Upper Story by Charlie Palmer Reviews

22 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Upper Story by Charlie Palmer

Recommended by 97%

22

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Found this venue through a recommendation from a friend who had a bat mitzvah at this venue. It was a beautiful venue for a Sunday day wedding with a balcony and amazing views. Katherine is AMAZING to work with: helpful, professional, responsive, diligent and organized. From the moment we met her we knew we were in good hands. She answered all of our million questions patiently, and the prices for the ceremony/reception were very reasonable for NYC. The venue staff were so amazing, they took our supplies and had everything set up before we arrived, even the aspects we had every intention of having friends come and set up. The transition from ceremony to cocktail hour to reception was seamless thanks to the hardworking friendly staff. Everything went so smoothly and it was an absolute pleasure working with Upper Story by Charlie Palmer. The staff were so considerate and attentive to us on the day, we had a blast with our guests. The wedding day was the best day ever thanks in large part to Katherine and Upper Story!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • B

    Bonnie · event on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our event (cocktails and lunch for 108) was fantastic!
    Manager,Katherine Leong, Couldn't have been more helpful in the successful planning and execution of our party.
    A great number of guests raved about the delicious food and professional, attentive staff.
    Weather was great, so outside terraces added a lovely dimension.
    Only suggestion: the space would be enhanced by the addition of greenery here and there.

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • G

    Gail · event on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is stunning, the food terrific and the staff and manager went out of their way to help me and all my guests have an amazing evening.

    Sent on 08/05/2015
  • M

    michelle · event on 07/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    what a great venue to host a corporate event or social event - we had a corporate dinner there in july and the food and service were amazing
    great view of the 59th st bridge and bloomingdales

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • User5165590 · event on 06/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning the event was a breeze. the venue was very responsive. Food and service were great! i hope to work with them again next year.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • Y

    Yvette · event on 06/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine Leong was a pleasure to deal with and everything went smoothly. The new renovation is beautiful and the place looked perfect for our event.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • User5166533 · event on 06/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is a great space for many different types of functions. Their staff is great and the Director of Catering Sales is extremely helpful and flexible.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • T

    Tanya · event on 05/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire staff and space at the Upper Story were wonderful. This was our first time using this space for our annual benefit and everyone raved about the venue, especially the outdoor space. Katherine was wonderful to work with, answered every question quickly.
    The staff the night of the event was accommodating and very professional.
    Thanks for a great evening!

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • User5161963 · event on 05/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have been more pleased with everything about how Upper Story made this party easy, fun, delicious, beautiful and beyond lovely. Staff were awesome on day of event and Kathryn a delight to work with for all the planning - from the first inquiry to all the nitty gritty details. Our guests are still raving about the venue and food and what a "find" Upper Story is.

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • E

    Enzo · event on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This group has a full understanding of the the meaning of HOSPITALITY!!
    Great Job

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • User5169765 · event on 04/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The redone space is beautiful-very airy and fresh. The food is always great and very consistent. All of the guests were very comfortable. The serving staff is friendly and professional.

    Sent on 06/12/2015
  • User5179355 · event on 02/12/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The renovated space is beautiful and very conducive to corporate or social events - staff very accommodating - food really good - awesome views of the city!

    Sent on 06/16/2015
  • User5158513 · event on 01/22/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kat was amazing to work with. She helped execute an amazing corporate event and I look forward to booking with her again.

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • M

    michelle · event on 01/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we hosted a corporate event 70 guests - the food was amazing - the service was great
    a great venue for hosting an event especially for out of town guests the view is amazing
    right across the street from bloomingdales
    all the guests were served at the same time - the meal flowed perfectly time wise from Appetizers to dessert

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • A

    Alba · event on 05/20/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Katherine and the Chef were abolutely terrific!! I wanted to do a family style service they reworked my meal and the dinner earned rave reviews?

    Would definitely recommend this location.

    Thank you

    Sent on 06/09/2015
  • A

    Alexis · event on 08/03/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine and her team were extremely responsive and flexible from the signing of the contract to the packing the boxes at the end of our event. The view/skyline is great and having access to the large space along with the outside terrace worked great for our event and was a hit with our guests.

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • User5317105 · event on 08/01/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The planning process was made very easy due to the quick responses and constant availability of the venue's event planner. The on-site staff for the actual event were extremely nice and accommodating to us as hosts and to all of our guests. Overall great service from start to finish.

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • User5166677 · event on 06/06/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Katherine and her team at Upper Story were the ultimate professionals when it came to making our 25th HS reunion a success... From the fabulous and generous choices of food, to her patience and knowledge in assisting and accommodating our every need and outside vendors, and making sure the place was impeccably clean and organized. The service was top-notch and the view is breathtaking!

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • M

    Matt · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I are very satisfied with Upper Story, and would strongly recommend them; everything was nearly perfect. We have received many comments from guests about how great they thought the venue was.

    The food was one of the best meals I’ve ever had. I was skeptical of the fantastic food we ate at our tasting dinner and worried that the food at the wedding would not be as good. How wrong I was; the food at the event was every bit as good. I’ve had multiple people tell me it was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. We didn’t do a desert course and brought our own cake, but the appetizers and wine were fantastic.

    In terms of layout, the venue is clean, updated, and modern. There isn’t really a bridal suite.. What really makes the venue is the outdoor space / balcony and the views. We had great weather, but there are awnings that cover the terrace, so should be usable in the rain.

    In terms of process, working with Katherine Leong was also very easy. Katherine helped us customize our wedding, down to picking individual ingredients to be included in the salad. The pricing structure was straightforward, simply a function of the number of guests, so we didn’t feel nickel and dimed with fees. Katherine was easy to reach and responded quickly to emails. At the event itself, she was also there to help take care of whatever need to be addressed that I really didn’t want to spend my wedding worrying about, e.g. making sure vendors received the payment, keeping gift envelopes, disturbing tips, etc. We did the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all at the venue, and the staff did a good job of setting up and tearing down for each part of the event.

    I’d maybe say the dancefloor was a bit small which made people bump into each other. Also, it got a little too hot towards the end of the evening, but if those were the biggest complaints, I’d say we did very well. My wife and I really appreciate Upper Story making our wedding so great.

    Sent on 06/20/2015
  • User5167290 · event on 06/08/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Very easy to work with, attentive, beautifully newly renovated. Balcony with spectacular views.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • User5165375 · event on 05/19/2015

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Apparently the rectangular table was difficult for the type of meeting we put on - hard to hear management speak as they had to get him a microphone and giant pole in middle of table. Investors were happy with the meeting.

    Sent on 06/11/2015
  • C

    Christine · event on 02/19/2015

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We had a sell dinner event for our firm. We've always come back to this venue, but because of the renovation, there were makeshift drapes, open ceilings, which made the space look very unprofessional. What was worse is that our contact did not say anything about the set up or state of the venue beforehand. It was very disappointing. we've used this venue for many years and will not be coming back because of this experience.

    Sent on 06/09/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review