime. I can not say enough to recommend and praise Katherine and her husband Jeff, who is her talented second photographer. For a very affordable price, Katherine provided us with nearly 2,000 photos, an online gallery, a thumbdrive of photos, an album and a roll of dreamy art photos taken with her "holga" camera. Katherine's work is stunning; I can't believe how gorgeous I look, how handsome my husband looks, and how lovely our guests and setting appeared in her photos. She has a distinctive, artful, up-close-intense-and-personal technique but she also provides all of the conventional portraits you desire. Our wedding looks like a wonderland in her photos! The colors are vibrant, the focus is crisp and the best moments were captured (so many of them!). Shortly after the high of a wedding, it is inevitable to come back to earth; however, Katherine's photos allow me to relive the extraordinary joy and love I felt on our big day! My sister is a professional photographer in New York who handpicked Katherine for me from a pool of Austin photographers, and I was astonished I could afford the best on my budget! I'm so glad I'll have these photos to treasure on our anniversary 1 year from now and hopefully in 50 years! Katherine was professional, responsive, friendly & helpful before, during, and after the wedding. She met me in person to chat and look at her portfolio before signing a contract, she corresponded professionally, attended our rehearsal, and on our wedding day, she arrived early, came prepared, and agreed to stay an extra hour for a great price when my reception ran overtime. People always say that their biggest mistake was skimping on wedding photography. Hire Katherine, it's one of the best choices you could make, and she's a bargain. I loved her personality, artistry, talent, her distinctive technique behind the lens and her hard work!
Wedding: 05/19/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 5 Reviews
Katherine and her husband are amazing photographers! We hired Kathrine to do both our engagement session and wedding and we could not be any happier with the results! The pictures are amazing and the turnaround to get them back was very quick. Her work using vintage cameras really sets her apart from most photographers and is sold us on hiring her. If you are looking for a photographer that is artistic and very creative, then hire Katherine!
Wedding: 12/16/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine and her husband take beautiful photographs, but they also do a wonderful job of staying calm and have a wonderful presence that adds to your day. My husband and I are so happy we chose them and our guests can't stop talking about the amazing photo booth and fantastic moments they captured!
Wedding: 06/17/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine O'Brien was a fantastic photographer! We hired her with her "ultimate wedding" package and it was well worth it - we were able to get bridal pics, engagement pics, and rehearsal photos on top of the all day wedding coverage. We live in Houston and she was able to be very flexible with our schedules to do our photo shoots. We also had a photo booth set up by her and her husband during the wedding and it was without a doubt, the most talked about part of our wedding. It was so much fun and we had some really great pictures!!! All our friends and family were impressed with her professionalism and her talent.
Wedding: 12/03/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine super exceeded all of our expectations. She did our engagement photos and photographed our wedding day. Katherine and her husband are a joy to work with, and they create absolute magic in their work. Her creative eye, and professionalism produce timeless, works of art. We feel so lucky to have found her! I would absolutely 100% recommend Katherine O'Brien Photography to anyone! The hardest part is picking the photos you want, because they are ALL great!
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about Katherine O'Brien Photography. This was the best invest that I made. The products exceeded my expectations, and I would encourage anyone to spend a little extra to have your rehearsal dinner photographed. The saying of "you pay for what you get" is so true. Katherine and Jeff were like the calm in the middle of the storm. When others were running around everywhere the day of, Katherine would walk into the room and just changed the mood putting me at ease. Six months after my wedding and she is still providing me with great service!
Wedding: 05/21/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I probably spent the most time on making our photography decision. We went through tons and tons of websites and then found Katherine's. We were blown away by the uniqueness of her photos and how she plays with the light and different points of view to make such stunning pictures. The creativity that Katherine and Jeff put into the classic wedding pictures I think makes them stand out from others. We used them for engagement, bridal and wedding day with photobooth and ended up with over 1000 pictures that we LOVE to commemorate the special time in our lives. Katherine is fun to work with and is good at putting you at ease. She and her husband are both very sweet and a joy to have around you on your big day. My wedding day went by so quickly and was such a blur but looking back at our pictures has thrilled me every single time. To know that my husband and I and all of the people we love looked as happy as we felt on our wedding day is so exciting and fulfilling and to have it all captured in such a beautiful way is just priceless. The work that Katherine and Jeff do is spectacular- it is every brides dream to look and feel stunning in every single one of her pictures and thats exactly what they do!
Wedding: 04/16/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely, 100% recommend Katherine O'Brien. She is extremely creative, and the quality of her photos is unbeatable. Photography is the thing I cared the most about when it came to wedding planning, and I planned to put the most effort into finding a photographer. Turns out, she was extremely affordable and had way more to offer than others. She's professional, organized, calm, talented, sweet, encouraging, and quick to respond. But best of all, the product she offers is amazing!
Wedding: 02/26/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have had a better experience with Katherine; she did our engagement session and then she and Jeff did our wedding. After seeing her photographs on her website we had very high expectations, and she totally exceeded all of them.

