Top Hat Entertainment Reviews

114 | South Burlington, VT
See photos, pricing and details

114 Reviews for Top Hat Entertainment

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

114

17 User photos

Order by:
  • E

    Tim · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier with Top Hat. Our dealings with Daren were always professional and congenial, and our DJ Mark Thon was tremendous. He happily met all of our requests, showed up early on the big day, kept the festivities moving smoothly and our guests dancing until the last moments. Of all the stresses that come with getting married, it was refreshing to have these guys be so EASY!

    Sent on 03/29/2011
  • D

    Amanda · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jaimie did a great job at our wedding! He played all of our requests and got everyone up to dance--the dance floor was packed all night!!! He was extremely professional. We would definitely recommend Top Hat to anyone!

    Sent on 03/10/2011
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with our DJ. He met with us before the wedding to discuss details with us, and we approached him with the idea of playing music outside on the porch of our venue, and having guests dance either on the porch or out on the lawn. He was immediately very supportive of our idea, and was willing to move everything inside if/when it became necessary due to darkness/cold. Night of the wedding we had several guests who LOVED being able to dance and have a good time outside under the stars. We ended up moving inside due to temperature, and guests continued to have a great time dancing and partying. Top Had did a great job, and we really appreciated their knowledge and suggestions.

    Sent on 10/22/2010
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Daren was the DJ at our wedding last year, we REALLY enjoyed working with him. The music was a really important part of the reception for us and Daren was patient with our many requests! All of our guests had a great time, they were on the dance floor the entire night!

    He will be the DJ for my cousin and my sister's weddings this year! Thanks Daren!

    Sent on 03/10/2011
  • E

    E · Married on 07/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark DJ'd our wedding, and he was top notch. He kept everyone dancing all night. He was professional and easy to work with. During the planning stages, he (and the rest of the crew at Top Hat) knew all the right questions to ask, kept us well informed, and helped us with our decision making without hijacking the process. On the wedding night, he kept things moving on schedule and he worked hard so we wouldn't have to.

    Sent on 03/29/2011
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Daren as a DJ and were very happy. We picked him/Top Hat after going to a wedding where he was the DJ. He was extremely professional and kept people on the dance floor late in to the night. We have had multiple people tell us what a great time they had and we attribute a lot of that to the DJ and his ability to keep people dancing. I loved that he played music rather than talked. I have been to weddings where the DJ has talked way to much and that was definitely not the case with Daren. We would recommend him without reservation.

    Sent on 03/15/2011
  • E

    Emily · Married on 06/19/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat Entertainment was the perfect choice for our wedding! Our DJ was Daren, and he kept our friends and family on the dance floor from the first to the very last song. Daren had a great feel for the crowd and made great selections to keep our guests excited and workin' it on the dance floor. Our day wouldn't have been complete without the help of Top Hat!

    Sent on 03/20/2011
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat was awesome!!! I am from Connecticut so we communicated pretty much through e-mails and went to meet Daren the owner sometime last year in Burlington, VT. He was so nice and the price seemed reasonable. We had to pay a travel fee but thats understandable and it was only 125. the whole package was around 1300 I think for 5 hours but we added another half hour because I knew I wanted to dance all night. Our DJ was Damon and he was wonderful. He played almost every song I requested ahead of time. He even approached me if there was any questions. OI would recommend having Damon at your as well!! Thanks so much Damon and Daren for making our wedding night a blast. I barley left the dance floor just to go to the bathroom and eat!!!

    Jennifer and Phil
    Derby, CT

    Sent on 06/09/2010
  • erikalilja

    Erika · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat Entertainment did such a great job djing our wedding. Our DJ was very professional and consulted with us throughout the reception to ensure that everything was going according to plan. We had a great time!

    Sent on 11/30/2009
  • P

    Paul · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat was a great vendor to work with. They have worked at the Grand Isle, Lake House on many occasions and knew exactly where to go and when to set up. They were professional and knew what to play when. We highly recommend their DJ services.

    Sent on 09/20/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was nervous about getting a DJ, as I attended a couple of weddings over the last year where the DJ was over-the-top. We were looking for something more understated, and we were so happy with Top Hat Entertainment and Mark from the beginning. They allowed us to pick many of the songs to be played at the reception, and Mark filled in the remaining time with PERFECT music. People were on the dancefloor all night! Couldn't have asked for better. We'd recommend Mark and Top Hat to anyone!

    Sent on 07/06/2009
  • S

    Leslie · Married on 05/31/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Rob Jones as our DJ, and he was great! Everyone commented on how he created a great party and the dance floor was always full of people! He took requests, and was good at filtering based on what we had talked about before the wedding. At our meeting to discuss what we wanted, he was great at giving suggestions and walking us through the event and the flow of the evening. He was even able to go with the flow when we had to change things around at the last minute due to the rain. He had a great attitude and a style that matched us and our guests!

    Sent on 06/16/2008
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 05/30/1980

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat Entertainment and DJ Jeremy did a great job at our wedding; the introductions, transitions and songs were perfect and really got the party started! Thank you!

