Charizma Entertainment
Enchanting & Refined. Detailed & Personalized. Elegant Special Event DJ Entertainment.
    95 Reviews
3186 Doolittle Drive
Northbrook, IL 60062
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (95)   Photos   Videos   FAQ    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I knew that we wanted to make the music the biggest part of our wedding reception. When thinking of DJs we both thought of a DJ Marz that would come to our grammer school and do our school dances. We both remembered him as being the most amazing part of any dance we ever had. So when it came to finding someone for our wedding we hoped that his company was available. We called and were able to schedule an appointment right away. We met with Walt and he did not dissapoint our memories of Charizma. From the start he got that we just wanted to have a super upbeat, dance party wedding. We never had any doubts that he would deliver the best. The day of, I cant say how perfect he made everything. He had the crowd going from the second we walked through the door. During dinner he made sure to keep everyones energy up, and by the time dinner was done he got everyone and i mean EVERYONE on the dance floor. He made sure he played music to fit every generation at the party without letting others feel left out. My favorite was when he had everything doing "choreography" during certain songs! Everyone from that day until now can not stop talking about his energy and how amazing he did keeping the party going. I cant honestly say not a single dull moment happened, and the dance floor was full the ENTIRE time! They made our day everything I dreamed and i can not recommend Charizma enough!! Thank you for making our day " The best wedding ever" according to all our guest and especially US!!!!

P.S. The lighting effects they did for us made our room look spectacular and was so fun while it was changing during songs!
Charizma Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Molly

Thoughts of doing a wedding reception for someone that I did their school dances is an honor. Charizma is committed to the belief in " Spontaneous Perfection" Walt is a rising star and he was so exciting when talking about how much fun he had. His words were " One of my best wedding ever" So I can see you two were on the same page. Thank you for believing in Charizma and we wish you the best in our new life.

Sincerely

Marz
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you are a bride-to-be in the Chicago area and looking for a DJ, drop EVERYTHING you are doing and BOOK CHARIZMA!!! I cannot say enough amazing things about this team. I was recommended to Marz and his team by my family members who had seen them at two prior weddings. They couldn't say enough about how awesome they were. I contacted Charizma within the next month and got an immediate response. One of our biggest concerns was finding a good DJ that would provide great entertainment, and I have to say we hit the jackpot. Booking with them was incredibly easy, and I can confidently say it was one of my best decisions I made in the wedding planning process. They are there to cater you and help you, and as many brides can attest, you want a vendor that is easy to work with.

Once you book you can control your music choices through a very easy-to-navigate website where you can even create a do-not-play list (this was huge for us!). The week before our wedding I was in close contact with the team to finalize our plans, and everything went very smoothly. I even booked their photo booth last minute. I'm incredibly happy that I did as it was not only one of the cheapest options for a photo booth in the area, but it was a great hit at the wedding.

Everything with Charizma was as close to perfect as you can get, beginning to end. Every single one of my guests talked about how amazing Charizma was, and even a month later, I'm still getting compliments on our choice of a DJ. Our DJ kept our party going all night long. Literally there was not one moment where the dance floor wasn't packed!! He even exited the DJ booth and came to dance with us…AMAZING. My favorite part of the night was when he played "Thriller" and got all of our guests to do an impromptu dance. As someone who hates group dances, this absolutely amazed me and it was so much fun. There isn't one thing I would've changed about our DJ!

BOOK CHARIZMA!! They are worth every penny and more!
Charizma Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Thank you Kim for the kind words. I want you to know my success belongs to the team that I have around me. Watching you and Ryan do your first dance with you family and friends on the edge of the floor was my favorite moment. Lastly to all the Buckeyes at your wedding reception all I have to say is OH IO. Much love and success in your life.

Grateful to be a part of your life

Marz
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have no words to describe the appreciation I have for our MC Walt and DJ Flo... They seriously made our wedding the talk of the town! They listened to everything we asked of them and went above and beyond our expectations... We will always be so thankful to them for making our wedding The Party of our dreams!! We love u guys and Thanks again!!!
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough about how great Charizma and the MC Walt were at my wedding. I came into searching for a DJ/entertainment group completely skeptical that I would find a business that would work with me to the level of specificity I was hoping for, and doubted very much that I would find a MC whose personality, professionalism, adaptability and general awesomeness would meet the bar I was aiming for. I'll admit it, I was going to be a very picky bride when it came to my music. I had a clear idea of what I wanted to hear on my wedding day, and more importantly what I did not want to hear. While other companies boasted to me how customizable they were, I never felt a real connection or empathy for the vision I had in mind. That is, until I met Walt. From the moment I met him I knew no one else could possibly work in my wedding, and he was a complete hit. I am still hearing from my guests how wonderful Walt was, from my elderly grandparents to my cousins who travelled from different continents to be there, to the building manager who insisted that now Charizma would be her DJ and lighting service of choice after the amazing job they did. People danced throughout the entire reception and our lighting was extraordinarily beautiful. As I mentioned before, my do not play list was a non-negotiable item, and not once did Charizma fall into the over 40 songs I banned, and we still had a fantastic party. I am so grateful to have had Walt and Charizma there. They made the night so special and I am looking forward to seeing them again at the other parties and weddings my guests assured me they'd book them for. Thank you Charizma, and thank you Walt. You rock!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Monica 1 Reviews
I was so happy Marz could do my wedding! He did an amazing job. People told me it was the most fun they had at a wedding and that was largely due to him. I would highly recommend him for any event.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Charizma Entertainment was a GREAT selection for our wedding reception. From the moment we had our first meeting with Marz and Walt online since we live out of state, it's been a great experience. They went out of their way to ensure that we could meet with them in person when we did come in town by coming out to our reception venue while we were there. Walt is very personable and has a great knowledge of music that made us completely comfortable that we made the right decision.

