Events at Independence Grove
Chicago's Most Beautiful Outdoor Wedding Ceremony & Reception Venue
    218 Reviews
16400 West Buckley Rd
Libertyville, IL 60048  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (218)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Independence Grove is an outstanding wedding venue!!!

I grew up in Libertyville, IL and visited IG all the time to take in the beauty and go for walks and bike rides, so when it came to picking a wedding venue IG was the only choice! We had our ceremony in the Native Garden, cocktail hour on the veranda, and reception inside Audubon Hall.

From the first meeting at IG with Stewart and Dan we were immediately blown away at their professionalism and what the venue had the offer. IG is highly sought after and you can tell why, from the stunning views, to outstanding catering, to the wonderful staff, IG puts on a fabulous event!!

Leading up to the wedding Dan was always available by email providing monthly updates and checking in. He truly took care of you from start to finish ensuring you received all of your wishes for your wedding day! On the actual wedding day we hired him as our coordinator and he made me feel at ease as he took care of everything from the rehearsal, to setting up the venue with my decor, to keeping us on time and even checking the food as it came out of the kitchen!

IG is truly a spectacular wedding venue, they created the classic and elegant wedding we were hoping for and I would HIGHLY recommend Independence Grove for your wedding!!
Wedding: 06/27/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Independence Grove was lively. Food was fantastic, and the service was amazing!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I had never heard of Independence Grove before planning my daughter’s wedding. What a treasure! The grounds are just beautiful. A superb setting for a wedding! Allyson was wonderful to work with. She went above and beyond to make this a memorable day from the rehearsal to the last dance! She has a remarkable eye for details. Every girl has a picture of their perfect wedding and Allyson worked with us to make it happen for my daughter. She really knows her stuff! The entire event was perfect. The food was so delicious and plentiful, the atmosphere was spectacular, the room bathed in the glow of candlelight and the sunset…wow! The staff was so accommodating! So many of our guests commented on the food and the grounds. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Thank you for making this my daughter’s perfect wedding
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Independence Grove is one of the most beautiful venues I have ever seen and my now husband and I were blessed enough to have our wedding reception here. Everything was perfect from the beginning when we booked the venue all the way to the end of the reception. It was great working with Dan. He knows his stuff and isn't afraid to give his opinion which was very helpful and appreciated. He went above and beyond for us and with that he definitely made our reception unforgettable. The food was delicious and we are still getting compliments on it. When the room is decorated, its breathtaking. We had no complaints, it was the best day of our lives.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katy 3 Reviews
Dan Straus was absolutely phenomenal to work with for our wedding at Independence Grove. He handled every detail flawlessly, which really took the stress off of my husband and I, as well as our parents. Our wedding was even better than we could have imagined and a large part of that was Dan's wedding planning! Dan did an excellent job guiding us through the decision making process (from selecting vendors to table linens to appetizers to votive candles and table layouts), which can quickly become exhausting and overwhelming. The food, as well as the service, at Independence Grove is far superior to any wedding I have attended. We received may compliments on the food and atmosphere at Independence Grove. I highly recommend Independence Grove and Dan Straus and if we had to make the decision again, we absolutely would choose to have our wedding and reception at Independence Grove!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Dan Straus was an outstanding Event's Coordinator. His expertise, knowledge and communication style were outstanding. He clearly understands the business and is exceptionally detail orienteded which made my daughter and son-in-law's wedding go flawlessly. The quality of food and staff at Independence Grove was top!

