Willow Creek Farm & Winery Reviews

34 | Cape May, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for Willow Creek Farm & Winery

Recommended by 97%

34
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

12 User photos

Willow Creek Farm & Winery 1
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 2
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 3
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 4
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 5
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 6
Willow Creek Farm & Winery 7
+ 6
Sort by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved my wedding at Willow creek and so did all our guests! Everyone loved the unique venue in Cape May. The wedding was extremely well run and followed our timeline to a tee; Kevin was the architect to it all.

    Sent on 01/01/2015
  • M

    Mandi · Married on 10/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Willow Creek Winery was for many reasons the perfect location and vendor for our October wedding. Having grown up in Cape May I was familiar with most of the wedding vendors in town. After visiting with them and not finding exactly what we were looking for we met with Willow Creek. We had a fairly large guest list and needed a large room to accommodate us. From the first appointment, we knew we wanted to have our ceremony and reception there. We felt like we were in good hands as Kevin seemed highly experienced conducting weddings on top of his knowledge of wine. Kevin helped us from beginning to end with every detail. From helping to find us a tent for our ceremony days before since the rain wasn't going anywhere to running a smooth sit down dinner. The food was fantastic, fresh and of definite quality. The grounds are stunningly gorgeous and were lush with grape leaves in October, perfect for pictures. Willow Creek has a rustic, yet elegant feel with it's wood beams mixed with it's gorgeous crystal chandeliers. The staff was phenomenal, friendly and professional offereing help every step of the way. I wouldn't have changed anything about our wedding except for the weather and even our guests said they loved how cozy and safe they felt inside from the storm. We could not take advantage of the lush vines on that day, however our photographer(Inspire Me Imagery) and Willow Creek allowed us to come back a month later and get the photos we were hoping for. Willow Creek Winery is the perfect wedding location for both large and small weddings in beautiful Cape May.

    Sent on 12/29/2014
  • User4682127 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You will find no more enchanting or customizable location in Southern New Jersey. (Not everyone likes the wall colors at other venues in Cape May) It is picturesque, serene, elegant, rustic, and breathtaking on normal days. It has a wow factor we spotted immediately when we walked in and saw the amazing chandeliers (truthfully I saw the large bar that I knew could accommodate our large wedding party)

    One of the great features is the options this venue has. There is a large outdoor bar for a cocktail reception, a large enough space to do everything inside, well designed grounds for outdoor ceremonies, parking, space for buses, and fantastic pictures inside or out in the vines. They helped us to set up everything exactly as we wanted it for our big day.

    The greatest feature though is the staff. Our planner met with us in person anytime we wanted and also responded to e-mails and phones calls. The day of the wedding if there were any hiccups we weren't aware of them, nor our guests. We can say we had a perfect experience on the day of our wedding. I thought it was really special that the staff made me feel like they wanted us to have as perfect a day as we did. I don't know if I am just easily tricked, but I think the staff genuinely was happy for us as well. They behaved like our parents would have if they were in charge of setting the tables, or serving the drinks, and cutting the cake.

    That is another fantastic feature. You can go back to your venue and enjoy it again and again. Its not a big ball room in the back of a hotel, or a convention center filled with trade shows. It is a beautiful farm with great wine (Do yourself a favor a get the sangria bar option), great food, and delightful views. We go anytime we are in the area and relive a small part of our day. We will bring out baby daughter and family for years.

    Thank you Willow Creek for giving us the best wedding present of a perfect day!

    Sent on 01/10/2015
  • D

    Devin · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Willow Creek created my dream wedding! The day couldnt have been more perfect. The Southern Mansion did a great job catering the food! Every detail was exactly what I wanted! Right down to the home style mac n' cheese!

    Sent on 12/27/2014
  • T

    talia · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was the very first bride to have a wedding at Willow Creek. It definitely made us a little nervous, but they did it flawlessly. Being a local and in the business, I absolutely made Kevin Celli work for his money! We had about 250 guests. Kevin completely came through for us on our wedding day and made it one of the best weddings Cape May has ever seen. Everything went perfectly (aside from the weather) and I couldn't have asked for more. The staff was amazing. The acoustics of the room worked really well with the INCREDIBLE band we chose (BLT). Food was wonderful and the drinks were flowing all night. The party never stopped.

    It is hard to find a venue that does such an amazing job. If I had to do it all over again, I wouldn't change a thing. It is the most picturesque venue in South Jersey. I would recommend Willow Creek to anyone looking for a classy venue that will give you a party to remember!

    Since the wedding, Willow Creek is a place we visit often. It has become such a wonderful addition to this small town. Fire pit Friday's are my favorite day of the week. It's an added bonus that Willow Creek is also dog friendly when sitting at the outside bar. It is also place I recommend to everyone that walks into our family business. Everyone will fall in love with Willow Creek Winery.

