Coastal DJ & Video
    76 Reviews
113 E Sothel St.
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Classical...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (76)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeremy +... 8 Reviews
We ABSOLUTELY loved our DJ! We had a special request for a twist on the first dance and Troy, our designated DJ from Coastal DJ & Video, nailed it. He kept the party hopping with a great flow of tunes and was sure to stick to our preferred song list. They offer a great tool for adding in all your "must play", "do not play" and event-specific (first dance, intro, bouquet & garter toss) songs that really helped us plan the perfect party. We would highly recommend them and specifically Troy!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George Wainwright is the owner of Coastal DJ and Video. There is not one phone call I made or concern I had that he did not respond to it promptly and efficiently. The DJ assigned to our event - Nogui - was professional and friendly. He coordinated all of the ceremony music perfectly and kept the party going non-stop at the reception. Our Videographer, Shawn, was with us all day and didn't leave until the last note died. Again, professional and friendly. I wouldn't choose any other place for event music. With George in charge I know it will be the best it can possibly be.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I highly recommend Coastal DJ & Video. We interviewed several DJs, George at Coastal DJ and Video was by far and away the most flexible and friendly DJ we spoke with while we were planning our wedding and took so much stress out of helping us plan our reception. Choosing this vendor was a no-brainer. He was more than willing to play the music we wanted and handled all requests perfectly. Our guests had a blast at the reception, everyone was raving about the dance party. We are so glad we chose Coastal DJ and Video for our reception!
Wedding: 05/16/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Karl from Coastal DJ provided the entertainment for our wedding reception- we couldn't have been more pleased!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George was fantastic to work with! He played the ceremony music perfectly and it went off without a hitch. He was also very friendly and professional, and had great prices! I would highly recommend him for ceremony music!
Wedding: 05/07/2014
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George and his staff did everything and more we asked of them. They had everything setup on time which was one of our must haves from a DJ service. Also, the cocktail hour had music the entire time because they used multiple setups for our ceremony and the reception/cocktail hour. Every interaction with George or his staff was pleasant whether it was via email, phone, or in person. On the big day the staff was professional and dressed accordingly! I would highly recommend!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
George Wainwright was the DJ for the wedding. He was great to work with in preparing for the big day as well as on sight at the wedding. He worked with the bride and groom in identifying the music they requested to make their day special. As emcee he kept the evening going and made sure we stayed on track. He was able to provide music for a variety of tastes and ages making the evening enjoyable for all. George was a true professional and highly recommend him.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired George to DJ our wedding after numerous people said he was the best in the area. He was very responsive and helpful from our first initial contact. We are thrilled we had him DJ the wedding, he had everyone dancing all night long.. and my crowd loooovvees to dance so it was perfect!!!

We had Jon video our wedding too! We just got our video this weekend and it is awesome... I just want to watch it all day, everyday! All in all we made the right decision going with coastaldj&video for these services :)
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
George, from Coastal DJ, provided the music for our Spring wedding. George was wonderful to work with and never said any of our unusual requests was impossible. Our guest list included pre-school to over 80, and EVERYONE danced and had a lovely time. George established an appropriate mood; stayed, as we requested, in the background; and managed the volume and transitions with technical perfection. His professionalism and expertise helped make our wedding one our guests are still raving about.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
George was our DJ and he had everyone dancing! He was very easy to work with and chose great songs to keep the party going.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather 2 Reviews
We had such an amazing time at our wedding! Coastal DJ came professionally dressed and followed all my requests and everyone danced! We didn't request a microphone for the wedding but George allowed my uncle to use his to sing a few songs! excellent company and I would highly recommend them!
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Karl was great! He understood how I wanted the wedding to flow and did a great job of keeping us on cue the night of. I loved the way the website was setup. It made it very easy for a busy bride to pick out songs and setup the night. DJ Karl was a great personality for our group and I am so happy he was available for our wedding! We had a blast, and he knew how to keep the party hopping.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Meagan 2 Reviews
My husband and I renewed our vows at the NC Aquarium on Roanoke Island on Saturday October 12th. We are both incredibly impressed with the service we received; Mr. Wainwright (the owner of Coastal DJ) was very efficient in answering our questions, guided me through the services they offered, and assisted me with the set up for music at our ceremony. Also, our DJ was amazing! To be quite honest, I am not much of a dancer, but at our event, I did not stop dancing! He had such positive energy and was able to get so many people out and on the dance floor. All in all, I am so thrilled that I had Coastal DJ at our event, and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a DJ for their special day!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During the planning stage, I was adamant about not hiring a DJ. I flat out refused because I had visions of an obnoxiously loud, salesman type, harassing our guests and forcing them to line dance to the Macarena. The image in my mind was absolutely appalling and I couldn't bear to witness yet another amateur cheese ball DJ, especially one which was paid for with my hard earned money.

However, after considering the wide variety of guests we had invited, I relented. I didn't want our reception to lack energy and I was concerned an ipod wouldn't be sufficient. So, I contacted Coastal DJ & Video.

George answered the phone and immediately set my mind at ease, while I rambled off all of the reasons I didn't want to hire a DJ. He assured me that the DJ will play the exact music I specified (no Macarena!). He will be quiet and unassuming. He will only make the specified announcements and will not accept music requests, if that was what we desired. He will not force feed mediocre traditions down anyone's throat. He will keep an eye on the crowd and play songs which serve to amp up the energy. Essentially, our DJ will be whatever we needed him to be. In our case, it was vocally quiet, perceptive and unassuming.

We spoke to Kenny, our DJ, prior to the wedding. He was friendly, professional and understanding. We compiled a list of very specific Cocktail/Dinner and Dance Floor songs. For the more obscure tunes, we uploaded them to a location where he could grab them to use. It was a very easy process and Kenny and George were both quick to respond to our emails.

Fast forward to the day of our wedding:
Kenny was everything George promised he would be. He played our music, remained quiet and kept the party going. I loved how he blended in, remained unassuming and just generally worked the crowd - in a very unobtrusive way.

I definitely recommend Coastal DJ & Video. They were priced right, listened to my needs and they delivered as promised. Thank you, Geor
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

John 1 Reviews
Planning a destination wedding has its ups and downs when trying to locate the right vendors for your special day. These ups and downs typically included responsiveness and accessibility which can be frustrating when trying to coordinate a day from 700 miles away. After reviewing and trying to contact several DJ's in the Outer Banks we were thoroughly impressed with the professionalism and attentiveness of George Wainwright and Coastal DJ & Video. Coastal provided everything we needed with its music and event planner software to plan our dream reception right down to exact timing of special dances and speeches and the cake cutting. Aside from the online software the personal touch of Coastal DJ & Video made all the difference. George was readily available to receive phone calls and look up additional music for the wedding playlist which provided a comfort level with wedding preparation which cannot be undervalued. And last but not least George executed our wishes to the letter providing us with a night of entertainment which no one has stopped talking about.
Wedding: 07/23/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our DJ Karl was very flexible and was PERFECT for our event!! He made the whole event run smoothly and even added some last minute requests to our playlist! They were also prompt at replying to emails and phone calls.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: DJ
 252-573-0161
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0