Real Food Catering
    178 Reviews
55 Great Jones Street
3rd Floor
New York, NY 10012  | map
Catering Services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (178)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
For any brides and grooms looking for an amazing caterer who makes you feel like family - look no further; Real Food Catering is five star. Yen, Gary, and their staff are truly the best in their craft. From day one, they worked with us to make sure the food, cocktails, and vision stayed within budget. Our July 28th wedding couldn’t have been more perfect thanks to Yen and the team! Yen was super attentive and accommodating to our needs the entire night. The waitstaff was always available while remaining stealth and the bartenders were top-notch and kept up with the crowd effortlessly. Almost a month later and our guests are still talking about the yummy food and drinks - especially the steak, the French 75, and desserts! Yen & Gary - thank you for everything! You are true professionals who worked seamlessly among all of our vendors, and we couldn’t be happier.
Wedding: 07/28/2018
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There is a reason why Real Foods has so many wonderful reviews! Yen was such a pleasure to work with! She was a tremendous help to my son and his fiancé with the planning. It can be overwhelming to choose all of the food, while planning so many other elements. Yen has so much experience, her advice is priceless. The food was excellent, more like restaurant Food than catering. We had tons of compliments. Don’t wait! If Yen is available book her NOW!!!
Wedding: 06/30/2018
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything related to Real Food was perfect (from the moment we received the proposal all the way through the wedding). Yen's communication was excellent throughout our planning process (both with us and our wedding planner). We were able to have a tasting, which was delicious and appreciated! Our guests raved and raved and raved about the quality, quantity and variety of food at our wedding. Thank you!!!
Wedding: 04/21/2018
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Real Food's Yen and Gary are incredible! We partnered with them for our March 2018 wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made in planning. Yen & Gary were super easy to work with and actually made wedding planning fun! They were extremely accessible throughout the planning process and helped guide us to plan the most incredible night. We had our wedding at a 'raw space' and I was a bit intimidated at first knowing I would have to bring in all vendors and items, that worry went away the second we met with Yen & Gary. They helped us with coordinating the night, gave us recommendations for florists, photographers, rentals etc. We were so happy to have found them... and this was even before we tasted their food! Where do I begin with the food! They crafted a custom menu for us with our guests and preferences in mind, every single guest said how delicious the food was and the quantity was impressive! The wedding night went off without a hitch, we felt so comfortable with Gary there taking care of all coordination. The day of we were able to completely relax and enjoy the moment because we were so confident in Real Food. Their staff for the night was also very impressive, super courteous and made every guest feel super special. I could go on and on about how much we adore Real Food catering. On top of their high quality service and professionalism - Yen and Gary are the sweetest people, we loved meeting with them and I was so happy that they were a part of our big day. Don't look any further and hire Real Food immediately!

Wedding: 03/03/2018
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jordyn 3 Reviews
Yen and Gary from Real Food Catering could not be easier to work with. They made what could have been a stressful part of the wedding planning so easy AND FUN. They let us provide our ideas and then helped us tweak based on their experience and everything was amazing. We have picky eaters on both sides of our family and literally everyone was telling us how great and abundant the food was. People said that they have never had so much food at a wedding before and they loved that. Yen and Gary also were extremely helpful with our alcohol count, our table placement at the venue, and other details that we were doing on our own, without a wedding planner. They go above and beyond to make you happy before, during and after the wedding. 
Wedding: 12/16/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't know where to begin! Yen & Gary were true experts in their craft!! Everything they told us and recommended was spot on. Not only were they helpful when we were planning, but were genuinely the nicest and most organized team that we worked with. I did not have a wedding planner and I did not need one because of Yen & Gary! The day of we did not have to worry about anything -- everything was set up beautifully and Gary made sure that our ceremony ran flawlessly. He also made sure that we got to eat the delicious food that day!! We had a plate of appetizers waiting after the ceremony and he made us both dinner plates (and took the time to make sure we ate). They really went above and beyond. We have and continue to receive so many compliments about the food at our wedding and how great everything was. If you are researching catering companies, look no further!! A big thank you to Yen, Gary, and the real good catering staff!! You guys are amazing!!! :) - Marie & Charles (Wedding on 12/2/17)
Wedding: 12/02/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Shirley 1 Reviews
Yen and Gary from Real Food Catering were absolutely amazing. We could not be happier with how the planning, service and execution turned out for our hybrid chinese/american wedding. Their flexible budgeting and planning process made our lives so much easier. Our venue was an loft/open space rental in Dumbo, NY and needed quite a lot of planning to accomplish properly. They helped us through every step of the way, ceremony layout, DIY decoration placement, space transitions, tea ceremony, schedule, vendor coordination, basically every aspect of the wedding was well thought out and we could not have pulled it off without them. With Real Food Catering, you get so much more than just caters providing food, you get a team that helps you think through the concept and management of the entire event. Weddings can be incredibly stressful and I'm so thankful that we picked Real Food Catering.

