Face the Occasion Makeup Artistry
Philadelphia's Premier On-Location Makeup Artistry Service
    50 Reviews
Philadelphia, Main Line, and Surrounding Areas, PA  | map
Services: Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (50)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
No running makeup!

I danced and sweated for several hours in a warm ballroom and still looked as crisp as I did when I got my makeup on that morning. Jill did a wonderful job on me and my wedding party. She was warm and friendly with my makeup-shy mama, and worked quickly to make sure we were done with plenty of time to spare.
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Darien Wildstein was an absolute gem! My make up was so natural, I just look like a slightly enhanced, more formal version of myself. I would recommend her and Face the Occasion to anyone!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jill was absolutely amazing! She made us all look so beautiful. One of the top five BEST wedding decisions was definitely booking with Face the Occasion Makeup Artistry. I did A LOT of research before I booked, and I can honestly say that based on quality and price- Jill's team is a definite! I highly recommend. If you book a trial, you WILL choose them for your big day!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was told I shouldnt skimp on my hair and makeup, and so I searched for makeup artists that were rated 5 stars. Face the Occasion (FTO), rated five stars and let me tell you, they deserved this and more!

I was fortunate to have Kelly (one of the founders) as my artist for my day of services. She was absolutely talented, but reasonable with prices. She did makeup for myself, 2 bridesmaids, my junior bridesmaid, my aunt and my mom and it was all just under $400. Everyone loved how they looked.

Being the bride, I had a trial with her. Our wedding was held in the Philly area, but I lived in Central Jersey. We corresponded via email on where the best place for me is to have the trial. She was so flexible that she even asked her mother-in-law for us to have the trial at their house! Thanks Kelly!

On the day of the wedding, Kelly brought her notes on what we did on the trial. I originally wanted a very natural look, but when one of my bridesmaids suggested for the photographer to take a picture of me with makeup on, I decided that I wanted more color. Kelly was totally ok with that, and she was happy enough to cater to the changes I had requested. I am very happy with the results, everyone kept telling me how great I looked, haha!

Kelly lives up to FTO's Five star rating. I absolutely recommend, and if you can, ask for Kelly :)
Wedding: 08/30/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Face the Occasion did a beautiful job for my wedding - all my bridesmaids, the moms, and even me looked amazing. They showed up early - set up and had us all looking fabulous in no time. Great vendor - so nice, and so amazing to work with :)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amy 10 Reviews
I had talked with a few make-up artists who had an additional fee for just booking the appointment (not a deposit to be applied to the balance, but an additional fee). I found this to be highly unethical, so I was very picky about my choices. I was very happy with Face the Occasion. I originally spoke with Kelly, who was very nice and flexible. She then told me that Jill was going to be available on my date. Jill was fantastic! She was very accommodating with my maid of honor who wanted a specific look. She made us both look beautiful! :-) Even friends from work who saw pictures noted how amazing my make-up looked. And it was fun talking about our Bay Area connections.
Wedding: 05/03/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Darien and Kelly were our make-up artists for our wedding. They were fantastic! Prompt, professional and so much fun to be with! A few bridal party members were worried about looking too "overdone", but Darien and Kelly made us all look like better versions of ourselves! Their wedding application was very natural and stayed on all day and night. And Darien works magic with false eyelashes! I would highly recommend them to anyone!
Wedding: 01/12/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kelly did makeup for myself and all of my bridesmaids. Kelly came all the way out to Cairnwood on the day of the wedding to do our makeup and was actually there before I even arrived!

Between dealing with time constraints, last minute "ooh actually can I get my makeup done too?"s and the full brunt of our bridal crazy, Kelly somehow managed to make each one of us look beautiful, unique, and magazine quality pretty. I was BEYOND thrilled with my Bobbi Brown makeup (which did not smudge or budge all night!) and moreso with kelly's friendly, upbeat, and professional attitude and easiness to work with. Kelly (and Face the Occasion in general!) was one vendor I knew I never needed to worry about. If I ever need my makeup done in the future I know exactly who to call.

