Michael Simon Photography
Honest, diligent, visually talented.
Richmond, VA 23227  | map
Photography Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (42)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michael Simon made our day absolutely perfect. The photography was very important to us both and Michael did not disappoint. His professionalism was stellar and his turn around time, despite our wedding taking place at the start of holiday season, was fast. He made our day complete!
Wedding: 11/10/2017
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michael was fantastic! We had spoken to a few other photographers and he immediately made us feel comfortable and at ease. Not only was he extremely accommodating with our slightly unusual schedule, but he had a great attitude and was consummate professional. He provided some helpful guidance and really focused on what we wanted. We felt like he made an effort to get to know us before the event and spent time to get to know our venue before the event. Many of our guests commented later on how impressed they were with him. Plus, he's just a really nice guy! We would recommend him highly and without hesitation!
Wedding: 05/27/2017
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michael Simon was one of the first vendors we booked, and one of my favorite vendors by far. He was awesome at helping my husband and I come up with the vibe we wanted for the day and what kind of pictures would work best at our venue. At our planning meeting a couple months before he seemed genuinely interested in us and excited to take pictures of our wedding. I left feeling excited myself. On our wedding day, Michael and his second photographer, Ethan, showed up early and were very flexible in getting all the portraits done before the ceremony even when we got a bit behind schedule. During the reception they were all over the place capturing the best moments and I can't wait to see the final pictures!
Wedding: 12/10/2016
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't know what there is to say about Michael except that he is amazing! Michael was the photographer for my brother's wedding and when it came time for us to find someone, we knew exactly who we wanted. He is so easy going and just totally blended into our family. Michael is also extremely easy to work with and dedicated to his profession. He wants to get to know a couple before the wedding and does his homework to scope out the best picture spots. This combo makes for a beautiful album. He picked up on the vibes of our families and caught all of the emotions. His portraits are beautiful. My personal favorite photos from the day, though, are the candid shots he and his assistant were able to capture - they transport you right back to that moment. They got right up in the action but so unobtrusively so, I still can't figure out how they did it! I would never recommend anyone besides Michael - he was easily the best decision we made!
Wedding: 10/08/2016
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our entire wedding day, my groom and I kept saying Michael was worth every penny. We met with several photographers and knew from the moment we met him that he just got us. He has a calm demeanor, which was important knowing we were going to spend the entire wedding day together. We wanted someone that didn’t just take portrait/posey pictures but had a photojournalistic style.

He had never shot at our venue before and met with us the week before to scope out the church/reception space. He also helped review our timeline to make sure we were allowing enough time to ensure he captured what we wanted.

The day of he was on time and prepared. His assistant was also fantastic and so nice. He was the perfect blend of the calm demeanor we wanted on a hectic day, but also assertive enough to direct a large group of people and keep the family photos moving.

A week after the wedding we received a sneak peak of about 15 pictures. We then received the rest of the shots exactly 6 weeks after the wedding. hey were incredible. He captured some really great moments with a really artistic style.

I couldn't be happier and would book him all over again if I had the choice!
Wedding: 09/09/2016
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What can I say? Michael was hands down the best vendor that my husband and I worked with for our wedding (and we had some great vendors!). Photography has long been a serious hobby of mine—and I’m incredibly picky in general—so I knew that picking a photographer would be one of the hardest decisions for me during wedding planning. I wanted a photographer who would capture not only beautiful portraits of me and my husband, but also candid moments throughout the wedding, especially of our family and friends. I was not interested in someone who would spend a ton of time setting up elaborate cheesy photos. I found Michael through apracticalwedding.com and knew after speaking with him by phone (he’s based in Richmond and my wedding was in Northern Virginia) that his personality and wonderful visual aesthetic made him the best choice for our wedding. Ironically, it was actually one of the easiest decisions of the whole planning process!

