Coastal DJ & Video
    64 Reviews
113 E Sothel St.
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948  | map
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Classic Rock, Classical...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (64)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather 2 Reviews
We had such an amazing time at our wedding! Coastal DJ came professionally dressed and followed all my requests and everyone danced! We didn't request a microphone for the wedding but George allowed my uncle to use his to sing a few songs! excellent company and I would highly recommend them!
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DJ Karl was great! He understood how I wanted the wedding to flow and did a great job of keeping us on cue the night of. I loved the way the website was setup. It made it very easy for a busy bride to pick out songs and setup the night. DJ Karl was a great personality for our group and I am so happy he was available for our wedding! We had a blast, and he knew how to keep the party hopping.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Meagan 2 Reviews
My husband and I renewed our vows at the NC Aquarium on Roanoke Island on Saturday October 12th. We are both incredibly impressed with the service we received; Mr. Wainwright (the owner of Coastal DJ) was very efficient in answering our questions, guided me through the services they offered, and assisted me with the set up for music at our ceremony. Also, our DJ was amazing! To be quite honest, I am not much of a dancer, but at our event, I did not stop dancing! He had such positive energy and was able to get so many people out and on the dance floor. All in all, I am so thrilled that I had Coastal DJ at our event, and would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a DJ for their special day!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During the planning stage, I was adamant about not hiring a DJ. I flat out refused because I had visions of an obnoxiously loud, salesman type, harassing our guests and forcing them to line dance to the Macarena. The image in my mind was absolutely appalling and I couldn't bear to witness yet another amateur cheese ball DJ, especially one which was paid for with my hard earned money.

However, after considering the wide variety of guests we had invited, I relented. I didn't want our reception to lack energy and I was concerned an ipod wouldn't be sufficient. So, I contacted Coastal DJ & Video.

George answered the phone and immediately set my mind at ease, while I rambled off all of the reasons I didn't want to hire a DJ. He assured me that the DJ will play the exact music I specified (no Macarena!). He will be quiet and unassuming. He will only make the specified announcements and will not accept music requests, if that was what we desired. He will not force feed mediocre traditions down anyone's throat. He will keep an eye on the crowd and play songs which serve to amp up the energy. Essentially, our DJ will be whatever we needed him to be. In our case, it was vocally quiet, perceptive and unassuming.

We spoke to Kenny, our DJ, prior to the wedding. He was friendly, professional and understanding. We compiled a list of very specific Cocktail/Dinner and Dance Floor songs. For the more obscure tunes, we uploaded them to a location where he could grab them to use. It was a very easy process and Kenny and George were both quick to respond to our emails.

Fast forward to the day of our wedding:
Kenny was everything George promised he would be. He played our music, remained quiet and kept the party going. I loved how he blended in, remained unassuming and just generally worked the crowd - in a very unobtrusive way.

I definitely recommend Coastal DJ & Video. They were priced right, listened to my needs and they delivered as promised. Thank you, Geor
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

