Cakes By Tammy
Cortland, OH 44410  | map
Desserts: Cupcakes, Groom's Cake, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (84)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tori 6 Reviews
I can not even begin to tell you how AMAZING Tammy from Cakes by Tammy is to work with. I looked at many different cake places and had high expectations for the cake I wanted. I wanted a truly custom cake with intricate designs. I went to a couple bakeries that wanted to charge insane amounts of money or just told me they could not do the cake I envisioned. When I met with Tammy she said she was excited to make the cake and hoped I chose the one I showed her. She was up for the challenge. The cake was the most BEAUTIFUL thing I have ever seen! I did not want to cut it! It was a 6 tier cake with a detailed silver dragee design and edible pearls. She had to apply the design with tweezers (I now feel bad about that). My reception venue second my opinions on the cake and said it was the best one they had seen. Not only was it the most beautiful cake ever but it also tasted delicious! You will not regret going with Tammy, she was amazing!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Our wedding cake was included in our wedding package from our venue, but we had a choice between two bakers. We chose Cakes by Tammy and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. Tammy is such a pleasant person to work with! She listens to exactly what you want and gives it to you. Our cake was EXACTLY what we wanted! My husband doesn't even like cake, but he looooved Tammy's french vanilla cake with chocolate mousse filling which we used in each tier of our wedding cake. I would definitely recommend Tammy to all my friends and family. Such a great person!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I can't come up with a single complaint about Tammy! We brought in a picture of a wedding cake we liked and she helped us tweak it to fit our ideas without any issue. She was open to any ideas we had and worked with us to bring our vision to life. When we ran into a little bit of design trouble, she went above and beyond and worked her butt off to make our dream cake a reality! She was quick to answer e-mails and to correspond about the progress. Most importantly, the cake tasted PHENOMENAL! My husband ate his piece - then stole mine while I wasn't looking and ate that, too! We cannot wait to eat our anniversary cake (which was baked and packaged separately - so awesome). We LOVE Cakes by Tammy and would recommend her to anyone looking for a wedding cake.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Tammy was absolutely wonderful to work with! Upon meeting with her we knew she had to be the one to make our wedding cake! She has quite the eye for design. At our meeting, I brought along pictures of cakes I liked, she then took those pictures and created the cake of my dreams! We also got to pick two cakes and fillings we would like to try. Wow! We were certainly impressed. The cakes were large enough that not only my husband and I got to sample them, but my parents did too! We were not very fond of the icing she used, but from reading other reviews on here I knew she had a secondary icing that she would use too. We requested to try the other icing and received another cake at no additional charge! The second icing was amazing!! We were sold! On our wedding day, the cake was beautiful! I have received so many compliments since the wedding about our cake. It was moist and tasted wonderful! I would highly suggest booking Tammy for your wedding!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jody 6 Reviews
Tammy was fabulous to work with. She was always completely responsive and friendly. She brought two whole round cakes to our initial meeting to sample once I got home. My (now) husband and I consider that day one of the best in the entire planning process. The cake was delicious, and Tammy was great.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tammy was very easy to work with and was able to do exactly what we envisioned for our wedding cake. It was absolutely beautiful and everyone commented on how delicious it was. Tammy was also willing to make a special gluten free cake for my cousins since it was her birthday and she made an awesome Pens cake for my hubby.
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 9 Reviews
Tammy is the BEST. Seriously. She was so incredibly great to work with, was easy to get in touch with, and both the design and the taste of her cakes are amazing! She adjusted the butter cream so it wasn’t too sweet for us and matched the monogram from our invitation on our cake. I also wanted flowers on the cake and the way she arranged the flowers made it SO gorgeous and elegant, we got so many compliments! We also got cupcakes and an ombre cake for our rehearsal and she did such an amazing job, our guests devoured them! You can’t go wrong with her strawberry mousse and almond fillings. Our wedding cake was so perfect, and it’s the one thing I sat down and ate in its entirety that day because it was just SO good!! We would work with her again without a doubt!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
FABULOUS! DELICIOUS!!! BEAUTIFUL!!!!! YUMMILICIOUS!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tammy did a fantastic job with our wedding cake! She was very accommodating, especially when we made the unique request to have four different cake flavors. Each and every tier was delicious and we received numerous compliments from our guests. Tammy was professional and delivered exactly what she promised. I was very impressed and would recommend Tammy to any bride looking for her wedding cake!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Let me start by saying I had a hotel wedding and Cakes by Tammy was part of the hotels price.

