Wiegand's Lake Park Reviews

19 | Novelty, OH
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Wiegand's Lake Park

Recommended by 99%

19

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have pictured a more beautiful, perfect wedding. The staff at Weigand's Lake made the process so easy. They think of everything, and go out of their way to make sure everything run smoothly. We had zero stress. I highly recommend this venue to any nature-loving couple that is looking for a private, peaceful, laidback wedding. The cost (which was MUCH cheaper than average weddings) was totally worth it. Love you, Wendy and Bill! -J+T

    Sent on 10/14/2017
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot say enough about the service we received at Wiegand's Lake Park for our wedding and reception. From the moment we met Wendy and her staff, we knew this would be a great fit for our event. Wendy welcomed us to the property on several occasions to meet, walk the grounds, and discuss our event thoroughly, as often as needed. She and her accommodating staff were extremely thorough and paid attention to even the smallest details to make our day one of a kind. The day before, and day of the event went very smoothly, even when tension and nerves were at a high level - Wendy talked us through it with ease and reassurance. All of our guests are still raving about the beautiful property, quality of service, and great food, even days after the event. The grounds are meticulously kept and a sense of welcome and comfort was given to all who attended. We could not be happier with our experience and all of the memories (and friends!) we made at Wiegand's. They truly made us feel welcome and helped create a wonderfully unique day we will never forget!

    Sent on 10/11/2016
  • User6892225 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy made our day absolutely beautiful! The park was amazing and our guests have said that it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been to. We are forever grateful and we will be going back to relive our wedding day over and over. Thank you so much, Wendy!

    Sent on 06/27/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy spent a lot of time with me, the bride, and our families making sure every detail was covered for our ceremony and reception. The grounds are spectacular and well maintained, her crew is friendly and helpful, the homemade food was delicious and got a lot of compliments. The selection of the menu and how your wedding day can be ran is pretty cool; it's not often that you get options - dining hall, rustic ball room, picnic, etc. I can see this venue having something for everyone. You can choose your setup to match your personality, style, and preference. They definitely go above and beyond to make everyone happy, comfortable, and welcome. Many of our guests had not been to this venue and we heard nothing but good things about it from them, after they attended our wedding. Our day was better than we ever anticipated. I recommend this venue to anyone and everyone, I know our 180 guests will recommend this place to others as well;everyone left well fed, happy, impressed, and had a good time. If you are browsing this venue as a possible option for your wedding, you should definitely go see the grounds, meet Wendy, and look at their online wedding planner booklet to explore the possible options for your day there.

    Sent on 10/14/2015
  • User4528811 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with our wedding at Wiegand's Lake Park. The beautiful scenery and fun atmosphere was the perfect fit for our families. Being the first time many of our family members had met, I loved how the guests had outdoor activities like corn hole and paddle boating to get to know each other and entertain themselves while the bridal party was taking photographs. Our guests *could not stop* raving at how wonderful the venue was, and they're still raving about it. Also, the food was excellent! My husband and I are craving those chicken and ribs!

    Wendy is such a kind and caring lady and her entire staff was incredibly helpful throughout the entire process. I recommend Wiegand's Lake Park for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • User4078888 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Wiegand's Lake Park while searching through venues on WeddingWire. After visiting Wiegand's Lake Park in person, I was stunned by how beautiful the grounds were. From beginning to end of my wedding planning the Wiegand's Lake Park staff was excellent to work with, being both friendly and professional. The food served was delicious, and the menu options were dishes that guests actually wanted to eat! I heard from numerous guests that my wedding was "the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to," and "the most fun wedding" due to the entertainment activities provided such as paddle boats, corn-hole game, etc. If you are wanting a beautiful, and natural look to your special day, this is the perfect venue for you!

    Sent on 07/02/2015
  • User4569129 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Day was perfect. The food was excellent I had no complaints from any of the guests. The venue was absolutly beautiful the grounds and the building.

    Sent on 11/24/2014
  • User4485599 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Wiegand's Lake Park are amazing. They go out of their way to make your special day great. We were hopping to have an outside ceremony, however mother nature had other plans. 15 minutes before the ceremony it started to sprinkle. The staff moved everything inside very quickly and a good thing too because in the middle of the ceremony it hailed. They took care of all our needs. The food is amazing and there was plenty of it. Again can't thank them enough for what they did to make our day special.

    Sent on 10/19/2014
  • C

    Cathy · Married on 07/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our family reunion was a huge success. Thanks to the staff @ Wiegand's Lake Park. Everything was beautiful and the food was delicious. We had a wonderful time.

