Heinz History Center
    24 Reviews
1212 Smallman St
Pittsburgh, PA 15222  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Heinz History center provided and exceptional space on the first floor for a cocktail reception, with plenty for guests of all ages to see, and a great atmosphere for mingling. The dinner was held in the ballroom on the fifth floor, which is a blank canvas that is perfect for creating any theme or ambiance. The acoustics were exceptional for a 10-piece band, and the catering by Common Plea was superb. This could not have been a better party or experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff and the venue! Everyone was so helpful and professional throughout the planning process and on the day of the event. They coordinated multiple vendors With contributionsto the decor and dessert from family members and friends. The acoustics in the room are great for a large band. The dance floor was packed all night! Everything was perfect. Thank you all for making this such a special event for our entire family!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dana 1 Reviews
Our experience with the Heinz History Center was truly top notch. Cara was so easy to work with and could not have made this process easier for us. The evening was perfect from start to finish and I couldn't have asked for a better wedding reception.

The icing on the cake, a wedding guest had dropped our card, with cash in it, the card wasn't labeled with our names so someone at the history center had to open it to find out who it belonged to. We received the card with all of the cash still in it, just confirming the level of service we received with the history center.
Wedding: 09/27/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Cara was our event coordinator and she was fantastic. She answered a first time bride's questions quickly and took care of all the dirty work for event set up so I could enjoy my wedding day.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Monica 2 Reviews
The History Center's great hall was the perfect location for our wedding reception. Cara was super easy to work with. Our guests were allowed to tour the History Center before our cocktail hour began and everyone really enjoyed doing that and having something to do in the time between the ceremony and reception. The even was perfect, I couldn't be happier.
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tara 2 Reviews
This venue is so beautiful and unique. My guests would not stop complimenting on the space. Everyone at the History Center was so helpful and easily accessible throughout the whole planning process. I am so glad I chose this place as my reception venue.
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laura 1 Reviews
Cara had great suggestions and carried out my vision. Their communication with other vendors reduced a lot of stress on my part.
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved our wedding at the Heinz History Center. The venue is beautiful, the staff is professional and kind, and we stayed directly across the street at the Hampton Inn, so no driving anywhere for our guests! We did our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in the history center and our guests appreciated the ease of the evening. We Loved the great hall for its interesting features and it was a perfect space for 125 guests.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Event Staff was responsive, thorough and extremely helpful. They were willing to work with whatever ideas I had, and figure out a way to do them! They were flexible with final numbers and changing table configurations. They made sure myself and the groom were happy and stress free leading up to the wedding and during it!
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Maura- we cannot thank you and your staff enough for everything you did for our wedding! The day was absolutely magical. The room looked fantastic, and your staff was extremely professional through the whole planning process. You made what could have been a stressful experience an enjoyable one for us and our families. Thank you, we could not be happier with our decision to have our wedding reception at the Heinz History Center!!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The venue was great ! Working with Maura ws very helpful. She was there when you needed her. She always returned my calls. She was so great ot work with. She is a great asset to the history center. I highly recommend this venue.
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are not enough words to say how wonderful working with Lori during the wedding planning was. She is so organized and will go completely out of her way to help you out! We decided to have a friend make our centerpieces from fake flowers. Lori made time for us to come out on Friday to set them up. We couldn't have pulled off the wedding of our dreams without her!

The venue itself is beautiful! It has a great view and is very spacious. It's a nice touch that guests can visit the exhibits prior to the reception which was very helpful in covering the two hour gap between our ceremony and reception.
Wedding: 07/30/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We cannot thank Lori enough for everything that she did to make our wedding there so fantastic. She is incredible, organized, and very in tune to everything that is going on. She responded very quickly to any email or phone call even if it was her day off. Lori was excellent about making sure that all details were worked out before the big day. One of the best things that we really appreciated was that she was the one dealing with vendors, communicating what time they needed to be there, where to set up, and any other information that they needed. This allowed both my husband and I to relax and really enjoy the days leading up to and the day of our wedding. The site itself is gorgeous. It is very unique and has so much character to it that aside from simple centerpieces, not much else is necessary to dress it up! We cannot say enough good things about this place and Lori. If you are considering this venue, you cannot go wrong with it!
Wedding: 07/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Lori at the History Center and everything was wonderful. She was very willing to work with us to ensure that we had the beautiful wedding we wanted. The location simply cannot be beat, especially if you have out-of-town guests who would enjoy learning more about Pittsburgh. Prior to the reception (and until the History Center closes at 5pm), guests of your wedding can tour the History Center without an additional charge. Also, very cool photo opportunities exist with the Racer roller coaster car and trolley that are in the Great Hall, if you use that facility (which is what we did). The limit is 150 people for the Great Hall. Larger parties can use the space on the 5th (?) floor, which has a partial view of the city, but is more banquet-room-like.
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I wish I could give them a 10 stars. What a fantastic venue!! Maura is the most organized woman that I have ever met and I'm so thrilled that she was assigned to my wedding. This woman knows what she is doing! The History Center is so unique in the fact that its not a typical hotel ballroom, and will be memorable for your guests. I would go back to this venue ANYTIME to have another party, or event. Who knows... maybe my husband and I will renew our vows and throw another party... If so, the History Center is my first choice.
Wedding: 09/26/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband was worried that I was going to be a frazzled bride, but working with Maura at the Heinz History Center, I was completely relaxed and calm. She organized all of my vendors and finalized every detail (she even remembered to be standing next to the dance floor to take my bouquet after we were announced so we could go straight into our first dance). The ceremony and reception were absolutely perfect. Everyone was talking about how unique the venue was and how gorgeous the room looked. I wouldn't change a thing and that is all thanks to Maura. Whatever they are paying her, it's not enough. She is amazing.
Wedding: 01/03/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 412-454-6435
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0