Weddings

Wed on Canvas, Live Wedding Artist Ben Keys Reviews

Wed on Canvas, Live Wedding Artist Ben Keys

Wed on Canvas, Live Wedding Artist Ben Keys

Charleston, SC
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 25 Reviews
View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 25
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5 User photos

Sort by:
  • Maria
    Maria T. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Ben & Wed on Canvas is a MUST for your special day!

    I really still am in awe of how amazing having Ben create a live painting at our wedding was. This was hands down the best decision we ever could have made to make our wedding day even more special and memorable. If you are reading the review you have to trust me and BOOK HIM! He truly is the kindest, most personable guy, mingling with our family and friends throughout the night and allowing them to watch all parts of his amazing painting process. Ben as well as his wife, were in contact with me well before the wedding to prepare for the day to minimize any stress the day of. Ben asked me questions on exactly what part of the night that I wanted him to capture, and he was so enthusiastic and excited! I am still receiving phone calls and text messages from family and friends begging me to see the final product! I truly feel that Ben made our wedding day the best day of our lives, and now we can actually have a piece of such a special time, in our home, forever! Thank you Ben! You truly are amazing at what you do!!!
  • Yasamin
    Yasamin Married on 08/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Decision We Made

    Where do I even begin? Choosing Wed on Canvas was one of the best decisions that we made when planning our wedding. First of all, Jen and Ben are the dream team. From the first time I met Jen, she was so warm and enthusiastic. I changed the location of my photo several times, and she walked me through all of my options and was so patient. On the day of, Ben was fantastic. You truly cannot overemphasize how much guests enjoy the live painting experience. Ben not only painted our day perfectly, he was engaging and spoke with guests as they asked him questions. Two months later, people in our lives are still commenting on how amazing our live painting was. The finished product is STUNNING. My husband and I were perfectly depicted, down to his dimple. Even looking at the wedding party in the background, the head shapes, etc. look just like them. The colors are beautiful and bright. I feel so many emotions every time that I look at the painting. We even ordered thank you cards with the painting on them, which we are excited to send to our guests. I would absolutely recommend Wed on Canvas. From start to finish, it was an incredible and memorable experience.
  • Alexis
    Alexis Married on 10/27/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So cool and unique!!

