DJ Sota Entertainment
Not Just Your Everyday DJ - MC, Lighting, Photo-booth and Coordination
    63 Reviews
287 Hanover Dr.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (63)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Consuelo 3 Reviews
Fantastic! As many couples are, my fiancé and I were complete novices at planning a wedding. DJ Sota was the third DJ we sat down with during the wedding planning process. The first two seemed fine, but we had agreed to interview at least three. Well, within minutes of meeting DJ Sota, we both knew he was the one. He is professional and obviously knowledgeable, but it is the “more” that he brings to the table – his friendly personality, his experience on how weddings should work, his enthusiasm (he started sketching out our venue layout that first meeting and offered to go see the place so we could figure out sound and light!), and on and on. We sent him our draft itinerary for the big day and he took the time to go over it and make suggestions on how the wedding might flow better (and he was absolutely right!). We probably weren’t the easiest crowd – with our mix of traditional guests wanting Spanish music and younger guests wanting Top 40 – but he managed to make it all come together so seamlessly. Our guests had a great time – old and young! Thank you DJ Sota!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wedding was on March 7, 2014.

I’ve only been to a few weddings in my life and most of the wedding DJ’s I’ve seen are ok, but not great. They do a decent job and for most people I guess that works. This was different though because this was OUR wedding. My job was to find a DJ who can read a crowd and keep everyone engaged when they needed to and at other times, sit back and let the music do the talking. I stumbled upon Dakota on Wedding Wire and instantly I noticed NOTHING but 5 star reviews. I started watching the videos, looked at the pictures, and read the reviews and saw nothing but praise. I emailed Dakota about information and was instantly pleased by the prompt response. Dakota provided all the information I asked for and then some. My (now) wife and I met up with Dakota was pleased by his professionalism mixed in with excitement with the soon to be married couple . What made us feel even better was that he had just done a reception at the venue we were to be married at, so he knew the location and talked about setups he’s done in the past. We instantly booked him because we knew he was the one for us.

Leading up to the wedding Dakota was in constant communication with us sending us more information than we could handle and it was great. Once our itinerary was complete, Dakota was more than willing to look it over and gave great suggestions to have the wedding flow more smoothly. The day of, naturally, is one of nervousness but we give nothing but PRAISE for Dakota. The wedding was PERFECT. He played all the right songs at the right times and got the party going when it needed to. NO ISSUES AT ALL! I would hands down always recommend Dakota and his services and he is well deserving of this 5 star rating!!!! THANK YOU DAKOTA!
Wedding: 03/07/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had a great experience with DJ Sota Entertainment. He was recommended to us by a friend who also had a wonderful experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Patty 1 Reviews
DJ Dave was excellent. We asked for a wide variety of songs to be played that were suitable for youngsters to older people and that he exactly what he played. He kept the wedding going and kept right on the time schedule. The music was the right level of loudness.
I did not deal directly with the event production or rentals but everything went off as planned.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Matthew 1 Reviews
**Professional,Organized, Great Music Selection, Amazing DJ!!!!** We recently hired DJ Sota Entertainment for our wedding on October 12, 2013 and he killed it! DJ Sota took the time to meet with us several times before the wedding to make sure every detail was covered and executed perfectly the day of the wedding. I would definitely hire him again and recommend him to friends and family! He handled our Ceremony, Cocktail hour, and Reception. He also masterfully designed and provided all of the lighting to match the mood to the occasion. Everything was seamless and he provided valuable feedback throughout the process! Thanks for doing such an amazing job!!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired DJ Sota Entertainment for our October 12, 2013 wedding. DJ Sota helped us select our music leading up to the event and DJ Dave was there for the event itself.
DJ Sota Entertainment was a huge help in selecting the music for our wedding. We were a bit lost on what we should choose, and they had a great tool on their website that shows you the top music choices for each event (ceremony, entrance song, first dance, etc.) which helped guide us in the right direction. The week before our wedding we spoke with DJ Sota to finalize the schedule as well as all of our music choices and he had some great suggestions. He provided very professional, organized and knowledgeable service.
The day of the wedding went perfectly! DJ Dave kept all of the events flowing and once the dancing began people were on the dance floor all night!
We would highly recommend DJ Sota entertainment!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I worked with Dakota on planning, and my wedding day DJ was DJ Diego. Planning was so easy, Dakota helped us planning every detail and had so many ideas. DJ Diego did fantastic job on my wedding day, and we had so many compliments how smoothly our wedding programs went. Just call DJ SOTA ENTERTAINMENT and they will take care of everything for you. Thank you Dakota and Diego!

I highly recommend to hire Stop and Stare events as your coordinator especially when you work with DJ Sota entertainment. Their team harmony is so awesome, and it made my wedding planning and wedding day stress free!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
DJ Sota was extremely organized, professional, punctual, and knew how to get the guests dancing at our wedding. He was not corny with his presentation or songs (which I greatly appreciated) and he made sure everything stayed right on schedule. I was always able to talk to him about what I wanted or ask any questions I needed, either in person, over the phone, or email, and he got back to me with awesome recommendations right away! Most important, he made a stressed out bride, such as myself, feel much more relaxed about songs and how the night would go. Everyone had a great night and he did an AMAZING job! All the guests have described our wedding with the same word--perfect!! Thank you DJ Sota!:)
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So when I say that we knew exactly what we wanted/didn't want in a DJ, that may be an understatement! My husband and I had each been to 27 weddings before our own (it became such a story we finally had to count) and had seen and heard of many DJ horror stories. Through all of our experiences, as well as those of our family and friends, I had decided that it was necessary to be a musical control freak when it came to our own wedding. Although I knew exactly the genres and type of artists/songs we wanted, I don't know all of their names/titles and he knew what I was going for as soon as we started our discussions.

