DJ Sota Entertainment
Not Just Your Everyday DJ - MC, Lighting, Photo-booth and Coordination
    76 Reviews
287 Hanover Dr.
Costa Mesa, CA 92626  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (76)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lina 1 Reviews
DJ Sota is it! Reliable, professional, hip, very easy to get along with! My husband and I are so grateful for how DJ Sota was able to guide us through step by step and very patient with us while we were indecisive with song choices for both the ceremony and reception. He is super organized with numerous lists of suggestions and helped turn our stress to excitement for our special day. We definitely recommend DJ Sota!
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dakota and Diego made our wedding day an absolute dream! Dakota was on the ball from the moment I contacted him, and was very flexible and helpful with our song choices. Diego was very professional, respectful, and fun! We couldn't have asked for a better DJ service!
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Choosing a DJ for my wedding was something I wasn't excited about doing. I was a little worried about choosing a DJ because, unlike other components of a wedding, I couldn't actually hear/see a DJ's work before an event.... I just had to trust my instincts and reviews.

I thoroughly looked at other DJs, asked for quotes, asked friends for recommendations, but I wasn't really satisfied with anything I saw. I came across DJ Sota on WeddingWire, and I was impressed by all the reviews. I, of course, had to investigate further, and so I checked on Yelp, his website, his YouTube videos (of weddings), and his FaceBook. At this point, I felt like a stalker, but hey... a DJ will make or break your wedding, so I was determined to find a great one.

From the first time I spoke with DJ Sota, he was very professional, friendly, and attentive. Before we booked him, he met with my husband and answered all our questions and addressed our concerns. I wasn't really sure what to expect from a DJ, but DJ Sota nailed it. He promptly sent us a wedding planning sheet. This was so helpful, and it made planning the "day of" music/timeline less daunting.

About two weeks before my wedding, Dakota (DJ Sota) and I touched base on music selection and equipment needs, and a week before my wedding, we met at the venue to discuss layout and finalize the timeline and music selection. As mentioned, DJ Sota was very professional and incredibly knowledgeable. He gave me some recommendations that were very helpful. In addition, he was very thorough in his work.

On the day of the wedding, DJ Sota was everything I hoped for and more! From the ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, to dancing, DJ Sota played everything I wanted and helped us
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Sota (aka Dakota Sottosanto) did an amazing job as our wedding DJ at the Newland Barn in Huntington Beach. I'll just start off by saying - my husband and I are not particular about much, but we are TOTALLY particular about music. DJ Sota allowed us to build custom playlists for each wedding event, which suited our tone and personality without being off-putting to our guests. He counseled us through the process, lending expert advise that only a professional with experience in weddings would know. And together we made a one-of-a-kind experience for ourselves and our guests!

I feel like many wedding DJ's would have taken one look at our broad musical choices and ran for the hills. But DJ Sota went that extra mile to get to know the music, and was super helpful in making sure that our special songs would be played at appropriate moments (even working in some of our more obscure favorites into the open dance timeslots) He is a charming fellow to boot so MC'ing the events seemed to come naturally to him; no weird awkward silences or pauses. He was friendly, courteous, and professional to our family and friends too, which goes a long way with us. Overall we would highly recommend DJ Sota!
Wedding: 06/13/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 1 Reviews
If you are looking for a wonderful husband and wife team for music and coordination then Stop and Stare Events and DJ Sota Entertainment is the way to go! Kristen and Dakota were absolutely fantastic to work with and very detail oriented. I was extremely impressed by how in tune they were with the details; I never realized there were so many mini details to make a wedding day one to remember especially the music.

Music at an event really sets the mood for the whole day and Dakota developed a wonderful playlist that fit our venue/music taste perfectly. The music was wonderful throughout the whole day, he listened to what my husband and I wanted and did that and more. Also, he has a capturing voice which is a plus since he was the one telling guests information. Weeks after the wedding guests kept sending emails asking about the playlist and all the great detail of the wedding. This is the first time I have ever hired a DJ and I would recommend Dakota as one of the best DJ’s out there!

