West Branch Angler Resort Reviews

67 | Hancock, NY
See photos, pricing and details

67 Reviews for West Branch Angler Resort

Recommended by 100%

67
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

18 User photos

West Branch Angler Resort 1
West Branch Angler Resort 2
West Branch Angler Resort 3
West Branch Angler Resort 4
West Branch Angler Resort 5
West Branch Angler Resort 6
West Branch Angler Resort 7
+ 12
Sort by:
  • D

    Daniela · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely had an amazing weekend. Everyone is very helpful and pleasant. Always there if you need something. Food is excellent. We are so happy with our wedding and our stay there!

    Sent on 07/23/2017
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The West Branch Angler & Resort was truly a dream wedding venue! My husband and I can't stop talking about how perfect our wedding weekend was, everyone on staff, especially Matt who runs the show, was incredibly helpful and accommodating from day 1 of planning. This resort is nothing like you'll ever see at a traditional wedding (which is one of the reasons we loved it so much!), our family and friends were there the entire weekend staying on premises and thought of it so much more of a vacation for them with our wedding mixed in between - which was truly the best part! Everyone had such a great time and people have talked non stop how it was one of the most fun weddings they'd ever been to. The food was amazing the entire weekend, the HUGE bonfire the night before the wedding is a must for any one looking to have fun, we cannot talk enough about our experience. We love this place so much and my husband and I are already talking to our friends and families and plan to visit every year. We love you West Branch - thank you for the wedding of our dreams!

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt and his team are simply amazing! They were there for us every step of the way and always in contact! The service from the staff was outstanding, anytime we needed something they had the answer or would rush to get us what was needed. I couldn't be happier with this venue, I am so glad we found this gem!

    Sent on 06/29/2017
  • L

    Lukas · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I do not even know where to begin, the service that we received here, especially from Matt, was beyond exceptional! Not only is the venue one of the most beautiful places in upstate New York, but Matt and the staff go above and beyond to make sure no stone is left unturned, and that every tiny detail is handled with perfection. My wife and I worked with Matt for ten months, and as stressful as planning a wedding can be, he is the reason that it all went smoothly. When we first started planning the wedding we thought we were going to need a wedding planner, but Matt is so good at his job that we dismissed that idea as soon as we started working with him. He has been doing this for so long that he has seen it all, and has a recommendations for everything you could possibly need for the wedding from your other vendors, to music, and anything else you do not know to think of. No matter what accommodations or requests we had Matt and his staff at the West Branch found a way to make it happen for us. As for the wedding weekend itself, Matt was there every step of the way. We held the rehearsal dinner there, followed by an amazing BBQ and massive bonfire, and the guests who came said it was one of the best nights they've ever had. On the wedding day it felt like Matt was simultaneously in three places at once making sure everything went smoothly, and that the needs of my wife and I were number one, and that we were always being taken care of. I can not emphasize enough how incredible this venue is for a wedding, if you are the outdoorsy type, then stop looking because you are not going to find a better place than this. All night long guests kept coming up to us saying that in all their life, this was the best wedding they had ever been to, some even said it was better than their own, if those are the words you want to hear at your wedding, do not wait another day, book this place, I promise you will no regret it!

    Sent on 11/02/2016
  • G

    Gillian · Married on 10/15/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend any couple looking for a beautiful laid back venue to have their wedding at West Branch. Every request was fulfilled and every detail was perfected. The pictures do not do this place justice it is absolutely beautiful. Our guests are still commenting on how beautiful the cabins were and how amazing the food was. Matt was wonderful to work with and was always there right when you needed him. The rest of the staff did a great job as well and were very accommodating. The bonfire is a must! We had ours on a pretty chilly evening but after a few minutes by the fire everyone was warmed up and even taking their coats off. I wish we could do it all over again! The quote of the weekend was "Best Time Ever" and it sure was!

    Sent on 11/01/2016
  • J

    Julia · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It's taken a while to write the review because the entire month was crazy. The day before the wedding my future in-laws got into a car accident, needless to say the day of the wedding was complicated. There were so many mixed emotions, but everyone at West Branch handled it wonderfully. They were so organized, warm, and sympathetic! We could not have asked for anything more. If West Branch can handle this type of situation then they are fully capable of handling anything that might happen on your wedding day!

    Sent on 10/06/2016
  • A

    Alex · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was absolutely perfect. Gorgeous setting and Matt was the most helpful and pleasant person to work and celebrate with. We could not have picked a better venue and host for our wedding!