Besides the unreal pre-wedding and day-of service they provide, the food was truly top-notch. We had passed Hors D’oeuvres during cocktail hour and the classic seated dinner service. Our guests were split into two types, half traditional chinese that preferred asian inspired cuisine and half hip foodie friends that have always complained about wedding food. Real Food Catering helped us navigate this clashing of preferences by offering a wide range of options like chicken/waffle and peking duck. It's been 3 months since our wedding and we are still receiving compliments from family and friends for the food. Food was my greatest concern because the backlash from a chinese family for going non-chinese traditional family style can be unbearable and Real Food Catering really satisfied everyone! Instead of receiving brutal chinese criticism we're actually receiving praise.

The other 5 star reviews I've read are all true. Real Food Catering is the best option in every imaginable category. Greatest part was that since everything was so well planned we actually both got to eat!!
Wedding: 11/10/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We genuinely felt so lucky to have found Yen and Gary! From the attention to detail to the phenomenal catering to the flawless day-of execution, their team was above and beyond. The instant we met for our meet and greet, all concerns about planning a multi-vendor wedding disappeared. They instantly put us at ease with their professionalism and proven experience in the industry (they knew and worked with just about all of our other vendors!). We had a great time brainstorming menu ideas, and ultimately crafted the perfect menu with vietnamese influences for our Brooklyn wedding. Our guests happily cleared their plates and four months later, still tell us how impressed they were with the food -- a true wedding rarity!

Also highly recommend Real Food Catering's day-of coordination services. They were complete pros and always seemingly ten steps ahead of us. Our wedding day was in short a total home run, and we owe a large part of it to Real Food Catering. If you have the option to work with the whole dream team -- do it!
Wedding: 11/04/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Yen and Gary are the BEST OF THE BEST. It's not even worth looking at any other vendors. Our guests were raving about the food, service and the entire day. There was no way it would have been as good as it was without Real Food Catering. It was the best decision we made hiring them. Thank you SO MUCH!!
Wedding: 10/20/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
During our year of wedding planning, my husband and I found ourselves falling in love with other people. Those people were Yen and Gary of Real Food Catering. Giving them all of the compliments in the world doesn't do them - and their extraordinary staff - justice!

We first felt Real Food fireworks in our initial meeting with Yen and Gary. We had been shopping around for a wedding caterer, but had yet to experience the aha moment of finding someone that really understood our vision - that is, until we busted through the doors of their oh-so-stylish office on Great Jones. And we had quite the vision, given that we wanted to build a wedding from the ground up that reflected our love for food, sense of humor, and typical levels of hysteria...

Every off-the-wall idea we threw at Gary and Yen - running through a giant banner (like a basketball team!) for our entrance, setting up a DIY station so that guests could accessorize themselves with temporary tattoos of our faces, finding space for a self-serve keg of beer - was welcomed with open arms. And they went ABOVE AND BEYOND to come up with plans / timelines so that everything was executed flawlessly on the big day (and so that we could imbibe, worry-free, far too many signature cocktails). My Type A mind was swooning - no detail went overlooked.

