Terra
Expert September 2020

Last Names Are Lame

Terra, on December 17, 2018 at 12:37 AM Posted in Community Conversations 0 27
Saved Save

Ugh. I know I'm making this out to be more annoying than it needs to be, but this whole business of last names bugs me so I'm going to rant here a little.

Context: I have a very original, unique last name. I've never met anyone outside of my family who shares my last name. I'm also a "Terra" instead of a "Tara" so I've always sat pretty comfortably knowing my name is one of a kind. I like it, and I'm one of the last in my branch of the family tree who still has it.

I'm also an education major, I'll be a full-fledged teacher in a year and a half. I worked as a substitute before I started school and I've logged a fair amount of clinical hours, so I'm already used to kids calling me "Ms. B."

His last name is... Watson. Which, I mean, it's not Jones, but it's definitely not like my current last name. I've been feeling pretty meh about it (and have for the last couple years, we've been together for a hot minute), but just now I went to create a new email to store wedding-related things in, and "terra.watson" is taken. It made me realize I'll be signing up for that issue for the rest of my life, and I know it's not a big issue to have, but it's not one I've ever dealt with and it's disappointing. The odds of there being another teacher in the district I end up working at with my last name are astronomical, but there's a good possibly there could be another Mrs. Watson at my school site.

I want to share a last name with my FH. If we end up having kids, I want all of us to share a last name. It's something that really matters to me. But I'm a little sad I'd be giving this up for Watson. My name isn't the kind that sounds right hyphenated, and he'd never be interested in changing his name, so if I want our future little family unit to share a last name I just have to bite the bullet and I think that's kind of lame.

27 Comments