Turquoise Barn Reviews

11 | Bloomville, NY
See photos, pricing and details

11 Reviews for Turquoise Barn

Recommended by 93%

11

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.5
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

Turquoise Barn 1
Turquoise Barn 2
Turquoise Barn 3
Sort by:
  • J

    Jenna Pettinicchi · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Picturesque-- nature, character, and charm

    My husband I got married in Delhi, NY this summer (June 2018). While we did not get married at the Turquoise Barn we did rent and use the Carriage House on the property as the accommodations for the bridal party and it was where I got ready for my wedding day. My husband and I had our first look outside by the pond and we took our wedding party and family photos around the property. Everything was amazing and just beautiful. Michelle was great and easy to work with. The house was clean and just perfect for our needs. The grounds are gorgeous and luscious. Everything has so much character, charm, and style!
    I wish I had more time to spend there. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 12/19/2018
  • K

    Keith · Married on 05/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Magical place for a Magical moment. The second we found the property we were drawn to it. The charm of the carriage house, the beautiful land, the owners.. The connection was immediate and we knew we would celebrate our wedding here, and come back again and again. Michelle and Michael made our time with them feel like coming home to family. They were able to accommodate our very intimate wedding above and beyond things we had imagined. When people see our pictures they assume they have been enhanced in some way, but the truth is they were taken with I phones and Polaroids and never touched. The beauty that is the Turquoise Barn and The Carriage house needs no filter, it is breathtaking all on its own. Forever a part of our lives....Stacy & Keith

    Sent on 09/21/2018
    Turquoise Barn 4
    Turquoise Barn 5
    Turquoise Barn 6
  • C

    cindy · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiancee and I were engaged at the end of October of 2015. Within 2 weeks, we found Turquoise barn online and reached out to them to make an appointment. Michelle (the owner) responded to us within the hour, and let us know of the barn's availability, and to make an appointment. We visited the barn a few days later, where Michelle greeted us warmly and showed us around the property, explaining clearly what could be done, and about what other weddings had done before. She gave us very helpful information while also encouraging us that we could make it our own.

    Major pros for us were:
    - being able to have the ceremony + reception outside
    - house rental on the same property where our immediate family can stay with us during the weekend
    - no "shut down" time (so many other venues kick you out by 10pm/11pm!!) this was a big plus for us (not that we are party animals) but because we love the idea of bringing the night to a close gradually rather than abruptly
    - camping on site for our guests!

    Turquoise Barn was the first place we visited. We only visited 1 more venue after this one, and researched many others online – but we knew right away that Turquoise Barn was the right place for us, and we didn't need to see anything else. It has the right mix of nature, openness, and elegance, while still being low-key and rustic, which is what we were hoping to find.

    Our wedding date is September 24, 2016. We are only in the beginning stages of planning, but so far, I feel like we are in really great hands with Michelle, and the people we've spoken to on her list of recommended vendors. We got lucky finding Michelle and Turquoise Barn.. We can't wait for our wedding day!!!

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • T

    Tiffany · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michelle is the best person to work with, for your wedding! I never have any issues getting in contact with her, if I email her she responds right away (which is something you don't get from every vendor). Her venue is beautiful!! I really wanted to have the reception in the barn (which like her property is GORGEOUS) and she offered it to us with great options. Also, Michelle gives a list of vendors in the area all of whom are amazing and so nice just like she is! The caterer she recommended has totally worked with us on price and options, and even gave us a discount for contacting her so early! We told Michelle we are on a tight budget (due to my fiance and I paying for almost everything) and she has worked with us every step of the way. The carriage house she offers to the bridal party is AMAZING and fits my entire party. I am so excited to have my wedding at her place and I know it's going to be a beautiful back drop for all photos, not to mention one heck of a party!!

    Sent on 12/09/2015
  • N

    Nyna · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michelle is amazing and so is the Turquoise Barn. As soon as you arrive, you immediately feel calm and euphoric. And the views... breathtaking!
    The property is full of endless possibilities. Plus you have the option of renting out the carriage house on the property. So convenient!
    The wedding was exactly what we had hoped for! Thank you so much!!

    Sent on 09/22/2016
  • A

    Adam · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I could not be happier with the Turquoise Barn. We first visited the location in the dead of winter with several inches of snow on the ground. It was difficult for me to envision just how amazing the place would be come summer.

    The location was a bit remote, to be sure, but that was what we wanted. We had guests who were willing to camp, and that's just what they did. My wife and I, along with her family, stayed in the on-site B&B house. We didn't use the turquoise barn itself for the wedding, but it was a great backdrop for some beautiful photos. (As a surprise bonus one of our friends drove his turquoise classic car up for the event - we got some fantastic shots!).

    The entire property looked amazing with wildflowers and freshly cut grass. The wedding itself was outside and the catering and tent companies had no trouble setting up. There was plenty of parking for our guests. We wound up having what amounted to two receptions - one the night before which was just a big catered picnic, and the other was the traditional reception. Once the sun went down both nights we were able to have a bonfire.

    We got to know the owners of the property well enough that we asked them to join us both nights. We've remained friends since, and my wife has even gone back to host a weekend retreat for her business.

    If you want to get an idea of the place check out their site or look at our photos: http://www.adamlovesmegan.com/

    Can't say enough about them! We loved it!

