14 Reviews for Weddings A La Heart

4.7
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Vow Renewal (1)
Customized Vows (1)
Licensed (1)
Jewish (1)
No Denomination (1)
14 Weddings A La Heart Reviews
Sort by:

1.0

Beware....Libby sounds sweet when you first talk with her, but be really careful dealing with her. She claimed she wouldn't continue the dialogue until I signed her contract, but when I asked about aligning on the budget before proceeding further, she turned on me. She never invoiced me (or communicated a total), yet still charged us for a deposit after she promised she was not going to. Her way of doing business was alarming and we have a ton of experience with event planning...The sad loss of deposit aside, I'm so happy we have someone else doing this special occasion...Her inauthenticity, difficulty to work with (and honestly...temper) would have created a dark cloud over an otherwise happy event. Maybe she used to be a great planner, but our experience was so negative, I'd hate for anyone else to have to go through it. I'm beyond grateful we backed away from using her in time.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Cassidy, 4/8/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
Services Used: Vow Renewal
5.0

My husband secretly planned a vow renewal ceremony for our 40th anniversary, at the Four Seasons in Kona. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful the event turned out to be. Libby performed a beautiful ceremony and touched upon so many inspirational moments of married life. Happy tears were shed and big smiles were shared. Libby helped create a beautiful memory for both my husband and myself. Thank you Libby!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Joanne & Dennis, 4/8/18, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Libby responded immediately online and even met our plane at the airport after a long journey. We had the loss of i.d. which made it stressful for us initially but she helped with ideas and reassurance. She is very detailed oriented and that helped in forethought about anything and everything. Besides that, her energy is amazing and we couldn't have had a better experience with her. I would encourage others to meet the photographer ahead of time to see if their style is what the bride and groom are looking for.

Profile Picture Joan, 3/6/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
5.0

I can't emphasize enough what a joy it was working with Rev. Libby. She is a kind soul and a perfect organizer. She worked very hard for us and made the whole process very smooth, even with an almost unheard of weather-related reschedule. The beach location she chose was spectacular, and the photographer she arranged was personable and did a great job. The hair and makeup girl was wonderful and made Laura feel very comfortable. In short, every detail was taken care of with the utmost care and  professionalism.  Her delivery of the ceremony was very heartfelt and we will never forget our special day with Libby!  She even made the wedding license process painless. All we had to do was show up on the beach on our wedding day with the rings and everything was perfect!  Keith and Laura Carr, Mahomet, Illinois

Photo for Weddings A La Heart Review
Profile Picture Keith, 10/25/17, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Flowers, Officiant, Photography
5.0

Michael and I were married by Reverend Libby on May 27, 2017 at sunset on the Big Island at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. This was our second attempt at tying the knot. (The first attempt was back on Labor Day weekend September 2017 when two hurricanes in Hawaii caused our resort to close. We had to cancel everything and reschedule.) We had been speaking with Reverend Libby on an ongoing basis since July 2015 when we had originally started our planning. It was important for us to also have someone officiate our ceremony that had experience marrying same-sex couples. When we first spoke to her, we could tell she was a very kind, caring and connected person. Connected in the sense we felt like we had known her for a lifetime. She truly wanted to get to know us as couple to ensure our ceremony was tailored to just us. She provided us with a rough draft of what she was going to say in our ceremony and told us we could add or remove things. We are not religious by any means, so we ended up taking out all religious references from the ceremony. She told us that this was all about us and never pressured us about it. When we first met in person at the rehearsal, it was like we were seeing an old friend. The next time we saw her was the following day at the wedding. We will never forgot walking down the pathway filled with white orchids and looking up at our Ohia Wood Arch with Reverend Libby standing there dressed in a beautiful white outfit. She made our ceremony extra special through her kind words and thoughtfulness in her delivery and compassion. We really felt like she was in the moment with us, speaking about a couple she had known a lifetime. Honestly I didn’t want it to end. We invited her to our wedding dinner following the ceremony and are so happy we did. I think she had a wonderful time talking with all of our guests. Reverend Libby provided us with a written copy of the ceremony to take home with us. It was yet another very special touch.

Profile Picture Kevin, 5/27/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

We couldn't have been happier with the results of our combined planning! Rev. Libby was amazing and welcoming. Ed and I have not stopped talking about our ceremony since it happened. We just received our wedding photos and video from the videographer that Rev. Libby had arranged. Even our friends and family could see the perfection that Libby helped us create for our special moment.

Libby was always one step ahead of us, ready with answers and suggestions to all of our needs. She helped us to start from one of her customized ceremonies, and grow it into something that was 100% us, presented in her special way.

Rev. Libby - Thank you again from both of us. You helped us see what "aloha" is. We are already planning our next visit to the big island. You showed us the genuine love and welcoming nature of Kona!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jason, 4/4/17, 2 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Officiant, Unique Services (Other), Wedding Planning
Services Used: Customized Vows, Licensed, Jewish, No Denomination
5.0

We had a large wedding planned in our home town, for this fall. For a couple of 50-something year olds, it became too much, too quickly! We found ourselves getting lost in attempting to please everyone, barring no expense - and then had our "Aha!" moment. We lost some deposit money for our caterer and venue, but are thankful to have found Rev. Libby with Weddings A La Heart! We made the decision to marry within the next few weeks!

Libby quickly came to our rescue. She quickly stepped into role of Wedding planner, consultant, concierge, counselor and officiant! Her beautiful spirit and friendly demeanor helped us feel at ease, at once and we knew our destination wedding to Kona, was meant to be.