Lastly, the small details of a wedding really tie everything together and without Kristen’s wonderful help our wedding wouldn’t have ran as smoothly as it did. She was so easy to work with and was very helpful when I asked for advice. When I arrived to our wedding site everything looked amazing and just the way my husband and I envisioned it! Kristen even went above and beyond when it came to the cake cutting. We just had a plain table cloth with the cake but Kristen moved the flowers that were tied onto the chairs to the table for an elegant touch!

My advice is hire this amazing duo, plain and simple. You will not regret it!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Diego did a great job at our wedding. We were pleased with his professionalism as well as playing exactly the music and type of music we had given him.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Sota made our night so fun. He had everyone out on the dance floor and I am still getting remarks on how good of a DJ he was and how fun the night was because there was good music playing. The lighting setup that he did was so worth it and made the perfect atmosphere.
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Sota's company was so amazing to work with. We were referred to Dakota's company by our photographer, Jamie Brinkman from Jamie B Photography, who had worded with him several times prior and was very pleased with DJ Sota's team. We originally thought Dakota was going to be our DJ, but he had another event. After we had a Skype meeting with DJ Dave, we knew that this was going to be the best decision for our special day!

We had to arrange the whole thing from the east coast and they walked us through the entire process with ease. At times, we felt overwhelmed with all the typical wedding things, but with their organized time line and helpful client questionnaires, we learned quickly that this was going to be much easier than expected. They were super helpful with suggestions and giving us a peace of mind by walking us through different ideas and how to incorporate our vision for the perfect wedding.

Dave was punctual, very friendly, easily worked with our requests. He had a sense of humor, very easygoing and ensured we stayed on track with our time line the day of wedding. Even though we had a bit of a late start (we were about 15-20 min late), he managed to bring us back on track - which was super important since we had 2 other vendors who had a specific time they needed to start their performances. Every guest that had a request or needed his assistance continued to rave about his professionalism and how easy it was to approach him. He was well dressed and always had a smile on his face (which was always a plus with those candid photos!).

If we ever have another event - no offense Dakota - Dave would definitely be our man! :)
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marci 2 Reviews
My husband did most of the work on the music portion of our wedding but I can say DJ Sota and DJ Vaughn did an absolutely amazing job for my wedding last night in San Diego.

DJ Sota was extremely communicative via email and answered any and all questions we had. He helped us create a great timeline for the day and made helpful suggestions for music choices when we were lost. Even on the morning of my wedding I was able to email him to extend my processional song and sure enough he came through!

DJ Vaughn was our actual DJ for the night and if I could give him 10 stars, I would. He was FANTASTIC! He never left his area and he played the best dance songs. He MC'd exactly how we would want, made the night run smooth and helped throw one hell of a dance party. From the minute dinner ended until the time the lights went on and the wedding was over people were on the floor dancing. His music choices were great and my only complaint is the night had to end

Thank you DJ Vaughn!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Patrick 1 Reviews
I could not recommend DJ Sota enough! Dakota is great to work with and extremely helpful and made the whole process of finding a DJ for our wedding a breeze! Dakota already had another event scheduled for our wedding day as we contacted him late, but he had DJ Vaughn work our wedding, and Vaughn was the best DJ I have ever seen. He is very professional while making it a great party! I cannot even count the number of compliments that we received from our guests about Vaughn, they all had an amazing time! I promise you will not go wrong with either Dakota or Vaughn!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Sota was our DJ for our wedding on 4/26/14. When we first got engaged, I had no idea where to even start looking for a good DJ, when I started researching, there quite a bit of shady DJ's out there that were trying to rip us off and charge us way to much for what they were offering, and most of them just seemed stuck up, and weren't really helpful. When I found DJ Sota on Yelp, I saw amazing reviews on him and his company DJ Sota Entertainment. Ever since the day I contacted him, he has been helpful every step of the way, and he was very prompt and quick about responding by email, text, or phone call, and answered any questions we had. He made us feel super comfortable and was up front and honest with us,we were even on a first name basis, and he wasn't pushy at all.