We were a little shy and hesitant before our engagement session, but Katherine was so completely calm and pleasant and professional and helpful that we quickly got over ourselves. Leading up to the wedding Katherine responded immediately to any questions we had for her and she offered loads of thoughtful and helpful suggestions. When then wedding rolled around, Katherine and Jeff completely outdid themselves. Katherine was persuasive enough to corral all our relatives for formal photographs right after the ceremony without having to be pushy or unpleasant or anything like that. During the ceremony it seemed like we didn't see her at all, but then we looked at the hundreds of beautiful photos she took and couldn't understand how we could've missed her. She was everywhere! And took pictures of absolutely everything we wanted (even though we hadn't even given her detailed requests).

I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that we couldn't have been happier with the photos and the experience, and Katherine has our highest recommendation.
Wedding: 02/19/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My goodness. What a wonderful lady! Katherine has been a delight since our first meeting.

We met with several photographers, and many of them made me uncomfortable. They seemed pushy, or demanding. I was concerned that my guests would feel bossed around and that these photographers would suck the fun out of the party. But Katherine and her husband were wonderful!

We met with her in her sweet studio, and she let us peruse all of her recent work (which you should also check out at her website and blog) and album options. Her prices are so reasonable and she is an artist. Most importantly, though she is a pleasure to be around and will enhance your wedding.

We LOVE the hundreds of gorgeous images (digital: Color, B&W, Toy camera) and it was so hard to narrow it down to an album. Many of my more discriminating friends have told me that our wedding photos are the best made wedding photos they've ever seen.

Check her out. She's an artist. I keep trying to think of reasons I could hire her in the future!
Wedding: 02/13/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I fully recommend Katherine for weddings as well as any other reason you need pictures!
Wedding: 12/27/2008
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine researched my venue and came prepared for the difficult task of shooting a wedding in a cave. The lighting was going to be a serious challenge, but Katherine never seemed frustrated and even calmed my worries by showing me some of her work as she went along. I was immediately put at ease by her focus and attention to detail. She was so inobtrusive and surprised me by catching photos when I didn't even notice she was there. Katherine and her assistant were courteous and professional at every step of the way, on their toes to capture every important moment, making sure they got the best angles and images. They were friendly and happy and inspired confidence in both my wedding party and my guests, who commented on their kindness and the seriousness with which they treated their work. The real proof was in the photos themselves, which just blew me away. They were more than I ever hoped for, they were amazing. The images showed not just the physical aspects of our wedding, but the quiet moments and the subtle emotions that define our marriage. Katherine's dedicated work before, after and during my wedding went way beyond my expectations of any photographer. These photos will last me a lifetime and enrich my memories of my fun wedding day. I could never put a price on them, but when I think about what I paid Katherine, I feel like I won the lottery. Her prices are a steal and I feel so grateful to have had her photograph my wedding. She did just an amazing job and I would reccommend her to anyone in the area. In fact, my sister is getting married this year and the one thing she isn't worried about is finding a photographer, because we know the quality of Katherine's work and the value of her service. Hiring Katherine was the best investment I made toward my wedding, and I remain absolutely thrilled with the results.
Wedding: 12/04/2008
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Katherine was professional, friendly, and cooperative before our wedding. During the wedding she was great. Her photographs are fun, artistic and interesting but still classic and timeless. She responded relatively quickly after the wedding with a great slideshow of images posted online. I highly recommend this photographer.
Wedding: 11/23/2008
Services Used: Photography
 512-295-6802
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0