Libby offered several packages, and we chose the one which fit our needs the most. We elected to have a traditional Hawaiian wedding ceremony. She assisted us with the most remarkable and heart-felt vows, and communicated with us every step of the way. She made the whole process a breeze! Libby met us at the airport - it was pouring buckets, and she stood in the rain with a golf-umbrella, to escort us to the luggage carrosel and then to our rental car tram. Two days later, she arrived at our vacation home to lay a gorgeous circle of 1,000 Orchid petals, which we were to step in, for the duration of the ceremony.

Libby blew the Conch shell 4 times, in each direction. Shared with us the wonderful history of the Ali'i and the Maile leis we wore. She sang and blessed our rings with a native Hawaiian blessing and officiated the most special, loving wedding we have ever witnessed. And it was ours!

Words really cannot express our deep gratitude, love and respect for Libby. She blessed us with her positive energy, aloha spirit and wisdom. We will always hold a place for her in our hearts, and are looking forward to returning to Kona for our anniversary...so we can reconnect. xoxo to you Rev Libby!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Gary, 5/27/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Officiant
5.0

Libby Kelson-Fulcher was wonderful to work with. It was through a long internet search that I finally found Weddings A La Heart. We had a budget friendly wedding that was put together quickly and efficiently through email. When we finally met her in Hawaii, she was warm and full of light and love. She will always be a special part of our special day - thank you Libby! Don & Lydia

Profile Picture Lydia, 9/22/15, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

Rev Libby provided excellent service and support throughout every phase of planning and execution of our destination wedding. She listened carefully and secured the perfect setting, musician, flowers, and photographer for the wedding. She also performed a personal and beautiful ceremony that incorporated special Hawaiian traditions. She even greeted us at the airport with hugs and leis! We felt very cared for and special. We couldn't be more pleased and grateful! We recommend Rev Libby and Weddings Ala Heart without reservation! Much aloha to those fortunate enough to work with her.

Profile Picture User5393744, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Officiant, Wedding Planning
5.0

YES! Rev. Libby created a stunning, personal, powerful and heart-felt ceremony with great love and flexibility for our family. The initial Skype phone meeting confirmed that she was indeed a super-special and caring officiant... and throughout a few months of planning, Rev Libby was organized, timely, accommodating and willing to help me make choices, change and adjust plans as necessary and lovingly usher us through the very special ritual that is marriage. It was so perfect and special that we were visited by honu along the shore where we were wed and during the ceremony, a rainbow appeared behind us... blessings from the sky and the oceans. Thank you, Reverend Libby.

Profile Picture Lisa & Brad, 7/15/15, 1 Review
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning
5.0

From the moment we first met Rev. Libby, we knew that she was the perfect officiant for our wedding. She radiated a warm glow of loving kindness and meaningfulness for the work we were about to do together. For years she has worked with the Four Seasons Hualalai on the Big Island (our intended venue) to officiate many weddings in their beautiful location, so she is very experienced in this area. After our first meeting, it was a real pleasure to work with Rev. Libby on customizing our vows for the occasion. She offered several excellent starting points that we then worked together to tailor to our specific wishes. She also offered to add some unique Hawaiian traditions to the ceremony, including blowing the conch shell, exchanging beautiful green leis, etc. These additions made the ceremony wonderfully memorable. And on our big day, Rev. Libby truly rose to the occasion with wonderful energy and an impassioned orchestration of our wedding ceremony. So many of our guests commented on the beauty of her delivery and the touching nature of the ceremony. Rev. Libby truly made our big day special and for that we are eternally grateful. Mahalo, Rev. Libby!

Profile Picture User5450556, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

We meet with Libby one week before our wedding day, as we talked over our wedding plans with her, she made us feel like we have known her for years! Very easy going, helpful in selecting the type of ceremony we wanted. On our wedding day, Libby showed up looking lovely,professional, helping calm ours nerves and guiding us thru our wedding vows. Beautiful lady with a big heart to make your special day perfect.
Cynthia & Michael

Profile Picture Cynthia, 2/2/15, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

I would give Rev. Libby Kelson-Fulcher my highest recommendation for a wedding officiant. Planning a wedding, even a very small one, from 5,000 miles away can be daunting. But entrusting the service to someone you have never personally met can be absolutely scary. We were given a list of approved officiants by the Four Seasons Hualalai Hotel to select from. I am sure all would have provided a very nice ceremony. But Rev. Libby included several same gender couples on her website. We wanted someone who would not just perform our marriage, but would celebrate it.

We decided not to write our own vows. Rev. Libby sent us many samples and examples to help us decide on vows that were just right for us. We instructed her that we wanted a service that was simple, but dignified. Although we did not want a "Hawaiian" wedding, she encouraged us to allow her to include some Hawaiian elements...after all, we were in Hawaii. The lei exchange and various Hawaiian blessings were beautiful and memorable.

Our wedding was absolutely perfect. Rev. Libby's service was just as we wanted: simple and dignified. Her presence is calming and joyful. Her voice soft and reassuring, her smile warm and sincere. She even had a tissue handy for unexpected tears. A printed copy of our service was a wonderful gesture. I can not think of anything I would have changed.

Profile Picture Randy, 1/7/15, 1 Review
Category: Officiant
5.0

When I first talked with Reverend Lilly she put us at ease. She could not have been nicer. She is gentle, kind and thoughtful. Her ceremony touched our hearts. She has a great sense of humor. She made our ceremony perfect. I would recommend her for anyone who wants a touching and authentic Hawaiian ceremony.

Profile Picture Amista, 2/19/11, 6 Reviews
Category: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Officiant