Castle Hill on The Crane Estate
Where simplicity meets elegance
290 Argilla Road
Ipswich, MA 01938  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5
The estate is absolutely stunning. Our wedding was in August and the weather was perfect. Its not too hot as there is a breeze from the ocean. The staff was great and my wedding coordinator Ashely Tangerini was the best!! She was so helpful and ensured that everything ran on time and everything was in place. We had a surprise guest and she quickly found a spot and had the caterer fix the table settings. At the end of the night she had everything ready to go and be loaded into our cars.

The venue is expensive but you can save other places because it really doesn't need any added decor because the place itself is so beautiful.
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The beautiful Crane Estate was the venue for my daughter's wedding in July. It's sweeping views of the Grand Allee down to the ocean make it a fabulous location for a wedding. The wedding coordinator we worked with, Ashley Tangerini, was a true professional and really helped to take the stress away. She was very prompt in getting back to us about any concerns we may have had. She made sure all the little details were executed and helped everybody be in the right place at the right time. We couldn't have pulled it off with out her! We had a roaring 20's, Gatsby themed wedding and she even dressed the part! As costly as the site fees were, at the end of the day, we felt it was totally worth it. Even if it had been a rainy day, (It was not!) we still had a beautiful venue inside the mansion. Everybody had a great time. We heard over and over again from guests that this was the best wedding they had ever been to and were amazed at the beautiful location. Now we have wonderful memories of an amazing day. We highly recommend this venue for anyone planning a wedding on the North Shore of Mass. you will not be disappointed!
Wedding: 07/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Private User 8 Reviews
On the day of our wedding, the Bradley Estate (in Canton, MA) was great. We had our ceremony in their garden and reception in a tent on their lawn. Melissa was our Coordinator and helped everything run smoothly. The location was gorgeous and our guests had a fabulous time. Leading up to the event, there were some small things we didn't like. For example, our contact at the Bradley Estate changed 3 times, and the final Event Manager was great on the actual day, but in our first meeting with her, she hadn't prepared and didn't know anything about the day (indoor vs outdoor, timing, # of guests, etc.). Then, a few days before the wedding, she asked me to email her the schedule again, so I felt a little stressed going in that she wasn't on top of things. It worked out fine, but our impression was that they didn't put enough energy and effort into the planning process. Other disadvantages were that we had to pay extra for an additional hour of time and, even with that, there was no flexibility in allowing for deliveries or access to the estate until 2.5 hours before the event. We would have liked to drop off framed photos, card box, programs, and other event items the day or week before rather than bring everything on the day of the wedding. Also, at the end of the event, you have to take everything with you; you are not allowed to come back the next morning, or even later in the week, to pick things up. For our 4pm wedding, the earliest we could arrive to set up the place, change, take photos, etc. was 1:30pm, so everything felt rushed. Other places we spoke to were much more willing to be accommodating. For example, the Connors Center in Dover said the place would be ours all day free of charge. We'd still use the Bradley Estate again because it was gorgeous and in the middle of the Blue Hills, which we love, but there were some disadvantages.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
I loved working with the Crane Estate for my wedding. Every single guest commented on how amazing the venue was--it's literally the most gorgeous, dramatic (in the best way possible) venue on the North Shore! Even our officiant (my Rabbi) told people in his office that it was the most beautiful wedding he has ever officiated.