Bottom Line: Face the Occasion uses Bobbi Brown makeup (my favorite!), comes to wherever you are (which takes A TON of the guesswork out of how your bridesmaids will look!), and respond promptly and professionally to any and all questions you may have (at least in my experience). They are very affordable, but well worth every penny.
Wedding: 10/26/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jill from Face the Occasion did my makeup as well as that of my bridal party, my mom, and my grandmom for a total of 9 people. She was amazing! She highlighted everyone's best features without making anyone look over made-up. I even had a bridesmaid decide to get hers done after adamantly being against it once she saw how everyone else looked. My makeup looked fantastic the entire day (a good 14 hours), and didn't smudge at all during any of the several times I cried (happy tears!) during the day. I highly recommend Jill and Face the Occasion!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

L. Stewart 8 Reviews
Face the Occasion was my top choice after researching vendors in the Philly area with artists that would travel to my hotel on the day of. I was also looking for artists with convenient locations for a trial, since going outside the city would have been difficult for me. I ultimately chose Face the Occasion on their value and their online portfolio. They suggested for me to work with Janet Indorf, and she was FANTASTIC. My mother in law even said to me that if she ever wins the lottery she wants to hire Janet to do her makeup every day! She was really great. At the trial, she was good at giving some suggestions and opinions, but also really listened. On the day of, she did my makeup, three of my maids, and two moms. Everyone was extremely happy, and she made everyone so comfortable. A HUGE thanks to Janet for making us gorgeous!!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
LOVED my makeup! Jill did an awesome job, and I really appreciated her fitting me in last minute when my other makeup artist fell through! She enhanced all my features without making me feel uncomfortable or like a drag queen! She was so sweet and did my mom's makeup last minute at the salon! All my makeup stayed all night through the sweating and the rain. She was great!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
Janet Indorf did the makeup for me, my bridesmaids, and the mothers on my wedding day, and we all had such a good time! It was a great way to spend time with the girls, and the makeup came out great and looked so good in the photos. A couple of my bridesmaids aren't big makeup wearers, so I wasn't sure how they would handle it, but Janet does a great job of keeping everyone in their comfort zone. She also arrived early, and was able to work in my mother-in-law even though she wasn't initially on the itinerary. It was a great experience!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It it time to stop looking for a makeup artist and book Face the Occasion! I am SO glad I did! I saw Kelly's work in an issue of Wedding in Style magazine and knew I had to have her do my makeup. Kelly has been a pleasure communicating with during the wedding planning process. She always provides a detailed and quick response which I loved.

My mom and I recently had a trial for my wedding with Kelly. She was fabulous! Kelly is a skilled professional who is passionate about what she does. She truly listened and achieved the look that my mom and I both each wanted. We both LOVED our looks! My dad even couldn't stop commenting on how much he liked our makeup once he saw us after our trials. We all know it takes a lot for dads to notice these things! I can't wait to have Kelly do my makeup in a few weeks on my Wedding Day! I HIGHLY recommend Face the Occasion and Kelly.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
Jill from face the occasion traveled to Penn State for my wedding. She does wonderful work! The photos looked lovely.
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

LKBH 4 Reviews
Kelly did an amazing job on my bridal makeup as well as on a few of my bridesmaids and my Mom. Everyone looked fabuloous - glowing without looking overdone. Kelly really listened to what everyone wanted and delivered on their visions.

Throughout the whole process she was very responsive to my many questions and flexible with scheduling both my trial and the wedding morning-of schedule.

I would absolutely recommend Kelly and Face the Occasion to future brides.
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was introduced to Kelly by a friend of mine who had Face the Occasion do her make up for her wedding. She kept telling me about her wonderful experience, so I booked a trial. Kelly came to my house for my trial and was extremely professional. She also did an amazing job! She listened to what I wanted and did exactly that! Kelly always answers my emails promptly, which has not been the case with many of my wedding vendors. My big day is this Saturday and I can't wait to have Face the Occasion do my make up, as well as my bridesmaids and my mom!
Wedding: 07/11/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 610-488-6454
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0