Castle Hill on The Crane Estate
Where simplicity meets elegance
290 Argilla Road
Ipswich, MA 01938  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (26)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is magical, classy, and what a breath taking view! It was my dream to be able to get married here at the Crane Estate for a long time and I happened to be able to book it approximately 6 months before the wedding date all because it is on a Monday(but it is a "holiday" Monday because it was a Columbus day weekend Monday). We were blessed with a wonderful weather outside so we had the ceremony outside starting from 2pm. Reception took place indoors and everything was perfect, happy and gorgeous. We were assigned a coordinator, Laura. She was very helpful from the beginning and easy to get a hold of through email or phone. She even helped me sort through my table cards alphabetically!
I also went with florist(Karla Cassidy), photographer(Glenn Livermore), and caterer (Vinwood caterer) whom they all worked with Crane Estate many times and know eachother very well so they pretty much know the place inside and out and took care of me with very reasonable costs. If you plan with staff that know the venue very well, it leaves you with less headache and leaves more time for fun and joy during your planning time and the actual wedding day! I had a very beautiful wedding and I highly recommend this place to anyone who would dream to be married at a gorgeous one of a kind estate! :-)
Wedding: 10/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a beautiful, outdoor wedding at the Crane Estate on October 4, 2013. The entire day at the Estate was flawless, from beginning to end. The staff worked so hard to make sure that everything was the exact way we wanted it, and we are so grateful for that.

Our event coordinator, Ashley DiCarlo, was outstanding during the entire planning process. She was seemingly always available to answer questions, offer input and otherwise help guide us in the process. She made excellent recommendations and offered suggestions that were truly helpful. The day of, we did not have a single thing to worry about because Ashley took care of everything on our behalf.

The Crane Estate is the most beautiful venue imaginable, and our guests were absolutely marveling at the elegance and opulence. We are so happy with every aspect of our wedding day and absolutely recommend this venue to any brides looking for sophistication, elegance and breathtaking views on your wedding day!
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

If you want an elegant, tasteful, classic wedding, this is the location. Not only are you getting married in the most gorgeous location (both architecturally and scenically), but it is staffed by true professionals! Francie was our wedding coordinator, and she organized all the vendors, created a day-of timeline, let everyone know what they should do and when on the day of (which was important since we had no idea what we were doing!) and kept us on track so we weren't just wandering around. She is a pro and whatever we asked of her she did with grace and ease. As others have said, they come up with real alternate plans in case of rain that will be just as beautiful. In fact after our ceremony there was a little rain, and in what seemed like seconds Francie had everything rearranged to take place indoors. Seriously, if you want a wedding day that'll go off without a hitch, surrounded by capable professionals who know their stuff, allowing you to truly enjoy your wedding day in a gorgeous location, THIS is your venue!
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Castle Hill at the Crane Estate was a wonderful place to get married. It has breath taking views and is a truly unique venue. They were extremely professional and easy to work with. I felt like I emailed our coordinator all the time with questions and they were very quick to respond and helpful. Everyone from the park ranger to the bar tenders to our coordinator the staff was wonderful. They are very up front with all fees. I have no complaints.
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a Friday afternoon wedding at the Casino Complex at the Crane Estate. Since I was only having the ceremony there, I got a discounted rate. Ashley was awesome at meeting with me, answering all my questions quickly, and getting everything set up the way I wanted it. Heather was the day of coordinator, and she was very organized, and everything went smoothly.

Pros:
-Breathtaking view.
-Private rooms set aside for bride and groom.
-Lots of free parking.
-Good service.
-Beautiful rain backup location.