    - Sarah and Jon, September 17, 2011

    Sent on 10/02/2011
  • V

    Victoria · Married on 09/23/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark at Top Hat was amazing!! He listened to exactly what we wanted and never played anything we asked him not to. We had a few requests not to play at all and some of our guests kept asking him to play it and he refused until he got the OK from the bride or groom. I honestly spent the whole night on the dance floor because the music was so great! Thank You SO Much Top Hat and Mark!!

    Sent on 10/08/2017
  • C

    Casey · Married on 05/13/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark at Tophat was more than accommodating and helpful with our wedding and reception entertainment. We had minimal stress with dealing with Tophat, and the ceremony went perfectly. We had people dancing for 4.5 hours straight... if that doesn't speak for the skill of the DJ reading the crowd, I don't know what does! It was the absolute best night of our lives and everyone in attendance was satisfied.

    Sent on 05/30/2017
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 06/08/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Top Hat was great it was easy to deal with them, they were ready to go and all set on the wedding and did a really fantastic job. They played all the requests we had and really just kept a great flow going. we danced for three hours straight and never had a quiet break all the way through. It was a great evening, and I don't even always dance but they got me moving!

    Sent on 08/15/2013
  • User2592677 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark did a great job top to bottom! Professional but relaxed attitude. Followed up with us prior to event just as promised. Very amenable to playing songs from our playlist. Very self sufficient with no hassle on the wedding day. Finally, the dance floor was packed all night and many very disappointed to see the night end! Thanks Mark and Tophat. Glad that you're in our neck of the woods!

    E&M

    Sent on 08/11/2012
  • L

    Anne · Married on 08/06/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't say enough positive things about Top Hat. They are so professional and made everything so easy for us - both during the planning phase and actual wedding last Saturday. And, even better, they were a lot of fun to work with! Nick was our DJ for our wedding and he was outstanding!!!! So many compliments about the music came from our guests. If you want 1 less thing to worry about, pick Top Hat for your entertainment!!

    Sent on 08/09/2011
  • M

    Meserve · Married on 08/06/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Top Hat DJ (Michael) was super helpful during our wedding - helping us with reminders and suggestions on timing of the cake, father-of-the bride dance, etc. Top Hat was organized, very helpful, professional and friendly. No cheesy music/dj here!! They did a GREAT job!!

    Sent on 08/15/2011
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/12/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark was incredible! He played all of the songs that I had requested and was very accommodating to other peoples requests as well. He kept everyone on the dance floor and everyone had a great time! Thanks Mark and Top Hat!

    Sent on 03/29/2011
  • B

    Brooke · Married on 11/03/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ was Mark and he was fantastic! We didn't really give him many instructions other than we wanted people to dance all night and a list of songs we did not want to have played. He did not play anything that we said no to and everyone danced all night long. We even extended an hour and still the dance floor was packed. I have never seen so many people packed onto a dance floor before. He had all of the songs we requested for a special things (dances with our parents, cake cutting, intro) and he got the songs we wanted for our bridal party introductions which were a little unusual. We and all of our guests had a terrific time because of everything he did to make our night special!

    Sent on 10/11/2008
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/27/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We used Top Hat Entertainment for our wedding in Arlington, VT on May 27th and were so happy we did. We never got a chance to meet with Mike or our actual DJ (Damon Brink) in person prior to our wedding as we are in the Boston area, but felt confident through several emails and phone calls that they were the best option out there. We spoke to Damon the week before the wedding and any worries we had disappeared - he was very friendly and super helpful working out a few last minute decisions with us. He respected our do not play list and made a point of asking me if it was ok to play one specific song as it went against what we’d requested, which was much appreciated. Our guests were dancing all night long! We had Damon for the ceremony and reception as well, and he arrived promptly on time to be able to play music when the first group of guests arrived, even though it was an hour before the ceremony started. We can’t thank Top Hat enough for making our big day truly memorable and fun!

    Sent on 06/10/2018
  • K

    Kim · Married on 07/02/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Top Hat DJ for our wedding in July 2017. They came highly recommended by our venue and they did not disappoint! Mike helped work through all of the initial planning with us, and Darren was our DJ for our big day. Both were extremely helpful in creating our vision for the day, especially since we had a varied (and in some cases unique) list of songs we wanted played. They were extremely understanding and accommodating of all of our needs and they helped to make our day perfect--from ceremony music to cocktail hour to the dance floor! Thank you Top Hat DJ!

    Sent on 12/29/2017
  • A

    Ann · Married on 09/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark did a good job, would have liked to hear more of the songs that we had sent in and requested - but he did cater to the crowd.

    Sent on 01/15/2015
  • User4406881 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with our DJ services from Top Hat Entertainment. We were planning our daughter's wedding from afar ( Pennsylvania and Denmark) and Mike did a nice job connecting with us via phone and email about information and special arrangements. Having a wedding reception that combined American and Danish wedding customs meant that our DJ had to work around timing for the Danish Waltz and special toasts, etc. Eli did a great job as our DJ for the evening.

    Sent on 09/17/2014