Tammy had to have written the majority of the reviews on her page herself. She was extremely difficult to get in touch with by phone and email. I was NEVER able to reach her by phone and she took several days to respond by email and would then not answer all of my questions (if multiple questions were in one email). On the day of my wedding I went to look at my cake and she had our initials wrong. I was upset. Knowing she was so hard to get a hold of, I never thought the wedding planner would be able to reach her to get her to fix it. I think she did end up getting back to the reception site and fixing it, but if had I not seen the cake before the wedding our monogram would have been wrong on our cake. Days before the wedding I sent her an email confirming the monogram, but she still messed it up. The cake was gorgeous and tasted great but in my mind there is no excuse to be so difficult to get in touch with and it is absolutely inexcusable to use the wrong initials in a monogram.
Cakes By Tammy responded with the following comments:
I will take the higher road here. Yes, you are correct. I did mess up the monogram. I made a mistake. The moment I received a call, I immediately drove back to the site to fix it. And when I walked into the room and saw that your florist decided to play cake decorator and made the situation 10X's worse, I still managed to correct it.
And you are also correct about being hard to get in touch with at times. I try to keep up with emails and phone calls, but during busier times of the year, yes- there are a couple of days between calls and emails. Ive heard this same thing from brides who call larger bakeries- they sometimes dont even get a return call at all. Im a one person bakery. And I do my best. And I dont try to meke excuses for my mistakes. Im human. I make them. But sometimes, its just not good enough for some. For that I apologize.
But I hate to tell you, I dont write my own reviews. If I dont have time to get to emails fast enough, then I hardly have time to write reviews for myself.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tammy made the most beautiful cake for my wedding, it was more than I even asked of her - a simply beautiful work of art! I would recommend Cakes by Tammy to everyone!
Wedding: 10/19/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
I am very pleased and satisfied with all of my interactions with Tammy throughout the cake planning process and the final outcome of our cake!!! She was responsive, helpful, and easy to work with as we had many questions. My husband is picky about icing and he absolutely loved this cake and icing! We had two different cake flavors and it was a huge hit at our wedding! Our guests gave many compliments and we are looking forward to eating our cake again on our one year wedding anniversary! Thanks, Tammy.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tammy is by far the best baker I dealt with in my search for my wedding cake. After meeting with her, she insisted that we look at other vendors before making our choice. And after we did, there was no comparison! Tammy makes her clients feel special and appreciated...unlike other vendors that I dealt with that made me feel like I was a burden or taking up their time. She loved my ideas for my cake and incorporated all of them into what was a beauty! We received tons of compliments on the cake and I'd recommend Tammy in a heartbeat to anyone looking for a baker for whatever the occasion!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our cakes were absolutely fantastic! From the modern 4-tier main cake to the highly intricate 3-tier grooms cake, everything from the taste to the appearance was perfect! Tammy was wonderful to work with and I highly recommend her!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tammy is amazing and so are her cakes! She was a dream to work with and absolutely ensured that you received the cake of your dreams. The cake stand that we rented from her was beautiful and her designs are fabulous! After the reception, our guests raved about how delicious the cake was and that they wished they could have had seconds!
Wedding: 08/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mrs. Thompson 5 Reviews
Cakes by Tammy was by far me and my husband's BEST and FAVORITE vendor!

During our consultation, Tammy brought us two 8" cakes that blew us away! We were literally eating the icing that was left on the inside of the box.

Her prices were the BEST that we could find.

Onto our wedding cake, our wedding cake turned out to be PERFECT! We expected our cake to be exactly as the picture we showed her.... but it ended up being much more gorgeous! We and our guests were blown away.... We've gotten tons of compliments on how moist the cake was and how the icing was just perfect!

My husband and I plan to use Cakes by Tammy for ALL of our future functions.... she was beyond GREAT!
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 234-244-4690
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0