Hummingbird Hall Jamaica
Award winning, boutique destination weddings
Montego Bay
JAMAICA
destination.weddings@hummingbirdhall.com Jamaica  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 130
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (102)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We have just returned from Jamaica. I've got no doubt that those who marry at Hummingbird will have a great wedding experience. The place looked amazing, food was tasty and hot, staff put a lot of effort into what they did, and – as i'm sure everyone knows – Leona and Jayla really are wedding planner superstars :)

We have no complaints about the service or the staff or the actual wedding items (cake etc). Our 5/5 reflects this – because obviously they do deserve that rating. However our problems began after the wedding as we are not satisfied with the response to some environmental questions that we raised.

For us, a wedding is a real reflection of our values as a couple. We put our money into causes that we support and believe and so one of the main reasons we chose Hummingbird is their supposed environmental track record.

We were therefore disappointed to learn that the flowers that they use are actually imported from commercial flower farms overseas. This means that the flowers - although beautiful - have a huge carbon foot print. This needs to be addressed - particularly since Jamaica has amazing flora and fauna! They also prepared WAY TOO MUCH FOOD – seriously – there was no way even double our guests could not have eaten all the food at our wedding – and even our guests wondered what the purpose of so much food was. Again, this needs to be addressed. Lastly, we ordered a shuttle from Reggae Tour to transport our guests. The service was smooth, however we were disappointed that the drivers were fully prepared to shuttle two (or even one!) guests back to the hotel which is not impressive at all in terms of carbon emissions. Just our two cents- but for a venue that says that it's eco-friendly they really should re-think their policies to ensure EVERYTHING they do is environmentally friendly.
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hummingbird Hall - or at the least those who worked on our wedding - were consummate professionals throughout. We didn't want for anything and neither did our guests. The overall service and responsiveness was very good, and on the day we also felt that the musicians especially stood out as having done a really, really good job. Everyone worked very hard though. Thanks guys!
Wedding: 03/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
9th March was our wedding day. Nothing was too much trouble. Attention to detail was flawless and event timing was to the second. We relaxed from the moment we arrived and enjoyed everything thoroughly. Leona and Chef Comry's organization were terrific. Guests loved the jerk pit! We and our guests cannot stop talking about it all. Many, many thanks for making a momentous day perfect.
D&V Johnson
Wedding: 03/09/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We're home and MARRIED! So happy with our experience @ Hummingbird Hall. Such a pretty place to visit let alone get married. We found the staff exceptionally helpful and pleasant. The only thing we had difficulty with as first timer to Jamaica was deciphering their extensive menu! The food was definitely a highlight for us! We're looking forward to getting our professional pictures as the ones Hummingbird Hall took (which were a complete surprise) were incredible.
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My son was married here. From the time they contacted Hummingbird Hall to begin the process from the time we left Jamaica - the experience was an absolute joy and pleasure. The team were helpful, courteous and could not do enough to help. Their suggestions and advice sorted out any issues before there were any- and they have a really great network of local vendors and suppliers who were able to provide the things that they didnt offer (like transportation). From three days prior to the big day when we arrived for the rehearsal Jayla and Leona supported us, helped with nerves and everything we needed such as locating and engraving a sand ceremony set because the couple had left theirs at home! The day was perfection realised - venue, food, entertainment all went well due to the calm but excellent efforts of the team. I'd describe the staff as filled with a "busy calm" so they worked hard but maintained the tranquil atmosphere. We even got to plant an orange tree in the garden to remember the happy couple. Hummingbird Hall is well worth the price tag!
Wedding: 02/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If it is possible to make everything perfect, then Hummingbird Hall surely has the right formula! The planning through the actual day was effortless and made all the more enjoyable because of the service.
We loved Chef C's cooking, we loved the decorations (Leo, Jayla and Jackie thank you!), we loved Ms Joscelyn's ultra delicious and decadent chocolate wedding cake (just wow!) and we loved how the team pulled together for us and our guests. Oh, and Music Man aka DJ Courtney was awesome too!!

Wedding: 02/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It would be difficult to say something about Hummingbird Hall that hasn't already been said by several reviewers. Pretty much everything from the views (gorgeous), food/cake (sublime), decorations (creative), music (thumbs up!) and oh so lovely service has been reported over and over and over… so it’s difficult to add something new! ‘Perfect’ and ‘luxury’ are definitely words that can be over used, but for us our Hummingbird Hall wedding encapsulated both. It was ‘perfect’ because it was our day, done our way (we’re a little unconventional and Hummingbird were fine with that!). It was ‘luxurious’ because of the high-end surroundings and the fact we really didn’t have to think about anything other than enjoying our day to the fullest. In a family where neither my sisters nor my many cousins had the luxury of professional wedding planners and coordinators(let alone a team of them!!) –I can tell you that I (and they) noticed a difference. Throughout the process we also found that we could have honest conversations with Hummingbird Hall’s staff about exactly what we wanted, and this resulted in a wedding that felt authentic. If such an award exists, we'd nominate Leona for staff member of the year. She REALLY went above and beyond for us.
Wedding: 01/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently held a location wedding at Hummingbird Hall with approximately 97 guests flying from all over the world quite literally. We have family property in Portland and so housed our friends and family there. However we arranged for buses to drive our guests to Montego Bay (yes – we traveled to Montego Bay JUST for Hummingbird Hall). At the time, it did feel like an endeavor, and during the planning we must say there were lots of complaints from those who didn't get our rationale – but after the wedding no one wanted to leave!! We could have easily partied on until the wee hours!! So, whilst i'm not sure that we would recommend hiring a convey of buses to transport guests 90+ guests 4+ hours on your wedding day, we WOULD recommend Hummingbird Hall (we'd just have stayed closer).

