The Barns at Wesleyan Hills by Connecticut Wedding Group
Connecticut's most beautiful and unique venues for weddings
    56 Reviews
430 Highland Avenue
P.O. Box 7
Middletown, CT 06457  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 225
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (56)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Linda 2 Reviews
If I could give more than 5 stars, I would. I promise you it's impossible to be disappointed with anyone or anything that you encounter here. We worked with Mary-Beth and she's a dream. Living in NY we were worried about planning a wedding in CT and communicating mainly through emails. But Mary-Beth could NOT have been friendlier, more responsive, more interested, organized or helpful. She gave us great ideas and really understood and followed our theme. She responded to emails so quickly she made me feel like I was the only bride she was working with! The venue is different than your typical wedding hall and the grounds are gorgeous. I was absolutely blown away by how much attention to detail and care everyone put into making all of our wishes come true. The food is fantastic too btw. I'd recommend this place if they served hamburgers and hot dogs, but everyone was commenting on how great the food was which in my opinion is a rarity with wedding venues. And we had over 200 people!!
Wedding: 07/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Pavillion on crystal lake was the most amazing venue! I couldn't gave asked for more from them for my wedding. The staff there is professional and amazing, they went above and beyond for us. Michelle and Melinda were our wedding coordinators and they were there for us to help us with everything from planning to the day of the wedding. We felt like we built a friendship with Michelle over the year before our wedding. We were treated with respect and also in a way that felt like family. The venue itself is beautiful. It is set on crystal lake in Middletown, there is a beach area for photographs, and we got married on site but away nestled into the woods overlooking the lake where they have a gazebo. The reception area also overlooks the lake with large windows and an outdoor patio. The food is amazing! There is a reason the chef won awards for best chef in CT. All my guests said it's the best food they've ever had and that the wedding was the best they have ever been too! We were taken care of so well and for a decent price. I can't say enough good things about the Connecticut wedding group! Thank you so much for giving us a beautiful wedding!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Barns at Wesleyan Hill on May 24 with Laura. She was incredible and was always available to answer any question I had. No matter how silly. I did not have all the decor I wanted but was able to describe to her my style and they had additional items that she was able to use to completely capture my idea and vision. She was an absolute joy to work with.

They truly go above and beyond for their brides (and grooms) the bartending staff, wait staff, everyone was so courteous and constantly was checking with us to see if we needed anything during dinner and ensured we had the best time.

The food is incredible, something that you will talk about for years to come. I hope my friends and relatives have their weddings here just so I can come back and relish the food. Literally, better than a 5 star restaurant, the steak was the best I have had and I live in Texas.