    Sent on 10/14/2016
  • E

    Elise · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booking our wedding at the West Branch Angler Resort was hands down the best decision we made while wedding planning! Matt and his whole staff our absolutely incredible and made us feel like family through every step of the process. Matt is so organized, personable, and truly a master of many trades. After our first meeting with him we knew immediately that this was where we were going to get married. It says a lot about a staff when a stressed out bride is put completely at ease and trusts them to bring everything together. Our dinner and bonfire on Friday was perfect, breakfast every morning was perfect, our wedding and reception were perfect, even the flower arrangements that staff put together last minute when our flower order was cancelled were perfect. I can not begin to thank you all enough for everything you did for us in the scorching heat AND always with a smile on your face! :-)

    Sent on 09/26/2016
  • K

    Kelcie · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved having our wedding here. From when we booked the venue to our wedding day we had great service and I loved every minute of the planning with Matt. It's a beautiful setting. We had a fun wedding weekend. A lot of family came and stayed in the cabins. I cannot think of anything that I would have changed.

    Sent on 09/20/2016
  • D

    Dustin · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would definitely recommend Matt and his staff to do a wedding. They did a phenomenal job setting up and working with us to make our day special.

    Sent on 09/20/2016
  • J

    Jinny · Married on 10/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After being engaged for 4 yrs, my husband & I decided in January 2015 to get married that Fall. When first engaged, we made a list of features we were hoping to have at our wedding: a weekend event, beautiful woodsy scenery, by a body of water, onsite lodging, a bonfire. When we started planning, we thought we would have to compromise on what we originally wanted. We found West Branch during our extensive internet hunt & arranged to visit in late January, when it was closed for the winter (& incidentally the day after a giant blizzard). When we walked into the reception room, the giant fireplace had a roaring fire & half of the room was set up with banquet tables adorned with votive candles. It was breathtaking! The space itself was stunning & didn't need much more to make a huge impact. Brian & I were touched that the staff set this up for us so we could get a true feel for the space. We toured the grounds & saw the cabins with the amazing staff digging out paths as we went. We were sold on the spot (1st & only venue visited). Matt & the staff of West Branch made the entire planning process seamless with excellent vendor recommendations & logistic suggestions. Matt struck the perfect balance of letting us know what they have done that has worked/not worked while still being open to our ideas. Our wedding weekend went off without a hitch, mainly because any hitch that came up, Matt had a solution for! From using our ceremony tent panels to enclose the open pavilion for our welcome dinner (it was a cold!), to placing our centerpieces/photos in the room to serving hot apple cider while guests waited for our outdoor ceremony to start Matt was amazingly accommodating. West Branch was everything we hoped for in a venue and more - the bonfire we had following our welcome dinner was legendary! Many family & friends said it was the best wedding they had been to!

    Sent on 02/11/2017
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how amazing our wedding at West Branch Angler & Resort was. Matt was amazing to work with and we would not have been able to do it without him. He was always willing to work with our schedules to meet with us and made sure to accommodate to everything we wanted. He helped to make the entire weekend stress free and went above and beyond to make everything perfect. Friday night's barbeque for the Rehearsal Dinner was a great time. All of our guests had a blast. We had our ceremony at the resort by the river and it was gorgeous with all of the fall colors in the hills behind us. The reception was up at the restaurant and everyone was raving about how amazing the food and atmosphere was. Matt went out of his way to keep everything flowing smoothly, giving us nothing to worry about. We will definitely be keeping in touch with him for years to come and are so fortunate to have worked with someone so amazing. Have your wedding here! You will not be disappointed. We cannot wait to go there again to visit and spend the weekend there to relax. Absolutely gorgeous!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • User5079612 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so pleased with everything that Matt and his staff did for us to make our wedding weekend perfect. They were so welcoming and helpful throughout the entire planning process as well. Even when things went wrong on our day, Matt managed to make sure everything went smooth for us and always had alternatives to suggest so that we would be happy. The only suggestion I would offer is that they make it possible for wedding guests to book for one night. The two night minimum is costly for guests that are only planning on coming into town for one night. Again though, we were so incredibly happy with this venue and we intend to keep going back as our family grows to enjoy their delicious food and scenery.

    Sent on 10/06/2015
  • User3990791 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision we made on our wedding planning was picking West Branch. AMAZING! Matt and his staff were so helpful! Everything was decorated beautifully and everything went prefectly. Food was great, service was great, staff was great! I would highly recommend having the bonfire the day before wedding. It was a huge hit! Thank you Matt for all you did for us! We will definitely make trips to the restaurant in the future!!

    -Diane and Jake

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • J

    Jake · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    West Branch is completely awesome. Everything went really smoothly and turned out beautiful. You can't beat what you get for the price. Matt is excellent and truly cares about making your wedding experience wonderful and as stress-free as possible. We also had nothing but rave reviews from our wedding guests. I highly recommend West Branch for your wedding experience!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing place to have your wedding the staff is amazing! Matt is amazing we couldn't be happier with choosing west branch to have one of the best days of our life's!