We met up 2 weeks prior to our wedding to finalize everything, and we had some last minute changes, and he was able to work around it. He even was able to have one of his friends to come help translate at our wedding to accommodate and make my Argentinean family comfortable during the reception.We definitely recommend him for any event you may need a DJ for. Thanks so much Dakota!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Consuelo 3 Reviews
Fantastic! As many couples are, my fiancé and I were complete novices at planning a wedding. DJ Sota was the third DJ we sat down with during the wedding planning process. The first two seemed fine, but we had agreed to interview at least three. Well, within minutes of meeting DJ Sota, we both knew he was the one. He is professional and obviously knowledgeable, but it is the “more” that he brings to the table – his friendly personality, his experience on how weddings should work, his enthusiasm (he started sketching out our venue layout that first meeting and offered to go see the place so we could figure out sound and light!), and on and on. We sent him our draft itinerary for the big day and he took the time to go over it and make suggestions on how the wedding might flow better (and he was absolutely right!). We probably weren’t the easiest crowd – with our mix of traditional guests wanting Spanish music and younger guests wanting Top 40 – but he managed to make it all come together so seamlessly. Our guests had a great time – old and young! Thank you DJ Sota!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wedding was on March 7, 2014.

I’ve only been to a few weddings in my life and most of the wedding DJ’s I’ve seen are ok, but not great. They do a decent job and for most people I guess that works. This was different though because this was OUR wedding. My job was to find a DJ who can read a crowd and keep everyone engaged when they needed to and at other times, sit back and let the music do the talking. I stumbled upon Dakota on Wedding Wire and instantly I noticed NOTHING but 5 star reviews. I started watching the videos, looked at the pictures, and read the reviews and saw nothing but praise. I emailed Dakota about information and was instantly pleased by the prompt response. Dakota provided all the information I asked for and then some. My (now) wife and I met up with Dakota was pleased by his professionalism mixed in with excitement with the soon to be married couple . What made us feel even better was that he had just done a reception at the venue we were to be married at, so he knew the location and talked about setups he’s done in the past. We instantly booked him because we knew he was the one for us.

Leading up to the wedding Dakota was in constant communication with us sending us more information than we could handle and it was great. Once our itinerary was complete, Dakota was more than willing to look it over and gave great suggestions to have the wedding flow more smoothly. The day of, naturally, is one of nervousness but we give nothing but PRAISE for Dakota. The wedding was PERFECT. He played all the right songs at the right times and got the party going when it needed to. NO ISSUES AT ALL! I would hands down always recommend Dakota and his services and he is well deserving of this 5 star rating!!!! THANK YOU DAKOTA!
Wedding: 03/07/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had a great experience with DJ Sota Entertainment. He was recommended to us by a friend who also had a wonderful experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Patty 1 Reviews
DJ Dave was excellent. We asked for a wide variety of songs to be played that were suitable for youngsters to older people and that he exactly what he played. He kept the wedding going and kept right on the time schedule. The music was the right level of loudness.
I did not deal directly with the event production or rentals but everything went off as planned.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Sota's company was great to work with. I got married last October and am slow to getting around to this review, as I'm not typically a big reviewer...at all. However, I felt compelled to get the word out about our experience with DJ Sota and DJ Dave. We emailed a lot of different DJ companies and a lot of their prices were ridic for what we would get. I emailed DJ Sota for a quote and his pricing was VERY reasonable! Before making my vendor decision, I scheduled a Skype meeting with Dakota (DJ Sota) and DJ Dave, since Dave would be our DJ while Dakota was already booked. I wanted to get a good feel for their vibe and how much they love music and have knowledge about what we wanted, which was a lot of various decade chill music for dinner and all 90's hip hop and other party music during reception. I had some no no's too (no Bieber/Miley/Selena Gomez tween ish), and they totally got our style do's and dont's. Dakota was also prompt on email responses and totally even helped us plan not only the music for big moments (i.e. Aisle walk, wedding party entry, first dance) but also the day's schedule with his predetermined questionnaire and planner. This was so helpful.

We hired Dave and it was a great decision. Everyone was packed on the floor dancing most of the night and he was super professional and kind. We really appreciated his hard work in not only DJing, but also hooking up the ceremony speakers and uplights and making the lighting look awesome. Yes....the prices were so reasonable that we opted for uplights from them too. I would recommend this company for sure...cool, professional guys!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
 831-818-5408
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0