Jock in the Box Entertainment
Dj's with Personality and Professionalism
Durham, CT 06422  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Todd, I don’t even know where to begin. I knew from the second we had our first meeting that I HAD to have you as our DJ. I cant thank you enough for being a part of our special day. Our guest loved you, and you had the dance floor packed all night. Most importantly I want to thank you for our live edit, I have watched it again and again and it was worth every penny. I cannot recommend you enough to other brides, and I hope we will attend more weddings in the future and see you behind the DJ booth. Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Mark Ricardo
Wedding: 10/24/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Zachary 1 Reviews
My wife and I were married recently - despite our wedding reception being during the day, Jock in the Box made our wedding an AWESOME party.

When we were choosing a DJ, the process felt out of our hands. We were unsure how to choose, and had no certainty that a DJ that we picked would be any good. Enter Jock in the Box: Todd Powers met with us personally for an information session first. There was no pressure, he was incredibly personable, flexible, and made us feel very comfortable on our first meeting. There are plans for every budget (see: daytime reception), and he assured us that he is flexible to any request. We decided to hire him for our wedding, and we couldn't have been happier with the decision.

Over a week later - I still have guests commenting to me on how fantastic the DJ was. At a relatively modest wedding of 100 people, I am sure that EVERYONE was dancing, and dancing a lot. We trusted Jock in the Box to play a variety of music and 'read the crowd,' and Todd nailed it. There was popular music that was appropriate for all guests, and he played a good mix for both young and old. In addition, he sprinkled in our requests nicely, and stayed away from anything we did not want to listen to. Additionally, he had appropriate (and funny) rapport with us and with the guests. In short - the service was PERFECT.

Most importantly, the process was easy - it was clear that Jock in the Box was organized, professional, and flexible. I had confidence throughout the planning process. It was one less thing to worry about.

Jock in the Box truly lived up to a whimsical sign hanging in the office, "..and if the music is good, you dance..." I cannot recommend Jock in the Box highly enough - especially for a wedding. He made our special day the party of our lives, and I would hire Jock in the Box again without a second thought.

PS - Ask about the 'live edit' - it is my favorite keepsake of the wedding.
Wedding: 09/20/2014
Services Used: DJ
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  2.0
This is the SECOND review I am writing. Which makes me wonder if only favorable reviews get posted and my previous review was eliminated.

We met to discuss the wedding, after WE called this vendor, 4 days before the wedding to finalize everything. Jock in the Box has a wonderful way of introducing the members of your bridal party. He has you ask each person what song they would like played as they walk into the reception when they are introduced. However, at our wedding he failed to play the song requested by the Brides's brother, her only sibling.

The Bride's brother SPOKE to the DJ minutes before the introductions were to be made to make SURE he had the song he requested. It was an appropriate song, nothing vulgar, he had it and did NOT play it. What made matters worse was this DJ further embarrassed the Bride's brother, by making a joke out of his mistake! The DJ asked the following couple if he had their correct song, mocking the incident with the brother of the Bride. This was just one of the examples of what this DJ finds entertaining and humorous.

He told us he misunderstood. Really?
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jock in the box is the best DJ. He MADE our wedding.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Todd at Jock in the Box Entertainment in Durham, CT was our disc jockey two weeks ago for our wedding. He is a preferred vendor by The CT Wedding Group and I am so happy that we chose him to be our DJ! I don’t know much about music except I like to sing along and have a good time! I was looking for a DJ who would read the crowd, who would use what he knows about us, and keep the partying going from start to finish. Todd did exactly that! The dance floor always had people on it! About 2 weeks before our wedding, we met with Todd to finalize the plan for the day. My husband and I were feeling a little stressed with all the wedding stuff, but when we walked out of our meeting we were pumped! Todd was so enthusiastic about our wedding that he put us at ease and got us so excited! It was then we knew we would have the most amazing wedding! And we did! Our friends and family have been telling us what a great time they had and always mention how fun the music and entertainment was--- especially our LIVE EDIT!