While DJ Sota was super understanding and accommodating to my countless requests, it ended up being completely unnecessary! He was so tuned in and really understood what we were looking for, and more importantly to us, what we didn't want. Before dinner had even hit the table, we were receiving countless compliments on the songs and style of musical choices that we went up to Dakota before we even ate dinner to thank him. After the wedding, the compliments have continuously poured in for DJ Sota!

Another small note: One of my best friends and bridesmaid got married the year before and had the worst DJ experience I have ever seen. They didn't even have their first dance to the song they chose, which she has spoken about ever since. When I suggested playing that song for them, Dakota suggested playing it as a transitional slow song and making an announcement congratulating them on their one year anniversary. We ended up doing it after the cake cutting and were able to dance next to them while they finally had their "first dance". They were so excited and appreciative and it was one of the best parts of the day for us.

I could go on, but I unequivocally recommend DJ Sota's services and am so happy with our choice to use him!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Leila 1 Reviews
Just go with him!!

Who are we?:
We were very very picky couple,haha,I checked over 100+ venue online,went to see 15+ in person,my hubby took over 2 months to pick his suit(longer than me!!),watched over 70+ demo reel to choose wedding videographer.
Can you tell we are picky!!?; )

How we chose Sota?:
Well DJ is a big part of the wedding,he actually be at your wedding.You don't want creepy guy,do you?I googled him,haha,saw his pics,ok,he is clean + good looking guy...(Sorry,that's important,right??!!!)Talked him on the phone,polite and cool.
And also - after I booked him,I saw his name on the "vendor list" on the featured wedding on one of my favorite wedding blog.The wedding was very well done and pretty.The person who planned this wedding chose HIM...so this DJ must be good one!That seriously made me feel good!!!

How was it on the day?:
I gave him the list of songs to play & not to play,so I understand he knows somewhat we want him to play,but you want more than that,right?Somehow he knew EXACTLY want we like,even those songs I didn't request were our taste.One of my friend came up to me at our wedding and told me this music is so you!!.
Our wedding was small(75 ppl) and not everyone is young,there was a time there are only few on the dance floor,but he kept energy high(in good way).
He was very polite and fun.

If he makes a CD of all the songs he played at our wedding,I would totally pay extra and buy it.I liked it that much!
Oh and my hubby...his one of "few" requests for our wedding day was "No loud DJ,good music" and he was very happy,he still talks our DJ was the best!
Wedding: 09/09/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Madison 1 Reviews
Josiah from DJ Sota Entertainment is a phenomenal DJ! He was the DJ for my wedding, and he did an outstanding job!! He was super flexible and very easy to talk to about what we wanted. Everything ran perfectly from start to finish, and he definitely knows how to get the crowd dancing! We had a wonderful time, and we still get compliments about our DJ 6 months later. I would definitely recommend Josiah to everyone I know who is looking for a great DJ.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Negin 2 Reviews
We had DJ Sota at our wedding and he was fantastic. Has a great song selection and got everyone onto the dance floor.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dakota was the DJ for our wedding. We found him via "The Knot" as a suggested DJ in the OC area. He was fantastic! From the beginning, he took care of us, he is very organized, responsive and easy to work with. My husband and I, have deep latin roots and we were looking for a DJ that could mix both Latin music with the American Top 40 songs. This wasn't an easy feat, Dakota helped us all the way, he provided guidance and suggestions when in doubt but also respected our wishes. We wanted to have a different timeline than the traditional american wedding, and just have one big section at the end for dancing and partying, and he was phenomenal.

Can't thank him enough, he helped make our wedding a success.
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

LeAnne 2 Reviews
Fantastic!! Dakota kept the reception flowing smoothly I didn't have to worry about anything!! I would highly recommend Dakota for any DJ needs. I was so pleased with his services I need to find another reason to use him! Great personality and sense of humor I accidentally hit him with my toss bouquet and he he laughed right along with the rest of us!!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dakota was amazing! He was extremely helpful with the planning process. My husband and I had an idea of what kind of music we wanted but didn't have the time to put together a list of artists and songs that we wanted to play. Dakota was super helpful with suggestions and the music turned out wonderful. Our guests commented on the great dancing music as well.

We were very much against the typical "wedding" music and dances and Dakota never played a song we didn't like. He listened and paid attention to all of our requests in terms of what not to say.

We didn't have a wedding coordinator so Dakota was also in charge of making sure all of our speeches, dances, cake cutting, etc. were on time. we felt extremely confident that the party would run smoothly knowing that he was in charge. I now know what people say that you absolutely don't want to worry about anything on your wedding day, and Dakota took all of our worries away! He was professional and made the party look awesome as well with his lighting options.

Two of our friends (who didn't even know each other) recommended Dakota to me so we didn't even consider anyone else. We would highly recommend him!
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Pearl 1 Reviews
Like many other brides, DJ Sota was the first time I had hired a DJ and like all the previous reviews here say, he did not disappoint!

Dakota was the one that did my wedding ceremony and reception. He was patient and helped with every step of the planning process regarding the timeline and had some great suggestions as well and also accommodated our song requests. The dance floor stayed busy during the whole night with the exception of photos with guests, but even then as I was posing for pictures, I looked over the audience and saw that they were just itching to get back on the dance floor.

And like the yelper before me said, what you're paying for is quality. I just knew how stressful this important day would be and how it could have gone wrong with a cheap DJ who had little to no experience and lack of insurance. I am thankful and love my hubby for letting me hire DJ Sota!

p.s. Our guests say that they have never had so much fun at a wedding before until they came to ours! Even our elderly, handicapped guest who arrived with a walking cane got up to dance!
Wedding: 07/07/2013
Services Used: DJ
 831-818-5408
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0