    Sent on 08/13/2014
  • K

    kelly · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy is absoutly amazing! Wonderful to work with and i truly could not have asked for a better place for my wedding reception. The place is well taken care of, absoutly beautiful, and located in the perfect setting. We had a great time

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • V

    Virginia · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have asked for a better experience. This was our 3rd daughter to get married and it was the best so far. Everyone there is more than helpful and will do anything we needed t make the day great for all involved. Would use this venue again. Food was wonderful.

    Sent on 11/06/2012
  • D

    Dexter · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whether you live 3 or 3000 miles from Northeast Ohio, Wiegand's Lake Park is the best place for your special day. The park and venues attached are abosolutely beautiful to host any of your guests and to take pictures. Wendy Wiegand and her staff provided us and our 200+ guests with amazing service. They set up everything for us as well as catered the entire event. The food was fresh and delicious. Everything was punctual, organized, and detailed. Wendy and her staff were completely approachable, flexible and accessible when they were needed. I fully endorse Wiegand's Lake Park and would highly recommend it to anyone.

    Shorters: 10.13.12

    Sent on 11/26/2012
  • T

    Bonnie · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendy responded to every need immediately. Her staff was very efficient and friendly to our guests. The food was excellent and plentiful causing many favorable comments from our guests.

    The park is a beautiful venue allowing all formal pictures to be taken there without having to transport the wedding party to a park.

    We were pleased in all areas and highly recommend Wiegand Lake Park.

    Sent on 10/01/2011
  • C

    Carly · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Right off the bat, we knew we wanted an outdoor wedding. Florescent lighting and cheesy decor didn't appeal to our idea of a celebration, so we were set on nature to be the backdrop of our day. Wiegand's Lake Park gave us just that; from the sparkling man-made lake to the lush, green softball field. We immediately knew that this would be the perfect destination for our celebration.

    So we planned all summer long. We designed our own invitations and decorations, and planned out each of the nine hours our guests would spend at the park. Throughout the often tedious and mentally draining process of self-wedding-planning, Wendy served as a helping hand. She was our sounding board and guiding force. She catered to the wishful details of our plans, despite the cost and effort it would take. She arranged a meeting at her home when our parents had concerns about the financial end of things and treated us as family. Wendy was a true pleasure to work with every step of the way!


    Wendy made sure that every concern had a solution. When we worried about how our elderly and injured relatives would get around on the often uneven grounds of the park, she provided us with a small vehicle that could transport them from the wedding deck to the playground for pictures and to the kickball field to watch the game. She made sure we thought of what to do in case of rain for every single decoration and event of the day. She helped us think about what kind of snacks would keep people happy until dinner at 4pm. And when the bathrooms that were planned for the dancehall weren't quite ready in time for our day, she rented the most amazing private bathrooms you could dream of (because no one could call something that nice a port-o-potty).


    Finally, on August 29, 2009, our day came amidst stormy forecasts. While our nerves nearly drove us crazy, Wendy helped keep them in check with her positive, yet realistic attitude. She made us feel confident in our rain option. Luckily that was all for nothing! The gray clouds parted ways and let the sun shine down just minutes before our intimate ceremony on the brand new wedding deck overlooking Wiegand's lake.

    After that, everything fell into place, and all because of Wendy's pleasant and courteous crew. They allowed us to seat 50 of our dearest relatives on the wedding deck by transporting all of the parks benches to that one spot. Once the rest of the guests arrived, they were greeted by a member of Wendy's staff who took a picture of each guest as they arrived and gave them a schedule of the day. Weigand's Lake Park offered our guests a variety of activities; from basketball and volleyball, to cornhole and horseshoes. The diverse options that the park offered us were enough to keep 250 guests occupied for hours on end!

    By 2:00, it was time to round everybody up for a game of kickball on the field. It was the highlight of our day and a truly photogenic moment! Following kickball was our dinner buffet, with a menu customized to our liking. All of our guests were served promptly, and complimented how great the food was. Wendy even arranged her freezer so that we could fit the 500 mini ice cream sandwiches from a local ice cream company inside that were to be served for dessert. After finishing their delicious meals and dessert, everyone headed up to the dance hall for the remainder of our evening.

    We can't explain how pleased we are with the results of our wedding. Wendy and her crew complemented the amazing grounds they operate with a very personable, caring approach that created a very "human" experience for us. What was planned as being the most memorable of all days for us became just that, and it's all due to the incredible service you get from Wiegand's Lake Park.