Working with our photographers from Russell’s Photography Studio in North Haven, during dinner Todd put together a slideshow of photographs and sound bites from the toasts to one of my favorite songs--Lady Antebellum’s Love I Found In You—and created a slideshow presentation that made us laugh, cry, and just really stop and savor the moment of our wedding day. We knew it was coming, but our guests didn’t, so they were so surprised and impressed! After our wedding, Todd gave me the Live Edit and the other picture slideshow he created and played during the reception on a thumb drive for us to take home and forever enjoy. I have watched the Live Edit over and over reliving our amazing wedding day! It is a treasure to have and I am so grateful we have it for us and to share with our family and friends.

By choosing Todd at Jock in the Box Entertainment, you’ll be certain to have a fun, energetic, people up and
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had seen Todd at our friend's wedding, and knew that we wanted to have him dj our wedding. Once we talked with Todd, we knew that we made the right decision. He was enthusiastic, fun, professional, and we knew that we were in good hands. He plays great music and gets everyone on the floor. He worked within our price range and went way above and beyond to make our day special. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Todd was outstanding! Better than we could have ever dreamed! Todd was professional on all accounts and a joy to work with. He got all of our guests up and dancing all night long! He knew exactly what songs to play and played something for everyone to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves and was out on that dance floor. He was personable, funny and truly a special part of our wedding day. Jock in the box entertainment was the best decision we made for our wedding hands down!!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Scott C. Was our DJ and we was amazing!!!! He was professional and fun. He was flexible since we had a backyard wedding but also included all the formalities we wanted!!! I would and have in the last two weeks recommended him and the DJ company to everyone I know!!! My friends and family were well entertained and loved him too!!!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 4 Reviews
Todd was incredible to work with! My husband and I had so much fun when it came time to sit down with him and go over our play list. Todd is so positive and upbeat and can really get the crowd going and out on the dance floor. Even our family and friends who do not normally care to dance were out there having such a wonderful time. He did a beautiful job with the uplighting that my husband insisted we have and I am so glad we did. The lighting definitely added an extra element that brought the music and the feel of our wedding day all together. If I could do it all over again I would still have Todd as our DJ. I hope we run into him at future weddings and events!
Wedding: 05/16/2014
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 3 Reviews
Todd did an amazing job at our wedding. We are still getting so many compliments on how fun the music was! We also had Todd do uplighting and the live edit, two things that I highly recommend. Our reception looked like nothing I had even seen with the lighting - it definitely added to how our pictures came out. The live edit is something that we'll cherish forever, a great reminder of the speeches. The music was on point the entire time and the dance floor was always full!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carla 2 Reviews
Todd was an amazing DJ he made our night so fun and with the love edit it made it so special! If you can you should without a doubt hire jockinthebox they are worth every penny!!
Wedding: 11/22/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lori 3 Reviews
Jock in the Box is a very professional and accommodating company. I was provided with solicited advise that was spot on. Many of my guests commented on how much of a great job my dj did and I couldn't agree more. They provide a variety of services, use the best equipment and have the best understanding of crowd flow/taste. They got everyone on the dance floor and made my reception the party that I wanted. This would be the ONLY dj I would recommend as I only use the best!!!!
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
One thing was the anniversary dance, we were thinking that everyone would be on the dance floor and then years are announced (like a year or less, then 5 years etc. so then when you get to 50 plus their are few people on the floor to so people can see) and people then leave the dance floor, the way you did it was kind of backwards and people couldn't even hear the song.

And we did get some feedback from our guests about the transitions from song to song very abruptly when doing a medley or putting 2 songs together that don't.

Maybe include the vows and speeches, on the DVD
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved Todd! He's the best DJ and I am so glad we picked him to be a part of our special day!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: DJ
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

matt 1 Reviews
Todd was fantastic. He was very flexible willing to accommodate our wishes, while offering valuable insight based on his years of experience. During the ceremony, he kept everybody engaged, kept the excitement level high, and did an overall amazing job. The best part was you could tell he actually cared about our ceremony, what it meant to us, and was genuine in the way he handled everything. Would 100% recommend him for any event. Thanks Todd. Matt and carolynn
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: DJ
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Scott Casiano from Jock in the Box was awesome! He had the energy, got the crowd up and moving and involved... I didn't have to worry about anything with Scott. He checked in with us throughout the night, he was great. I highly recommend him!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
 203-235-0000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0