Events at Independence Grove
Chicago's Most Beautiful Outdoor Wedding Ceremony & Reception Venue
    193 Reviews
16400 West Buckley Rd
Libertyville, IL 60048  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (193)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

amy 1 Reviews
Our wedding couldn't have been better! The staff at Independence Grove is amazing! Great service. Most of all the best food by far of any wedding venue out there! I would highly recommend having your wedding here!
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Independence Grove and Dan Strauss were amazing. Dan was able to work around my husband and my crazy schedules so that we could get everything done when it needed to be done. They helped my husband and I with everything that we could possibly need. All of the emails that were sent were answered in a timely manner. The venue looked beautiful and was more than we ever expected. During the wedding, everyone kept coming up to us to tell us how beautiful the room had turned out and how good the food was. I was extremely impressed and I would recommend them to anyone that is looking for an amazing wedding venue.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kim 1 Reviews
Our daughter's wedding at Independence Grove was absolutely perfect. Alyson was a real pro throughout the process. She guided us through menu planning, room set up, and handled the off-site rehearsal the night before the wedding. On the day of the wedding, she made sure every detail was attended to with care and perfection. The wedding was lovely, guests raved about the appetizers and dinner served. The cake table set up with coffee following dinner was beautiful as well. The setting is exactly what our daughter and her husband envisioned for their wedding day, a beautiful natural setting. The room was gorgeous with the fireplace blazing and candles along the windows and on tables. The perfect winter wedding setting. Could not have been happier.
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Justin 1 Reviews
Alyson was the BEST!!!! We had a couple problems with some outside vendors and she picked up the pieces before I could start to worry about it. she was very helpful and made the night run smooth.
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alyson was amazing! She was the best event coordinator ever! Having her there on our wedding day was such a blessing! When issues arose, she was on top of it.
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie 1 Reviews
Dan was wonderful! He was so easy to work with, answered my calls and emails right away, had great ideas and fun to work with! The venue was beautiful and my wedding day was beyond my dreams in every way!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We got married at Independence Grove in November and had an outstanding experience! When we started looking for ceremony/reception spaces, we wanted somewhere that wouldn’t put pressure on our budget, had wonderful service and delicious food. IG is a beautiful space and the service provided by Catering by Michael’s and Alyson Vondruska are exceptional! Meeting Alyson sealed the deal for us – we knew she would be easy to work with, pay close attention to detail and help to execute a beautiful wedding. Throughout the planning process, Alyson was always available to answer questions, keep us on schedule and work with our outside vendors. During the weeks leading up to our wedding, Alyson checked-in with us often, accommodated last minute changes and made sure everything came together perfectly on the day-of. She did the most phenomenal job of organizing our bridal party and making sure the pictures, the ceremony, dinner, etc. went as planned. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day and are lucky to have worked with Alyson and her staff. I would recommend IG to everyone looking for a beautiful space with exceptional food/service at an incredible value!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Missy 1 Reviews
We were lucky to have Alyson as our wedding coordinator. She is very professional, warm and helpful throughout the entire process. She also helps channel your visions when you need some guidance while being friendly at the same time. We received many compliments on the food (delicious!) and the unique venue. The quality and value you receive at events at independence grove cannot be beat.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
If you're thinking about having a wedding at Independence Grove, look no further! It's natural beauty is unmatched, and working with Dan Straus and the entire IG staff was easy and fun! Dan is a very organized and charismatic man to work with. He will do anything he can to make the entire wedding planning process run smoothly. He works within any budget to pull off a beautiful day! The day of the wedding, he was there in the background making sure everything went off flawlessly. Furthermore, I must mention the food! It was warm and DELICIOUS! A month later my guests are still raving about how it was the best wedding food they've ever had. I am so lucky I had my special day at Independence Grove. I truly loved every second of it! I hope someone else I know has a wedding there so I can go as a guest! Seriously. Go meet Dan. You won't regret this decision!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marilyn 1 Reviews
It was a pleasure working with Alyson and her staff at Independence Grove.
My daughter's wedding was wonderful. Alyson was very professional and attentive
to all the questions and concerns we had. The event was beautiful. The food was
delicious. Many of our guests commented on how wonderful everything was.
It was truly an evening to remember.

Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

joe 1 Reviews
Everything was great. We couldn't of asked for anything better.
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Everyone at Events at Independence Grove helped make our wedding wonderful. They were always available to answer our questions and give us advice as we planned the wedding. Our guests have told us it was the best wedding they have ever been to!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Vicky 1 Reviews
Independence Grove was fabulous! We worked with Dan for everything from our first meeting to the actual night. He made everything so easy. He even made sure that I (the bride) had gluten free food and drink so I could enjoy everything without worry. We loved Dan so much we hired him to be there on the day of the wedding and took a picture with him during the event. Our wedding day was very stressful because it was raining the entire day and I was so scared what was going to happen because cocktails were supposed to be outside. When we arrived at Independence Grove everything was moved inside and it looked wonderful. I think it was actually nicer inside (given I don't have the outside to compare to). The night went off without a hitch. The food was amazing. People are still asking me about the food and telling me how good it was. I could write so much more about how amazing the night was but the main thing is that this night would have not been the same without Dan. He made the night and I am so glad we had him.
Wedding: 09/15/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katherine 1 Reviews
I would strongly recommend Independence Grove as a wedding venue and Alyson as an event coordinator. The venue is beautiful, both the garden and the reception hall. I loved how I was able to bring the programs, table numbers, and place cards to the venue the day before and everything was taken care of the day of. The venue worked directly with my florist and DJ so that I did not need to worry about any of those coordinating details. I would have Independence Grove coordinate the wedding again the day of as Alyson made the wedding seem effortless and beautiful. Everything was taken care of including those little details that we didn't even think of. I really wanted the kids at the wedding to have glow sticks but the day of I completely forgot about them. Alyson made sure the kids received them. Alyson made great recommendations to give us the wedding that we dreamed of. We wanted a variety of desserts and Alyson suggested that we could order a smaller cake so that we could have a variety of desserts and still have a wedding in budget. She was available whenever we had questions. One of my favorite parts was that she seemed just as excited for us on our special day and provided those extra special moments like seeing the room all set up before the ceremony. Thank you for providing us with a wedding that exceeding our expectations and can truly be describe as a fairytale.
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anton 1 Reviews
We could not have been more impressed and pleased with the quality of service, supportive staff, and outstanding food and beverages provided by the Events at Independence Grove. Our coordinator, Alyson Vondruska and the entire staff of Events at Independence Grove were extremely well organized, friendly and supportive with guests, and most professional in all aspects of their service. They went beyond our expectations in providing assistance in set-up, take-down, and transport of special need guests to the wedding venue in the Native Garden. They provided many extra touches in arranging the reception to highlight the setting and space. The quality of the food and beverage service was nothing short of outstanding. The venue itself is truly beautiful in all aspects.
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at Independence Grove was nothing short of a dream come true!! The venue was naturally perfect and beautiful, but it was the staff, specifically Alyson, who really shaped the day. Our day was seamless, and Alyson coordinated every detail so I didn't have to. I would recommend this venue to anybody!
Wedding: 09/08/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 847-247-1111
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0