AJ's Hair Design and Makeup
On-site hair and makeup artistry.
Portland/Vancouver, OR 97212  | map
Services: Hair, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (58)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AJ was so awesome and my hair looked Fabulous!!! I am 39 and have tried all my life to get hot iron curls to stay in my hair without going limp. I could Never do it!! But AJ made beautiful and SOFT curls stay in my hair the entire day! As a matter of fact, they were still there when I woke up the next morning! That is incredible, if you know what I mean. She's so great and I will absolutely refer her and hope to use AJ again!
Wedding: 12/02/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cassia 1 Reviews
A.J. is very talented and wonderful to work with. I had an idea to do an Audrey Hepburn type look and it turned out perfectly. I got so many compliments on my big day and my photographs look stunning. I would definitely recommend A.J. and her team.
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AJ’s Hair Design and Makeup did my bridesmaids, myself and my mothers hair and makeup for my August wedding. The run-through was in her adorable at home studio where she played around with different looks and ideas for my big day. I semi changed my mind on my hair a couple weeks before the wedding and knew that I wouldn’t have to do another run through due to how amazing she did the first time. I was blown away to say the least! My hair was intricate, beautiful and stayed in place all night! My makeup was light and airy and didn’t seem to make me look unlike myself but only brought out everything! The makeup stayed in placed through tears and a many hugs and looked amazing! I wish I could have Aj do my hair and makeup daily, she is absolutely wonderful!
Wedding: 08/25/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AJ was fantastic and did an amazing job achieving the exact look I wanted! She was very professional and a joy to work with. I had an early morning wedding and she got it all done with plenty of time to spare! I would recommend her to any bride!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Laurel 1 Reviews
AJ was great to work with. She was super fast at responding to my emails, and was very clear in price, and what it included. My hair and makeup for my wedding was absolutely fabulous. I'm so glad I went with her. Also two of my bridesmaid had their hair done, and were both impressed by her speed and execution of the styles they asked for. I would defiantly recommend AJ to anyone in the market for professional hair & makeup. Thanks AJ!!!
Wedding: 08/18/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just got my trial done by AJ and she ended my long frustrating search for a makeup artist for my August wedding. I have a very specific vintage hair style in mind that no one does anymore. The few stylist I saw before her just weren't hitting the mark. But AJ actually nailed it and my hair looked beautiful! And the make up was wonderful! I was skeptical about the makeup because the other few trials I had were not very good and I left not feeling pretty afterwards. But AJs makeup looked great! I got compliments all night and tons of likes on Facebook! My skin looked smooth and radiant. The makeup coloring was very natural looking, not bright and gaudy, and my eyes looked dramatic and pretty. I feel confident I will look wonderful the day of my wedding. I can now relax knowing this task is checked off on my long list of wedding TO DO's.
Wedding: 08/11/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AJ did my trial hair and makeup and she did a fabulous job! I showed her a picture of the hairstyle I wanted and she recreated it flawlessly in no time at all! I have no doubt that the whole bridal party will look amazing the day of the wedding!
Wedding: 07/14/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Kendal was my stylist. She is incredibly talented and thoughtful. I loved my hair and makeup. Services were a great value. It was a little challenging to communicate as you don't receive direct contact information for your stylist. You end up using the main phone and email for AJ and it takes a couple days to get response.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
Loved my makeup and hair - brought to life my wishes perfectly for both. Was very calm and mellow on a high stress day as well as professional and prompt. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a beauty and hair artist!
Wedding: 06/23/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I took my daughter for her trial run and we had a great time meeting AJ and seeing the magic she creates! She got the hairstyle my daughter wanted on the first try and the make up looked gorgeous! She even did a little trial on me to see if I could tolerate a few false eyelashes. We can hardly wait until the wedding day to see what AJ will do to make us all look lovely!
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angela 3 Reviews
AJ did a phenomenal job on my hair and makeup - love the way it turned out for my wedding.
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the best makeup because of AJ!! Thank you!!!!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

N 2 Reviews
My hair was styled just as I hoped for, and then even better. AJ created a hair design for my pin-up inspired theme that was amazing. She even double checked and triple checked how everything looked after I was dressed and ready to go. I was so impressed with how well my hair and makeup turned out, that was the first time during the day that I was emotional.
I still receive compliments on how lovely I looked and I have to give some of that credit to AJ. She knows her stuff and is a pleasure to work with.
Wedding: 03/17/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Aj was AMAZING!!! She exceeded my expectations, and made me feel amazing! Being in the beauty industry myself, I knew this was the one thing I didn't want to cut myself short on, and I will forever look back on that as the best decision I made! I had people asking me all day who did my makeup and hair, she is wonderful and I would recommend her to ANY Bride!!!! :D
Wedding: 02/16/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the most amazing experience with AJ's Hair Design and Make-Up. She and her crew had to deal with 5 bridesmaids a junior bridesmaids, a MOB, and myself. None of us did a trial and she was given random photos on the spot to try and recreate. Every single person turned out beautifully!!! The make-up and hair was catered perfectly to each person to highlight their best features. We don't have one bad picture due to the professionalism of their beauty services. We even shortened their work time by and hour and she finished perfectly on time. I would highly recommend AJ to anyone looking for a memorable wedding experience!
Wedding: 10/26/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  2.5
From the moment AJ arrived to the moment she left there was something off about her. Through out our communications she was great but on the day of our wedding she showed up with a negative air to her. She was late and came off as being very unprofessional. I don’t know what was going on but she was totally off… Our photographer whom has worked with her in the past mentioned that she didn't seem like her usual self. She is very talented and obviously knew what she was doing except for the fact that she made me feel uncomfortable through out the whole process… I couldn't wait for her to leave. It was a hectic day and I totally did not need a Debbie downer on my wedding day.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 360-521-3987
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0