Chef's Expressions
Full Service Off-Premise Caterer
    197 Reviews
9526 Deereco Road
Timonium, MD 21093  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (197)   Photos   Videos   Events   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Samuel 3 Reviews
Chef's Expressions was the caterer for my wedding this past February and they were amazing. Before I go on I must publicly thank and praise Bonny, Christine and Chris for their professionalism, kindness, responsiveness, patience, and assistance. Literally, I could not have gotten married without them! Top-tier food was a priority for my spouse and I at our wedding and Chef's Expressions did not disappoint. They put together an amazing and customized menu for us. The meal was elegant, filling, and delicious. So many guests have told me that this was the best food they have ever eaten at a wedding; exactly what we were hoping for. The bartenders poured perfect drinks, the waiters all looked great, were quick and polite, and the setup was perfect. Bonny helped us create the customized look we wanted for the space. She sat with us patiently while we selected linens, tableware, chairs, and tables. They could not have been better and everything went perfectly. Chef's Expressions coordinated the day perfectly and did everything with ease and grace. They are worth every penny!
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I couldn't have asked for more. I got compliment after compliment from our guests on the quality of the food. Completely thrilled!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married at the George Peabody Library in Baltimore, MD and our caterer, Chef’s Expressions, delivered beyond belief. The combination of phenomenal food, stellar service, and excellent business savvy set Chef's apart from the rest. Chef's acted as our caterer, wedding-day coordinator for the ceremony/ reception, and vendor manager.

During the year of wedding planning, Chef's was always prompt in responding to my questions from budget and billing inquiries to wedding-day details such as the cake design, food tasting, menu card, floor plan, and reception setup. I always got a response to my questions within a couple of hours from either Bonny or Christine, even if just to tell me that they were out and would respond in detail the next day.

We had an excellent tasting of our menu a couple of months prior to the wedding, but the wedding-day food was even better! Both my husband and I got numerous compliments about the high quality of food and the beautiful presentation of the courses. I didn't have one guest complain about the food. Quite the opposite-one guest even said that the beef tenderloin they served was “actually steak”- the right pinkness, temperature, and tenderness. Everyone raved about the carrot cake with cream cheese icing filling, which was the perfect choice for our fall wedding. Krista was our personal server and made sure we had a taste of all of our hors d’oeuvres and that our entrees came out warm when we were seated and not greeting guests. Chef’s handled all of our guests’ dietary restrictions perfectly. We cannot stress enough the compliments we received on our food and how the quality of food will make or break your wedding.

Hiring Chef's to caterer our wedding was the best decision we made and, after seeing their spectacular delivery for our wedding, a no-brainer. Guests remember the food and venue more than anything else, so hire Chef's and make a great lasting impression!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As I started my wedding planning, food was at the top of my list of priorities. I knew I wanted it to be a fabulous meal. I am so glad we chose Chef's! Bonny and Christine did a terrific job helping us to design the meal and fit within our budget. They were great with suggestions and advice and accommodating with our special requests (including several meals that had to be customized based on severe allergies).
We received so so many compliments on the food. Many said it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. Our ice cream sundae bar (hand made ice cream custom flavors) was a hit!

They took really good care of us on the day of our wedding, sending out a tray of the our cocktail hour appetizers while we took photos and sending us home with a large amount of food!

Both Christine and Bonny were wonderful to work with. Christine, especially, leading up to the wedding and on the day of was just incredible. She ran the event and coordinated the major players. My fiancee and I just enjoyed the wedding and never had to worry about a thing! One of my guests had a severe allergy and needed a special meal. He is also quite the foodie :) He was so impressed with the food, said it was an excellent meal and that he had someone "watching" his service the entire night to make sure the correct plates were being delivered. That care and attention is just top notch!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worried about nothing on our big day because this group of Caterers/servers truly knew how to run everything smoothly, efficiently and professionally. Jen, our fantastic 'coordinator', performed amazingly from the first meeting through the big event. Our guests are still talking about the food 4months later!!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
our food was a complete hit at the wedding, guests are still talking about it. We had a very clear vision of what we wanted (three different stations - pierogies, salmon, sliders) and they were able to execute it despite our venue's restrictions regarding open flames. When we went to our tasting and wanted some specific changes, they were able to accomodate. Christine was very responsive and every detail we discussed was implemented beautifully. they were also able to come in at the budget we needed.
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The team at Chef's Expressions, especially Bonnie and her assistant Christine were extremely helpful. The food was wonderful and we received many compliments. They were extremely flexible and wiling to work with our budget. Also, they were able to recommend many vendors who turned out great.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chef's Expressions was one of two caterer's we were allowed to use at our venue and we selected them b/c they were more responsive to our questions than the other company before we signed a contract. Bonny and Christine were very easy to work with and are the reason our wedding day went smoothly. They acted as our day-of-coordinators as well as our caterer, and were much more available to answer our questions than any rep from our venue. They made sure neither of us had to worry about a thing on our wedding day. There was a small miscommunication between Chef's and the venue about storing decor overnight, but it did not create a problem.