    Sent on 09/20/2015
  • K

    Kourtni · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at West Branch was AMAZING! We had our rehearsal dinner/ BBQ there the night before as well. The set up was beautiful and the bonfire was a lot of fun! Matt was extremely accommodating anything I asked if we could do, he made it possible! The set up for the reception was BEAUTIFUL!! I could not have asked for a more perfect place to have my wedding!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 09/06/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot thank and praise Matt and his staff enough. It was worth every penny spent just for Matt alone. They handled all the decorating and details, were super flexible, supportive and responsive. Matt was always available anytime throughout the year we spent planning. The venue was immaculate, the cabins are amazing, I cannot say enough good things. They truly made our day so stress free and everything we could have dreamt of! Matt was with us every step of the way and we will be forever grateful!!

    Sent on 08/23/2015
  • C

    Christopher · Married on 08/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would highly recommend the west branch river run to anyone who is searching for a place to hold their wedding and reception. Matt really goes the extra mile to make sure everything is absolutely Perfect. The attention to every little detail, very curtious staff, beautiful ceo cabins for the bridal parties, I could just go on forever. Jackson/Swartz wedding August 2015

    Sent on 08/23/2015
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don’t even know where to start; the West Branch Resort is the perfect place to tie the knot. We had the wedding of our dreams at the West Branch Resort. Very helpful staff in planning your event, Matt was wonderful to work with. Matt is very quick to address any questions and give suggestions, SO helpful. All outdoor ceremony locations were beautiful, tucked in the mountains and on the Delaware River. We could not be happier with how our photographs turned out with the scenery. The covered outdoor deck was a hit for the cocktail hour leading to the rustic reception space. The West Branch decorates the reception space beautifully and personalizes the space however you wish. The food was fantastic; all of our guests commented how delicious their meals were. We also utilized the on-site pavilion for our rehearsal dinner BBQ and the tiki torch lit bonfire following dinner. Everyone was impressed with the huge bonfire the resort puts on. Lastly, many of our guests stayed in the on-site cabins which were amazing. We would recommend this venue to everyone! All of our guests loved the venue and had a great time. We could not be happier with this venue and our wedding. Worth every penny

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Matt is amazing to work with and made the weekend everything we had dreamed of!! Thank you!!!!!

    Sent on 08/07/2015
  • K

    Katie · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue! We had a fantastic weekend celebrating our wedding. The setting is beautiful and the food was delicious! Matt and his staff at West Branch are top notch! I wouldn't have changed a thing about the weekend- everything was perfect! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    West Branch Resort is a beautiful venue with an amazing view and an even more amazing staff. From the first e-mail all the way to the next morning after the wedding, Matt was helpful and suggestive with everything and anything you could possibly need. The staff was professional and very efficient with setting everything up and catering to the guests every need. All my guests were raving about how amazing the food was and how beautiful and secluded the entire resort and restaurant is. I am highly recommending this place to anyone who is looking for a place to eat, drink, fish, or just get away for the weekend! It's beautiful in every way and worth every penny you may spend.

    Sent on 07/12/2015
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Choosing a venue might be the most important decision you make about your wedding. That being said, my wife and I agree that choosing West Branch as our venue was the best decision we could have made.

    The staff were incredible. The most thoughtful people you could imagine-even the woman helping with breakfast every morning surprised us with a very sweet wedding gift that included treats for our dog! Matt, is especially wonderful. He was our main point of contact and helped us think through every detail from start to finish. He is an honest and hard working man who was responsive to our many emails and phone calls, no matter how silly the question. When we showed up for the weekend we did not have to worry about a thing. He is organized, calm, professional, and maintained a sense of humor through it all.

    The food was exceptional! The Chef is a truly genuine man who was willing to make whatever we wanted, and made a point to congratulate us the night of our wedding.

    The Cabins are beautiful and clean. You are in the middle of the Catskill mountains, on the Delaware River. We made an entire weekend out of the celebration and everyone stayed on site. Our dog had the run of the place, people brought their kids who ran around and swam in the pool, and we even had a touch rugby game before the rehearsal! On Friday we had a BBQ and then followed a path lit by tiki torches into the woods for the largest bonfire I have ever seen. It was fantastic and everyone could not stop talking about how much fun they had. Best of all we did not have to do, or worry about, a thing!

    My wife is an introvert and would have loved to elope, but as soon as we arrived at West Branch the anxieties were gone. We had the best weekend and the wedding of our dreams. We have Matt and staff to thank for making it all happen. If you want a wedding in the mountains and to feel surrounded by loved ones, there is no better place to choose.

    Sent on 08/09/2015
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply amazing! It rained and poured on our wedding day at the West Branch, but Matt and his staff still made sure it was absolutely perfect for us. Matt's dedication to making your big day exactly what you want is unbelievable. He was there every step of the way and truly put our minds at ease. We knew that everything would come together perfectly at the West Branch. Truly, I think what initially sold us on having our wedding at the West Branch was the people. Everyone who works there is aiming to make your day perfect! The beautiful landscape, immaculate cabins, and delicious food were a bonus. We highly recommend weddings at the West Branch for anyone looking to get away and fully enjoy their wedding weekend. Let Matt and the crew at the West Branch make your day everything you imagined. We can't wait to go back for a visit!

    Sent on 07/12/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review