We're here to help you keep moving forward, no matter what your plans are.

Alforev
VIP August 2018

DJ Frustration

Alforev, on October 12, 2017 at 5:34 PM Posted in Planning 0 32
Saved Save

Anyone else having a very difficult time finding a reasonable DJ?

I'm a music teacher, and I DJ all of the events at my school. While I have never been an emcee for a wedding and I understand how different that is, I do know how DJing equipment works so I have a difficult time justifying the quotes I've been getting. Yesterday, I ended up literally breaking down into tears after talking with an extremely arrogant DJ who happens to be the uncle of a guy I grew up with. He lectured me on how I should know that the only thing that people remember is the music at a wedding and how I should know that quality DJs are higher in price. What was his quote? $4200 for 4 hours. With JUST the emcee and music. He said his wedding packages range from $4200 to $10,000. Our venue with all our food and alcohol for 85 guests is only $6400 so how can we justify that price for a DJ? I am just done. My FH is taking over looking for a DJ because I can't handle it anymore.

32 Comments

• Boinkin
    Devoted April 2018
    Boinkin ·
    • Flag

Woah this sounds irrational.

How many quotes did you get?

I got 5 and they were between $800 - $2000 for 4-6 hours depending. Maybe your area is high?

• Taylor
    Dedicated September 2019
    Taylor ·
    • Flag

That's crazy! I'm paying $740 for 8 hours and he is doing the emcee stuff as well.

Since you have some time before your wedding try going to local wedding expos. That's how I booked my DJ.

• Alforev
    VIP August 2018
    Alforev ·
    • Flag

So far I have received quotes from 16 different DJs. The cheapest is $2000 but reviews for that DJ were below 4 stars.

• Brianna
    VIP May 2018
    Brianna ·
    • Flag

Woah, that sounds like way too much. Plus, he sounds super rude.