Michael was nothing but a pleasure to work with leading up to the wedding, always making sure we knew he was available to answer any questions we had as they arose. We had a couple of planning calls and I felt totally at ease about the plan for the day. As a semi-professional worrier, it was wonderful to not have to stress about the photography leading up to the wedding. On our wedding day itself, Michael and his team were fantastic – personable, professional, and great at making everyone feel at ease. Several members of our wedding party later told us how great they thought they were! And of course, it should come as no surprise that the images themselves are gorgeous. We LOVE them! I’m so incredibly glad we went with Michael for our photographer and recommend him highly and without hesitation.
Wedding: 09/04/2016
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I wholeheartedly and enthusiastically recommend Michael - we're fortunate to have been able to work with him for our January wedding. Our first phone conversation put us at ease immediately (and involved Indiana Jones jokes right alongside nitty-gritty conversations about his artistic approach). He was the first vendor we booked, and was unfailingly responsive, good humored, organized, professional, and flexible. He accommodated our requests and was proactive in finding solutions, planning ahead with incredible foresight to be in the right place at the right time to get the shots that we didn't even know that we wanted. He hadn't shot in our particular venue before, so took the time to visit, scout out the place, and understand the physical flow of the day. We had a preview of our photos within two weeks, a full gallery within two months, and a printed album just a few weeks later. The photos show so much pure joy, and capture incredible (and incredibly accurate) personality. We laughed through each page of the album. I'm immensely grateful, and wish you the same wonderful experience we had.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we were planning our wedding, my husband and I were incredibly fortunate to enlist Michael Simon's services. I spent time looking through various websites that displayed examples and immediately loved the artful and yet personal beauty of Michael's work. I contacted him immediately and I have been thankful in each stage of the process since then that I did! He put my husband and I at ease immediately and was absolutely fantastic to work with. He was clear, thorough, professional and precise; we always knew exactly what he needed from us as clients and what we could expect in terms of his services previous to, the day of, and in follow-up. At the same time, he managed to be open and flexible and understood (even gave us valuable pointers on) how wedding days actually go. He is very friendly and personable; two traits the helpfulness of which cannot be overestimated, as your photographer will have to work with the myriad of personalities and situational factors present on your wedding day. Everyone in attendance at our wedding responded to this and many commented on it afterward. Of all our vendors, he was hands-down the most responsive and had an optimistic and can-do attitude. His creativity, experience and planning ability facilitated some gorgeous photo opportunities. This brings me to the actual product of all this- the pictures. They are truly gorgeous and will be treasured by our families forever. They are timelessly beautiful and every time I look at them I am able to revisit all the best details of the day. They hold all the visuals in fantastic style, but the thing that is really special about them is that they show what one can't see with the naked eye; the connections between people, the atmosphere of the day, and of course the sweetness and love present in a special way on that particular occasion. If he is available, you would be immensley fortunate to work with Michael- we certainly were, and would wish this for anyone!
Wedding: 11/14/2015
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the first time Michael and I sat down to talk about my wedding, I felt like he really understood what I was looking for. He made me feel not crazy, which sounds so simple, but I'm sure all brides can appreciate why that's important. He was open to discussing all of my fragmented thoughts and ideas, and always responded with reassurance and professionalism.

Michael's technical skills were evident in the way he expertly navigated the challenges of our events. His photos are beautifully composed, take full advantage of their setting, and are executed flawlessly. Michael is really willing to get into the weeds, both literally and figuratively. As a professional, Michael is open and enthusiastic while maintaining a refreshing level of calm and organization. He gives the impression that he'd be a good man to have around in an emergency. He rolls with the punches and doesn't appear to be surprised by much. In the context of a hectic wedding day, these personality traits were a relief.

In particular, I was impressed by a conversation we had a couple of days before our wedding, where we talked about a few tweaks we wanted to make to the portrait phase of our wedding photos based on some things we didn't love about our engagement photos. Specifically, we felt that we made awkward subjects in our engagement photos, and so we asked for more direction from him. Michael was receptive to our feedback and knew exactly what to do with it.