I worked with both Ashley and Danielle at the Estate and both were wonderful to work with. Danielle especially was so, so accommodating and went above and beyond to make the day unforgettable. I can't recommend enough!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so lucky to get married at Castle Hill on The Crane Estate! The venue is stunning and the grounds are simply amazing. The staff and employees at Castle Hill are equally as awesome. From the very beginning, Heather and Ashley were outstanding. From the big picture planning when we first booked (a year prior to our date) to the little details and timeline a week before the big day, to the last minute flexibility during the ceremony and reception, Ashley and her staff made our entire wedding a seamless, stress-free experience. The Castle Hill crew was helpful, supportive, and flexible every step of the way, and provided all the information we needed. The entire team was extremely professional and courteous. We would gladly recommend Castle Hill on The Crane Estate to other couples as we have absolutely no regrets about choosing this venue!
Wedding: 06/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone at the Crane Estate went above and beyond to make our wedding the most beautiful and well managed wedding. This venue is a absolute value for money. You get a lot for what you pay.
Unfortunately I had to fire my day of coordinator, 3 days before the wedding. Event manager from the Crane Estate stepped up and coordinated everything perfectly.
My advise to you: If you select this venue, you absolutely don't need a wedding planner or the day of coordinator.
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Bradley Estate was the perfect venue for my wedding! I worked with Laura and Heather during the early stages of planning and they were great! Heather gave me a lot of ideas and was great at answering all my questions. The day of coordinators were Lisa and Laura, Lisa was great she even let me text her with last minute questions. I brought in a lot of decor for them to set up and they placed everything perfectly. They kept everything running on schedule and Lisa packed everything up nicely at the end of the night.
My ceremony took place in the formal garden with the cocktail hour being indoor/outdoor and the reception was in a tent on the front lawn. All my guest raved about the beautiful location and how it looked as if it was right out of a magazine. This venue was absolutely breathtaking and if I had to plan my wedding all over again I would not change the venue.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
My husband and I felt so lucky to get married at this beautiful venue! The staff are phenomenal (we worked with Ashley who is just fantastic) and the grounds are stunning - I couldn't imagine a more beautiful place to get married! Yes, they are not the most flexible with some restrictions on caterers, DJs and the like - but the options they provide encompass a range of price points and tastes and are all quite lovely as well. I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Crane Estate is a fairy-tale, dream venue. It is so gorgeous and the staff specializes in perfection. My husband and I worked with Francie and Heather, and there is nothing I wouldn't trust them with. We both felt so confident that they were both working hard on our behalf to make the day as seamless and beautiful as possible. They have very strict policies on the grounds, but it is ultimately for the benefit of the couple and for future brides and grooms. My fiancé and I had two issues come up on the grounds of the estate which were upsetting, but the staff made the situation right and made sure our wedding was perfect.
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is magical, classy, and what a breath taking view! It was my dream to be able to get married here at the Crane Estate for a long time and I happened to be able to book it approximately 6 months before the wedding date all because it is on a Monday(but it is a "holiday" Monday because it was a Columbus day weekend Monday). We were blessed with a wonderful weather outside so we had the ceremony outside starting from 2pm. Reception took place indoors and everything was perfect, happy and gorgeous. We were assigned a coordinator, Laura. She was very helpful from the beginning and easy to get a hold of through email or phone. She even helped me sort through my table cards alphabetically!
I also went with florist(Karla Cassidy), photographer(Glenn Livermore), and caterer (Vinwood caterer) whom they all worked with Crane Estate many times and know eachother very well so they pretty much know the place inside and out and took care of me with very reasonable costs. If you plan with staff that know the venue very well, it leaves you with less headache and leaves more time for fun and joy during your planning time and the actual wedding day! I had a very beautiful wedding and I highly recommend this place to anyone who would dream to be married at a gorgeous one of a kind estate! :-)
Wedding: 10/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a beautiful, outdoor wedding at the Crane Estate on October 4, 2013. The entire day at the Estate was flawless, from beginning to end. The staff worked so hard to make sure that everything was the exact way we wanted it, and we are so grateful for that.

Our event coordinator, Ashley DiCarlo, was outstanding during the entire planning process. She was seemingly always available to answer questions, offer input and otherwise help guide us in the process. She made excellent recommendations and offered suggestions that were truly helpful. The day of, we did not have a single thing to worry about because Ashley took care of everything on our behalf.

The Crane Estate is the most beautiful venue imaginable, and our guests were absolutely marveling at the elegance and opulence. We are so happy with every aspect of our wedding day and absolutely recommend this venue to any brides looking for sophistication, elegance and breathtaking views on your wedding day!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

If you want an elegant, tasteful, classic wedding, this is the location. Not only are you getting married in the most gorgeous location (both architecturally and scenically), but it is staffed by true professionals! Francie was our wedding coordinator, and she organized all the vendors, created a day-of timeline, let everyone know what they should do and when on the day of (which was important since we had no idea what we were doing!) and kept us on track so we weren't just wandering around. She is a pro and whatever we asked of her she did with grace and ease. As others have said, they come up with real alternate plans in case of rain that will be just as beautiful. In fact after our ceremony there was a little rain, and in what seemed like seconds Francie had everything rearranged to take place indoors. Seriously, if you want a wedding day that'll go off without a hitch, surrounded by capable professionals who know their stuff, allowing you to truly enjoy your wedding day in a gorgeous location, THIS is your venue!
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Castle Hill at the Crane Estate was a wonderful place to get married. It has breath taking views and is a truly unique venue. They were extremely professional and easy to work with. I felt like I emailed our coordinator all the time with questions and they were very quick to respond and helpful. Everyone from the park ranger to the bar tenders to our coordinator the staff was wonderful. They are very up front with all fees. I have no complaints.
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a Friday afternoon wedding at the Casino Complex at the Crane Estate. Since I was only having the ceremony there, I got a discounted rate. Ashley was awesome at meeting with me, answering all my questions quickly, and getting everything set up the way I wanted it. Heather was the day of coordinator, and she was very organized, and everything went smoothly.

Pros:
-Breathtaking view.
-Private rooms set aside for bride and groom.
-Lots of free parking.
-Good service.
-Beautiful rain backup location.

Cons:
-Tourists wandering about the area occasionally got in the way, or in the pictures, I even found some wandering around the bridal suite. Heather put up signs telling people to stay away, but people just love gawking at weddings.
-Not much nearby, the salon we used was 30 minutes away, and hotels were hard to find.
Wedding: 07/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
Our experience with our reception at The Crane Estate was wonderful. Not only does this venue have a breathtaking view from The Great House, but the staff were very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Darnelle 5 Reviews
It is hard to describe just how beautiful the Crane Estate is! We LOVED having our wedding here! Ashley, our coordinator, was great to work with. She was incredibly friendly, organized and professional. I felt completely comfortable having her in charge the day of the wedding.
The venue itself is gorgeous-- not to mention the beautiful grounds and rolling hills! Our pictures look like postcards!
The Crane Estate is the perfect place to have your wedding if you're looking for something different!! You will NOT be disappointed.
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-356-4351
ext. 8814
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0