EVERYTHING for our wedding seemed to fall into place after the stars aligned in that first meeting. Gary and Yen made exceptional suggestions for our other vendors, presented an ideal layout, and helped us pull together a personalized and utterly delectable menu.

For all of your wedding needs, look no further than Real Food Catering. They're more than just a catering company - they're impeccably detail-oriented, innovative and professional planners, coordinators, decorators, chefs, ringmasters and, above all else, two truly kick butt people.

We'd get married all over again just to spend more time with Yen and Gary.

Wedding: 10/14/2017
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the minute we met Yen and Gary, we knew they were the one (I didn't even have that feeling when I met my husband). And we couldn't be happier with their incredible work at our wedding this past weekend!

Yen and Gary were patient, understanding and went out of her way to work out all the details for our wedding. We emailed back and forth often... over 300 emails!!! From the beginning, they welcomed our questions and provided us with their honest feedback.

I cannot begin to tell you the overwhelming positive response we received and continue to get from our guests about our food! ANDDDD I know the food was delicious because when I walked around to greet our guests at dinner, I noticed many plates that were scraped clean!

Yen, Gary and their incredible team worked hard to make our wedding run smooth, STRESS-FREE, and most importantly, delicious! We could not be happier with our experience with Real Food Catering.
Wedding: 09/24/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow, just wow! What an amazing experience with Yen, Gary and the rest of the Real Food Catering staff. I could not imagine a better experience working with a caterer for a wedding. They were so professional at every step of the way. They were responsive to our requests and demands, consistently answering questions clearly and giving us the information we needed, when we needed it. True pros! The night of the wedding was incredible. The staff was so helpful and comforting, we truly felt like we were in the hands of people that knew what they were doing and who would deliver on every front. Gary Wagener was our Day of Coordinator and was excellent. He anticipated all of our needs and was incredibly responsive. He was extremely detail-oriented. My brother and I love the fact that he personally delivered our converse high top shoes to our place at the dinner table, right before the dancing! A few other things to mention:

- You cannot beat their food for a wedding. It was better than the most restaurant experiences we have. So many of our guests commented on how great the food was (we had flank steak and salmon as our entrees). And the horderves were so good - grilled cheese, bacon wrapped dates, meatballs, you name it. They offered such a variety of horderves to choose from, we had trouble just narrowing it down to 9 selections!
- They really take their time to make you feel comfortable with your selections. Yen invited us to the Green Building for another wedding a year before ours to get a feel for how they set up for a wedding, and let us taste a number of horderves. It was so much fun, and really helpful. And then we had our tasting, which was one of the best eating experiences I had the entire winter!
- All-in, I think you want a caterer who knows what they are doing, and can effectively balance your requests with their expertise. Yen and Gary were adept at this. I cannot recommend them more!
Wedding: 08/05/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Real Food Catering is beyond one of the most amazing vendors out there. New York is a competitive place when it comes to food but these guys have it all figured out. We were so pleased with Yen and Gary from our very first visit that from that point on, we felt a sense of relief knowing they are absolutely the best out there and knew we were going to be well taken care of. Creating the menu, Yen was so open to our food requests, some even difficult, and totally "Wowed" us with her creations. The guests were so pleased with the food that it was the talk long after the wedding was over. I have to say as the bride the one thing that I am still talking about is how well I was taken care of by Gary the day of. It is a very overwhelming day and to be taken care of in the many ways such as making sure I ate, stayed hydrated, an just checking on me to see if I needed absolutely anything was something that I actually still think about and am so thankful for. These two are a team that every bride and groom need. We are so grateful for Real Food Catering, so much love to Yen and Gary!!!
Wedding: 07/24/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't know where to begin to start raving about Yen and Gary. They were one of the best decisions we have ever made! Real Food Catering came recommended by our venue - The Foundry for having reasonable prices (this is NY) and excellent food. We had a great first meeting with Yen and Gary who wowed me and my parents with their creativity and openness to fusing our cultures (nigerian & jewish) into the food they were creating and allowing our authentic ethnic foods to be featured at our wedding. They detailed visually their involvement with planning from seating to scheduling on how the actual day would go. Their personalities are so sweet, fun, and easy to work with. I was in constant and easy communication with Yen leading up to our wedding. There was an excellent fluidity in the process and as we modified things it was very organic and effortless. The tasting of our menu was done as dinner with their other clients getting married near our date and tasted and looked great but was also a fun dinner party. We still had the ability after tasting to modify things and Yen did just that considering my husband had recently become vegan and on our wedding day - he had his own meal. Our wedding day was amazing largely thanks to Yen and Gary. They have such a calm and playful vibe and their work is impeccable. Our guests are still raving about our wedding and the food a month out. Gary is an excellent coordinator and made sure we were fed and taking it all in and that we had a few private moments together. Yen & Gary are true professionals and know the NY wedding game and can make recommendations and suggestions for everything to really help the busy bride. We really bonded with Yen and Gary and they made our road to wedding and big day such a joy.
Wedding: 05/28/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The single best decision you can make for your big day is to work with Real Food Catering.
There isn’t enough time or space for me to rave about Real Food. Yen and Gary are thorough, attentive and are an invaluable resource throughout the planning process. Honestly, Yen may be small in stature, but she is a General! She will be honest about what will work and what won’t work based on your menu, venue, theme, etc. Even better, they will do whatever they can to help you save a little money along the way.
They are highly respected and liked throughout the industry. Every time we met with another vendor and told them we were working with Real Food (Yen & Gary) they would rant and rave about how amazing they are. This wasn’t just a polite comment, “oh they’re great…” kind of way, it was literally 10-15 minutes about the last event they worked together, their food, how they just went and had a drink with them, etc. And after working with them, it makes total sense. Honestly, we just want to go have a drink with them sometime – they’re that amazing!
On the day of our wedding, Yen was running things in the kitchen while Gary was our day of coordinator and working the front of house. Anything we needed, had questions about, whatever it may be, he was there. Our day ran perfectly – no hiccups along the way (or at least none that we were made aware of).
Now let’s get to the food, after all it’s the real reason you need catering. AMAZING! We went with a floating dinner, which means we didn’t have a formal sit down or stations. Instead, it was an extended cocktail hour with passed Hors d’Oeuvres which started on the lighter side of the menu (bruschetta, spring rolls, etc.) and worked into heavier menu items (sliders, momofuku pork buns, lobster rolls). When our parents learned of this, they weren’t thrilled. In fact they were nervous about it not being enough food, how it would be received, etc., but afterwards they raved about how the entire evening flowed seamlessly.
Wedding: 05/27/2017
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Its hard to put into words Yen's contributions to our wedding this past weekend. Not only did Yen help create a fun menu and phenomenal food (more below on the food), but she and her team really served as a wedding coordinator. She was there from the start, answering MANY emails from both myself and my mom on questions ranging from menu, to table setup, flowers, day of timeline, gluten free vs. non gluten free and much, much more.

Wedding can be incredibly stressful with a lot of moving parts. Yen eliminated any stress by answering all of our questions and concerns promptly and guiding us along the way with her expert opinion which always turned out to be right. :) The day of contact from Real Food was Mary Anne who I had only met for the first time that day. Mary Anne was incredibly warm, professional, on top of things and also a calming presence during some stressful moments.

In terms of the food - everything was AMAZING! Our guests are still raving about the chicken and waffles, bacon wrapped dates, rosemary shrimp and more from cocktail hour. But what they were even more impressed with was that the dinner food was just as good as cocktail hour. The poached salmon, beef and pad thai in to-go cartons were a major hit! Yen and team, I can't thank you enough for all that you did to make our wedding so memorable! XOXO, Heather & Joe
Wedding: 04/29/2017
Services Used: Catering
 +1646-392-8152
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0