One of the best parts of working with Michael was the surprise of receiving a preview of our wedding photos just two days after our wedding. His turnaround on our engagement photos was prompt (less than two weeks!), but I wasn't even remotely expecting such a quick turnaround on wedding photos. I was brought to tears by the beautiful preview, and couldn't have been more pleased with the final product. We highly recommend Michael's work, and we won't hesitate to work with him again in the future.
Wedding: 11/07/2015
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We love Michael Simon! In researching potential photographers, we were a little disheartened by how expensive they all were. A great photographer was not at the top of our list of "must-haves" as we were trying to save money and knew photography would break the bank! Lucky for us, we found Michael and got a top photographer at a very reasonable price! He fit our personalities perfectly and we clicked instantly when we met. He also helped give us some advice for how the day should flow, timeline, etc. His suggestions were always spot on. All the photos turned out beautifully! Michael's eye is great for capturing candids and the whole feeling of a wedding. We were not that into portraits or a bunch of hokey posed shots, and Michael went right along with our preferences (not that I think he would ever take a hokey photo - that's not his style!) ;) Overall, Michael was one of the favorite aspects of our wedding and he helped us capture memories from the day which we will cherish forever!
Wedding: 09/12/2015
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
To say that Michael's photos exceeded expectations is a huge understatement…He seems to have captured our personalities and the tone of the event in every shot. I want to print them all!

Michael travelled up to CT, engaged with our friends and family, and gave us something to make these memories last much longer!

I just got back from a 2 week work trip with very little internet, and can't say what a pleasure it was to finally open the photo website he arranged. I'd recommend him to anyone!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michael is talented, organized, and professional. We feel fortunate he was available for our wedding, and we are thrilled with our photos from the day. Communication was thorough and clear, and it was easy to access and share our beautiful photos with family. We recommend him with no hesitation; he is artful, has integrity, and is a pleasure to work with.
Wedding: 10/12/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I do not have single complaint about Michael Simon. As a photographer, he did everything we wanted on our wedding day: he thoroughly documented the preparations for the wedding, the ceremony, and the reception; he captured lots of moments that we would have never known about if he hadn't been there to record them; and he took lots of beautiful, beautiful photographs. Michael's wedding photography is creative without being cheesy or overcooked. And he works very hard, during the event and before and after it. (One example: we ran in to him a couple of days before the wedding when we were doing our final site visit at the park where the ceremony took place--he was there scoping out shooting locations for our wedding.)

Aside from his skill as a photographer, Michael is a nice guy. We found him very easy to work with; he was a much-needed calming presence during the planning process and on the wedding day. He has shot many weddings and knows what he's doing. When it came time for us to cut the cake and we realized we hadn't rehearsed or planned that moment, he was there to tell us exactly what to do.

I am a photographer myself, and I would highly recommend Michael Simon to just about anyone.
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Micheal is a consummate professional. Prompt, courteous, informative, and efficient.

And yes, the photos are fantastic!

No regrets whatsoever and we highly recommend Michael.
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Michael Simon is the best. The photos were fantastic, and he was friendly and responsive starting from the first time we contacted him, to months after the wedding when we were putting together an album. He was accommodating to everyone at the wedding, and was generally a really fun guy. Guests commented afterwards about how much they liked the photographer!
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessalyn 1 Reviews
I would 100% recommend Michael to any bride - he was such a pleasure to work with. Michael met with my husband and I to walk through every detail of what moments we wanted to capture, what portraits we wanted taken, etc. He was super flexible and easy to work with and made really great suggestions. He also did a really great job helping us manage our time to make sure we got all the shots we wanted. I also LOVED his idea of how our first moment seeing each other should go, which ended up being such a beautiful/emotional moment that i'm so glad he captured. We got a beautiful photo book of every photo taken (and of course an online album of every photo that we could share with friends/family that everyone can purchase prints from - very convenient). On top of being super professional, he's just a really great funny guy - you can't go wrong!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Photography
 646-354-3798
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0