Cons:
-Tourists wandering about the area occasionally got in the way, or in the pictures, I even found some wandering around the bridal suite. Heather put up signs telling people to stay away, but people just love gawking at weddings.
-Not much nearby, the salon we used was 30 minutes away, and hotels were hard to find.
Wedding: 07/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
Our experience with our reception at The Crane Estate was wonderful. Not only does this venue have a breathtaking view from The Great House, but the staff were very helpful and friendly. We highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Darnelle 5 Reviews
It is hard to describe just how beautiful the Crane Estate is! We LOVED having our wedding here! Ashley, our coordinator, was great to work with. She was incredibly friendly, organized and professional. I felt completely comfortable having her in charge the day of the wedding.
The venue itself is gorgeous-- not to mention the beautiful grounds and rolling hills! Our pictures look like postcards!
The Crane Estate is the perfect place to have your wedding if you're looking for something different!! You will NOT be disappointed.
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Fantastic venue overall. It's not on the cheap side, but with that view, it is well worth it.
Wedding: 09/16/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was a real fairy tail at the Crane Estate. The location is breathtaking and our pictures are amazing. We chose Castle Hill because of its beauty and history and we were not disappointed. We had the perfect day and danced the night away under the stars. Francie our Castle Hill planner was perfect! She was there for us every step of the way. She listened to our ideas and made them happen. I called often and she always had time to talk and never made me feel like I bothered her. Thanks Francie for making our wedding at 10 ++. Kim & Greg
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The Crane Estate is the perfect setting for a summer wedding. The views are spectacular and even if the weather doesn't quite work, the house and surrounding grounds make it unforgettable. Our planner, Francie, was extremely helpful, offering recommendations on vendors in the area (as it was a little tricky because we live in NYC) and was always available. While the cost of the house is steep, it's definitely worth every penny. The single downside, which may not have been a downside for us at the end of it all, was the fact that you can only have the house from 5-10 PM. We would have loved to have stayed until midnight, but five hours was still a good amount of time.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently got married at Castle Hill on the Crane Estate. If you've ever visited this venue, you see why my husband and I immediately fell in love with it! The grounds are breath-taking!! When I woke up that morning to pouring rain, I was slightly disappointed since Plan A was to have most of the ceremony and reception outdoors. However, I could not have been more pleased with how our entire wedding turned out. Ashley DiCarlo, our wedding planner from the Crane Estate was AMAZING!!! She executed every detail perfectly and was a pleasure to work with. I wouldn't have changed a thing!!!
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Deborah 8 Reviews
My daughter and her groom to be wanted to get married in Portsmouth, NH, which they both love. It's a bustling little town with lots of fun places to shop and eat and it's right on the water. I took them to venues all up and down the NH and Maine coasts to all the possible spots. When we were done, I remembered one other place, The Crane Estate, in Ipswich, Mass., an hour south. When they both saw the place, their jaws dropped. "This is the place" they both said. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, the inside of the old family estate is out of another era in time. It has a warmth and charm to it that keeps people wandering around, looking and marveling at the architecture. It is magnificent. The Crane Estate employees are experts at weddings and they have it all under control. They help with all the specifics and work with your caterers, florists and band, and get it all organized. Our wedding was 5 weeks ago, and we are still getting notes and letters from guests saying that this was truly a "fairy-tale wedding." We couldn't agree more. We also used the tavern at the bottom of the hill for the bride and all her bridesmaids to spend the morning getting their hair and make up done. It was perfect! A fun way for our daughter, to spend the whole morning, with all her girlfriends, mother (me!) and her future mother in law and grandmother, leading up to the wedding. Truly a magnificent wedding venue.
Wedding: 05/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I had to choose only one thing that was the reason my daughter's wedding was beyond our dreams, it would be Castle Hill on the Crane Estate. I don't have words to express my appreciation of not just the magnificent setting, but the highly experienced,professionalism of the staff. They work like a well-oiled clock. I cannot do it justice. They anticipated our every need, by asking questions that enabled them to provide a perfectly orchestrated event precicely suited to our desires. They were contantly smiling, accommodating and flexible. When it looked like our guests would be more comfortable on a sunny terrace shielded from a rather strong wind, they moved the cocktail hour to another part of the property--the morning of the wedding. This building and grounds are spectacularly beautiful and well maintained. The staff is phenomenal. I worried about NOTHING at all throughout the entire day. They work around the clock to ensure that everything is perfect. And it WAS! The value for what we got was exceptional as well.
Wedding: 04/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Castle Hill was the most amazing venue. It is such a beautiful spot and provides so many places for fabulous pictures. I am from the area but live in the UK and planned my entire wedding from overseas. The staff at the Castle were extremely helpful and very accomodating, esp given the fact that we never met face to face. The only problem with the venue is the time. They are EXTREMELY strict with time and will charge you for every minute that your wedding runs over. Just keep this in mind. Your day goes by faster than you can ever imagine an with a 5hr window at the Castle you are on a tight schedule. I would also recommend doing photos before hand to save on time.
Wedding: 08/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
It's a undeniably stunning place to get married--look at any photos of the estate and you'll see why it needs no further comment here. But it also has a real rain plan that won't leave you soggy or in some drab conference room. It can handle weddings of almost any size and make them feel at once intimate and grand. The staff is helpful, friendly and accommodating. Loved getting married here.
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
I absoluately loved our venue but it was expensive. I thought that the on-site cordinator would be a little better - (e.g. the chairs for the ceremony were set up way too close making the aisle incredibly narrow, one of their staff came to the bridal suite 30 minutes before the wedding to ask me for a seat chart, which I had emailed weeks earlier, etc). But the views were specatular!
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 978-356-4351
ext. 8814
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0