    Sent on 03/24/2010
  • M

    Katie · Married on 08/01/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was on August 1st, 2009. Everything was so beautiful. The Park was immaculate, and the wedding deck was breathtaking. Our friends and family are still talking about how great the day was. We got married on the wedding deck, and then had our dinner in the top level of the dance hall. After dinner, a portion of the tables were moved away to make the dance floor. It was a hot night, but I didn't even notice because of all the fun we were having. It was nice for our guests to hang out and go on paddle boats and participate in light activities between the ceremony and the reception. If I could do it over, there is nothing that I would change, especially with the venue it's self. Thanks again so much for making memories for us!

    Sent on 03/16/2010
  • P

    Paula · Married on 09/04/1994

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wiegand's Lake is a beautiful setting for a wedding! Ours was many (yikes-15!) years ago, long before they had added the fabulous deck on the lake, but to this day I still have friends who tell us how fun, unique and beautiful our wedding and reception were. The staff is friendly and genuine - they really appreciate you being there - and are very flexible with your needs and requests. The grounds provide a myriad of different natural backgrounds for photographs.

    Sent on 03/11/2010
  • M

    Marianna · Married on 05/25/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We couldn't have dreamed of a more beautiful & joyful wedding and reception. Wiegand's is full of gorgeous & breath taking scenery - that makes for many beautiful backgrounds for pictures.
    Wendy Weigand, the owner, surely did everything she could to make our wedding day as perfect as she could, with all our considerations in mind. She's personabke, friendly, has an amazing personality & is understanding to whatever bazar detail you want! She answered my phone calls every time, answering my questions & concerns with excitement. Wendy had great recommendations & helped orchestrate all the little details- & everything worked out smoothly & beautifully.
    We had multiple family members say "it was the most beautiful wedding ceremony" "i am almost 50 and this is the most fun wedding that I had ever been to." "This place is a hidden gem of north east ohio!"
    Wendy & her staff took care of all the food preparation. We had appetizers outside & a full sit down meal In the dinning hall. The value on the venue & caitering combined is incredible! The food was all fresh & completely delicious! I recall Wendy calling me with updates 2 days before the wedding as she was shopping for our food! Many of our friends and family had complemented the wedding food! We recommend the famous chicken & her asparagus!
    We came up to the banquet hall for cake cutting & dancing. I thought that would be an awkward transition, but it worked out really well. and the guests enjoyed the change in scenery! The staff were quick to bring up decorations from down stairs, such as my centerpeice flowers. -which brought the ambiance of dinner to the upstairs banquet hall. We had a band play on the stage in the banquet hall- it worked perfectly!
    I would highly recommend weigand's lake park- it truley is a hidden GEM in the north east ohio area! I wish we could do it again!

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off, this venue is gorgeous, and perfect for an outdoor ceremony. We had our ceremony on the wedding deck, which is an artfully constructed wooden deck, with a picturesque tree growing in the middle of it, overlooking Wiegand's Lake, surrounded by flowers in an intimate nook of the park. (Plus, it's a private park, so no spectators!) There are dozens of spots throughout the park that are perfect for pre and post-ceremony photos with your photographer.

    The reception was held at the park as well, in their adorable rustic ballroom, which is complete with tulle and twinkle lights in the rafters, any Pinterest-lover's ideal look. The ballroom has a large porch which was perfect for providing an indoor-outdoor experience (not to mention a great place to enjoy a celebratory cigar!)

    Wiegand's Lake Park offers catering, and their food and service was top-notch. The staff there is truly impressive. Wendy, the park owner, is all about the details, and is truly invested in making your dream wedding a reality. She was flexible and accommodating.

    Overall, I highly recommend this venue!!

    Sent on 08/08/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/01/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Wiegand's Lake Park is a beautiful and unique venue for a wedding. The grounds were peaceful and immaculately maintained. The natural scenery provided ample opportunities for pictures. Wiegand's staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. They helped us to create a ceremony and reception that truly fit our personalities, including a custom dinner menu. The food was delicious, which was obvious when many guests returned to the line for seconds even though they said they were stuffed. The only area for improvement that we noticed was the lag in communication when we initially tried to contact them about using the venue (this is the only reason we did not rate them 5/5 in every category). It took us several weeks and many phone calls and emails (even some Facebook messaging) in order to get a hold of them. However, once we met in person to make the initial plans for our day, communication was much smoother. Overall, Wiegand's was the perfect place for a beautiful and rustic wedding. The price was significantly cheaper than every other venue in the area, even though Wiegand's had many more options for both ceremonies and receptions. I would recommend Wiegand's over and over again to anyone looking for a beautiful outdoor venue!

    Sent on 07/18/2016