Coastal DJ & Video
    82 Reviews
113 E Sothel St.
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Classical...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (82)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding planner suggested this vendor and she was spot on... we had a great experience with Coastal DJ. Everyone we dealt with was friendly and fit right in with our group at the reception. Our personal DJ even catered to my daughter during the whole event... let her sing in the microphone, let her put his headphones on... it meant a lot to her and even more to us. We would definitely use them again.
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
For our recent wedding we worked with George from Coastal DJ & Video. George was great and was very attentive to our wants and needs. The music planner and reception planner tool on their website was very easy to use and it made choosing songs fun. We liked being able to choose songs that we definitely wanted to be played, and could make notes for certain songs if we wanted to make a shout out or dedication. George called me and emailed me during the planning process to check in and called me the week of the wedding to review the timeline and go over last name pronunciations in order to prepare for the introduction of the bridal party. The musical selection played at the reception was fantastic, including a little mix of everything that we knew our guests would want to hear! We received fantastic reviews from family and friends who thoroughly enjoyed dancing the night away!
Wedding: 07/25/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Karl was an excellent DJ at my wedding! The music and reception planner made it nice to help plan out the music and timeline of the evening. We wanted a wide variety of music and Karl nailed it. Everyone said how great the music was. Thank you!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 9 Reviews
We initially selected George because his personality and professionalism impressed us and seemed like a good fit to our own (enthusiastic, but not over the top), he was clearly very open to input from us on types of music which includes an online way to select the songs you want to hear not only for specific events but also for the party itself, and his price was pretty competitive with the rest in the area. He was very helpful and professional in all our exchanges in advance of the wedding, including trying to help figure out the flow of events and timing. At the wedding itself, he played big band music for us during dinner as background ambiance, and then during the wedding itself did a fantastic job with getting the party going and keeping it rocking. Throughout the service people kept commenting to me what a great job the DJ was doing with songs, and to me that is the hallmark of a good party. The dance floor was jam packed almost the entire time with everybody singing, dancing, and occasionally jumping around. We had a blast and were only sorry when the music ended, and even then I think he may have stuck around for a few more songs than we initially discussed on the timeline because things wound up running behind from the get go. We had a wonderful time and would enthusiastically recommend George to anyone who wants to have a really fun dance party at their reception.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jeremy +... 8 Reviews
We ABSOLUTELY loved our DJ! We had a special request for a twist on the first dance and Troy, our designated DJ from Coastal DJ & Video, nailed it. He kept the party hopping with a great flow of tunes and was sure to stick to our preferred song list. They offer a great tool for adding in all your "must play", "do not play" and event-specific (first dance, intro, bouquet & garter toss) songs that really helped us plan the perfect party. We would highly recommend them and specifically Troy!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

SG 8 Reviews
From the first email and phone conversation, we could tell that Coastal DJ & Video would be a perfect fit for us. Our first exchange was with the owner, George Wainwright, who is an excellent communicator! After getting to know us and what kind of wedding we wanted, he first assigned DJ Kenny to do our reception. Kenny had a good sense of humor and is easy-going, but still professional. Kenny did a great job explaining how to use their online reception and music planner (which is fantastic, btw!). George continued to keep in touch with us throughout the planning process and gave us a heads up when Kenny was no longer able to DJ our wedding because of his school schedule. He assigned a backup DJ - Kerry - who was just as wonderful!

On the big day, Kerry did a fantastic job. He showed up on time, checked-in with us throughout dinner, played the songs we uploaded to the online planners, and made sure everyone was having a great time! We did not want to leave the dance floor and was so sad when it was time for the last song!

Needless to say, we had a chance to work with three different people at Coastal DJ & Video and truly enjoyed working with each of them. A million thanks to Coastal DJ & Video for a wonderful wedding reception!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We found the perfect DJ for our wedding reception with Coastal DJ & Video. From the start our DJ, George Wainwright was great! My husband and I are living in London, UK at the moment and planning a wedding from that far away was very stressful at times. George made us feel at ease, never taking longer than a day to answer any questions. We were also very appreciative of his flexibility when we had to change the date and time of our wedding due to problems with our reception location.
On the day of our wedding he did a wonderful job! He arrived with plenty of time to get all of his equipment ready and his professionalism helped make for a stress free day. Thanks to a combination of music that we selected, via music planner, and his selection; the music during cocktail, dinner, and the reception was a hit! Everyone at our wedding really enjoyed themselves! There seemed to be a style of music that fit everyone at some point during the evening! Everyone had such a great time, that when the evening was coming to a close the groomsmen paid to keep the party going an extra hour. We want to thank George for helping make our wedding such a fun and memorable day! We definitely recommend Coastal DJ and Video for any type of event!

Wedding: 06/12/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George Wainwright is the owner of Coastal DJ and Video. There is not one phone call I made or concern I had that he did not respond to it promptly and efficiently. The DJ assigned to our event - Nogui - was professional and friendly. He coordinated all of the ceremony music perfectly and kept the party going non-stop at the reception. Our Videographer, Shawn, was with us all day and didn't leave until the last note died. Again, professional and friendly. I wouldn't choose any other place for event music. With George in charge I know it will be the best it can possibly be.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I highly recommend Coastal DJ & Video. We interviewed several DJs, George at Coastal DJ and Video was by far and away the most flexible and friendly DJ we spoke with while we were planning our wedding and took so much stress out of helping us plan our reception. Choosing this vendor was a no-brainer. He was more than willing to play the music we wanted and handled all requests perfectly. Our guests had a blast at the reception, everyone was raving about the dance party. We are so glad we chose Coastal DJ and Video for our reception!
Wedding: 05/16/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Karl from Coastal DJ provided the entertainment for our wedding reception- we couldn't have been more pleased!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George was fantastic to work with! He played the ceremony music perfectly and it went off without a hitch. He was also very friendly and professional, and had great prices! I would highly recommend him for ceremony music!
Wedding: 05/07/2014
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George and his staff did everything and more we asked of them. They had everything setup on time which was one of our must haves from a DJ service. Also, the cocktail hour had music the entire time because they used multiple setups for our ceremony and the reception/cocktail hour. Every interaction with George or his staff was pleasant whether it was via email, phone, or in person. On the big day the staff was professional and dressed accordingly! I would highly recommend!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
George Wainwright was the DJ for the wedding. He was great to work with in preparing for the big day as well as on sight at the wedding. He worked with the bride and groom in identifying the music they requested to make their day special. As emcee he kept the evening going and made sure we stayed on track. He was able to provide music for a variety of tastes and ages making the evening enjoyable for all. George was a true professional and highly recommend him.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired George to DJ our wedding after numerous people said he was the best in the area. He was very responsive and helpful from our first initial contact. We are thrilled we had him DJ the wedding, he had everyone dancing all night long.. and my crowd loooovvees to dance so it was perfect!!!

We had Jon video our wedding too! We just got our video this weekend and it is awesome... I just want to watch it all day, everyday! All in all we made the right decision going with coastaldj&video for these services :)
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
George, from Coastal DJ, provided the music for our Spring wedding. George was wonderful to work with and never said any of our unusual requests was impossible. Our guest list included pre-school to over 80, and EVERYONE danced and had a lovely time. George established an appropriate mood; stayed, as we requested, in the background; and managed the volume and transitions with technical perfection. His professionalism and expertise helped make our wedding one our guests are still raving about.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
George was our DJ and he had everyone dancing! He was very easy to work with and chose great songs to keep the party going.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
 252-573-0161
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0