Every detail was perfectly tied together and they treated me with the utmost care, like I was the only bride they had. You cannot go wrong with having your wedding with the CT Wedding Group.
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marsha 2 Reviews
The Connecticut Wedding Group was so professional. Michelle (Dunkin) Moody is excellent at her job!!! She makes you feel at ease. She is on top of her game and answers all my questions so quickly. Michelle makes you feel like you have been friends for years. Michelle and the wedding group went above and beyond my expectations!! Our wedding went off with out a hitch. I couldn't imagine a more perfect Group to deal with come wedding time.
Michelle and the Pavilion at Crystal Lake crew had little surprises for us that made the day awesome. From the d├ęcor to the food it was excellent. I had many of my guests say that was the best wedding food ever!!! Many asked if the pavilion ever does dinner jut so they can go back for seconds!!!!
Thank you for everything!!
XO Marsha
Wedding: 04/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Gary 1 Reviews
Our event was at The Pavilion on Crystal Lake. As the father of the bride I dealt with Mary-Beth leading up to & on the day of the wedding & she was fantastic. So very personable & accommodating that we were all very comfortable instantly.
The brides both wanted the wedding ceremony outside & the weather was a concern due to cold temperatures. Mary-Beth assured us that it didn't matter wether we were in or outside it would be fine. She told us that we had up until 2 hours before the ceremony to make our decision which I thought was amazing. (The ceremony was outside in 36 degree weather & was still perfect)
The reception was fabulous. The food superb. All of the staff were amazing. I can not use enough superlative adjectives. Everyone in attendance was raving about everything. It was such a great atmosphere.
I returned to the venue the next day to pick up a car & the only person there was a person doing food prep in the kitchen. He was an excellent example of how caring all of he staff were. He wanted to know if I needed any help packing up & asked if we had a good time the night before. He beamed when I told him how happy we all were with the party. He was just another example of how much the staff cared about all our needs.
Book it. If you don't have a great event here then you just didn't want to have fun!!!
Wedding: 11/29/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My experience at the Barns and with Pavilion Catering was amazing. The staff was always responsive to my questions along the way, they were incredibly organized, and Mary Beth my coordinator ran our wedding day so smoothly, a huge relief, we were able to relax and knew that we were in good hands. Best fall venue in CT!!
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved everything about the barns! From the moment we toured to the end if our wedding day, every interaction we had was amazing. The people are lovely to work with, the food was incredible (our guests still talk about it!), the venue looked gorgeous on our day and they made everything so easy for us. Highly highly recommended!!!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at The Barns on September 1st and it was absolutely amazing! Throughout our whole wedding planning process, the people at Connecticut Wedding Group were communicative and helpful with any questions we had. Our day-of coordinator was Mary-Beth, she was the best! The whole day went off without a hitch and everything looked better than I could have imagined! I would do it all over again tomorrow! The food was out of this world, we are still getting compliments on how amazing it was. The staff and service was outstanding and so attentive to all of our guests. The venue was a bit more than I originally budgeted but was worth every penny! I would recommend The Barns to anyone looking for a beautiful outdoor ceremony and gorgeous rustic romantic reception venue. LOVE LOVE LOVE The Barns at Wesleyan Hills!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Coming from New York in search for something different. A wedding that people would remember the whole experience. A wedding with good food, good service, in a non-traditional location (not a normal catering hall). Luckily I found everything I dreamed at the Barns of Wesleyan Hills. From the moment I walked into the barns I felt a magical feeling come across. I was able to picture my wedding at the beautiful barns with the ceiling strung with small lights, and a ceremony outside. Everything I wanted the CT Wedding Group filled. From the beginning meetings, to the constant follow up answering my emails in a timely manner, to customizing the menu with my food requests (including accommodating guests dietary needs). The food was great, not the normal meat with potatoes and veggies, but rather seasonal items that tasted fresh. The staff was so nice and I felt comfortable trusting my wedding with them. Me being a type A I wanted my whole wedding to incorporate my wedding theme. The staff welcomes my ideas. Even my last meeting was bringing props for setup, and all my little touches. The staff took every request and on my wedding day when I saw my vision all set up I knew they did a better job then I would have. The barn was great, easy accessible for guests, kept the bathrooms cleaned, and kept the room and tent cool on an August Day. Michelle was my day of wedding coordinator and she was great so I send thanks to her but don't worry all of the staff is great from Mary Elizabeth to Tracy. The ceremony was set up perfect and the whole event ran smoothly. So from a NY City Bride, The Barns is a great pick, a unique setting, great food and a great staff.
Wedding: 08/25/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 3 Reviews
My husband and I could not have scripted our wedding day any more perfect. The CT Wedding Group, Michelle especially, made the day stress free and effortless. We had an image in our mind of what we wanted for our wedding day - something relaxing, elegant and fun for everyone in attendance. We toured all of the CT Wedding Group's venues, but we knew the Pavilion on Crystal Lake would be our place the moment we stepped on the premises. We booked the venue in January 2013 and the planners stayed in touch with us through our entire planning process, making sure we were staying on top of all of our vendors and planning. Michelle alleviated our stress and worries about how everything would go and look the day of the wedding with her creative ideas and input. The day of the wedding was a beautiful summer day. The wait staff was amazing and everyone was taken care of through the whole night. The food was absolutely amazing, we are still receiving compliments about the food! We had ten different appetizers, and for the entrees, we chose the salmon, Maple BBQ Chicken, Short Ribs, and the vegetarian. They also provided a signature drink were able to choose for the night and brought out desserts in addition to our cake after dinner. The venue did an amazing job setting up our decorations, centerpieces, etc. The garden lights and lanterns topped off the place to make it look like a dream. At the end of the night, the waitstaff cleaned up and boxed up everything for us to easily take home. We thought the price was extremely reasonable and worth the entire experience! We honestly have no complaints about the day and I even have one of my bridesmaids getting married there next year and using all of my same vendors she enjoyed the day and night so much!! Thank you to the Pavilion on Crystal Lake for making our wedding day the best day of our lives!!!
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I honestly cannot say anything negative about our experience with the CT Wedding Group. They have gorgeous venues, professional staff who are there for you at any time, and delicious food that keeps everyone's bellies happy! All of our friends and family said our venue (Pavilion on Crystal Lake) was beautiful and one they will never forget. Thank you again to everyone who helped make our wedding day amazing and memorable!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was perfect in every way thanks to the impeccable service and attention to detail from everyone at the Connecticut Wedding Group and Barns at Wesleyan Hills. I will never forget the moment we walked into the barn and saw how amazing everything looked as it was set up with such creativity and personal detail! Our wedding was entirely stress free because we knew we were in such good hands the entire night!
Wedding: 07/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the very first time I saw a wedding blog about The Barns I knew this HAD to be our venue. We booked The Barns two years in advance because we wanted to make sure we got the date we wanted and had enough time to plan the wedding we wanted. The CWG Team is outstanding and they truly went above and beyond to make our wedding amazing.