The menu Bonny helped us create (6 apps, soup/salad, and entree) was delicious, and we were able to do a tasting a few months in advance. They also allowed us to customize our drinks package to serve beer & wine we requested. Chef's Expressions cost a lot more than we initially expected to spend on catering, but the quality and service were worth every penny!
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melanie was our caterer, and from day one was the most thoughtful, warm, helpful, reponsive professional we worked with of any of our vendors. Even though our wedding was 19 months in the making, Melanie was there for every decision, every problem, every solution! We were so very lucky to have her! That was just one positive of many. Chef's customized our menu to what we wanted, and even though they gave us a menu of options, they allowed us to make subtle changes to the recipes to make it our own, and believe us, the food was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! You will have many choices to select from in terms of caterers, but there is only one choice we would recommend (and we interviewed several), and that is Chef's Expressions!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married about two weeks ago at the George Peabody Library in Baltimore. Chef's Expressions was absolutely wonderful orchestrators of my wedding day. We had chosen not to hire a wedding coordinator or anything of the sort and totally relied on Bonny, Christine, and the rest of the Chef's Expressions team to keep everything running on schedule. I don't think it would be an exaggeration to say that everything ran so smoothly and perfectly at the wedding...we received many compliments to that effect from our guests... and my mom and I did not ever once have to concern ourselves with making sure the details of the day were as we had requested because everything was already set exactly how we had asked.

And, not to be left out, the food and appetizers were delish! As the bride, I was assigned a designated waitstaff person who made certain that I took sufficient time during the cocktail hour to get a bite myself, which was absolutely essential to getting through the night without feeling exhausted or starving. We also had ample time to eat our tasty dinner during the dining portion and still have plenty of time to circulate among our guests and greet everyone. In sum, you would be in great hands with Chef's Expressions on your big day!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lindsay 3 Reviews
We worked with Melanie to cater our July wedding at the American Visionary Art Museum. She was so helpful and worked to coordinate all the details of my largely DIY wedding. She was incredibly accommodating and made the experience so streamlined. The day of the wedding, the company executed everything to perfection. Feedback on our food was wonderful, and the staff was friendly and professional. We found that this was a wonderful value for the money, since Chef's Expressions didn't just serve food, but truly ran the wedding day. Melanie is a consummate professional, and her experience was evident every step of the way. Working with her was so easy, and the results were amazing!
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food was AMAZING, the staff was GREAT, and their professionalism was SPECTACULAR! They really made sure that my husband and I ate something, and they were really attentive. If we ever have another catered event, we are using them again for sure!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Can't recommend Chef's Expressions strongly enough. Bonny is amazing--always professional, capable, comforting, accommodating. Everyone we interacted with on her staff was equally friendly and helpful, and Christine was particularly helpful in the run-up and on the day of the event. We're so appreciative of everything they did-- and they really did so much! They helped us stage-manage the entire wedding, and everything seemed to go perfectly smoothly.
The food and cake were absolutely delicious and really beautifully presented. We've received lots of compliments after the wedding! Very thoughtful about vegetarian and gluten-free options, too.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved it all. My biggest problem was that I had difficulty getting around the room because I was stopped so often by my guests to receive compliments on the food and its presentation.
Wedding: 05/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jennifer Pellegrino and the rest of the team at Chef's did a wonderful job at our wedding at Corradetti Glass Studio. Jen was meticulous, responsive, and friendly, and the food was wonderful all around. Highly recommended!
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had such a great experience working with Bonny Opper and the rest of the team at Chef's Expressions. The planning process was fun and the food was wonderful! I really feel like our menu was much more unique than most weddings. Chef's Expressions was also very accommodating for our vegetarian guests. One of the best parts of working with Chef's is that we had someone who made sure that my husband and I always had a drink and food during the cocktail hour and reception. Also, they packaged up some leftovers which was the perfect treat when we got back to our hotel room that evening! Thank you again to Bonny and Chef's Expressions for everything.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Catering
 410-561-2433
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0