    Sent on 09/11/2015
  • Jenn

    Jenn · Married on 08/05/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I decided to book a venue a bit closer to home-this had nothing to do with the location or our interaction with Michelle. She was quick with her responses via email and so friendly when we met her. She gave us a tour of the grounds, then sat down with us for as long as we needed to discuss price/accommodations/vendors... The barn and carriage house are beautiful; the exterior offers beautiful views for a ceremony and wedding photos. Thank you for your time Michelle!

    Sent on 11/14/2016
  • P

    Prema · Married on 08/08/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I were looking for a venue that was "rustic chic" in which we could throw a few events over the course of our wedding weekend and the Turquoise Barn was a great venue to do so. The venue was magnificent and our guests are still talking about how it was a hidden gem. Michelle and Michael were lovely and helpful connecting us to the local community vendors. Michael's craft is evident throughout the property and they were also flexible as our ideas changed. Be ready to do most of the liasoning with the local vendors yourself. This DIY aspect appealed to us for it allowed us to create exactly what we wanted, but may not be the best choice for someone who wants everything to be done for them. The area of the Western Catskills is a bit unknown and lodging accommodations for our guests were spread out in the area, some guests camped on property. It was a pleasure working with Michael and Michelle. Our wedding is still on the lips and in the hearts of our guests.

    Sent on 09/12/2015
  • J

    Janet · Married on 10/10/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a rustic and beautiful property, with a large carriage house that sleeps 16 (in 4 rooms), a pond, an orchard, and much more. A very small wedding like ours could have taken place in the great room of the house, but the weather was predicted to be gorgeous, so the ceremony and reception were held outside by the pond, and the dinner was set up in the cozy tent that was included in the contract. Tables, chairs, and lighting for the tent were also included in the contract price. Speakers for music were extra, a table needed for the reception was also extra, and the heater for the tent (critical in October!) was also extra. In fact, we brought one with us that we bought the day before the wedding.

    Ours was a difficult wedding to pull off, because we lived far from and did not know the area and were arranging everything by email and phone, all in a short two months. We had to put together all the pieces ourselves, including the catering, the liquor, the transportation of guests to a very rural area, the tablecloths, the heater for the tent, and more. But the owner, Michelle, bent over backwards to help us out and give us recommendations and suggestions. She even told us to hold off on hiring a caterer, because she was going to meet a new caterer later that week--someone she thought we would like. We did wait, and the recommendation was a good one. The caterer worked out really well. The point is that Michelle had by then a sense of what kind of people the bride and groom were and what they would like in terms of catering. She wasn't obligated to provide any of this kind of help, but she did it over and over in those frantic two months. Indeed, she was promptly responsive to all our inquiries.

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/03/2017

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    I am sad to say that I did not have a great experience at all with this venue. Over a year ago, I booked this venue for my wedding and we just got married this past Labor Day. My husband and I were set on getting married outside and when we went to see Turquoise Barn, we thought it was a beautiful spot- lots of green, a big open field, and the owner seemed like she was going to take care of us. So we booked! At the time of the booking, Turquoise Barn had a vegan caterer--being strict vegans and wanting to do the entire wedding vegan, we couldn't have been more excited.

    Unfortunately, as time passed, we had terrible experiences with Turquoise Barn's owner, Michelle. We got the overall impression that Michelle was out to make the most money she possibly could and she was willing to help us with certain things...so long as we paid extra for it. She wanted to charge us for every little thing and it did not seem like she cared about giving us a good experience at all. The chef who was once attached to the venue left, and told us that Michelle gave her a hard time as well. When I first met Michelle at the site visit, she promised a bunch of different things that she would do for us (put out our chairs for the ceremony, set up the tables, be on site for any help we might need, etc.) However, after a few months, Michelle then said she would not do those things for us unless we wanted to pay for her staff to do it. She told us that we should have hired a wedding planner, which is not something she told us we needed at the time of booking. It took a lot of conversations for her to agree to do those minor things. She also tried to change the wording of the wedding packages. It was a disappointing experience to say the least, and if you are a bride who is just looking to rent the space and do everything yourself (or hire a wedding planner) then this is a beautiful venue and a nice choice. Brides beware if you are looking for help from this venue owner.

    Sent on 11/06/2017

    Turquoise Barn's reply:

    I’m sorry to hear your experience was not as you expected. As a venue, we provided everything discussed and clearly indicated in your package/agreement. We upgraded your tent at no charge, added set-up & breakdown - no charge, and knowing you were on a tight budget - we allowed you to cancel numerous items for a full refund without cancellation fees . Your tent, dance floor, lighting, bathrooms, tables, chairs, ceremony, all were set up for you; campfire set-up & started, and we were available on-site for the day of your wedding if needed. We even provided someone in your party our contact info as to not bother you. In addition, we spent time suggesting/discussing the set-up/placement of items the field; promptly answered emails, & provided vendor information. Correct, we do charge for additional items not included in the packages such as decorating, design, staff time. This is standard for any venue unless you are purchasing a package that includes a wedding planner/coordinator, in which case your cost would be much greater. We ALWAYS suggest hiring a wedding planner - we recommended 2; you contacted one but decided she was not in your budget and stated you would be using the caterer. I'm sorry that didn't work out. Yes, I did give the caterer a "difficult time" because she was not licensed! I did not want to concern you with this. I understand you were upset that we would not allow you to use the Carriage house to welcome your guests, get ready, and take photographs AFTER you cancelled the rental.
    Again, I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We are upfront about our rates and charges.. It is our intention to make our couples feel comfortable & provide all that we can as a venue (not wedding planners) to create a stress free and magical event.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review