We were able to easily update our online profile which was very convenient since we were not in the state and could not meet at their office location until the week of the wedding. Despite being bogged down with planning activities the week prior to the wedding we left our meeting with Walt feeling excited! We felt like the meeting was a preview of what was to come and couldn't wait to see him in action.

Needless to say we've received many compliments on the DJ/MC team! They definitely kept the party going and got everyone who attended involved so that no one was sitting for long during the night. They played a wide variety of music per our request and were very interactive with the guests.

Charizma definitely helped make our special day a great event and I would highly recommend them to others in the future for any event.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Marz was our emcee and Walt our DJ and I will tell you that pretty much every compliment we have received about our wedding include a reference to them. Charizma was amazing from the first time we met, Marz and his staff went above and beyond. Marz even taught us some basic DJ skill so we could surprise our guest with a DJ set and that was amazing for us and our guest. They were so easy to work and made it a celebration. If you want something special pick Charizma.
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow! We'd used Marz for family events in the past so we knew we had hired someone special for our wedding (in fact, we chose a date around his availability!) The Charizma team exceeded our expectations. Many of our guests (young and old) commented on the music and Marz! He made our toasters feel comfortable when they were nervous, really made us feel special and made it into a great dance party. I wish we could have Marz do another event for us soon! Don't hesitate-hire Charizma...it should be an easy decision!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mary 1 Reviews
I can't even begin to count how many guests at my son's wedding came up to me and commented on our DJ selection of music and how engaging Marz was who was our MC for the evening, owner of Charizma entertainments. They played all the songs my son requested and it was a challenge because many of the songs my son picked were great rock songs to listen to, but not good dance songs. Marz and Walt our DJ was able to cleverly play them all during the course of the evening and added a whole bunch of great dance music. I don't know how he does it, but he new exactly what my guests wanted. The dance floor was always crowded. I even saw some relatives on the dance floor, dancing that I haven't seen dancing before. He gets right on the dance floor and does line dances right with the guests. It was a fun, fun evening! I would highly recommend Charizma Entertainment. We also contracted Video services with a full Montage, (Which will have its' own review.) but because we contracted both services we got an additional discounted rate.
Wedding: 07/12/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Just would like to thank Walt and his Dj for making our wedding one of the best! It couldn't have been better, and everyone I talked to, told me it was the best wedding they've ever been to. The dance floor was packed all night. The music was perfect and just what we wanted! Walt was even out there with us sometimes! Thank you again for making our wedding a night I'll never forget!!!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This comes from the mother of the bride....If you want to have an entertaining, fun, and energetic wedding then you need to book Charizma Entertainment. Walt was spectacular. The feedback I got from family and friends was that it was the most fun wedding they have ever been to. The entire staff is friendly and Walt worked my daughter and her husband to accomodate all of their music wishes. I highly recommend them!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kelly 1 Reviews
I could not have asked for a better DJ. He was energetic, personable and amazing with our guests! What a blast we had!!! I would absolutely recommend Charizma to everyone I know.
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Marz did a phenomenal job with our wedding! He was more than just a DJ. He brought the party to life and kept the spirit alive all night! The up lighting was beautiful and added glamour to our event space! Marz was very sweet to my family and we have used this vendor for three events now! Marz helped the night flow smoothly while keeping us informed about all of the transitions in the timeline. He did a good job incorporating music for both me and my husband while we have different taste in music and he also added additional songs that are universal and pleasing to most people! Marz and charizma made a beautiful monogram and montage to flow through dinner and marz helped with music selections that add meaning to our lives! It was a wonderful day and we could not ask for more! He also added picture transitions of us for our dances and baby to adult picture changes for our mother dances! I would highly reccomemded charizma entertainment! Thanks Marz!

Love,
Nick and Shannon Napier
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Walt was amazing at getting all my songs and Leslie was so helpful throughout the planning stages and even in the end when we were trying to to the apron dance. They did wonderful. I got alot of compliments and a couple who got married 11 months prior said they had more fun at our wedding then their own. We did games and Leslie taught us new dance moves. i dont think i left the floor once after dinner. It was great and Leslie and Walt did amazing!!!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kyle 1 Reviews
We cannot thank Charizma and Marz enough for working with us to make our wedding day so amazing. It was absolutely so much fun and everyone kept saying that they have never seen so many people dance at a wedding! The crew was incredible - so much fun, so entertaining and I was so excited to see all of the guests on the dance floor. I have never been to a wedding where the guests were learning choreographed dances moves! Our wedding will be a day we will never forget for many reasons, but for all the guests as well, as I am sure they have never danced so much at a wedding!!!

It is obvious that Charizma took into account all of the music requests that we placed and put so much time and effort into making our reception exactly what we imagined. They were SO much fun to work with and made us feel so special on our wedding day. I will not hesitate to recommend Charizma to all my friends and family as they get engaged.
Charizma Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Thank you Kyle & Brian - it was beyond a pleasure to work with you. Looking forward to seeing you on the dance floor again soon!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Neil 1 Reviews
Our family has known Marz for close to 15 years. His energy and passion for what he does is evident at all times and has shown no signs of slowing down. At our wedding, you could tell that he was enjoying himself as much as our guests, often interacting with them on the dance floor as well as throughout the reception room. He added so much to our wedding. Prior to our wedding, he was very easy to reach, giving us several different ways to reach him, even his personal cell phone number. He is someone who truly loves his job and we are so glad that he was able to be at our wedding.
Charizma Entertainment responded with the following comments:
Thanks Neil! Wonderful to spend your special day with you!
Wedding: 06/24/2012
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
 847-480-7210
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0