John 1 Reviews
Planning a destination wedding has its ups and downs when trying to locate the right vendors for your special day. These ups and downs typically included responsiveness and accessibility which can be frustrating when trying to coordinate a day from 700 miles away. After reviewing and trying to contact several DJ's in the Outer Banks we were thoroughly impressed with the professionalism and attentiveness of George Wainwright and Coastal DJ & Video. Coastal provided everything we needed with its music and event planner software to plan our dream reception right down to exact timing of special dances and speeches and the cake cutting. Aside from the online software the personal touch of Coastal DJ & Video made all the difference. George was readily available to receive phone calls and look up additional music for the wedding playlist which provided a comfort level with wedding preparation which cannot be undervalued. And last but not least George executed our wishes to the letter providing us with a night of entertainment which no one has stopped talking about.
Wedding: 07/23/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our DJ Karl was very flexible and was PERFECT for our event!! He made the whole event run smoothly and even added some last minute requests to our playlist! They were also prompt at replying to emails and phone calls.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 1 Reviews
Our experience with this company was awesome! Our questions got answered in a timely manner and the call we received the week before made us feel even more confident. The call helped us to know they really wanting to make sure they had everything correct and know exactly what we wanted. The DJ that we had kept the party lively and everyone dancing. If we ever need a DJ in the Outer Banks area we wouldn't hesitate to use them!
Wedding: 05/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 5 Reviews
I could not have asked for a better DJ for my wedding reception than George from Coastal DJ & Video. I knew from our first conversation over the phone that I was going to like him. George was so accommodating and helpful in every way possible from start to finish. He was so easy to communicate with and always quick to respond whether by email, phone or text. Our reception was a huge hit thanks to him and the music he played!! He had everyone dancing including people whom I've never even seen dance!! :-) Our guests are still talking about how much fun they had at our reception and how amazing our DJ was. A huge "Thank You" to George and Coastal DJ & Video for helping make our wedding day extra special.
Wedding: 05/10/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Matt 1 Reviews
George made our wedding a blast!!
Wedding: 05/10/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Linda 2 Reviews
Awesome entertainment for my nieces wedding reception!!! Great on line tools to make sure everything was in order!! Could not have been more PERFECT,,,,
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Patricia 1 Reviews
Coastal DJ and Video are wonderful. I was not very up to date on music selections, but they guided me through the process so professionally. After booking them for the wedding, I never had to worry about my selections. The DJ was great. His selections of music kept everyone dancing. He seemed to know exactly what the guests wanted. Thank you so much Coastal DJ.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
George and crew were fantastic to work with! They were a lot of fun through the whole planning process and provided great service on our actual wedding day! The videographer, John, and the rest of his crew were great as well...we couldn't have asked for a better team to take care of us on our wedding day :-)
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Loved working with these guys. They were very professional, but also fun and not uptight. Reasonable price, and definitely worth it. Showed up on time, dressed nicely, very courteous and fit in with our crowd. Wonderful. I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Wedding: 12/01/2012
Services Used: DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karl was awesome! He played all of my requests and nothing that I didn't like. Everyone was having so much fun that a guest paid for an extra hour. Highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
We used Coastal DJ & Video for our ceremony & reception. We got married on the beach & George provided music services (speaker, PA/microphone, etc.). He was very helpful with recommendations, providing various websites & playlists for us to listen & select music, & worked with us to select versions that flowed nicely. He was open to doing what we wanted & was able to suggest traditional & non-traditional options that worked well on the beach. In addition to helping with ceremony music, we shared many emails as well as a long phone call to discuss pre-seating music to set the mood/tone of our event. He had tons of ideas but was very open & responsive to our preferences, likes/dislikes, & really worked to understand & deliver what we wanted. The day of our wedding, he was on time & had everything set up & ready to go on time too.

As far as the reception, again, he had everything set up & ready to go when guests arrived. We wanted a casual/comfortable feel where people could relax & enjoy, dance, laugh & have fun. George knocked it out of the park! He really listened to our preferences & tried to give us exactly what we wanted. It was cool to use his reception planner to easily layout the order of reception/timeline, select music for all the highlights (first dance, cake cutting, etc), & provide songs that we would love to hear as well as our "do not play" list. Everyone seemed to really enjoy the flow of the music, & George catered to the crowd - he found the right mix to keep all generations happy.

There was only one thing where we had only a little bit of a challenge - connecting on the phone. Simply finding time when we were both free proved to be tough (email was so much easier!). When we did connect over phone, I felt he was 100% focused & took all the time I needed to chat, answer questions, etc.

While we were happy with all of our vendors, we were incredibly happy with our DJ choice & would definitely recommend to others!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karl at DJ Professionals was very energetic and friendly!
Wedding: 09/14/2012
Services Used: DJ
 252-573-0161
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0