    I can't express how much we enjoyed having Wed on Canvas be a part of our wedding last weekend!! We worked with Jen and Ben leading up to the wedding to choose the perfect moment of our day to be depicted in the painting, and they worked really hard to tailor the painting to us personally. They are both such genuinely nice people and Ben was a joy to have at our celebration! He is so interactive and was very engaging with every guest who came over to check out the painting. Our guests had so much fun watching the painting develop over the night - so many people commented how unique and cool it was (and several tried to persuade Ben to add them into the scene haha)!! We we will treasure this gift forever.
    (the photos are not the finished product, but progress throughout the night)
  • P
    Pearce Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having wed on canvas be a part of our wedding was one of the best decisions we made! Communication and planning with Jennifer was a breeze and Ben was so friendly and happy to talk to our guests! We have had so many people compliment us on this aspect of our reception and we can not wait to have this fun memory to decorate our home with!
  • E
    Elliott Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the initial phone conversation to the finished product, our experience with Jennifer and Ben has been delightful! We worked with Ben to pinpoint the moment the bride (my daughter, Pearce) and groom (my son in law, McLain) wanted painted and it far exceeded our expectations. Our guests at the wedding really enjoyed talking with Ben and seeing the creative process take place. My daughter and her husband and our families will enjoy this for a lifetime!
  • B
    Brooke Married on 04/02/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ben did the most fabulous job! The painting is better than we ever could have dreamed for. The guests at the wedding absolutely adored him. People have been raving about how much they enjoyed talking with him and watching him create our masterpiece. This is something we will cherish forever. His wife is also amazing. I highly recommend using him for your special day!
  • J
    Julie Married on 03/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having Ben Keys paint our ceremony was truly the most unique detail we could have had on our special day! The painting was such a fun part that our guest loved and we are still hearing compliments of how special it was. We had an outdoor ceremony under oak trees in a park and Ben captured it so perfectly! Before the big day I discussed with them my vision for what details I wanted captured in the painting and even discussed what would happen if it rained and we had to have a tent. They really made the process seamless and stress free. We loved that the painting background was started before our guests arrived to the ceremony and then was finished with more details of us and our guests throughout the night at the reception location. It was really something fun to keep our guest entertained during cocktail hour and throughout the evening. Ben and Jennifer Keys were both so personable and professional with us and our guests that we couldn't be happier. Now we have a gorgeous painting that was created right where we said our vows to remember our special day!
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 11/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing-- the best thing about our wedding. Ben Keys is not only an incredible artist, but incredible entertainment for our guests. Highly recommend (it is pricey but totally worth cutting back on floral, other wedding items to be able to have him).
  • L
    Lauren Married on 11/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    OMG! I thought I was obsessed with Ben & Jen and Wed on Canvas when I first booked them but boy has my obsession grown now that I finally go to meet Ben and saw how magical and beautiful it was watching our painting come alive. All of our guests were raving about how incredible it was to watch, and so many wished they had known about Wed on Canvas when they got married. We can not wait to see the finished product and to find a perfect little place in our home to admire it forever. It will be cherished forever. Ben & Jen, thank you for being so easy to talk to and for being talented beyond words.
  • T
    Tammy Married on 08/22/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I couldn't be happier that we found Wed on Canvas and we also couldn't recommend Ben Keys more highly to anyone who is considering a live painting for their wedding. He is extremely talented at capturing what scenery and people truly look like while still putting his own unique touch on the painting. As a bonus, he and his lovely wife Jennifer are a pleasure to work with and our guests really enjoyed watching the painting progress during our reception. I know our painting is something we will always treasure, and I also know that Wed on Canvas has been busy busy busy, so hurry up and book!
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 06/27/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend Wed on Canvas. I saw Ben at a friend's wedding about 5 years ago and was so impressed that his work stuck with me. My niece's wedding was in June and I knew I had to hire Ben to capture her special day. I surprised my niece at her Bridesmaid luncheon with the gift and she was in tears! Ben painted their first dance together and I can't describe to you how beautiful the details were on this painting. If you are looking for a unique way to capture your special day, Wed on Canvas is what you are looking for!
  • L
    Latoya Married on 10/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We ran across the concept of living painting by reading a wedding blog. When we saw it, we knew we had to have it as a part of our wedding day. That was truly one of the best decisions made for our wedding. Ben was truly a masterful artist capturing a moment of our ceremony perfectly. The colors, the attention to details, WOW!! What’s more, he was extremely engaging and connected well with our guests. Having live painting was so unique and added another dimension of elegance to our day. The outcome of his effort was a jaw-dropping art piece that has become an immediate family heirloom. We still cannot stop looking at the piece!

    Wed on Canvas was extremely easy to work with and were very thoughtful throughout the process. I would highly recommend them for any live painting feature at an event.
  • M
    Mercedes Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Every bride should know about Ben Keys and his amazing talent! Ben did a live painting of my first dance under our tent, while the band was playing and our guests were celebrating! His artistry was such a unique surprise and a treat for all of our guests to witness. Everyday I will admire his work, as it takes me back to that very special moment! He truly captured the joy and the love surrounding the wedding. I feel so lucky to have found him.
  • J
    Jenny Married on 06/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wed on Canvas was the BEST vendor we worked with during our entire wedding process! Ben's work was one of the most talked about things at our wedding. It was great entertainment and it is so fun to have a tangible piece of art from our actual day. We interviewed a few live artist and after seeing Ben's work and learning more about him, we were sold! Being from Chicago we had many options to pick from, but we 100% wanted Ben at our wedding! He beyond exceeded our expectations. While working with Wed on Canvas you receive such genuine care. All of the other vendors we worked with literally dropped us the minute our wedding ended. Wed on Canvas actually cares and followed up after the wedding, which I really appreciated! They are genuine people who truly feel joy in bringing happiness into the lives of others.
    If you want to make a statement at your wedding and are considering a live artist, you MUST use Wed on Canvas! I can guarantee you will be happy with the results!
  • User1773963 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ben Keys did an unbelievable job capturing a moment from our wedding that we'll remember for the rest of our lives - he is an extremely talented and professional artist that is very easy to work with. If you're looking for a painting to capture a special event, you need to contact Ben!
  • User1774296 Event on: 05/17/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just can not say enough about Ben Keys Art!!! My husband hired Ben to capture and paint the cocktail hour at my 40th birthday party down in Charleston, SC. This was all a surprise to me, and to say I was thrilled and beyond pleased is an understatement. The piece itself is incredible, (which you knew it would be just by looking at his work)--but what was most impressive and special was the quality of service and professionalism that both he and Jen possess. They absolutely go above and beyond to make sure all parts and pieces are in place. They want to be sure the painting is perfect, and even hand delivered it to our home and joined us for an "art unveiling" party! There is no better duo than Ben and Jen from Ben Keys Art. Call them today for your special event and you will not be disappointed!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 12/07/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ben's unique live painting of our wedding was a wonderful addition to our wedding. The painting is beautiful. He did a great job. Ben and his wife, Jennifer, were great to work with!! All of our family and friends thought this was such a wonderful idea for the wedding and absolutely loved it. We would highly recommend Ben Keys as a wedding artist!!
  • E
    Elle Married on 11/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jen and Ben made our wedding day!! It was so wonderful to have them there and the painting is something we will cherish for a lifetime!