Highly recommend Independence Grove and Dan Straus!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Though I've said it personally to Dan Straus and his entire team at Independence Grove, I would also like to say very publically that I could not have been more pleased and thrilled with the entire events of my wedding and all the preparations leading up to the bid day! I may be biased, but my wedding was the most beautiful and well executed event I have ever attended. Guests are still contacting me to say how gorgeous the grounds were, how flawless the room was and how delicious their dinner was. Our highest compliments to the chef and his team (order the parmesan crusted whitefish...you won't be disappointed)! And to Dan specifically, you are exceptional at what you do. From the moment we started discussing our wedding, you ensured everything was in place and just the way we wanted it, tea lights on the window ledges and all. It was so great to have you on site to make sure the bridal party was in step down the aisle, the cocktail hour was dressed to perfection, and the whole reception hall was bathed in warm lighting, beautiful flowers and lots of happy smiling faces. Thank you for helping us plan the day of a lifetime!
Wedding: 05/18/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 1 Reviews
Independence Grove was a dream come true! Alyson did everything to make sure our wedding was absolutely perfect. I call her my Fairy Godmother because she made all my wishes a reality. We used Twigs in Lake Bluff for our florist. They were absolutely amazing and created the most beautiful "rustic romantic" theme that we had envisioned. I would also highly recommend using Chris Colton from Elite DJ. He was a spectacular DJ and so much fun to work with. Independence Grove was the perfect venue. It was wonderful to be able to get married in my hometown. The venue, staff, and food were all phenomenal. It was truly the best day of our lives and we loved every moment of our wedding day. Thank you to Events at Independence Grove and a special thank you to Alyson!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

amy 1 Reviews
Our wedding couldn't have been better! The staff at Independence Grove is amazing! Great service. Most of all the best food by far of any wedding venue out there! I would highly recommend having your wedding here!
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Independence Grove and Dan Strauss were amazing. Dan was able to work around my husband and my crazy schedules so that we could get everything done when it needed to be done. They helped my husband and I with everything that we could possibly need. All of the emails that were sent were answered in a timely manner. The venue looked beautiful and was more than we ever expected. During the wedding, everyone kept coming up to us to tell us how beautiful the room had turned out and how good the food was. I was extremely impressed and I would recommend them to anyone that is looking for an amazing wedding venue.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kim 1 Reviews
Our daughter's wedding at Independence Grove was absolutely perfect. Alyson was a real pro throughout the process. She guided us through menu planning, room set up, and handled the off-site rehearsal the night before the wedding. On the day of the wedding, she made sure every detail was attended to with care and perfection. The wedding was lovely, guests raved about the appetizers and dinner served. The cake table set up with coffee following dinner was beautiful as well. The setting is exactly what our daughter and her husband envisioned for their wedding day, a beautiful natural setting. The room was gorgeous with the fireplace blazing and candles along the windows and on tables. The perfect winter wedding setting. Could not have been happier.
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Alyson was amazing! She was the best event coordinator ever! Having her there on our wedding day was such a blessing! When issues arose, she was on top of it.
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Justin 1 Reviews
Alyson was the BEST!!!! We had a couple problems with some outside vendors and she picked up the pieces before I could start to worry about it. she was very helpful and made the night run smooth.
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie 1 Reviews
Dan was wonderful! He was so easy to work with, answered my calls and emails right away, had great ideas and fun to work with! The venue was beautiful and my wedding day was beyond my dreams in every way!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We got married at Independence Grove in November and had an outstanding experience! When we started looking for ceremony/reception spaces, we wanted somewhere that wouldn’t put pressure on our budget, had wonderful service and delicious food. IG is a beautiful space and the service provided by Catering by Michael’s and Alyson Vondruska are exceptional! Meeting Alyson sealed the deal for us – we knew she would be easy to work with, pay close attention to detail and help to execute a beautiful wedding. Throughout the planning process, Alyson was always available to answer questions, keep us on schedule and work with our outside vendors. During the weeks leading up to our wedding, Alyson checked-in with us often, accommodated last minute changes and made sure everything came together perfectly on the day-of. She did the most phenomenal job of organizing our bridal party and making sure the pictures, the ceremony, dinner, etc. went as planned. We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect day and are lucky to have worked with Alyson and her staff. I would recommend IG to everyone looking for a beautiful space with exceptional food/service at an incredible value!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Missy 1 Reviews
We were lucky to have Alyson as our wedding coordinator. She is very professional, warm and helpful throughout the entire process. She also helps channel your visions when you need some guidance while being friendly at the same time. We received many compliments on the food (delicious!) and the unique venue. The quality and value you receive at events at independence grove cannot be beat.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 847-247-1111
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0