Hummingbird Hall were a brilliant resource/treasure trove for us. They're very capable and very creative. A lot about our wedding was daunting – and maybe we did overcomplicate – but they were great communicators who took most of the angst out of the process. We are happy to provide personal references and can vouch for the incredible work they can deliver.
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a new years eve wedding at Hummingbird Hall. Other than the fact my aunt, who happens to be an extraordinary cook, wasn't allowed to supply ANY food because they consider all outside caterers "outside vendors" - everything was wonderful (including, we'll admit, the food). We were slightly perturbed by their strict definition of vendors, but it didn't overshadow our experience. The Hummingbird Hall team did an extraordinary job on the night. An amazing start to 2014 and our marriage!
Wedding: 12/31/2013
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Entertainer, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was so, so, so wonderful. We were treated ROYALLY and enjoyed every single moment.

We’re 29 days married (whoop!) and our guests are still emailing and calling us about our special day.

The staff are also just about the nicest people you can come across and the service provided was excellent.

Wedding perfection definitely exists at Hummingbird Hall :)

Way to go Hummingbird!
Wedding: 12/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Leona, Jayla and the Hummingbird Hall staff were gems to work with from start to finish. Utterly professional and easy going!Thank you so so so much!We adored every moment of our wedding - everyone, us included, is still in awe! Happy Holidays to all and we wish Hummingbird Hall the best for 2014 and beyond.

Love,

The Morris Clan :)
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What stood out to us is how genuine everyone was. These are people you just want to be around you when you are planning your wedding. They are proactive and extremely attentive - and - really - just old fashioned nice. We had no doubt that they'd deliver the wedding we'd planned, I think it's easy to see that they're one of the most - if not the most - organized wedding services in Jamaica. They did all the stuff you would expect (amazing food, decorations, wedding design etc). However, the reason we chose to write this review is because where team Hummingbird Hall really shone was on the interpersonal level. How they looked after our guests, how they were always polite and upbeat (even when my bridezilla self railed!!!), how they seemed really invested in us having an incredible and memorable time. These are the reasons that we are giving Hummingbird Hall 5/5 (we'd give more points if they were available!). Hummingbird Hall is a special place. #grateful #topoftheworld #doesnotgetbetterthanthis

(Kayleigh and Jason)
Wedding: 11/07/2013
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently had our wedding of 90 people at Hummingbird Hall. From research through to the design and planning phases and goodbyes: Jackie, Leo, Joscelyn and Jayla (and countless others) were very kind, easy to talk to/plan with and accommodating. We let them know how we wanted our wedding to look, flow and feel and our orders were carried out with what can only be described as polish and flair.

The venue itself is beautiful and provided us with a great natural setting which was perfect for pictures. The staff were thoughtful and had bug spray and fans on standby and our friends commented that it was one of the most comfortable outdoor weddings they'd been to. The Jamaican menu that we chose was very well prepared and our guests loved that the drinks were on tap. The entertainment was characteristically Jamaican and excellent (DH is a DJ). The band obliged our guests with encores and the DJ and servers obviously enjoyed being at our wedding as much as we did.

All in all, a perfect venue with great hosts to match. High recommend!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Entertainer, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Party Supplies
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We would not hesitate to recommend Hummingbird Hall. We supplied the love, and they supplied everything else! The small, extra touches made all the difference and their strict attention to even the smallest detail in the planning stages made our day completely void of anxiousness. When researching we found their price to be at the upper end of weddings in the area, but looking back this has to be because of how many staff there are. You really feel taken care of. Jayla and Leona were our overall coordinators, but in the planning, I counted no less than 12 people/teams who we would had the option to talk with, all of whom responded within hours to our messages. The staff knew their stuff, and truly provided us with comprehensive responses so we knew what we could expect. On the day, there was a very high staff to guest ratio, which meant, for instance, if a guest wanted to go somewhere a staff member would show them where it was by escorting them rather than pointing - it was these small touches that made everyone feel special . As for the venue itself - it’s a nice mid-way between being manicured and rustic. The garden areas and property seem to be set “in nature” as it were and a little rustic but all the other areas of the wedding were highly manicured and planned. You could just tell a lot of thought had gone into everything. They were also great about confirming every detail in writing, and we didn't feel pressured to sign up for anything we didn't want. In the end we had the standard package with some extra time, unlimited champagne and extra flowers. Everything was beautiful. There was also plenty of food and drink - go hungry!!

- A.
Wedding: 10/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We've just come back to miserable rainy Stockholm after two brilliant weeks of luxury in Jamaica. We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid and although the drive to Hummingbird Hall was quite trafficky – getting married outside of the resort was worth every penny. We saw weddings at Secrets during our stay, and can definitely attest to the fact that marrying away from a resort is a totally different and superior wedding experience. The Estate that Hummingbird Hall is a pristine, private community, and just like everyone says – arriving at Hummingbird Hall is like stumbling upon a beautiful hideaway that only the privileged have access to. It's hard to describe, but it just has a different feel to other parts of Montego Bay – very very calm, very peaceful/still and really beautiful. Given the chance, we'd happily spend our days just relaxing in the gardens and by the waterfall!! Our wedding day was perfect, easy and stress free. We never had an empty glass, everyone was smiling and the staff couldn't have been more hospitable, warm and friendly. We knew we'd love Jamaica and Hummingbird Hall, but we didn't quite realize we'd love it THIS much, thank you so very much.

Olga and Hans xxx
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hummingbird Hall were a pleasure from start to finish. Absolutely superb, we wouldn't change a thing.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Band, Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony Music, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 866-317-1630
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0