    THANK YOU!
  • T
    Tina Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ben's talent, friendliness and professionalism are top notch! His live painting was an unforgettable addition to our wedding day. He and his wife are two of the nicest people I have ever met and I would highly recommend them to anyone!!
  • User1861360 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I wanted to give my parents a very thoughtful gift to thank them for our wedding. After doing some research online, we came across Wed on Canvas. Ben and Jen were terrific in helping us design and create the perfect wedding gift! Jen was instrumental in working with us to come up with the idea. We ended up having Ben paint a series of three, 8x8 paintings that captured moments in time from our special day. Overall, we are super happy with the end result, and would recommend Wed on Canvas to anyone looking for a creative wedding gift!
  • S
    Sherra Married on 09/28/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The live wedding portrait was the highlight at my daughter's wedding and we are still receiving rave reviews. Ben is very creative and the painting captures everything that I wanted to remember on my daughter's special day.
  • User1318856 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What an exceptional individual! I had never heard of having a live artist at a wedding before until I moved to Charleston S.C. and came across Ben. As an artist myself I was thrilled to have found such an inspiring and entertaining idea and artist. From the start Ben's creativity, talent and desire to bring his customers special vision to life is evident. Ben and his assistant have been amazing to work with, I am so glad I found out about this extraordinary team so I can share with others this unique way to capture your memories for a lifetime! Its really something that leaves you and your guests admiring and talking about for a long time. Its really an exciting process from start to finish!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 05/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My experience working with Ben Keys and his wife Jen was one of my favorite parts of planning our wedding. They both were such a pleasure to work with, and the whole experience was just magical. I wanted the painting to be a surprise to my groom for his wedding day gift, but I also wanted it to capture us on our wedding day at our venue. Using pictures of me at my dress fitting along with pictures of me and my now husband together, Ben was able to visit our wedding venue and paint us into the scenery. It turned out beautifully and ended up capturing the feel of our wedding perfectly. We now have our painting hanging in our living room, and it is the first thing you see when you open the door. We plan on having this as a keepsake from our wedding that will stay with us forever. If you are considering having a wedding painting done, I couldn't recommend Ben Keys any more highly!
  • M
    Molly Married on 04/20/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having Ben Keys at my daughter's wedding in Naples, Florida added such a unique touch to the reception and my guests are still talking about how much fun it was to watch him paint the bride and grooms "first dance" as the reception was going on. He is an unbelievably talented artist and captured the beauty of the reception complete with perfect lighting,tall flower arrangements, the exquisite tables and of course, the gorgeous bride and groom. We surprised our daughter with the gift of the oil painting and she was thrilled. Ben Keys traveled to Naples for the reception because I could not find a live event planner of his talent in Florida. He is not only talented, but also reasonably priced, classy and a pleasure to deal with. I am definitely hiring him for my three son's weddings when the time comes. I would like to give Wed on Canvas and Ben Keys the highest recommendation possible and the loudest "shout out" for adding so much to my daughter's wedding. He will not disappoint you.
  • B
    Ben Married on 08/31/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jennifer was very responsive, easy to work with, and made the process completely stress-free. Ben took my input and guidance to heart while, of course, incorporating his own unique style and viewpoint. My bride was ecstatic about the quality of the print of our wedding venue.