Weddings

Woodburn Historic House Reviews

Woodburn Historic House

Woodburn Historic House

Pendleton, SC
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 10 Reviews
View more information

10 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 91% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.2 out of 5

Awards

  • 10

8 User photos

Sort by:
  • Kaitlin
    Kaitlin Married on 04/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Wedding Venue!

    This was perfect for us! We loved the vintage and rustic look of the carriage house and the house. It was perfect for our wedding- we wanted simple but elegant and a place where we could have the ceremony and reception at the same site.

    The carriage house was the perfect area to have the ceremony! It looked absolutely gorgeous and our guests loved it.

    We had a live band and spent the entire night on the dance floor! We wish we could live it over and over!
  • J
    Jill Married on 10/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My daughter and son-in-law recently got married at Woodburn Plantation and even with some rain, the venue was beautiful and very accommodating! I enjoyed working with The Floral Shoppe and Roger Chapman created gorgeous flowers! The Boulevard Caterers were delicious! We highly recommend them all!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 06/08/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Woodburn Plantation was the perfect location for my southern wedding! Jackie was easy to work with and met me every time I asked! (which was many times) I was able to take my bridal shots there as well for no extra charge. My guests were wowed by the beauty of the home. The price was very affordable compared to other venues in the area. They were true professionals through and through. I even received my deposit back before I was even home from the honeymoon. The Woodburn made my wedding dreams come true!
  • M
    Megan Married on 04/26/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I absolutly love this place. I searched and searched for the perfect place for my wedding and when I saw the carriage house, I was hooked. I had my wedding at Woodburn last Saturday and it is such a beautiful venue. All of my guests loved it and I know my pictures are going to be amazing. There are some restrictions due to the age of the property and the fact it is a museum but this is a wonderful place to have a wedding.
  • H
    Heather Married on 05/19/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Woodburn Historic House was the perfect location for our wedding and reception. The grounds are absolutely beautiful (especially in the spring) and provide plenty of space - we had around 250 guests and had plenty of room on the lawn. Our guests commented on how beautiful the house was and how it was the perfect setting for a wedding. The space below the house was large enough to hold our entire wedding party (as well as a few family members and friends) as we waited for the wedding to begin. A Pendleton Historic Foundation volunteer was there to oversee the wedding and reception and she was very polite and did not interfere with our event. It was nice to have her there to answer any questions we had about the house and where people could or could not go (the house is technically a museum, so there are some areas and things you can't touch!). We would recommend Woodburn Historic House to anyone looking for a gorgeous place for an outdoor wedding!
  • User2263282 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Woodburn Plantation was the perfect location for my southern wedding! Jackie was pretty easy to work with, and she gave me a secondary contact when she was out of town. The price was very affordable compared to other venues in the area, and they allow you to do it yourself in many ways without extra charges. For example, although they have a preferred caterer, they do not charge you extra to use an alternative. They also allow you to bring in your own alcohol as long as you have event liability insurance and servers. This really helped us to cut costs for the event. My guests could not stop talking about how beautiful it was. We barely had to decorate because it has such natural beauty. They got our deposit back to us within a week of the event, which was impressive, and they even gave us a Woodburn ornament to celebrate our marriage. Overall, I can't recommend this place enough. They are true professionals, and I am always looking for ways to benefits nonprofits in the area when I can. This is a great option for your outdoor wedding!
  • K
    Paige Married on 06/25/2011
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Woodburn was the only venue I visited, and I loved it! I would definitely recommend Woodburn to other brides. The setting is perfect for an outdoor wedding - it offers several different ceremony sites, and there are endless background possibilites for photos. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, so a lot of decorations are not necessary, which can save on the cost of flowers. This is an historic venue, so there are some rules. The facilities are very good, however, some creativity is needed - there is a separate bathroom from the house (you may have to hide behind sheets if no one is to see you before the ceremony!), there is electricity but no A/C (bring fans!), and there is a small kitchen (several caterers have made it possible). The main disadvantage is that Woodburn must close by 11:00 (something to plan for when having late evening wedding). The people were very nice to work with during the wedding planning. My only complaint is that the Woodburn volunteers were not as professional on the day of the wedding. Woodurn is very popular, so be sure to book your day early!
  • C
    Cindy Married on 06/12/2010
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    This is a very beautiful venue, I could not image my wedding anywhere else. They offer a very good value compared to other venues in the area plus all of the money is used to maintain this beautiful historic home. They are very protective of the grounds and of course the house so you have to be aware of the rules and make sure all your guest are also aware of them to make sure the day goes smooth. The volunteers are all very nice and for the most part professional, my only complaint about this venue is that a couple of the volunteers while watching our ceremony stood in front of one of the video camera that had been placed on the porch on the back side of the house. I hope this helpful I would recommend this venue to anyone willing to brave an outdoor wedding.
  • User1767795 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    Was a beautiful vendue and had a good price but nothing comes with it so you have to provide or have vendors for everything
  • K
    Kayleigh Married on 11/05/2011
    Rating 3.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    What a pretty venue! We were so please with how things turned out.

    I scored low on value because it's a tad overpriced considering that you have limited hours and they don't provide any tables/chairs. The lack of flexibility is known before you sign the contract. It's a historic home so there are just things you can't do. I don't love that they aren't flexible about the number of hours or how late you can be there. Professionalism was great until the day of the wedding. I had told them that it was a formal wedding and to please have staff wear black accordingly. They were in bright clothing. They were also not considerate of photos being taken with the house in the background. They are in a LOT of pictures which is very frustrating. They stood on the back porch during the ceremony which I found inappropriate since the wedding part comes out from under the back porch. They were in plain sight.

    They (mainly Jackie) were great about responding to emails! Every question was answered timely.

    A wonderful venue!