From the beautiful weeping willows to the ponds that they allowed us to fish in, this place was like no other wedding venue we had visited or attended weddings at. I know that I am biased because it was where we got married, but our guests told us the same thing. They loved the idea of a party in an old barn. The decor was simple because we didn't want to take away from the natural beauty of this historic structure, the rustic feel made our wedding stand apart from a typical banquet hall wedding.

To any bride who is looking for something a little different or who wants a romantic, rustic feel to their wedding I urge you to check this place out! The staff is amazing, the landscape is amazing, and the barn itself is breathtaking!
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just wanted to say thank you to everyone at the pavilion on crystal lake. My day was absolutely perfect and the hard work you guys put into making sure everything looked and tasted wonderful was beyond expectations. I really couldn't have imagined anything better and my friends and family will be talking about that day for years to come! the venue itself was absolutely spectacular. I am still speechless but wanted to take the time to say thank you and let you know I will definitely be refering your venue and staff for catering to all of my friends.

Thanks again

Newly Mrs. DePasquale <3
Wedding: 10/11/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I will not be able to put in to words how amazing the people, the venue itself, and the food were that we experienced at Pavillion on Crystal Lake. Guests continue to comment on how impressed they were with the staff and the compliments on the food just keep coming! We have been told more than once by our guests that our wedding had the best food they have ever eaten at a wedding- and we agree! The staff were so organized and so kind to us throughout the entire process. I keep trying to come up with a way to have another event there!
Wedding: 09/02/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were recently married at The Barns at Wesleyan Hills, and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect venue. We worked closely with Mary-Beth who was truly a gift sent from above - she always quickly answered our questions, anticipated our needs, and made sure that our wedding day was true perfection. The rest of the staff was also amazing ... we have never experienced a nicer set of individuals so in tune to their guests' needs. The venue, of course, is to die for ... amazingly beautiful both inside and out. It was everything we wanted, aesthetically, and the amazing service (and food - YUM!) really amazed us, and it amazed our guests too! We couldn't have imagined getting married anywhere else and we will always be incredibly thankful for CT Wedding Group. They RULE!
Wedding: 08/26/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 860-347-7171
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0