Jennifer
VIP November 2013

that's what i get for trying to be crafty

Jennifer, on September 29, 2013 at 10:59 AM Posted in Do It Yourself 0 18
Saved Save

I'm really not an artistic person and really envy all the cool DIY things I see so many brides on here making.

I decided I would attempt to make a few things. One is to make my own toasting flutes. I saw these really cute wine glasses at Christmas Tree Shops the other day, so I bought some cheap flutes and I got sharpie paint pens yesterday to draw on them.

I was just cleaning them and thinking that I would try my hand at drawing on them today. While I was in the middle of drying the second one, I guess I pushed a little too hard with the dishcloth inside and the next thing I knew, it was broken and my hand had a small slice in the middle of it. It HURT. I shooed my cat that was at my feet into a room I could close him and the others in so I could clean up.

I'm so sad and disappointed. I hope I don't have any glass left in my hand. Didn't see any. I guess I'm not meant to be crafty... Smiley sad

Anyone else just terrible at this too?

18 Comments

• Kelly H
    Super November 2013
    Kelly H ·
    • Flag

I have all these good ideas in my head, but can't seem to get them to work. I guess the artist gene skipped me because my kids are very talented. So my daughter and I will be doing a DIY day. I have the ideas, she makes it work.

I hope your hand gets better. The mom in me is going to expect an update to be sure you're ok. Smiley smile

• HalloweenBride
    Master October 2013
    HalloweenBride ·
    • Flag

It's because you bought cheap ones. NOT because you're not crafty.

• P
    Super March 2014
    Poppet ·
    • Flag

HalloweenBride is probably right.

I made the mistake of buying cheap wine glasses ONCE, never again. Ended up shattering the damn thing and looking like I'd stroked a porcupine.

Best of luck on your future crafty-ness though. Smiley smile

• Nonna T
    Master April 2014