    Sent on 12/26/2014
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/28/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    unforgettable wedding 9/28/18

    From start to finish our entire wedding planning and event experience with Willow Creek was amazing! Ariella worked with us every step of the way to answer any questions I had in the process in a timely manner and facilitated productive check in meetings that made it easy for us to deliver the information they needed to hold a unforgettable ceremony and reception. The day of everything went smoothly thanks to the event staff's attention to detail. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and the food from Southern Mansion catering was amazing too. We received so many compliments from guests on the beauty of the space saying it was the best wedding they have been to and they didn't know New Jersey had wineries like this. It was such a memorable night for everyone that couldn't have gone better!

    Sent on 12/20/2018
  • A

    adria · Married on 10/29/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is amazing! The setting is gorgeous all year round - surrounded by vineyards and trees - perfect for the ceremony and cocktail hour. It is set far back on the farm, making it very private with plenty of space. The ballroom is large (plenty of room to dance and sit comfortably), clean, and beautiful. The staff is also the best! They are so efficient and attentive. The food came out quickly and hot. The winery functions a little differently then the typical venue, which requires some extra planning, patience, and costs, but, I knew with confidence that once the big day came, everything would go smoothly. Our wedding day was perfect!

    Sent on 11/17/2016
  • E

    Emily · Married on 08/11/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so grateful to have chosen Willow Creek Winery for our wedding. It was absolutely a dream come true! Not only is the winery naturally gorgeous, but Kevin and his staff were professional, organized, attentive and genuinely delighted to share this special day with us. We had our ceremony outside (at sunset, with the vines in the background) and our cocktail hour around the outdoor bar. The tasting room was transformed into a truly elegant and romantic space for the reception. Kevin was a joy to work with during the entire planning process. Our guests were blown away by every aspect of the wedding from the venue to the dinner. Their caterer, the Southern Mansion, is top-notch; the food was delicious! We give Willow Creek our highest recommendation for celebrating a wedding.

    Sent on 08/25/2016
  • S

    sandra · Married on 09/22/2018

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Disappointing.

    Our daughter's wedding was held at Willow Creek Winery and our experience was extremely disappointing.
    *The grape vines, patio bar, firepit and chandeliers are lovely. The menus options are extensive.
    *The planning process was inefficient and we were left with many questions after meetings. Their Event Director (ED) wasn't prepared for meetings. She sat in front of her laptop and waited for us to ask questions.
    *Despite paying $3500 for a 30" early start, the cocktail party started 10 minutes late since they were not ready for us.
    *They agreed to set up rented Champagne glasses on the coasters we bought. When we questioned the plain wine glasses there the ED said we didn't pay them to use the Champagne glasses. Petty.
    *The day before, our planner asked them to clean the fireplace, which was covered in dust/ debris. When our florist came to set up it was still filthy. The floors had food and debris from the night before. Our planner asked them to sweep up and was met with scowls. The squashed pastry by the cake table they blamed on our baker was there before he arrived.
    *They were inefficient at getting the people into the event and didn't point guests to their seats. Team members just stood around, including the ED. Our planners had to do most of this. It took forever to get the meals out. They waited until all toasts and blessing were done to get the entree orders. They were supposed to serve the head tables with drinks but didn't. My filet was overcooked/dry. WC said the steaks would be larger than the ones at the tasting. They were smaller. The groom said his was like eating roast beef. Embarrassing. When I complained about dinner service, the ED blamed it on the cocktail party, which was their fault. No ownership of anything. Guests gave the food mixed reviews. Everyone liked the appetizers. The meals, especially the filets, were inconsistent with some getting larger, nicely done steaks, and others much smaller.
    *At planning, we asked them to serve the vendors when they served guests so that the band and the photographers could get back out there. They agreed but at the event, they refused. This delayed the band getting back in and the energy in the room dropped.
    *We made thank you hang tags for the wine bottle favors. Our planner offered to set them up several times. WC said they would do it. It wasn't done at 9:30 when some of our older guests were leaving. They had to leave without a favor.
    *During the event there were servers and team members standing around. In the photos from the photo booth we were surprised to see pictures of the WC staff. They didn't have the time to run our event professionally, but had the time to play around. Our planner overheard the ED say to one of her staff, 'Let's get this thing over with'. Our daughter's wedding was an inconvenience and they weren't committed to make it a success.
    *We had a sparkler send-off at 10:30 PM, but we had the winery until 11 PM. We didn't want them to clear things, as guests had full drinks they expected to be there when they went back in. They also closed down the bar early, despite the fact they started our event late. When confronted the ED said, 'I didn't close the bar.' The lights were out and the bartenders gone. They shorted us at the beginning and the end.

    We did contact the venue owner and they agreed to check into our complaints and get back to us. 3 weeks later, we have not heard back. Stay away.

    Sent on 10/15/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review