M
Dedicated July 2019

Ever been to New Zealand!?

Michelle, on April 10, 2019 at 10:31 AM Posted in Honeymoon 0 10
Saved Save

We're planning to honeymoon in New Zealand in December (the start of their summer). Has anyone ever been? We're looking to do some hiking, kayaking, getting into some caves, as well as some spa days and relaxation time. Just wondering if anyone else has been. Thanks!

10 Comments

• Meaghan
    Dedicated April 2019
    Meaghan ·
    I studied abroad there 10 years ago!! I loved the country. I wasn’t big on the hiking, kayaking, etc. but I had some friends that were really interested in those things and they had a great time. Depending on how long you have (I would recommend at least a week and a half to two weeks) you could rent a car and drive around both islands and get some really good views. If you’re into lord of the rings, you can look into hiking Mount Doom which is supposed to be an awesome experience. I visited Mount Cook on the South Island and that was a good mini hike for me - we were able to see some glaciers and everything. The North Island was said to have more people and more larger cities while the South Island is said to have more sheep than people and is supposedly really good for those interested in hiking and other outdoor activities. Depending on your interests, New Zealand is really good for wine enthusiasts. We spent a weekend on Waiheke Island and tha was a beautiful location and really relaxing so I would recommend that.
  • M
    Dedicated July 2019
    Michelle ·
    View Quoted Comment

I hadn't even thought of the wine! Thanks for mentioning that! I will definitely take your recommendations into consideration. I'm even more excited now!

• Keary
    Expert May 2019
    Keary ·
    I am so jealous!! I wanted to do go to NZ for honeymoon but FH wasn't about it. #1 on my bucket list.
  • M
    Dedicated July 2019
    Michelle ·
    View Quoted Comment
    It's been on both of our lists for years!
  • Kate